Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Penelope March Is Melting” as Want to Read:
Penelope March Is Melting
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Penelope March Is Melting

3.72  ·  Rating details ·  60 ratings  ·  18 reviews
"A marvelous and magical debut!" --Pseudonymous Bosch, New York Times bestselling author of the Secret Series and the Bad Books

An icy-cold mystery adventure to warm your heart--perfect for fans of The Mysterious Benedict Society and Escape from Mr. Lemoncello's Library!

Something sinister has come to Glacier Cove, an icy-cold town that sits on top of an iceberg . Nothing b
...more
Kindle Edition, 320 pages
Published November 14th 2017 by Delacorte Books for Young Readers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Penelope March Is Melting, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Penelope March Is Melting

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.72  · 
Rating details
 ·  60 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Suze Lavender
Nov 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Glacier Cove is a peaceful town on top of an iceberg. The people there are living happily in their frozen world, but something bad is going to take place. Penelope knows what it is, but will she be able to stop it? Penelope loves books more than people, she has no friends and the only person she likes hanging out with is her brother Miles. She sometimes tolerates her classmate Coral because she's being teased and bullied as much as Penelope. Penelope is destined to meet a stranger who will chang ...more
Ms. Yingling
Copy provided by publisher

Penelope lives on a frozen island in an undiscovered part of the sea. It's a grim existence, with turnips being one of the only crops, as well as the source of electricity and fuel for cars. There is one very creepy house in town, supposedly owed by a Mr. Buzzardstock. When Amelia rescues his dog (whom the children all refer to as Wolfknuckle, but whose real name is Henry, she discovers that the man, while eccentric, is misunderstood. He does ice sculpting, and does hav
...more
mills♥
Nov 17, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
This book was so awesome, I couldn't stop reading! (that's probably why I finished in 2 days.)
David
Jul 17, 2017 rated it it was amazing
An icy world awaits in a book with huge cinematic potential. Book will appeal to the middle reader and lover of a mystery from a young girl's point of view. There is a sense of foreboding that keeps the reader unsure what to expect. Excellent family and friendship issues of loss, faith, betrayal, and trust woven into the plot. Many idiosyncratic characters come at you and it's exciting to take this trip to the icy world of Glacier Cove with so many layers of history that unfold. Captivating!
Stephanie Tournas
What begins as a typical kid's angst about middle school and bullying, ends with a triumph over a force of evil in the guise of a shape shifting sea entity. Whew! A lot is going on in this fast paced novel. Penelope lives in Glacier Cove, which is an island iceberg in the middle of the sea, with her brother Miles and her father. The dominant food is turnips, which is the author exploits to comic ends. There is foreboding early on, however, of terrible happenings beneath the island, and Penelope ...more
Scott Pearson
Jan 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: owned
Penelope March is Melting is an auspicious foray into YA literature for Jeffrey Michael Ruby. My first impression after reading is that it's clear the author has a wide variety of interests that are presented in the novel in detail...clearly lovingly researched, which gives the book a little bit of something for every reader to connect with. Magic/Escapism, military (particularly nautical) protocol, ice sculpture, penguin zoology, are all present and accounted for. This eclectic mix helps keep t ...more
☘Tara Sheehan☘
Nov 14, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Just in time for the holiday season we get a story that shows how much warmth exists in the cold.

Ruby’s sense of humor really shines through this funny story perfect for kids and the adults who need a little return to the magic of childhood. The jokes he sprinkles about his story, the side of compassion and love he integrates between his characters will all bring a smile to your face as you work your way through this delightful tale.

As avid readers we can all connect to Penelope in some way than
...more
Elissa Schaeffer
Feb 17, 2018 rated it liked it
While I very much enjoyed this, I had--no doubt due to my grown up brain--a bit of a struggle to suspend my disbelief. I guess I wanted to know the whys and hows of the world, which I thought was intended to be a part of our own, and not having that left me feeling slightly dissatisfied. Grown-up brain aside, I thought the story was fun and fast paced. I would have liked Coral's character a bit more fleshed out, but I enjoyed Penelope's character a great deal.

