Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Set Free” as Want to Read:
Set Free
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Set Free

by
4.27  ·  Rating details ·  67 Ratings  ·  43 Reviews
The truth will set you free. Can lies do the same?

Within minutes of arriving in the exotic, enigmatic, sweltering city of Marrakech, renowned author Jaspar Wills is kidnapped, blindfolded, bound, and beaten. As Wills struggles to survive the ordeal, he recounts his rise to fame and the tragic events that led him to Morocco. With the kidnapper’s demands left unmet, Wills fa
...more
Paperback, 283 pages
Published September 2016 by Bon Vivant Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Set Free, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Maxine (Booklover Catlady)
Absolutely brilliant book! I'm glad I discovered this talented author. This book had me well hooked and as for the twists! Woot! I did NOT see that ending coming and I love a book that surprises me.

The plot is really interesting and dynamic and twists and weaves as you go. I was engrossed in the story really quickly. Very well written with characters I could picture and connect with easily. The plot has a central theme around kidnapping but it really does go places unexpected and is one of those
...more
Ilonka
Jun 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing
For me, a novel earns a 5-start rating:
• when I connect with the characters,
• when the story is plausible and compelling, and
• when the ending stays with me long after I’ve finished the last page.
'Set Free' does all of that and weaves it together with superb writing.

This novel is a total departure from Bidulka’s earlier work. Jaspar Wills is not the witty, globe trotting PI of the Russell Quant series, or the high-living, disaster recovery agent of the Adam Saint series. Rather, Jaspar Wills
...more
Kelly
Aug 22, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I started reading Anthony Bidulka a few years ago after I typed into Google something along the lines of Canadian, crime stories. I had been reading good authors, but I wanted Canadian literature. I discovered Anthony and another author who lives and bases his stories (so far) in Edmonton.

One of several things I liked about Anthony’s works was the setting …. rural Saskatchewan and the city of Saskatoon, both familiar places. I went to university in Saskatoon, lived for a year prior to that in a
...more
Misty
Oct 27, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommended to Misty by: Booktasters
I was sent this book by the author through booktasters on twitter in exchange for an honest review.

WOW that was all I could think when I finished this book last night. Well that and What kind of ending was that? (more about that later)

This is the first book I have read by this author and it makes me want to read every book he has ever written. I picked this book from booktasters to read because the synopsis sounded intriguing to me and it had a pretty high star rating on goodreads and now I see
...more
Nikkie
Apr 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Set Free

“How was I to know that, instead, I was simply being taken?”.

Meet Jaspar Wills, best selling author of In The Middle, as he arrives in Marrakesh, Morocco. He is taken from the airport, beaten, starved, photographed and left for dead. What do his kidnappers want? Is it fame and money? Is it related to his past?

His wife Jenn is left at home in Boston, with their friend Katie Edwards. As we travel through the book, we go back in time, seeing Jaspar's marriage to Jenn, how they met and a kid
...more
Christina
Nov 07, 2016 rated it it was amazing
As a fan of Anthony Bidulka's books, I was extremely excited to read this stand-alone novel. And I was not disappointed! From the first sentence, through the harrowing twists and turns, to the very unexpected ending I was held captive (pun intended!) by the mysterious characters and interesting locales. From the big city of Boston, to the exotic Middle East, to small town America; each place reveals something about our main characters. I had one main thought running through my head as I read thi ...more
Donald Sinclair
Oct 08, 2016 rated it really liked it
This book would make an interesting film.
LucyLui's Reviews
May 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: may-2017, read2review
Set Free - Anthony Bidulka

Title: Set Free
Author: Anthony Bidulka
First Published in the UK: 2016
Publisher: Bon Vivant Books
Pages: 284
Price on Amazon: Paperback £11.44 Kindle: £4.58
ISBN: 099522921X

Two Kidnappings, One family and a Journalist.

Mikki is kidnapped on her way home from school one evening, the one night her parents decide she is old enough to be on her own for a few hours. Not long after the parents receive the ransom demands, through the post. Not over the phone or e-mail. The rans
...more
P Franke
Oct 22, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I received this book from the author for an honest review. That said, wow! Once I started reading I didn't stop until 3 am.

Who do you believe?
What do you believe?
Do you even believe yourself or, more to the point, do you start questioning every damned thing?
Every character in “Set Free” is likeable right off the bat and the reader wants to cuddle up and hug them all and cheer on efforts to console when Mikki is kidnapped.
After that, everything goes down the crapper.
“Set Free” will keep you secon
...more
Chelsea Girard
"Don’t let the movies fool you about how easy it is to be a hero. Or worse, give you unreasonable expectations for your significant other’s performance in dire circumstances."
Jasper Willis, an author, a traveler and a discovery junkie. Find himself in a similar situation, negotiating for a life, only this time it wasn't his daughters. Finding himself fighting for his life as he is held for ransom at the hands of murderers in Morocco, the reader follow the thoughts of Jasper as he undergoes the
...more
Kerstin Vollbrecht
May 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Set Free is a book with so many twists and unsuspected turns, that the reader gets to feel as if riding a rollercoaster. The story is about a famous author, Jaspar Wills, and his wife Jenn, whose 13 year old daughter Mikki is abducted to not appear again. The book tells the story of the upcoming events that follow this tragedy, as he decides to travel to Morocco where he's being abducted himself.
The book captured my attention from beginning to end, making it difficult to put it away, as there's
...more
Nichola Demarest
Jan 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing
My imagination came to life through the use of vivid wording. The author leads you through the lives of four individuals and how one life intertwined with the other. Each obstacle the characters face leaves you sitting on the edge of your seat waiting to see what happens next. The use of flashback lends itself well throughout the stories plot. Without it the story would not have come alive. It was easy to relate to all the characters at one point or another. Overall, I enjoyed entering the lives ...more
Faiqa Ziya
Jan 22, 2018 rated it it was ok
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Kelly Norris
Jun 11, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A brilliant read full of twists and turns that take you through the lives of Jaspar and Jenn Wills and the tragedy that befalls them.
It took me a couple of tries to be able to actually read this without interruption but when I was finally able to I couldn't stop.
It is a thrilling read that makes you hold your breath in anticipation for the next page, the next part of the roller coaster that made up the lives of Jaspar and Jenn. It starts with Jaspar in an airport in Marrakesh and you are slowly,
...more
Debbie
I received a free copy from the author/Booktasters in exchange for an honest review.

Jaspar Willis, his wife Jenn and their daughter Mikki live in Boston. All is good in their world, until it isn't anymore. The story opens with Jaspar being kidnapped and beaten shortly after arriving in Morocco.

The story switches effortlessly between past and present the past is where their daughter Mikki was kidnapped and never recovered, the past also contains his wife's infidelity as their marriage fell apart
...more
Becky Zales
Aug 24, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: booktasters
Set Free by Anthony Bidulka is a story with many thought-provoking twists.
At first the book led me in one direction when the main character Jaspar Wills is taken in Morocco and held for ransom. During his imprisonment, Wills reflects on his daughter's abduction and is stricken with the guilt of not being home on the day she was taken. As the story unfolds more about the three main characters disposition comes to light. Each twist kept me questioning the characters motives and their desire to be
...more
Gris Alvarez
Aug 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing
It's a great book, the history is very interesting and catches you from the first pages :D
Lisa Doherty (Rambling Lisa's Book Reviews)
gripping story, couldn't put it down! Check out the full review on my blog
Linda Donohue
Sep 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: giveaways-read
This was quite a story with many unexpected twists and turns. Definitely well-written and kept me intrigued through the whole novel. I received this book as a Goodreads Giveaway and I thank the author and publisher for the opportunity to read and review this book. I look forward to reading future books by Anthony.
Brandi
May 01, 2018 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed this book. This is my first time reading from this author, and I will be searching for his other work. Set Free at first glance was about a kidnapper and victim. Simple, psychological thriller, but in fact, this truly opens the reader to other forms of chains and bonds. I was driven to try and solve this understanding and confusion, looking for an aha moment. Still trying to contemplate how and why and if. I’m trying to keep this review spoiler free. Ok. Would I recommend this b ...more
Corryn
[I was given this book by the author in exchange for an honest review].

