Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Last Treasure of Ancient England (The Chester Bentley Mysteries Book 1)” as Want to Read:
The Last Treasure of Ancient England (The Chester Bentley Mysteries Book 1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Last Treasure of Ancient England (The Chester Bentley Mysteries Book 1)

by
4.73  ·  Rating details ·  11 Ratings  ·  8 Reviews
"Absolutely epic - the ultimate adventure page-turner!" Rose Collins

It is 1066 and in the aftermath of the Battle of Hastings the lifeless corpse of King Harold has been looted. The disappearance of a particular item enrages Duke William, and only one of his knights knows its whereabouts. In his remaining years this knight has to make a decision: will he ever share his se
...more
Kindle Edition, 413 pages
Published October 14th 2016
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Last Treasure of Ancient England, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Last Treasure of Ancient England

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-29)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Susan Hampson
Apr 08, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: author-reads
I was never big on history when I was at school but wow I know now that what was missing was the passion of someone that loves it teaching me. These two author friends have combined a well known historical event, The Battle of Hastings in 1066 and a boarding school mystery to create an absolutely fantastic book. I was delighted to be reading a story, that in so many ways, reminded me of the Famous Five with a touch of a supernatural element to enhance it even more. This is a brilliant Young Adul ...more
Rose Collins
Jan 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Absolutely epic- the ultimate adventure page turner!

The Last Treasure of Ancient England is the most exciting historical mystery quest adventure fiction I've ever read.
A bit similar to the genre style of Dan Brown mixed with the youngsters with a mystery to solve of Enid Blyton and with a bit of the Hardy Boys thrown in.
I loved the fact that the adventures on a 'quest of discovery' were boarding school children, rather than the typical professional academic/ police or federal agent on a trail
...more
Adam Marischuk
As a highschool teacher I read this book for a colleague with the aim of evaluating the book for potention use in the classroom. I think that 'The Last Treasure of Ancient England' would make excellent reading for the high school level young adult reader.

The book is set at an English private boarding school where a group of friends stumble across a series of historical clues/mysteries that lead them off on an adventure. A sub-plot, intricately connected the main plot, is the Norman invasion of E
...more
Caroline
Mar 10, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: ebooks
An interesting start to a series starring a bright schoolboy. This time he is on the trail of some Norman/Anglo-Saxon treasure. I'm fairly local to where this was set so I appreciated the good local detail and inclusion of the Exeter Book. Also enjoyed the use of Latin in the clues. I did find this quite slow to get into though - I felt a lot of the adventure didn't really start until halfway through. One that older children might enjoy.
Arwen
Dec 08, 2016 rated it it was amazing
You’ve probably heard a book claim to be the next so-and-so. You know the next Narnia, or new Lord of the Rings, or next Nancy Drew. Well I often dismiss those claims. Especially since I’ve been let down so many times because the comparision didn’t live up. However, I will dare to make a comparission here… This Chester Bentley Mystery is the closest I’ve come to reading something that captures, as an adult, the feelings I had when reading Nancy Drew and Hardy Boys as a child.

There is a real sens
...more
Adrienne Nichols
rated it it was amazing
Dec 18, 2016
P.R.
Mar 30, 2017 rated it really liked it
This book drew me back to the kind of mystery/adventure stories I read as a child and to my own child. Written in the vein of C S Lewis, Marjorie Phillips and in some ways J K Rowling (Harry Potter series) it is one of those tales which can be equally enjoyed by a teenager and an adult. There is a wonderfully old-fashioned feel of 'good and bad' about the story. It is also remarkably packed with historical facts, many of which are intriguing.

The story is divided into three sections time-wise, th
...more
Nicky Clifford
rated it it was amazing
Jan 15, 2017
Caroline Vincent - Bits about Books
From the 1066 Battle of Hastings Richard secretly takes something. A millennium later, a mystery engages Chester Bentley on an adventurous treasure hunt…

Introduction

The Chester Bentley Mysteries #1

Richard, a French farmer who has lost everything, is forced to fight for the man who was responsible for the murder of his parents: William, Duke of Normandy. This is the man who will become William the Conqueror having crossed the English Channel with his army in a bid to wrest the throne from Anglo-S
...more
Adam Marischuk
Apr 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing
As a highschool teacher I read this book for a collegue with the aim of evaluating the book for potention use in the classroom. I think that 'The Last Treasure of Ancient England' would make excellent reading for the high school level young adult reader.

The book is set at an English private boarding school where a group of friends stumble across a series of historical clues/mysteries that lead them off on an adventure. A sub-plot, intricately connected the main plot, is the Norman invasion of En
...more
Jill Berensen
rated it it was amazing
Jan 01, 2017
Carole-Ann
marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2016
Mary
marked it as to-read
Nov 23, 2016
Nancy
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2017
The Captain
marked it as to-read
Apr 08, 2017
Ad
marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2017
Miss S Melbourne
is currently reading it
Jun 14, 2017
Tricia Preston
marked it as to-read
Oct 10, 2017
daniel perkins
is currently reading it
Oct 26, 2017
Paul Ward
marked it as to-read
Oct 27, 2017
CNickerson
is currently reading it
Nov 10, 2017
Meylon Rideout
marked it as to-read
Nov 22, 2017
Heather
marked it as to-read
Nov 04, 2016
Gemma McGee
marked it as to-read
Nov 09, 2016
Marsha
marked it as to-read
Nov 17, 2016
Leigh Farina
marked it as to-read
Jan 11, 2017
Denise
marked it as to-read
Jan 14, 2017
Chloe Mullen
marked it as to-read
Aug 10, 2017
Almachius
marked it as to-read
Jun 19, 2018
2 followers
You may be surprised to learn that MJ Colewood is in fact not one, but two authors. Mark Colenutt and Jacqueline Wood are friends, who after years of talking about books finally decided to join forces and write The Last Treasure of Ancient England.

Mark’s inspiration for the book came from his own boarding school days in the 1980’s at Buckland House School in Devon. The old manor house captured his
...more
More about M.J. Colewood
“History is all around us and you, my lucky few, are living in some of it..” 1 likes
“A horse! A horse! My Dukedom for a horse!" (Duke William at Hastings - The Last Treasure of Ancient England)” 0 likes
More quotes…