Overall, recommended for grades 4 a
...more
Laura C.
Nov 19, 2017 rated it it was ok
Shelves: the-reviewers
This book was a little immature and fast-paced.

The overall story appealed to me, and the main character was someone many people could easily relate to. Also, since the story takes place on a glacier, it would seem like an interesting place to live. Right? Well, the main character tells us about how it really isn't so fun to live on a giant glacier, and how she is all alone in her books.

Overall, this book was a quick, okay read.
Jon Belonio
Dec 26, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Penelope March Is Melting is a book rich in character and heart. The characters from Glacier Cove and beyond go on an adventure that all readers would enjoy. Ruby's voice is definitely heard throughout the tale and he is an artist of words, a master of storytelling. I highly recommend.
Aeicha
Nov 14, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Twelve year old Penelope March is a self proclaimed bookworm whose best friend is her brother Miles. Together, Penelope and Miles live with their distant father in a barely held together shack in the nothing ever happens here town of Glacier Cove. Glacier Cove is your average little town, with shops, a school, and gossips...except Glacier Cove is located on a isolated iceberg floating in the middle of the ocean. And when not so normal and kind of freaky bizarre things begin to happen, Penelope f ...more
Stormi (BMReviewsohmy)
A whole village lives on an Iceberg and seem for the most part pretty content. Penelope March is sort of an oddball at her school and she loves to read. She wants to ba heroin like the one in her favorite book and she soon will get her chance because something sinister lives under the water and sometimes it even lives on her iceberg.

One day Penelope gets up enough courage to check out the ice house that everyone is afraid of and she meets a very eccentric man named Buzzardstock who likes to make
...more
Nan
Jan 10, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
This is a great adventure to save Glacier Cove led Penelope, a funny girl who has read a lot of books with plucky heroines. The story includes my favorite oddball-old-man-in-a-mansion character (Buzzardstock), a fabulously grouchy, mysterious lurking girl (Coral), and many many penguins.
James Garner
Mar 15, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A wonderful YA tale about a bookish young girl who lives a rather drab, frigid existence on an iceberg. Yes, in the town of Glacier Cove, where it's always frigid and the only staple of the diet is turnips. But when her home is threatened with destruction, she has to screw down her courage and battle an ancient evil with her brother, her local ice sculptor/magician, and a submarine crew of penguins. Fun from beginning to end.
Andréa
Note: I received a digital ARC of this book from the publisher through NetGalley.
Melissa
May 15, 2017 rated it liked it
Good premise.
Cindy Mitchell *Kiss the Book*
Penelope March is Melting by Jeffrey Michael Ruby, 310 pages. Delacorte (Random House), 2017, $17.

Language: G (0 swears); Mature Content: G; Violence G

BUYING ADVISORY: MS - OPTIONAL

AUDIENCE APPEAL: AVERAGE

Penelope March seems like an ordinary girl, living an ordinary life on an iceberg. Yep, iceberg. This iceberg has a town with roads, cars, and houses, (though I wondered where the cars came from). Anyway, ordinary Penelope discovers through an eccentric ice-sculptor named Buzzardstock that her
...more
The Library Lady
No. Just no.

After getting about half a chapter into this book, the world building just didn't work. The inner logic just wasn't there. There was no way I could suspend disbelief.
Brigit Young
rated it it was amazing
Jan 25, 2018
Corabel Shofner
rated it it was amazing
Nov 05, 2016
Nicole
rated it it was amazing
Dec 03, 2017
Ilena
rated it it was amazing
Nov 23, 2017
Mandy Kirkendall
rated it really liked it
Nov 30, 2017
Emily
rated it liked it
Mar 20, 2018
Kathleen Moriarty
rated it liked it
Dec 14, 2017
Pete Begler
rated it it was amazing
Nov 12, 2016
toya
rated it liked it
Aug 09, 2018
Laurence Bump
rated it really liked it
Jul 15, 2019
Britt Ostrowski waterfield
rated it did not like it
Sep 05, 2018
Kami
rated it it was ok
Nov 15, 2017
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »