Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Discovery” as Want to Read:
Discovery
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Discovery

by
4.60  ·  Rating details ·  30 ratings  ·  13 reviews
Sisters Ann, Tommie and Rita are part of a classified mission to explore an alien ship that has crash landed on an asteroid three billion miles from earth. Humanity's first contact with beings from beyond the solar system is bound to unlock the mystery of life in the universe, but the crew have their own secrets; hidden fears, desires, horrible sins...and a mission to kill ...more
Paperback, 326 pages
Published September 29th 2016 by Full Quiver Publishing (first published September 18th 2016)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Discovery, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Discovery

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Carolyn
If your mental picture of religious sisters is dour, old women with wimple habits and ankle-length skirts, then scrub that image before opening Discovery. The sisters in the Order of Our Lady of the Rescue are post-modern, brave pioneers with habits suited to work in zero gravity.

The challenges to their present mission on the alien craft Discovery are best summed up by Sister Rita's exclamation of "Codists and Wiccans and evangelists, oh, my." Sister Rita, along with stalwart pilot Sister Thomas
...more
Fred Warren
Discovery takes place in the near-future, as humanity is pushing out into the Solar System, has established major habitats in Earth orbit, on the Moon and on Mars, and has begun commercial mining operations in the Asteroid Belt. Zero-gee is a great equalizer for workers in space, where coordination and balance often trump physical strength. So, it’s not so great a stretch to imagine religious communities, including the Catholic Church, would find their niche in the Belt, with both men and women ...more
Cynthia
3.5 stars because I liked this story. (3 stars here, 4 stars on Amazon) I knew before I started reading that this would be unlike any novel I'd read before, even among science fiction. But come on—nuns in space? Well, technically Catholic sisters because they aren't cloistered in a convent.

Ms. Fabian tells a highly creative story that reflects her Catholic faith but offers new and clever elements. And asks questions. So be ready to think.

My only complaint regarding the plot is that the alien s
...more
Jeff Miller
Oct 04, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
First off there was just so much I enjoyed. I just love the concept of an order of Religious sisters dedicated to rescuing people involved in accidents in space (Our Lady of the Rescue).

An apparently dead alien starship is detected in the Kuiper Belt on an asteroid and a team has been sent out to investigate. The “Rescue Sisters” were sought out to join the mission and to provide training and oversee safety.

An interesting premise, but what I think I loved most was the characters in the story. Th
...more
Mary Catelli
Apr 09, 2017 rated it really liked it
It opens with a scene to set the stage: an accident at a space mining operation. Three religious sisters -- of Our Lady of Rescue -- in action. Shortly therefore, they are among the three off on a mission to the very end of the Solar System, where is a shipwreck. Of an alien ship. This was discovered only by telescope, so they are the first people out there.

Miners to try recovery. Scientists to do research. Sisters to instruct in spacesuits and the like. And the ship's crew, including a zerog --
...more
Christine Johnson
Nuns in space? Yes, please!

Okay, they're actually sisters. I do know the difference.

I was hooked pretty early on in this book and found it difficult to put down again once I started. The characters are well-developed, and none feel like cardboard cutouts (including the non-Catholic ones). The idea of having a religious order in space makes perfect sense to anyone familiar with Church history, and the author makes sure there's plenty of background and history to go along with a religious order d
...more
Sarah
Nov 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2016-list
Discovery had me delighted from the beginning. For one thing it has nuns in space.

Sit with that for a while. An order of nuns, the Rescue Sisters of St. Joseph de Cupertino, whose focus is in space.

Over the years, I’ve followed quite a few of the adventures of the Sisters in space, and a few of them, like Sister Ann, have become friends I meet again. This, though, is the first full-length novel with the Rescue Sisters in it; my other brushes with them have been short stories in collections Fabia
...more
Theresa Linden
Oct 01, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Discovery by Karina Fabian is a well-crafted science fiction about a group of researchers and scientists on a mission to learn more about a recently-discovered, crashed alien spaceship. This story has amazing depth, using facets of science and technology to illuminate spiritual realities and inner challenges of the human soul. The characters sucked me into the story from the beginning. And there are many characters, but they are all well-developed with driving goals, strong personalities, and re ...more
Jane Lebak
Oct 13, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Review to come soon.
Esther Koncyk Mortensen
Very different & interesting

I read this book because it was recommended on a blog that's never recommended a book I didn't like.
That being said, this was probably the most strange sci-fi I've ever read. The main characters were nuns working salvage out in space. Besides some of the characters obviously being strong Catholics, the faith wasn't overbearing but rather flowed naturally as did the faith of other persuasions.
Surprisingly this wasn't a story that could've taken place on earth or a
...more
Todd
Sep 18, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Inspirational, heart warming, funny, and relevant.

Oh, to live in that world. Where at least one person connects with God regularly. Out among the planets, and with a Warp drive coming, soon to be the stars.

This is a must read for science fiction fans and religious scholars alike.
Erin Cupp
May 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Deeply imaginative and thought-provoking, Discovery delivers a heart-wrenching thrill that space exploration fans will not want to miss and that the more earthbound will want to discover. A great read!
Jill
Dec 17, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
It started out kinda slow and confusing, but eventually I sorted out what was going on and liked the ending much more. Still not sure what those 'pod rooms' did exactly, but maybe it's OK that they were left to the imagination. I'd like to meet Sister Ann.
Daniel Costello
rated it really liked it
Mar 04, 2018
Jeff
rated it it was amazing
Aug 05, 2017
Byron
rated it really liked it
Jan 11, 2017
Rochelle
rated it it was amazing
Dec 26, 2016
Ed R Martin
rated it it was amazing
Oct 09, 2016
Lisa Nicholas
rated it it was amazing
Mar 30, 2017
Leslea Wahl
rated it really liked it
Jul 07, 2018
Karina Fabian
Jan 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Jean
rated it it was amazing
Aug 23, 2017
Mike Kilman
rated it really liked it
Nov 29, 2018
Ann Marie
rated it it was amazing
Apr 27, 2017
Jill Bowers
rated it it was amazing
Dec 24, 2016
Turbinate1
rated it it was amazing
Jan 30, 2017
Ellen Gable
rated it it was amazing
Sep 09, 2016
Alyssa Watson
rated it really liked it
Jan 22, 2017
Sue Logan
rated it it was amazing
Feb 11, 2017
Tim Scholze
rated it really liked it
Dec 27, 2017
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Fringe Fiction: alien ship 1 12 May 27, 2017 07:52AM  
Goodreads Librari...: pg count 2 11 Jan 27, 2017 10:27PM  
Goodreads Librari...: book cover on amazon 2 12 Oct 06, 2016 07:28PM  
Karina Fabian is a science fiction and fantasy writers, author of 16 novels, three anthologies, a devotional and many stories and articles. Her latest science fiction novel, Discovery, features religious sisters in space, and she’s working on rebooting her DragonEye series, which stars a snarky dragon working under the direction of the Church. She teaches writing and is an active member of the Cat ...more
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »