Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Don't Mean a Thing (Got That Swing, #1)” as Want to Read:
Don't Mean a Thing (Got That Swing, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Don't Mean a Thing

(Got That Swing #1)

by
4.04  ·  Rating details ·  46 Ratings  ·  34 Reviews
What if you finally took the lead, but life refused to follow?

Thirty-year-old introvert, Macie Harman, has finally found a career she is passionate about, and after months of training, she’s begun her new job in the Royal Australian Air Force. Leaving behind her family, friends, and the life she knew, Macie has travelled to the other side of the country where the only pers
...more
Paperback, 200 pages
Published November 2nd 2016 by Kindred Ink Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Don't Mean a Thing, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Renee All the people are fictitious but there are lots of real places used in the setting. If you've ever been to Darwin, you'll recognise Mindil Beach…moreAll the people are fictitious but there are lots of real places used in the setting. If you've ever been to Darwin, you'll recognise Mindil Beach markets, Crocosaurus Cove and Nightcliff Jetty as well as many other places. (less)
Dancing with a Dead Horse by Danielle DeVorDance Demons by Juliet M. SampsonBilly Elliot by Melvin BurgessThe Spiral Dance by StarhawkThe Twelve Dancing Princesses by Marianna Mayer
Dancing
213 books — 55 voters
Ballet Shoes by Noel StreatfeildRussian Winter by Daphne Kalotaydancergirl by Carol M. TanzmanThe Man I Love by Suanne LaqueurDancing on My Grave by Gelsey Kirkland
Best Books About Dance
264 books — 149 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Sara
Jan 18, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: giveaway
This is a sweet little debut novel that I was afraid was going to be silly and cheesy, but turned out to be surprisingly down-to-earth. It was a quick, easy read, and I learned quite a bit about Australian culture (including words I had no idea existed). It's always an added bonus when you're enjoying what you're learning whilst reading.

I am looking forward to reading the second part of this.
Lusie
Dec 15, 2016 rated it really liked it
I thought it was a lovely story! I liked the mix of dancing and romance. I love dancing movies and it was fun to read how Macie learned to dance and how she fell in love. Loved the ending!
Jo
Dec 02, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2016-books
Don't Mean a Thing is a light, romantic, and at times, very funny novel. The emphasis is very much placed upon romaine and love, rather than that of sex, and I liked this approach. Sometimes you just need a gentle, romantic read to slowly soothe all of your troubles away, and this novel does just that. It's perfect for a lazy Sunday afternoon, curled up with a cup of coffee.

I really enjoyed this debut novel. I liked the fact that the central character, Macie, was a woman working in the RAAF. The
...more
Karen ⊰✿
Dec 10, 2016 rated it really liked it
There's nothing quite like a book that you can start and finish with a smile!
Macie is in her early 30s and has decided on a career change into the Royal Australian Air Force (RAAF). She has finished her training and just arrived in Darwin to start her new life in the military. There is so much to like about Macie. She is genuine with her friendships, strong in her beliefs and just plain likeable.
I loved the juxtaposition of swing dancing and military life. I don't know much about either and I f
...more
Kirsty Cochrane
Nov 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed this book. It encapsulates the Darwin lifestyle and the military lifestyle well. I found it to be light and fun with a nice amount of romance topping it off. I found myself grinning through a good portion of of the book and recommend this to engine who enjoys something light, romantic and funny.

I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.
Sonia
Dec 12, 2016 rated it really liked it
Review to come
Grass monster
Dec 16, 2016 rated it really liked it
The Blurb :
What if you finally took the lead, but life refused to follow?
Thirty-year-old introvert, Macie Harman, has finally found a career she is passionate about, and after months of training, she’s begun her new job in the Royal Australian Air Force. Leaving behind her family, friends, and the life she knew, Macie has travelled to the other side of the country where the only person she knows is Rachael, the extroverted girl she went through basic training with. Everywhere Macie goes, Rachael
...more
Agnieszka
Chick-Lit is not my favorite genre and I had no big expectation for this book and it was a positive surprise.
I liked most of the characters and the funny way it was written, as well as the blend of military and dancing. I enjoyed the Australian English but I'm not sure if it was despite of the struggle I had with the different words or beacause of it :-)
The ending was little bit too sudden and one of the subplots much too unrealistic which led in the end to a 3*-rating instead of the 4*-stars I
...more
Ashley M
Dec 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: romance, winter-16-17
I really loved this book so much. It is very well written, and it truly captured my full attention. I loved watching Macie and Matt fall in love, and tease me all the way to the end. I loved how authentic it was as an Aussie story. The lingo was sometimes a little beyond me, but it's not that hard to figure out what they're usually saying in the book. I can't wait for book #2 to see what happens next. I hope it's in the works already.
Lily Malone
Nov 23, 2016 rated it really liked it
I love shaking my bootie on the dance floor as much as the next girl, so I knew that I'd like the dance action in this book from the second I saw the title.
No surprise to me then that the dance scenes were the parts of Don't Mean A Thing that I loved best. The next thing I enjoyed was the Darwin Australian tropical setting. I really liked how the author bought such authenticity to the tropical setting. Little details such as when Macie is getting ready to go out for the annual RAAF ball, and pu
...more
Jennifer Collin
Nov 28, 2016 rated it really liked it
A fabulous read that's both authentic and original. Macie, Matt and their supporting cast are characters you can relate to - as are their ups and downs. Macie in particular is a terrific heroine - a strong, independent woman who's vulnerable to those little moments of doubt and uncertainty that we all face. The swing scene is a lot of fun and the military environment something new and refreshing. Conoulty does a fantastic job of implanting her reader in the setting. I could virtually feel Darwin ...more
Kayla
Dec 21, 2016 rated it it was amazing
What a swinging good read! I felt like I was in Australia, right along side Macie. Pleasurable story that anyone could relate to. Just when you begin living your life doing what you are passionate about, there is always something that can either add flare or divert your path. Cute weekend read!

I received a free reading copy of this book and voluntarily read it.
Janine
Nov 12, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Lovely easy read! Debut novel by a lovely Aussie author. I loved the descriptions of Darwin and the glimpse into a woman's military life. Marcie was such a refreshing and charming character and who could possibly resist Matt - men who dance are gold. Can't wait to see what book 2 holds in store, I would love to see how they get on in the future. Well done Renee
marlin1
Nov 04, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ebook, netgalley
**3.5 stars**

Macie had recently finished her RAAF training and has been posted to Darwin. Being a ‘mature entry’ person means she’s a little lost at first, as most of her workmates are younger and ready for nights on the town. When she joins a Swing Dance Group a whole new world opens up to her, especially when she meets fellow dance member Matt.

This was very gentle romance, it’s about Macie finding her confidence in a new relationship and deciding what she really wants out of the RAAF life. Can
...more
Samantha March
Cute cute cute! Those were my first thoughts upon finishing Don’t Mean A Thing by Renee Conoulty. Set in Australia, we follow Macie Harman, who is new town after joining the Royal Australian Air Force. Macie is a bit like myself – a quiet introvert who loves to read and also discovers her love of dance. Being new on base and only knowing Rachael, the loud extrovert who Macie can only take in small doses, she decides to check out a swing dancing group – and finds more than she bargains for. She f ...more
Cai
Macie Harman is posted to Darwin with the air force and in an attempt to make new friends joins a swing dancing class. There she meets Matt, a school teacher, and the romance begins.

The debut novel by fellow book blogger Renee Conoulty is a highly entertaining read. The characters were delightful and incredibly relatable with an interesting and realistic story line. Does anyone else find that when they read a chick lit, it can turn out to be a bit outlandish? Not in this novel. Don’t Mean A Thi
...more
Anna Nesterovich
I received a copy of this book for free in exchange for an honest review, which makes it hard giving it only three stars, but my rating reflects my feelings quite well on the Goodreads scale: I 'liked it', not 'really liked it'. My main problem is with the characters. I appreciate the perspective, I really do, but though the story is sweet and Macie is relatable and well written, all others look quite flat. I couldn't believe in the existence of Matt for one minute. Where did you see an immacula ...more
Linda
Feb 04, 2017 rated it really liked it
Don't Mean a Thing, with its catchy title and fun book cover, is a light, enjoyable read. 192 pages long, it is easy to read it in a day. The heroine, Macie Harman, has insecurities to overcome and is an introvert. She has just begun a new job in the Royal Australian Air Force. As she settles in to her new routine, she is determined to do well. As she tries to meet new people, she meets Matt at a swing dance class. He likes his predictable schedule as a teacher/assistant principal. With Macie's ...more
Dianne Maguire
Jan 06, 2017 rated it really liked it
Thirty-something Macie Harman's life changes in one swoop - new job in the military, new home, new friends. But some of the old insecurities follow he ...more
Julie
Dec 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing
What a great read! Fun story and loved learning more about Australian culture through it. Can't wait to see what else this author writes :)
Nikki LeClair
Jun 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A very fun, cute, romantic and gripping story with a heroine that will capture your heart!

I REALLY loved this story!!! That being said,I hope the sequel comes out really soon.
I have also been a fan of swing music, ever since i watched the movie Swing Kids in high school but i never really found a story surrounding swing music that i liked. Until this one. Macie is such a sweet character, there was truly not a thing i found annoying about her. I found her very re-latable, and brave to have left
...more
Stella Thompson
Jun 01, 2018 rated it really liked it
Sweet chick-lit! 3.5 stars

Macie is new to Brisbane after joining the Royal Australian Air Force. She discovers a love for Swing dancing. While dancing, Macie learns she loves jazz music, swing and she meets Matt. Their relationship grows serious slowly. But being with a strong woman who travels and is deployed for months is not easy for any relationship.

I enjoyed reading about Australia and the descriptions were so well written, I felt that I was there. This is a solid debut for Renee Conoulty.
...more
Jeannie Zelos
Nov 07, 2017 rated it really liked it
Don't Mean a Thing, Renee Conoulty

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre:  Romance, Women's fiction

Liked the sound of this, and it proved to be a light and entertaining read.
It wasn't a must-keep-reading book, but it was a fun novel. Its not one I'd read a second time though, to be honest I didn't really like Macie....

I loved the setting, enjoyed seeing life on an air base, especially one that's not the US. As a UK reader its always a treat to get a novel set somewhere other than the US, it
...more
Diane Hernandez
Nov 02, 2017 rated it really liked it
Fun and quick chick-lit read set in Darwin Australia. The swing dancing background of Don’t Mean a Thing makes it perfect for fans of Dancing with the Stars!

Macie joins the Royal Australian Air Force after a bad break up with her verbally abusive ex-boyfriend. She finds not only a career but a swing dancing hobby and a sexy new boyfriend, Matt. However, Macie has questions. Is Matt still involved with his swing dancing partner for the past ten years, Nadiene? Why does Macie’s hot new co-worker,
...more
Sara
Feb 12, 2017 rated it really liked it
Originally reviewed for Chick Lit Central (www.chicklitcentral.com)

At first glance this novel appears to be all about romance, and trust me, there’s plenty of that to go around. Macie falls hard for Matt, even though she’s had her heart broken before by a man who wasn’t willing to be with a strong, independent woman. So, she’s very concerned about Matt’s intentions, and whether she sees a future with him. Rachael has plenty of love life to go around. So do a lot of other secondary characters, le
...more
Tracy
Dec 24, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Don't Mean a Thing is a fabulous debut for Renee Conoulty. The romance was built slowly and the main characters easy to like. I enjoyed learning about swing dancing. This book made me want to go out and dance! Pick up this book!
☼♎ Carmen the Bootyshaker Temptress ☼♎
This was a fun romantic story and it also makes you want to dance too. I had a great time reading it especially when I could actually sit and read it. LOL Can't wait to see what's going to happen next.
Jennifer
Many years ago, I was into swing dancing, so the premise of this book attracted me as soon as I read it. I also loved that it was set in Australia and featured a heroine who was an enlisted servicewoman in the Royal Air Force. It turned out to be a sweet little story with a reserved, somewhat shy heroine, who has been drifting through life, but who has finally started to take charge of her own destiny and to stand up for herself and for what she wants. Macie is just at the start of this exciting ...more
Marie (UK)
I just don't think this was my thing. It promised lots and was reasonably well written but I wasn't convinced. Not convinced that Macie hadn't got out of one unequal relationship into another it felt like she talked the talk but failed to walk the walk.
Cynthia
Aug 04, 2017 rated it it was ok
This was an uncomplicated read and I saw the passions of the author shine through. The story is a gentle romance, with likeable characters and is set up well to continue into book 2. I loved the descriptions of Darwin and they brought back great memories from my holiday there many years ago.
« previous 1 next »
123 followers
Renee Conoulty is an Australian Air Force wife and mother of two. She writes stories of dance, romance, and military life including Don’t Mean a Thing, Catching Onix, Wife, Mother, Woman, and Best Friends for Now.

If you run into Renee at the shops, make sure you wave to get her attention because she'll likely be listening to an audiobook or lost in a day dream.

Sign up forRenee's monthly newsletter
...more
“Stop thinking about the steps. There are no moves in blues, only movement. Just listen to the music,” Matt whispered into my ear.
I let go, softening into his arms. The sways became steps, and without even realising, I was dancing.”
2 likes
“I think I’ll give the Cage of Death a miss too,” I said. Crocodiles were fascinating creatures, like living dinosaurs, but they could do their living over there somewhere, far away from me.” 0 likes
More quotes…