Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Wanderers” as Want to Read:
Wanderers
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Wanderers

by
4.22  ·  Rating details ·  888 ratings  ·  320 reviews
A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world's last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival.

Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She app
...more
ebook, 800 pages
Published July 9th 2019 by Del Rey (first published June 1st 2019)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.22  · 
Rating details
 ·  888 ratings  ·  320 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Tammy
Jan 04, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This reminds me a lot of The Stand. In fact, the author admits to it within the novel. What Wendig doesn’t do is veer off into the cartoonish which King, at times, has a tendency to do. Don’t let its length deter you. It reads quickly and I finished it within three days. Wendig wrestles with potent questions here including the power of technology, extreme prejudice, the religious façade and violence of the Christian right, morality and the crumbling of society. What’s more he is able to inject i ...more
Lisa
Jun 17, 2019 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
This fucking book. I love long "end of the world books." How. it ends doesn't matter to me. This book has many comparisons to other books. Please, let that go. The Stand, and Swan Song are different animals. If you compare Stand to Swan, then you're a fucking idiot. This story. This fucking tale was bullshit! I absolutely despised this crap. I loved the rock star. A.rock star! I have been bored for 2 months now. I quit. Take this boring crap and... Actually, I really don't believe that this fuck ...more
karen
Mar 05, 2019 marked it as to-read
Shelves: arcstack
this:



was arcstack before i got this beautiful 800 page beast (in a slipcase, no less - fancy ARC, why you so fancy?) about a mysterious epidemic, societal breakdown, post-event survival, journeys across a shattered american landscape - i.e. ALL OF MY JAMS!

sorry, arcstack, i think we have to have a talk.
Bradley
Jun 07, 2019 rated it it was amazing
It's the end of the world and I feel... uuurkkk...

Let me tell you something, my fine folks. I think I had more fun reading this book than I have for ANY apocalypse book. That's including the Stand, Lucifer's Hammer, or The Power. And perhaps a few others that I rank higher than the rest.

But let me be clear. I had the most fun with this. I'm not saying it has MORE to gloam onto than the Stand, but I had myself a few issues with the Stand. The whole moralistic good vs. evil, for example. And I had
...more
Michael Hicks
My review of WANDERERS can be found at High Fever Books.

Film critic Roger Ebert once said, “No good movie is too long and no bad movie is short enough.” The same is certainly true of books. Chuck Wendig’s Wanderers, sure to be the man’s magnum opus, clocks in at 800 pages and took me roughly two weeks to get through (a longer-than-expected number of days for me, thanks to some very limited reading time while I was busy attending StokerCon 2019). Thankfully, it’s every bit as good as I had expect
...more
Donna Backshall
This was a mammoth book, and I feel a sincere sense of satisfaction for finishing. I delayed reviewing, because I needed some time to wrap my head around ALL THOSE WORDS.

Here goes: ★★ Two guilty stars because I invested over a week into Wanderers and I have no "OMG I HAVE TO TALK TO EVERYONE ABOUT THIS BOOK" compulsion to show for my commitment to this huge, wandering novel.

I don't quite know how to characterize my experience reading Wanderers. The first two-thirds of the book (~500 pages) feel
...more
Karen’s Library
Jun 01, 2019 rated it it was amazing
My two favorite genres are sci-fi and apocalypse, so when I find a book that blends the two, I’m in reading heaven!! My all time favorite books in this type of genre are The Stand, Swan Song, The Book of M, The Passage, and now... Wanderers! All are epic and most are behemoth books!

I couldn’t get enough of Wanderers! A teen girl sleepwalks out of her house one night, but can’t be woken up. Ever. Eventually other sleepwalkers join in. Their loved ones stay with them to watch over them and eventu
...more
Kyra Leseberg (Roots & Reads)
May 28, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: arc
I've been hearing buzz about Wanderers for several months now and was thrilled to have Memorial Day weekend to curl up and read it!

Shana Stewart wakes up one morning on her family farm and notices her sister Nessie wandering down the road.  When Shana catches up with Nessie, she believes her sister is sleepwalking.  
As Nessie walks through town, seemingly unaware of her own actions and unable to be awakened, another person soon joins her.
Shana doesn't know where her sister and the growing number
...more
MissBecka
Are you freaking kidding me?!
You had 800 pages Chuck and you couldn't wrap that shit up in a nice tidy bow?
Dammit.
If you haven't already guessed by my rant I am unhappy with how this ends.
Too open ended.
Hopefully that means there will be another book?
Don't get me wrong I loved the crap out of this book and I am super excited at the prospect of more in this world. But dude.....COME. ON.
I hate waiting.
Much love to Chuck Wendig for the signed ARC I got at BookCon.
It was awesome to meet you and I a
...more
OutlawPoet
Jun 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Fair warning, I’m going to start with an anecdote. (Sorry, but stick with me.)

The other day I was in a restaurant with my daughter and my parents. The conversation started out, as it often does, with the question: What are you reading?

So, I began to tell them about Wanderers. I didn’t do the spoiler thing, but I did take them through the first couple of chapters. By time I was done, they were announcing theories (my mom kept insisting it was aliens). I smiled and told them they would have to rea
...more
Dave
May 25, 2019 rated it it was ok
Running against the herd here, but this one simply didn’t work. Speaking of herds, if you’ve watched enough Walking Dead, you know about the dead 💀 wandering in herds. Here, you get a similar phenomenon with eyes bulging and consciousness seeping out they walk toward a goal like the folks in Close Encounters with shepherds tending to them. The survival of the species might be at stake, but that all gets lost in a story with shifting points of view and an attempt to throw politics religion and ro ...more
Koeur
May 17, 2019 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Rating: 1.5/5

Review: This was quite the grande attempt at combining “2001: A Space Odyssey”, and “Andromeda Strain”. Throw in a splash of zombie like symptoms and voila! Seems like there is a plethora of pandemic/apoc novels floating around these days….some good, mostly bad. I think this novel fell into the ‘bad’ category although it shouldn’t have.

Writing for the masses. This novel tried to appeal to the movie goer that enjoys dramatic dialogue interspersed with over-the-top violence by the gov
...more
Shannon (It Starts At Midnight)
You can find the full review and all the fancy and/or randomness that accompanies it at It Starts at Midnight .

4.5*

Not only did I read this whole 800 page book in a pretty reasonable amount of time, I enjoyed every minute. And if you take nothing else away from  my review, take away that. It seems intimidating when you first begin; I was certainly intimidated. But I shouldn't have been. It was engaging, entertaining, and I never once felt it drag. 

We start out in a quaint Pennsylvania town (not
...more
Dennis
Jul 02, 2019 marked it as dnf
Although the writing is phenomenal, this epic story just is too slow for my liking. I'll have to pick it up when I'm in the mood for a slower paced novel.
Steven
Thanks to Netgalley and the publishers for providing me with an advanced copy in exchange for an honest review.

I don't know how I feel about this book. I enjoyed much of it, and other parts of it really ticked me off. It felt grand on an epic scale, but then certain parts made it feel small and not so epic.

Pros- good character development, interesting storyline, cool concept

Cons - twice as long as it needed to be, unnecessary rape scene, end with little to no closure whatsoever.

Overall, I enjoye
...more
Paul Krueger
Jan 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
(Full disclosure: I am a Del Rey author who is friendly with Chuck.)

I was lucky enough to get an advanced copy of this, and now I have a long wait until I can talk about this with folks come July. That, however, was the only downside of this book. Despite its length, WANDERERS is light on its feet, deftly spinning narrative plates without ever letting them wobble. As the story's events cascade farther and farther out of control, Wendig's laser focus on his characters keep everything feeling stru
...more
Sadie Hartmann Mother Horror
If you're reading this review, it means that you're interested in my individual experience with this book WANDERERS. I think it's safe to say that this is a highly anticipated release this year and it's certainly getting a ton of coverage. So, I'm going to honor the fact that you're taking a moment to see what I have to say about it--among the countless other reviews out there available to you. There won't be any plot details here--just my reading experiences and feelings.
I want to leave all you
...more
Matthew Noe
May 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I've called this an exhausting read several times. At its end, I stand by that. It took real time to read and I suspect that's because it feels too close to real, hits so hard on the unending existential dread I (and much of my generation) exist with that it simply drains at you. And a realization about coffee by a main character should remind anyone who knows me of my fears.

Perhaps all of this - the exhaustion, the dread, the moral mess - is why it needs to be read.
Bonnie
Because I'm on my phone and don't know how to enter gifs *insert Kevin Sorbo disappointed gif here*
Tracy Robinson
Jul 04, 2019 rated it it was amazing
My review from www.scifiandscary.com

“Biology had at its core a keen and singular horror that made all the bogeyman stuff as scary as a preschool playroom.” – Chuck Wendig, Wanderers

Giant, crashing meteors. Zombie outbreaks. Alien invasions. Cataclysmic weather events. Earthquakes. Volcanic eruptions. Nuclear disasters. Insidious biological/viral maladies.

Why are so many of us drawn to tales that outline the destruction of life as we know it? These are not light things. Unimaginable loss of life
...more
David Domkoski
Apr 08, 2019 rated it it was ok
The Wanderers Review

I read The Wonderers, a new novel by the multitalented Chuck Wendig courtesy of Net Galley. They sent me the ARC in exchange for an unbiased review.

