Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “More Than Friends (Kendrick Place, #1)” as Want to Read:
More Than Friends (Kendrick Place, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

More Than Friends

(Kendrick Place #1)

by
3.84  ·  Rating details ·  309 ratings  ·  87 reviews
Owen Burnett planned on a quiet, easygoing Christmas, hanging out with his best friend and neighbor, Gabby Michaelson. So when his mom pressures him to come home for the holidays, he tells a little white lie…that he’s spending the holidays with his new girlfriend. But when his family shows up unexpectedly, Owen pulls the best friend card and asks Gabby to play his fake gir ...more
ebook, 216 pages
Published December 5th 2016 by Entangled Publishing, LLC - Bliss
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Jessica's Totally Over The Top Book Obsession
3.5 Pretend real love Stars

 photo tumblr_ll1sj8Mozx1qdlkgg_zpsmdz3w2dq.gif

More Than Friends was a pretty good read for me. For all my friends that are always asking for clean romance recommendations this book is clean. This book was a sweet lighthearted holiday read. Owen was a cute geek, that loved order, peacefulness, and neatness. Gabby was this fun loving, messy artist. They had this adorable friendship that was clearly more. I love the friends to lovers trope. I really enjoyed Owen figuring out his feelings for Gabby. For someone so sm
...more
Beth
Oct 18, 2016 rated it really liked it
Just in time to ring in the holidays with heart, family and friendship, More Than Friends was a cute and endearing contemporary romance that will put a smile on your face and a warm glow in your soul.

Owen and Gabby are best friends and co-residents in an apartment complex. When Owen lies to his family about spending Christmas with his new girlfriend to avoid spending it with them, they ALL show up at his house for the holidays. Owen begs Gabby to act as his suido girlfriend until they leave but
...more
Nicola
Nov 06, 2016 rated it liked it
2.5 stars.

More Than Friends is the first in Jody Holford's Kendrick Place series and, as far as firsts go, it held just enough enjoyment for me to see the story through.

"The next week might possibly kill her, or at least demolish her heart."

Best friends-to-lovers is a trope I'm fond of, but as we all know it's one that is done an awful lot, as is the fauxmance, so for me the couple in question and their story need to bring something fresh to the table. Unfortunately Owen and Gabby generally f
...more
Claire Robinson
3 - "The holidays are for family." Stars.

Jody Holford, begins her new Kendrick Place series with a romance built between best-friends, that initially starts out as a complete ruse.



This isn’t the first book I have read by this author, and although the elements that I found enjoyable from my previous read from here were present, in relation to characters, story-line and writing style, I found the balance a little off with Owen and Gabby’s story in respect to the amount of page time they were given
...more
Irene
3.5 stars

More Than Friends by Jody Holford was a sweet and enjoyable contemporary friends to more romance.

Owen and Gabby were endearing characters that entertained me with their love story. The relationship was sweet, believable, the drama was well done and the storyline held my interest from the first page until the last.

description

Overall, More Than Friends is a beautifully written friends to lovers story and a lovely read for the upcoming holiday season.

*Thank you to Entangled Lovestruck via Netgalley
...more
D.M.
Oct 21, 2017 rated it it was amazing
More than friends is the second book I've read by Jody Holford, and I really enjoyed this one. It was funny and sweet. Gabby and Owen are great characters. The storyline had me giggling all the way through.

Gabby has always had more than platonic feelings for Owen but, has never told him. They are great friends and live close to each other. Owen isn't good with Christmas spirit. He tries to avoid going home to see his family. He has tried all the excuses in the book and this year he's about to be
...more
Sonya Heaney
First thing: THE COVER. This is the second book in a row I’ve read where either the hero or the heroine wears glasses – and the cover models aren’t wearing them. In this case, it’s the hero. Also, he shouldn’t have that fugly beard. This guy is a sweet hero, and a little bit of a nerd, and I’m not getting any of that from the lumberjack on the cover.

Moving swiftly on…

Entangled Publishing’s various category romance lines are showing consistent quality, and more modern thinking than, well – Harleq
...more
KAS
Nov 15, 2016 rated it really liked it
An absolute sweet and romantic little gem of Christmas cheer!

I can totally see the Hallmark Channel making this one into a movie.

Owen is "Scrooge" when Christmas comes rolling around, but Gabby loves every aspect of it. They live in the same building and are the best of friends, like brother and sister, and spend most of their time together. But Owen has gotten himself into a bit of a jam and needs to ask Gabby for a huge favor. He offers a reward in return if she says yes!

You see, Owen really d
...more
Milka
Dec 03, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2016, christmas
I don't pick up books like this very often, but almost every time I do, I keep telling myself I should do it more often. I am obsessed with romantic Hallmark movies, and while I read this, I kept thinking that this story is like a Hallmark movie, just in a literary form.

While Hallmark movies might be trash for some, I absolutely love them, mostly because there is comfort in knowing that there will be a happy ending in the future. As the title of this suggests, the characters end up being more t
...more
1-Click Addict Support Group
I love a good fake relationship with real feelings story, add in some Christmas cheer and I was excited to read More than Friends.

Owen and Gabby have been friends for a couple years, and while on the outside Gabby seems fine with being his best friend, on the inside she dies a little more every day that Owen doesn’t realize how she really feels. Still, she decides to play along with his ruse, when he asks her to pretend to be his girlfriend while his family visits for the holidays.

The relations
...more
Didi
2.75 stars

An oblivious geek and an artist. Friends to lovers. A holiday story. What's not to love, right? Well, let's see.

More Than Friends is my first read of Jody Holford's works and it is a start of a new series. This is a predictable story because, DUH, see what the title said! The characters are quite adorable and - while I tsked with Owen's whole fake girlfriend idea - I didn't mind it as much. But yes, I wanted to wallop him once or twice because of his obliviousness and later on for his
...more
Tanya from Get Your Book On
Nov 21, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I'm stealing this first part from a friend that typed this in a facebook message. ;)

Jody Holford is an author who knows how to write beautiful, heartfelt romance without describing every hip thrust or throaty moan. She doesn't need to add in raunchy sex scenes to relay the attraction and love that her characters feel for each other. And this applies to Owen and Gabby's story as well.

Was it a pretty predictable storyline? Yes, it was, but it's a friends-to-lovers romance where they pretend to be
...more
Angie Elle
Dec 05, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
3.5 stars. Review to come.
Amanda
“He didn’t like change and she’d never known anything but. She’d learned to face demons and move forward. There were some things in life you couldn’t plan, couldn’t predict or prepare for. Gabby had used the pain of that lesson to fuel her art and her life. Because she know it only took one second for the world around you to become unrecognizable.
She pressed herself closer to Owen. Life could change in an instant, but right now, they were here. Together. Because they both wanted to be. And she’
...more
Suze Lavender
Dec 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Owen doesn't like big Christmas parties, he doesn't feel comfortable in a large group of people and he doesn't want to spend the holidays with people he doesn't know. He prefers the company of just a few loved ones, but he doesn't dare to tell his family. That's why he lets his mother know that he's spending Christmas at home with his new girlfriend instead. Owen doesn't have a girlfriend and when his parents, aunt and sister decide to surprise him and celebrate Christmas with Owen and the love ...more
Book Lover
Oct 28, 2016 rated it really liked it
May be some spoilers!

Gabby is a secretary for a college, but is really a struggling artist. She lost both parents at sixteen, one set of grandparents died when she was little and she lost the other set by the time she was 21. She has no family left. Her best friend for the last year has been Owen, whom she has been secretly in love with for a while now.

Owen is a computer geek, introvert, who avoids crowds. He tries to get out of his family’s Christmas by telling them he has met “The One” and d
...more
Alison
I'm a sucker for a fake-relationship story, especially if it's two best friends and one has been in love with the other forever. Add in the holidays and overbearing family and by golly I might just squee from the excitement.

Owen Burnett has lied to his mother, it's got out of control and now he needs to find a fake girlfriend stat, because his family are coming to town to meet the non-existent girlfriend he is so in love with that he can't come home for Christmas. The truth is that Owen hates Ch
...more
Ann Lorz
Jody Holford is a new author for me. When I saw the cover I knew that I wanted to read her story. I just loved it! Then I read what the story was about and it just tickled my funny bone. You know things like this will never going to work, I think that's why I couldn't wait to read it.

Pretend boyfriend & girlfriends always cause more trouble then you think. I think it has to do best intentions and all that.

This turns out to be a very nice story. Enjoyable for the holidays. I found myslef mo
...more
Dawn Herring
Oct 26, 2016 rated it really liked it
I received an advance reader copy in exchange for a fair review, so here goes:

I found this to be an absolutely adorable book! The characters are realistic and likeable--the kind of people I'd want to be friends with. The story is not the predictable friend-to-lover cookie-cutter narrative; it takes a bit different approach, making it a refreshing and fun read. The author's writing style pulled me in right away, and there was never a dull moment throughout. This seems to be the first in a series,
...more
Carolyn's
Oct 21, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: net-galley
Love friends to lovers books! Owen and Gabby are sweet together and for them to struggle to figure out they were meant to be together was wanting me to scream JUST SPEAK, AND BE HONEST!! However, the thoughts of losing your best friend, and really the only family Gabby has, is a scary risk to take when you aren't sure of the other person's feeling. Reading the navigation of these two around what they feel and what they aren't sure the other feels was a great read!
Deborah
Nov 15, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: amazon-done, jd-read
More Than Friends is a sweet, easy going Christmas romance.  Gabby and Owen are best friends.  When Owen's mother presses him about coming home for Christmas, he begs off saying he can not leave the love of his life alone at Christmas. Only there is no love of his life, as Owen isn't even dating anyone.  Low and behold, his family decides to bring the holiday to him this Christmas and wants to meet Owen's new girlfriend! With no one on his radar, Owen begs Gabby to take on the role of his fake g ...more
Sarah
Jun 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Such a lovely, sweet romance to cozy up with. I read this book in just over a day because it was so difficult to put it down.
Elizabeth Neal
Dec 12, 2016 rated it really liked it
Owen knows his best friend, Gabriella (Gabby), very well, which means when he needs a favor, he has a back up plan just in case...pizza. As he's working up the courage to ask, and they're enjoying pizza and beer, he can't stop noticing things about her, her lips, long legs, how natural it felt to hug her. *Focus, Owen, focus.* He's never viewed Gabby as anything other than his best friend before, so what's his brain doing? He starts to explain what's bothering him, his parents, sister, and aunt ...more
Angel Hatfield
Dec 07, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Owen’s best friend was Gabby, Gabby worked as an administrative assistant at a local community college but she was also an artist. Gabby had the apartment next to Owen. Owen worked at home in a tech job. Gabby had an easy going personality and was usually happy. Gabby had been asked to do a five piece show o0n New Years Eve at the Carter Klein Gallery and that was a big thing for Gabby and helping her to get her career as an artist going. Owen had met Gabby a couple of years ago when they had bo ...more
Stephanie
Nov 04, 2016 rated it liked it
I received a copy of this title from NetGalley. It does not impact my review.

*What Worked for Me*

-I am a sucker for a fake relationship story and this book did it fairly well.

-I liked Owen a lot. He was sweet and smart. I found his preference for quiet and small groups really relatable. I also enjoyed his family, though they could have been developed just a little more.

-I liked the friendship between Owen and Gabby. I felt like they were really best friends before the romance started.

-There are
...more
Lucia
Best friends to lovers romance for these neighbours via a fake romance at Christmas

More Than Friends is my first read by Jody Holford so I had no idea what to expect. Overall, I really enjoyed this light hearted Christmas friends to lovers fake romance that shows all the trials and tribulations that come with transitioning from the realms of friends to lovers via a fake romance.

Owen and Gabrielle (Gabby), who tell the story through dual points of views, are two very likeable and sweet character
...more
Book Gannet
3.5 stars.

I love a good friends-to-lovers romance, and this one is definitely in the good category. Owen and Gabby have been friends and neighbours for a couple of years, they know each other better than anyone else, but while Owen sees Gabby as his best friend, Gabby secretly wishes for a little bit more. Then comes the inconvenient lie, which naturally leads to unexpected chemistry and the rest is fairly guessable.

But that’s most of the fun with this sort of romance. It’s not a will-they-won’t
...more
Beth ~ Panda & Boodle
Nov 24, 2016 rated it really liked it
“There isn’t anything about you I would change.”

…and isn't that exactly as it should be in love and friendship?

The answer you're looking for is a resounding YES, and that makes up one of themes of this sweet read from Jody Holford. It’s a cute premise—friends-to-lovers (when done well) is favorite trope of mine. And thankfully, here, it is done very well.

There's a lot of emotion in More Than Friends. More than I expected, as a matter of fact, which was a pleasant surprise. Although perhaps a
...more
Cara Ross
Nov 30, 2016 rated it it was amazing
When Owen Burnett asked his best friend Gabby Michaelson to resend to be his girlfriend, to fool his family over Christmas, he didn't think too much past getting Gabby to actually agree to this mad cap scheme. All he wanted was to survive this holiday season, in a quiet manner, which is exactly the way Owen is, not like his theatrical family.

Gabby has been in love everyone with Owen forever! Even if he only thinks of her on a best friend capacity. But when he asked her to pretend to be his girlf
...more
Reviews from the Heart (Kimberly Anne)
More Than Friends is a perfectly sweet and light hearted read for the holiday season.

You know that warm and cozy feeling you get from watching those Christmas movies on the Hallmark channel? That is exactly the kind of feeling that More Than Friends delivers. This was a clean sweet romance that starts with best friends who enter into a fake relationship for the holidays. Will it remain a fake relationship, or is there really a spark there that was just waiting for the right time to ignite.

Owen
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
211 followers
a wife* a mom* a reader and a writer* a friend* a daughter* a teacher* a sister* a blogger and follower* a worrier and word twister* a gemini*

Other books in the series

Kendrick Place (3 books)
  • The Bad Boy Next Door
  • Hate to Love Him