Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Riverbones: Stumbling After Eden in the Jungles of Suriname” as Want to Read:
The Riverbones: Stumbling After Eden in the Jungles of Suriname
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Riverbones: Stumbling After Eden in the Jungles of Suriname

by
3.59  ·  Rating details ·  56 ratings  ·  6 reviews
A young man uncovers myth, history, and murder while searching for the soul of an unknown and magical place.

Andrew Westoll spent a year living the dream of every aspiring primatologist: following wild troops of capuchin monkeys through the remote Central Suriname Nature Reserve, the largest tract of pristine rainforest left on earth. But that was only the beginning.

Westoll
...more
Paperback, 365 pages
Published October 28th 2008 by Emblem Editions
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Riverbones, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Riverbones

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.59  · 
Rating details
 ·  56 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Riverbones: Stumbling After Eden in the Jungles of Suriname
Ryan Murdock
Jan 10, 2013 rated it liked it
Andrew Westoll spent a year as a primatologist chasing monkeys through the jungles of the Central Suriname Nature Reserve. He returned five years later as a writer obsessed with finding the secret soul of this poorly understood country.

Few outsiders have heard of Suriname, and even fewer can place it on a map. Its a surreal place a former Dutch colony, rich in resources but badly governed, home to indigenous peoples and Maroons (the descendants of escaped slaves brought from Africa), and quite
...more
Betty
Jan 02, 2009 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: political, ecological disaster, amazonia
This book is difficult to describe. On the one hand, it is historic and delves into the politics and ecological problems in clear prose, but on the other hand, the author seems to show himself as self-satisfying, drunken though compassionate, irresponsible in his personal relationship, and not the type of person who would be writing this book. I found it difficult to reconcile the two.

Andrew had been to Suriname before, as part of a team of researchers working in the Central Suriname Nature
...more
Wenzl Schollum
Nov 25, 2015 rated it liked it
Shelves: travel-adventure
I have been working in Suriname for nine weeks now. I bought Riverbones because it was the only English language book I could get on Suriname, even the standard travel books have very little information on this small country. It is disappointing there is no bibliography, but Westoll does mention a number of other books that I will pick up at some stage.
The book itself is a mixture of travel and unrequited love with a seemingly drunken rant about the third world thrown in, no doubt with some
...more
Crystal
May 09, 2010 rated it really liked it
I was given this book for Christmas... my whole family was given this book by my grandfather. My family is from Suriname and so I think he was really excited to see a book about Suriname because well um you never see anything about Suriname. My family emigrated to Canada a little after my mother was born, and I've never been to Suriname... YET, so this was in a way a little way of looking at a place that is in my blood and family customs but I have never seen.

There were some parts of this book
...more
Carol Harrison
Nov 14, 2019 rated it liked it
I found the book interesting, because I have only ever met one person from Suriname, and knew very little about it. It was a bit of a slog sometimes (as were the author's journeys), with lots of information interspersing the descriptions of his travels, but still interesting. Sometimes it was hard keeping track of who he was talking about--lots of names being mentioned.
Matthew Parker
Oct 24, 2014 rated it really liked it
I'm traveling on a research trip to Suriname in two weeks, and this was recommended by the brilliant John Gimlette author of Wild Coast: Travels on South America's Untamed Edge and At the Tomb of the Inflatable Pig: Travels Through Paraguay Westoll worked as a conservationist in Suriname and became fascinated with the country. It's a highly engaging read, and he's great company as well a passionate exponent of the much-neglected rights of the indigenous population and the Maroon communities.
Adam
rated it really liked it
Jan 25, 2015
Samantha Warwick
rated it it was amazing
Aug 12, 2013
Kimberly Moynahan
rated it really liked it
Aug 16, 2012
Leon Argamasilla
rated it liked it
Jul 24, 2011
Arwa
rated it it was amazing
Sep 03, 2014
Erin
rated it liked it
May 28, 2012
Craig Shreve
rated it it was ok
Nov 13, 2011
David Lee
rated it it was ok
Jan 21, 2016
Jen
rated it really liked it
Feb 14, 2020
Amy
rated it really liked it
Mar 29, 2012
L
rated it it was ok
Oct 05, 2011
Jonathan Currinn
rated it it was ok
Mar 30, 2013
Kelly
rated it liked it
Jun 16, 2014
Tim Falconer
rated it really liked it
Jun 14, 2009
Julie Anne
rated it it was amazing
Jun 29, 2009
Rosemarie
rated it liked it
Aug 03, 2019
Tom
rated it liked it
Sep 12, 2012
Amanda Cox
rated it liked it
Jul 31, 2019
Mark Wallace
rated it liked it
Jan 30, 2018
Ken
rated it really liked it
Aug 24, 2013
Stephen
rated it it was amazing
Feb 13, 2010
Branden Gould
rated it really liked it
May 11, 2010
Christine
rated it did not like it
Oct 15, 2019
Rebecca
rated it liked it
Mar 01, 2015
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Stationery Shop
  • Big Sky (Jackson Brodie, #5)
  • Excellent Women
  • A Prayer for Owen Meany
  • Heavy: An American Memoir
  • A Delhi Obsession: A Novel
  • Zen and Now: on the Trail of Robert Pirsig and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance
  • Writing on Both Sides of the Brain: Breakthrough Techniques for People Who Write
  • Henry, Himself
  • Daily Rituals: How Artists Work
  • Uniform Justice (Commissario Brunetti, #12)
  • Startle and Illuminate: Carol Shields on Writing
  • The Quintland Sisters
  • My October
  • How to Write Short: Word Craft for Fast Times
  • The Water Beetles
  • Falling Off the Map: Some Lonely Places of the World
  • Five Past Midnight in Bhopal: The Epic Story of the World's Deadliest Industrial Disaster
See similar books…

Related Articles

Need another excuse to treat yourself to new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our lis...
41 likes · 10 comments