Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Daughter of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder's Secret, #3)” as Want to Read:
Daughter of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder's Secret, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Daughter of Deaths

(The Scythe Wielder's Secret #3)

by
4.21  ·  Rating details ·  33 ratings  ·  15 reviews
Two years ago, Susan Sarnio was brought to the World of Deaths. Fighting sexism and bullying, the first female Death helped reinvent the College. Now, her friends journey deep into the heart of enemy territory, hoping to rescue her. Ancient secrets come to light. The horrifying truth behind Susan's arrival in the World of Deaths is at last revealed. War erupts between Drag ...more
Paperback, 412 pages
Published August 29th 2016 by MuseItUp Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Daughter of Deaths, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Daughter of Deaths

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.21  · 
Rating details
 ·  33 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Daughter of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder's Secret, #3)
Sovanratana
2017!? I CANNOT WAIT ONE YEAR FOR THIS

Update: I was given a free digital copy of this book by the author in exchange for an honest review.

The story continues after Susan and Will were captured by the Dragons. Back at the College, there is a shortage of mortamant, Reapings have stopped, and war is looming upon the Deaths. Meanwhile Frank, Michi, and Cronk leave for a rescue mission to bring back Susan and Will. If Susan doesn't escape, a Dragon key will be made and the entire world shall be affec
...more
Kel (Faerie-bookworm)
Title: Daughter of Deaths
Author: Christopher Mannino
Genre: YA Fantasy
Format: Ebook
Shelf: ARC
Pages: 523
Rating: 5
Heat: 1

Thoughts: Can there be more please??!! This is one of those stories where the world created within the pages has a life of its own and I would love to dive back in. So much is left hanging, not in a bad way, but actually the perfect way to create spin-off stories (hint hint lol). A must read for lovers of epic fantasies! The movie playing in my head was just awesome, especi
...more
Jessamy
Oct 25, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Completely satisfying

Christopher Mannino's "Daughter of Deaths" series culminates in this third and, to my mind, best book. All along, the worlds created get more intricate and the characters and plot more complex. Truly a wonderfully rendered original and creative story mixing dragons, elementals and deaths.
Karen (BaronessBookTrove)
A terrific ending to a wonderful trilogy by an amazing author.

Daughter of Deaths by Christopher Mannino brings us to an amazing close to this great trilogy. I count myself as lucky to have been asked to read it. This book is so brilliant, I will try not to spoil anything.

This book starts kind of where the second book ended and it’s just a roller coaster ride from there. We have Will figuring some things out from some dragons to Sindril telling Susan why she is really there in the World of Deaths
...more
Emily Pennington
Sep 16, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed
Betrayed, Susan and Will were captured by the Dragons. Susan opened her eyes to the sight of her enemy, Sindril. Even Grym, the First Scythe, who had bonded with her body was silent and unable to help her, trapped and bound by an impenetrable coating sealed to her arm by a Dragon. Even her desperate escape attempt from her prison cell did not go well. The angry Dragon disguised as her guard snatched her up and flew out of the cave. He took her high up in the sky where she could barely breathe th ...more
Tayla Robichaud
Mar 25, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2018, need-to-buy
This book was cute.
The only problem I had was the strange passing of time and the abnormally long chapters. One character could have this giant chapter and months would go by in a single page break. It was a little strange to me.

However, I really enjoyed this series. I hope there is some sort of spin off
(view spoiler)
...more
Lene Blackthorn
The final book in the Scythe Wielder's Secret trilogy was full of excitement, action, and packed with emotions, suspense and tension.
*WARNING - spoilers included*
Will and Susan were sent on a secret mission to scout the mine for more mortamant supply, but betrayed by dragons, they were kidnapped and held in prison. Susan aged four years thanks to Sindril's curse, and they force her to get pregnant and create new Dragon Key. Will makes an alliance with the White Claw, a circle of dragons holding
...more
Anna Colb
The mythology and concept was interesting and somewhat unique but the actions and reactions of the characters were inconsistent and all over the place.
I haven't been this frustrated with a book in a very long time. There where times when I was screaming at it and its inconsistencies.The characters at some point were so dense and often reacted in ways that went agains previously established behaviour and feelings.






Spoilers: Rant incoming.
Will (and at times Susan) was the most frustrating character
...more
Patrick Hodges
Feb 11, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I started the Scythe Wielder's Secret trilogy quite some time ago. I remember admiring the bravery and spunk of young Susan Sarnio, a 13 year old girl "recruited" against her will to become the first female "death" in millenia. Since then, Susan has grown into a young woman, fallen in love, and is with child ... but her role is no less important as she seeks to unite the Shadow World against the villainous Sindril, who wants her unborn child in order to seize control of all worlds (including the ...more
Dinara Tengri
Sep 15, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: novels
I received an advanced copy of DoD (that's the abbreviation I'm going with from now on) from the author, in exchange for an honest review. As much as I loved the first two books, this won't affect this review.

SPOILER ALERT if you haven't read the second book, Sword of Deaths.

Before we do this thing, can we talk about the cover? It's gorgeous, and I just love this dragon.
As I’ve mentioned this before, I was very much looking forward to getting my hands on this book. But it took me a lot longer t
...more
Micah Downey
Jan 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing
The 3rd book of the series and it was my all time favorite! An epic battle, love, sorrow, joy..... Christopher Mannino has certainly outdone himself with the conclusion of Susan Sarnio's adventurous life!!
Debbie
May 13, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
An epic and mostly satisfying conclusion to the series. Mannino did a good job of tying up all the loose ends. The book lagged a little in the middle, but picked up nicely and had a bunch of twists and turns. Recommended for those who enjoy Percy Jackson and Harry Potter.
Tbird London
Jan 09, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The story begins with Susan and Will being kidnapped by Sindril. Susan wakes up with Sindril by her side, trying to get her to eat and tells her to rest. Then we cut to Frank who is back at school, pretending to be a death with Michi by his side in bug form. Frank is still recovering from his mother’s murder and trying to figure out what happened to Susan and Will. Michi got a message from her bugs that Susan and Will were in danger and Frank sets up a rescue party consisting of: himself, Michi, ...more
Donna
*I voluntarily reviewed an Advanced Reader copy of this book.*


This was an interesting ending to this story. I love how the author incorporated all the worlds and all the races in this book. In previous books, I felt that sometimes there wasn't enough of the dragons. that is not the case in this book. All of the races are involved and integral to the outcome. The whole dragon key thing was interesting. However, I didn't like how they use it. Of course, this was important to the story and I really
...more
Regina Foo
I didn't finish this book as I lost interest when the story reaches Part 2. The story goes way too matured compared to the first two books and there are a lot of parts which I think it's not really necessary (e.g. there are a lot of repeating scenes when Susan and Will saying they love each other).

I enjoyed reading the first two books and I should be glad to see the dragons finally come into the big picture. Too bad I couldn't get myself to continue reading it.
BOOK LOVER121
rated it really liked it
Feb 18, 2017
Bookish Oosva.85hdz
rated it it was amazing
Dec 27, 2016
Franklin  Harris
rated it it was amazing
Jul 02, 2017
Vikki Chi-Mera
rated it liked it
Aug 11, 2017
Matthew
rated it really liked it
Jan 15, 2019
Lorraine Caruana
rated it really liked it
Aug 18, 2018
Julia
rated it really liked it
May 08, 2018
Tore
rated it liked it
May 27, 2017
Ben Alderson
rated it it was amazing
Nov 03, 2016
S.L. Perrine
rated it liked it
Dec 19, 2016
Chris Marchant
rated it it was amazing
Sep 27, 2016
Susan
rated it it was amazing
Nov 24, 2017
Della N
rated it really liked it
Jun 26, 2018
HeatherAnne Norbury
rated it really liked it
Jan 24, 2019
Duo Maxwell
rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2016
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Christopher Mannino holds a Master of Arts in Theatre Education from Catholic University, and has studied mythology and literature both in America and at Oxford University. His work with young people helped inspire him to write young adult fantasy, although it was his love of reading that truly brought his writing to life.

Mannino is currently working on an adult high fantasy series.

Other books in the series

The Scythe Wielder's Secret (3 books)
  • School of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder's Secret Book 1)
  • Sword of Deaths (The Scythe Wielder's Secret Book 2)

News & Interviews

There are many ways to take action against racism. Reading in order to learn more about oppression and how to oppose it is just one of those ways...
440 likes · 258 comments
“Tears welled in her eyes. Tears for the girl torn from her home; tears for the isolation she’d suffered as the only female in a world of men; tears for the doubts circling her heart.
I am alone.”
0 likes
More quotes…