Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Ominous Eye (The Nocturnals #2)” as Want to Read:
The Ominous Eye (The Nocturnals #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Ominous Eye

(The Nocturnals #2)

by
4.05  ·  Rating details ·  63 ratings  ·  31 reviews
"Hecht continues to charm readers with delightfully drawn characters and consistent suspense." —Kirkus Reviews

When a violent jolt fractures the earth, the Nocturnal Brigade sets out to investigate its source. Along their journey, Dawn, Bismark and Tobin meet an unfamiliar reptile—a tuatara named Polyphema—who reveals that a giant beast caused the destruction and will soon
...more
Paperback, 208 pages
Published July 11th 2017 by Fabled Films Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.05  · 
Rating details
 ·  63 ratings  ·  31 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Ominous Eye (The Nocturnals #2)
Jennifer Druffel
Aug 03, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Three very different animals, Dawn (a fox), Tobin (a pangolin), and Bismark (a sugar glider) make up the Nocturnal Brigade. Their job is to protect the land and the creatures who inhabit it. When an earthquake shakes the land creating destruction and ash, the Nocturnal Brigade investigates. Along the way, the brigade meets a strange creature, a tuatara named Polyphema. She blames the recent events on a giant beast. With her warnings and insight, the Nocturnal Brigade set out to trap the beast ...more
Nicole Hewitt
This review and many more can be found on my blog: Feed Your Fiction Addiction

Just like the first book, this one introduces kids to new animals (A tuatara? What the heck is that?) and scientific concepts in a really fun and engaging way.

I actually enjoyed the story in this book even more than I did in the first. Once again, our trio of unlikely heroes is trying to solve a mystery: in this case, they’re trying to discover what beast is threatening their home and why. There are some hints of the
...more
A. Hunt
Oct 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
*Perfect book for homeschool reading!
The Nocturnals: The Ominous Eye, by Tracey Hecht, is a fun, adventurous and very annoying tale. It tells the story of a sugar glider, a fox and pangolin, leaders of The Brigade and defenders of those in need. When something enters their homeland, a threatening beast, it's up to The Brigade to find out what 'it' is...
My son and I read this book together. We hadn't heard of The Nocturnals before, so we didn't know of book 1, but it didn't stop us from
...more
Kim
Aug 29, 2016 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: juvenile, mystery, arcs
This is exactly the sort of book I'd give young readers who are ready to read at an advanced level but aren't ready for the themes, plots, or humor available in those advanced-level books. The Ominous Eye introduces science, vocabulary, and sentence structure that older readers might encounter with a focus on friendship, problem-solving, and a mystery that any younger reader might enjoy.

Reading as an adult, I found the characters distinct but a little repetitive and the story more static than I
...more
Brenda A
Nov 17, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: shelf-awareness
I enjoy this so much simply because it's different than your typical children's novel with animals. A pangolin and a sugar glider! A tuatara! A kiwi! How cool are those!?

The sugar glider was a tad annoying at times, but ultimately it's a cute book with some good lessons about how to properly tackle a problem situation. Specifically, how to not let fear and hate drive your decision making--this resonates with me even more now in the wake of recent current events. Plus, you just can't go wrong
...more
Valerie
Jul 25, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is the story of three friends : Dawn, Tobin, and Bismark. In this book, they have to figure out what has caused the destruction of the earth, but soon they meet Polyphema who tells them about the beast. The story is witty and cute. The animals reach out to others and get their support to help them get the beast. This book is written at the middle grade level and I appreciate that.
Crystal ✬ Lost in Storyland
WHAT I LIKED
Friendship Focus
The focus of the Nocturnals has always been on the strong friendship that Dawn, Tobin, and Bismark share. I like how their friendship is put to the test in this novel because it shows young readers that good friends can fight and doubt each other, but they will continue to care for each other and put in the effort to make up.