“I would have packed less if I knew I was going to die.”


No, that is not a spoiler, so you can put down your pitchfork. In fact, that is actually the very first sentence on page one of chapter one in the voice of Jaspar Wills, the narrator/semi-famous author who gets caught up in what is quite possibly the worst year-or-so of his life.

Reflecting back, I was ignorant to the depth of crippling loss and tumultuous treachery tha
...more
Hunger Artist
Feb 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing
really enjoyable read.Suspenseful,intriguing and full of twists and mystery.This is the first of Anthony Bidulka's books that I have read, and it was thoroughly enjoyable. Author gave me pdf version of this book for which i am very grateful to him. this is one of the most thrilling story i have ever read. must read if you're fan thriller and suspense books.
Prapti  Panda
Sep 28, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
Disclaimer: I was given this book by the author in exchange for an honest review.
I just finished reading this book, and I have only one word to describe it- Wow! Seriously, it was as if the author was intent on driving readers crazy with the tide turning with the advent of every chapter. As I read the last page, my heart was thumping so hard I could hear it! 'Set Free' is definitely one of the most masterful suspense novels ever penned! It wasn't just the way the author smoothly tied the present
...more
Dawn Thomas
Dec 10, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Book Review: Set Free by Anthony Bidulka
Review by Dawn Thomas

284 Pages
Publisher: Bon Vivant Books

Mystery, Thriller, Suspense, Travel, Kidnapping

“If I knew I was going to die, I wouldn’t have packed so much” is the first line of the book. I was immediately hooked. Jasper Wills travelled to Marrakech when the unthinkable happened. He was taken. The beginning of the book is written in the first person point of view as journal entries. He wrote about past memories and the terror he was experiencing.
...more
Vedika Pandey
Jan 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing
"I would have packed less if I knew I was going to die." With this as the opening sentence, the author manages to capture the interest of the readers right from the start.
'Set Free' centers around the famous author Jasper Wills. Prior to his abduction in Morocco, Jasper and his wife Jennifer were grief-stricken because of their daughter's sudden kidnapping. All the while, Jenn's new friend Katie, a struggling journalist, was intent on providing them a helping hand during their time of distress.
...more
RR Reviews
Sep 12, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It took me a minute to get sucked into this book, but once I did I didn't put it down until I was finished. It had plenty of twists, including one that I didn't see coming (that's hard to do with me so I applaud that). I did find myself rolling my eyes at first with the similarities to what happens in his family and then what happens to him. But as the story unfolded I found myself having to eat my own words, or is it eat my look? Does that even work?

Anyways, I only have 2 complaints and honestl
...more
Paulina Garcia
Sep 29, 2016 rated it really liked it
I received this book via Booktasters & the author for free in return for an honest review.

Set Free by Anthony Bidulka is a mystery suspense novel centered around kidnapping, betrayal, and scandal. After Jaspar Wills' daughter is abducted, his life is forever changed. His marriage starts to crumble and his sense of purpose is lost. In the process of trying to put the pieces of his life back together, he travels to Morocco where then he is kidnapped and held for ransom. After this, a series of
...more
Jon Fassnacht
Mar 17, 2018 rated it really liked it
As a father, journalist and fairly frequent traveler, "Set Free" hit close to home. Writer Jaspar Wills travels to Marrakech to get away from family/marriage drama, where he is promptly kidnapped, tortured and left to die. The first section of "Set Free" is a book within a book; Bidulka chooses to chronicle Wills' overseas drama as an "excerpt" from his tell-all memoir. It's a clever tactic, and you understand why he chose to do it that way when key moments from the bestseller are called into qu ...more
Maria Rivas-mc
Oct 27, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I should start by saying I got a free copy of the book via Booktasters for reviewing purposes and I’m so glad I chose this one! The author indicated that ‘Book of Lies’ had been an option for the name of the book. I agree with his final decision. While lies and hidden truths contributed to the pain and unravelling of this family, it was the search for truth and the subsequent revelations that led to its regeneration. Certainly, the journey through the psychologies of the main characters kept me ...more
Marbea E. Logan
Nov 26, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This book was overwhelming on first read. There was so many different scenarios that played out that I almost lost track of the core of the story. For some reason the mystery behind Mikki's disappearance was not a factor to me, the reason Katie became a main character solved the mystery quickly. Once the author dived into Katie Edwards past, I knew that she was the major part of the plot twist. All in all Jaspar and Jenn were targets of a severe narcissistic psychopath. All the drama that came t ...more
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
144 followers
In 1999 Anthony Bidulka, BA, BEd, BComm, CPA left a decade long professional accounting career to pursue writing and never looked back.