Given the author's reputation and my previous encounters with Wendig's books, I had high hopes. I continued to be excited by the book through the first two chapters. A young girl wakes up to discover her sister is missing. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. Where is she walking to, no one knows
...more
Marissa
...WHAT ON EARTH WAS THAT ENDING?!
☕️Kimberly
Jun 30, 2019 rated it really liked it
Wendig’s relevant, apocalyptic tale touches on technology, extreme religious groups, end of times, and the fear of the unknown. From political maneuvering to using fear as a tool we see and experience it all as a young girl follows her sister and others across America’s flyover states.

It’s a normal sunny morning on the farm when Shanna sees her younger sister walking aimlessly towards the road. She follows and quickly realizes something is wrong. By the time she gets her father another walker ha
...more
Justin Brendel
Jun 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arc-netgalley
Well, that was a journey! My legs are tired from wandering! Thanks to Netgalley and Del-Rey for the advanced copy! This book is massive in scope. It has been compared to The Stand, and in fact The Stand is name-checked in this book. Sleepwalkers are traveling as a flock to a destination for some strange reason. Family members of the sleepwalkers are walking with them to protect them, and thus becoming 'shepherds.' The world is confused and captivated by this. An epidemic is destroying and breaki ...more
FanFiAddict
Jun 20, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Rating: ★★★★★

Synopsis

A decadent rock star. A deeply religious radio host. A disgraced scientist. And a teenage girl who may be the world’s last hope. In the tradition of The Stand and Station Eleven comes a gripping saga that weaves an epic tapestry of humanity into an astonishing tale of survival.

Shana wakes up one morning to discover her little sister in the grip of a strange malady. She appears to be sleepwalking. She cannot talk and cannot be woken up. And she is heading with inexorable dete
...more
Beth Cato
May 28, 2019 rated it it was amazing
I received an advance reading copy via Netgalley.

What makes Wanderers such an intense, disturbing read isn't that it's gory--though it has some major moments of that. Or that it spins the apocalypse in a sinister new way; sneezing as you read will creep you out, trust me. Or that Chuck Wendig is from a GRRM school of writers where no one is sacred or safe; seriously, expect a lot of death, torture, and even a graphic rape mixed in. What makes this book such a successful psychological trip is tha
...more
Anneke
Jun 05, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Book Review: Wanderers
Author: Chuck Wendig
Publisher: Random House/Ballantine
Publication Date: July 2, 2019
Review Date: June 5, 2019

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

For starters, I want to let you know that this book is 800 pages long. I didn’t realize that when I started reading it, and I may have not started it if I had known how long it was. I can usually read a 350 page book in a day, and this book took me 6 days to read.

In many of the revie
...more
Kyle
Jun 05, 2019 rated it really liked it
Thank you to Mr. Wendig, Del Rey, and NetGalley for the opputunit to read an advance reader copy of the EPIC Summer Read that is "The Wanderers" When I say epic, I mean huge! This book may have even weighed my Kindle down! While it is a big tale, I found it very readable. This book is often mentioned along with The Stand, and while there are some similarities, it is a difficult comparison, especially with a legendary piece of work by Mr. King. I found it more similar to The Passage by Justin Cro ...more
☕️Kimberly
4.5 End of the world apocalyptic tale that was addictive, dark and heartwarming. Full RTC.
Jordan
So, uh, wow. That kept me hooked for the entire book, and still managed to pull the rug out from under me in the last few pages. I can’t wait to see what everyone else thinks of this one.

Find this review at Forever Lost in Literature!

Wanderers is an enormously ambitious novel that really took me by surprise. I had extremely high hopes for this book and I was not disappointed in the slightest. In all truthfulness, Wanderers is the first book that I have ever read by Chuck Wendig--and it certainl
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
You Are Never Too...: Wanderers - July 18, 2019 11 7 Jul 20, 2019 05:43AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Future of Another Timeline
  • Motherland
  • Permafrost
  • Wherever She Goes
  • Famous Men Who Never Lived
  • Recursion
  • The Lesson
  • The Light Brigade
  • Poor Relations
  • Inspection
  • The Test
  • Waste Tide
  • Ancestral Night (White Space, #1)
  • Empress of Forever
  • The Ten Thousand Doors of January
  • The Harp of Kings
  • The Haunting of Tram Car 015
  • Master and Apprentice (Star Wars)
See similar books…
3,342 followers
Chuck Wendig is a novelist, a screenwriter, and a freelance penmonkey.
He has contributed over two million words to the roleplaying game industry, and was the developer of the popular Hunter: The Vigil game line (White Wolf Game Studios / CCP).

He, along with writing partner Lance Weiler, is a fellow of the Sundance Film Festival Screenwriter's Lab (2010). Their short film, Pandemic, will show at th
...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“The best gift you can give somebody is a surprise because they never forget.” 0 likes
“You didn’t change anyone’s mind about politics by hammering away at them—all that did was drive the nail deeper into the wall of their own certainty.” 0 likes
More quotes…