Blurs the Line Between Good and Evil
Like the first book, The Ominous Eye blurs the line between good and evil. Oftentimes, we look at someone's
...more
Teresa Bateman
Sep 02, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Nocturnals--a fox, a sugar glider, and a pangolin--are back in their second adventure. What is going on in their home? The earth is shaking. Has a beast arrived to eat them all? A tuatara claims prophetic powers and is soon directing all the local animals in a plan, but Dawn, the fox, is suspicious. What is really going on? Her careful reasoning bounces up against the sugar glider's ego-driven Spanish/French exclamations and declarations of love. That's not going to solve the problem. Will ...more
Jeannie
Three animals have formed a Nocturnal Brigade to protect their home and friends. Dawn, the fox, is serious and a natural leader. Tobin, the pangolin, offers sweet support. Bismark, a sugar glider, is boistrous and sometimes a bit over bearing. Their world is suddenly shaken by a tuatara lizard who claims that a best is coming to destroy all that is.
The characters are unusual, but the story is very predictable. Bismark's comments become annoying but perhaps students will find him funny.
Lourdes
May 30, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
New animals, new adventure.

Review to follow.
Hannah
May 22, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A very clever story, good description words. Great book!
Elizabeth Meadows
Intriguing and delightful! I love the characters in The Nocturnals.
Myrriah
I read this out loud to Avery.
 wade
Jan 14, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book is the second in a series for junior high age kids. It involves an unlikely combination of animals - a fox, a sugar glider and a pangolin who go on adventures. They meet other unique animals along the way. A crack opens in the earth and a beast that seems bent on destroying vast amounts of the animal population is released and the gang must stop it. Each character in the book is well developed and interesting. The sugar glider is really funny. I think this will be a hit with kids.
Trisha Perry
Mar 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Our trio of friends, Dawn the fox, Bismark the sugar glider, and Tobin the Pangolin are off to investigate another mystery. This time it was a huge jolt and a ton of ash falling all over their forest home. Soon they meet a unfamiliar reptile that says she can help but can she be trusted?

This is such a cute book for middle grade readers on up or for little one to be read too. With all the different animals and a mystery that will hold the reader captive until the end when all is finally revealed.
...more
Natalie {I'd So Rather Be Reading}
Read full review HERE

Note to Reader: This is one of Ms. Leger's favorite Middle Grade series. She seriously doubts you will find any middle school science or ELA teacher that wouldn't instantly fall in-love with The Brigade. It is adventurous and not even the teacher can predict what rare animal they will meet. These books have made a "tour" through our middle school and have had raving reviews, we haven't had one disappointed reader yet!

Reviewed by Ms. Leger:
The Brigade is back and ready to
...more
Suzanne
Jul 30, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ya-kid-lit, edelweiss
In their first appearance (The Mysterious Abductions), three very different animals - Tobin the pangolin, Bismarck the sugar glider, and Dawn the fox- work together to save themselves from a hungry snake on the very first night they meet. That success leads to the formation of the Nocturnal Brigade, with the three new friends ready to help others. Although the brigade solved the abductions, there are still plenty of dangers for them to face. In their latest book, they try to find out what is ...more
Jacinta Carter
Talking animal stories have never really been my thing, but I truly enjoyed reading about the unique trio of creatures in The Nocturnals series. Dawn, the intuitive fox; Bismark, the mouthy, multi-lingual sugar glider; and Tobin, the timid pangolin make up quite a team. In this novel (the second in a non-episodic series), they head out to figure out what kind of beast is terrorizing their forest and join with several other quirky animals in their determination to restore peace to their home. If ...more
Jaclyn Bauer
Jul 31, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Nocturnals: The Ominous Eye is the second in Tracey Hecht’s The Nocturnals middle grade series illustrated by Kate Liebman. The book follows three nocturnal friends: Dawn the fox, Bismark the sugar glider, and Tobin the pangolin, as they attempt to save their forest home from a threatening, yet seen beast.

Dawn, Bismark, and Tobin have formed a team called The Night Brigade, which is devoted to protecting the animals of the night from any terrors that might arise. So when a great earthquake
...more
Scott Hensley
Feb 14, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I was impressed by what the author did. A very unique book. Great job!
Stephanie
This was just okay for me. Maybe I would have liked it better if I had read the first book in the series? Normally I'm sure to do that, but I received an arc of this book at ALA.

The characters were fun and the story was entertaining. It was also educational, introducing animals and vocabulary that kids normally wouldn't be exposed to. Heck, I needed to look up what a tuatara is myself, as I had literally no idea such an animal exists. However, there are a lot of little things that just don't add
...more
Kim H.
Aug 12, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A fox, a sugar glider, and a pangolin are "The Brigade"--a group of friends pledged to stick together through thick and thin in order to protect and defend the animals of the valley in which they live. Younger readers will be enthralled by the story of friendship, bravery, and determination when the gang is called into action at the sign and mention of a great beast who's movements shake the earth and spread ash on everything. Older readers will be challenged to make inferences and piece the ...more
Jill
Aug 21, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Bismark, the sugar glider is in love with Dawn, a fox that is the leader of their nighttime brigade of animals, which include Tobin, the anteater. A strange and dangerous threat arrear in the night spewing ashes and creating fissure filled with stream. Things get complicated when the not so helpful reptile, Polyphema, comes to their rescue. This adventure explores relationships, trust, and reliance on communal affiliations. Although dashes and ellipsis are overused, the level is appropriate for ...more
Penny
I received a copy of this book through a Goodreads giveaway. Thank you!
This was a fun, talking animal story suitable for upper elementary and middle school readers. It's unusual to find a book with pangolin and tuatara characters. Most people don't know what they are. There was a good mystery to solve and plenty of suspense. I felt like I could have used a little map to figure out where the animals went in the book. I haven't read the first book. The Ominous a Eye seemed to work well as a stand
...more
Camille Caliman
Nov 08, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This was a wonderful sequel. I really didn't even suspect the ending and the character's stayed true to their personalities. I like how Dawn and Bismark's relationship was put to the test and how it showed that Dawn does actually care for him.

I personally loved how in this book Dawn's softer, caring side was shown. Not too much to where it didn't seem like her, but just enough to where it showed that she's not a I-know-everything leader all the time.

Long story short, I can't wait for the next
...more
Pat
Oct 31, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received this as a review copy. It just happened to be a day when I was looking for something light to read when this arrived. I immediately started reading when finished it the next day. The story of three friends, a fox, a pangolin and a sugar glider. A jolt fractures the earth and the team set out to investigate the cause, getting into all types of trouble along the way. Great read. I had never heard of a pangolin but imagine my surprise when that evening it was mentioned on a tv show
Ms.Gaye
I didn't read the first book of the series, yet this one was easy to follow. The unusual characters, landscape and mysterious events keep the reader's interest, but I think this book has appeal to only a limited audience - mainly kids interested in unusual animals. The sugar glider's antics wore on me by the end of the book and seemed overly emotional in a strange sort of way for a kid's book.
Yapha
Aug 25, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: children-s
This sequel to The Mysterious Abductions introduces an interesting new nocturnal creature, the rare tuatara. I suggest reading the series in order. Recommended for grades 2 & up.

ARC provided by publisher.
Christie
Nov 28, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Bismark continues to be a super fun character to read aloud and this is another great Nocturnals book. My son and I can't wait for the next one to see what great adventure the Nocturnal Brigade takes part in.
Cherrie
Jul 04, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is a very fun mystery full of quirky characters and exotic beasties.
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Gossip File (The Dirt Diary, #3)
  • The Secret Wife of Aaron Burr
  • Beautiful Creatures: The Manga
  • Stolen Away (Hearts of Montana, #3)
  • Pippa Park Raises Her Game
  • Popcorn Days and Buttermilk Nights
  • Race: A History Beyond Black and White
  • Summer Breeze
  • One Year in Coal Harbor (Coal Harbour #2)
  • Love and Shenanigans (Ballybeg, #1)
  • Saving Wishes (Wishes, #1)
  • Love Like This (The Romance Chronicles, #1)
  • Love to Go (Take a Chance #5)
  • Beta (Annex, #1)
  • Twice Shy (The Power of Love, #1)
  • What's the Big Idea?: Question-Driven Units to Motivate Reading, Writing, and Thinking
  • Starstruck (Starstruck, #1)
  • The Farmer's Wife (Luchettis Brothers #1)
See similar books…
93 followers
Tracey Hecht has written, directed, and produced for film. The American Booksellers Association chose the first book in her critically acclaimed middle grade series, The Nocturnals: The Mysterious Abductions, as a Kids’ Indie Next List pick.

In 2017, she expanded the series to include early reader books, so that families could share the reading experience together. In partnership with the New York
...more

Other books in the series

The Nocturnals (4 books)
  • The Mysterious Abductions (The Nocturnals #1)
  • The Fallen Star (The Nocturnals #3)
  • The Hidden Kingdom (The Nocturnals #4)