In 2003, Quill & Quire described Bidulka’s first book, Amuse Bouche: A Russell Quant Mystery, as “…an effervescent first novel that is much like the tasty French hors d’oeuvres from which it takes its name”, earning Bidulka a nomination for the Crime Writers of
...more

Mystery & Thrillers Deals

  • The Shadow District
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Play Dead (Elise Sandburg Series Book 1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Weight of Lies
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Thief Taker (The Thief Taker, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Things We Wish Were True
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Adversary (A Chris Bruen Novel Book 1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Daisy in Chains
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Jury Master (David Sloane, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Look Behind You (Kendra Michaels, #5)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Last Town (Wayward Pines, #3)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Wayward (Wayward Pines, #2)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Pretty Little Things
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Social Death
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Murder at the Flamingo (A Van Buren and DeLuca Mystery #1)
    $8.99 $2.99
  • Wings Of Fire (Inspector Ian Rutledge, #2)
    $8.99 $2.99
  • Pretty Dead
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Mother Knows Best (A Margie Peterson Mystery)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Damage Control
    $7.99 $1.99
  • The North Water
    $9.99 $3.99
  • Agatha Raisin and the Murderous Marriage (Agatha Raisin, #5)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • Watchers Of Time (Inspector Ian Rutledge, #5)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Bone River
    $3.99 $0.99
  • As The Crow Flies (DI Nick Dixon #1)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Jaws
    $10.99 $2.99
  • The Widow File (Dani Britton, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Blacklands
    $11.99 $2.99
  • The Prisoner of Heaven (Cemetery of Forgotten Books, #3)
    $11.99 $1.99
  • The Romanov Cross
    $8.99 $1.99
  • The Girl from Krakow
    $5.49 $1.99
  • Killing Ruby Rose (Ruby Rose #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • A Purple Place for Dying: A Travis McGee Novel
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Dead Water (Shetland Island, #5)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Pines (Wayward Pines, #1)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • The Newsmakers
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Intrusion (A Chris Bruen Novel)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Brighton
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Lowcountry Bonfire (Liz Talbot Mystery #6)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • The Widow's Watcher
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Livia Lone (Livia Lone, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Among the Mad (Maisie Dobbs, #6)
    $9.99 $3.99
  • A Blood Thing
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Baltimore Blues  (Tess Monaghan, #1)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Vanishing Girls
    $9.74 $1.99
  • Aftermath (Inspector Banks, #12)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • The Girl in the Moss (Angie Pallorino, #3)
    $5.99 $2.49
  • Broken Grace
    $5.49 $1.99
  • Carved in Bone (Body Farm, #1)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Christmas Caramel Murder (Hannah Swenson, #20)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • Map of Bones (Sigma Force, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Only the Innocent (DCI Tom Douglas #1)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Dead Aim (Eve Duncan, #4.5)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Blazing Summer (Darling Investigations, #2)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Shadow Of Power (Paul Madriani, #9)
    $7.74 $1.99
  • The God's Eye View
    $7.99 $1.99
  • The Hunt for Atlantis (Nina Wilde & Eddie Chase, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Abandon
    $5.99 $1.99
  • The Things you find in Rockpools
    $4.99 $1.49
  • Everyone Pays
    $5.99 $0.99
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »