Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sorrel and Myriana” as Want to Read:
Sorrel and Myriana
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book* *Different edition

Sorrel and Myriana

by
4.50  ·  Rating details ·  20 ratings  ·  13 reviews
Pain begets insanity.

Insanity begets love.

Love begets pain.

It is 1932, and the City of Dalltop is teeming with corruption. In the dead of night, a woman cries for help, but none turn an ear to her pleas. She scuttles through the lost buildings under their leaky roofs for shelter, but they always come. They dress as dark as the night and hide in the shadows. She pierces
...more
Hardcover, 546 pages
Published July 22nd 2016 by FriesenPress
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sorrel and Myriana, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Sorrel and Myriana

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-34
Average rating 4.50  · 
Rating details
 ·  20 ratings  ·  13 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Sorrel and Myriana
Dianne
You say you like horror? Unspeakable acts of cruelty and bloodshed? Have you ever wondered what holding a dying heart in your hands would feel like? NOT for the faint of heart or weak of stomach, the love story between Evelyn Sun’s Sorrel and Myriana is like no other love story you have ever read, and but they say there is someone for everyone…

Dark, horrific and so very twisted, Myriana and Sorrel’s tale is one of escape, dehumanization, control and a twisted love/hate relationship where one
...more
Anastasia
3/5 stars


Trigger Warning: mental-illness, abuse, death, gore


Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book from the author in exchange for an honest review.

Pain begets insanity.

Insanity begets love.

Love begets pain.

It is 1932, and the City of Dalltop is teeming with corruption. In the dead of night, a woman cries for help, but none turn an ear to her pleas. She scuttles through the lost buildings under their leaky roofs for shelter, but they always come. They dress as dark as the night
...more
Liz
Oct 02, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
‘Sorrel and Myriana’ is a book of many extremes, of violence, family, loyalties and twisted realities. 500 something pages of conflicting feelings. Madness, cruelty and love… I’m telling you, a whole lot of crazy mixed with a whole lot of crazy! If you don’t like horror, gothic nor violence, then you probably shouldn’t read this book. Blood will be spilled and piss will flow in this world that is quite realistic yet unreal. A world that is pushed to it’s very limits. While the rules of Dalltop ...more
Linda Strong
Jul 27, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-in-2016
Myriana is a rich woman married to Sorrel Borchardt. Until her marriage, she had no direction, no ambition. They live in the city of Daltop …. A place that is noted for all its corruption, most notably the mafia organization known as Idon.

Is Sorrel keeping secrets from her? He is known to be quite violent, even with those he loves. Myriana will have to adapt to her new lifestyle … or die.

The genre listed is gothic horror …. A genre I rarely, if ever, had read. This book is teeming with violence,
...more
Emmie
Jun 09, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a very complex book to read. Ideally I think it should have been published in two volumes.

Why do I say it's complex? Well, the atmosphere is very dark and Gothic. while reading it, I kept picturing dark scenes, shadowy figures and tense scenes.

The cast of characters are worthy of the Godfather. Psychotic men, without an ounce of empathy finding enjoyment in the pain and humiliation of others. Unpredictable main characters. Sorrel and Myriana have a very complex relationship. Sorrel
...more
Guillaume Boisset
Written in a style that crosses borderline gothic with at times a touch of etherealism, this is a chilling tale that accomplishes what a good horror story should: chart a descent into terror and despair while keeping the reader on edge as they wonder what will happen next in an alternate world such as this one. To complement the main horror theme there are good mafia large-scale battle scenes, brutal take downs in every possible manner, corruption, wickedness, and greed aplenty, yet these are ...more
Tony Parsons
Aug 09, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Ending timeline: 4/16/1961.

12/30/1932, Dalltop City, Goust (country). Sorrel Borchardt (tycoon, Borchardt Industry & Lihyng Apparels (illegal arms distributer) & Myriana Borchardt (Sorrel’s wife, nee Messier) appear to be quite happily married.
3/6/1933, Myriana was at the Avendale General Hospital. The Dr. told her Sorrel’s office help said he was not married.
3/7/1933, Gario’s (boy) Ma works in a bake shop. He had found Myriana somewhat lost in a back alley. Flynn (boy) took her to the
...more
Crystal Holdefer
I've read many horror books over the years, but Evelyn's book is a refreshing spin on this genre. With compelling characters, eloquent descriptions, and a forward narrative, you'll be swept up by this twisted tale of a woman trapped by her sadistic husband and the lengths she goes to survive.
Acanthea Grimscythe | The Ghastly Grimoire
Sorrel and Myriana first crossed my radar sometime last year but failed to find its way into my TBR pile. Recently, the title surfaced again so I gave it a shot and I am not disappointed. For those that are sensitive, it does contain topics that are not for the feint of heart, such as severe abuse and mental illness.

The world that Sun creates in Sorrel and Myriana is dark and beautiful. Dalltop appears as any city: alive and bustling against a backdrop of the grit and gore that accompanies a
...more
Cathy Matthews Goldshot
When I started, I thought it was a typical abused woman trying to escape her tormentor - That changed quickly!! Just when you think the characters are as depraved as they can be, they come up with a whole new level. Very suspenseful, great character development. I like this one much more than I thought I would! It was a sick and twisted story line, and I really enjoyed it.
Maria Katz
Sep 16, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Ultra dense book
A. White
Jan 11, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Normally I finish a book much sooner. But I started reading it before the holidays and picked it back again after ward. Not because it is a bad book. The book is spell-binding. Dark, twisted and the characters are just plain mentally messed up. Sorrel is a very twisted man. The kind of person who needs to be put before a firing squad and executed. He enjoys the torture and then kindness. He enjoys having control over people's lives. I saw elements of where the author may had been trying tell us ...more
gj indieBRAG
We are proud to announce that SORREL AND MYRIANA by Evelyn Sun is a B.R.A.G.Medallion Honoree. This tells a reader that this book is well worth their time and money!

elaine
rated it it was amazing
Oct 02, 2016
Natalie
rated it it was amazing
Jan 10, 2017
Karol
rated it it was amazing
Jan 11, 2019
Evelyn Sun
Jun 27, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Kim
rated it it was ok
Oct 01, 2016
Jack
rated it it was amazing
Jan 10, 2017
Ali
rated it it was amazing
Sep 29, 2016
Ragnhild
marked it as to-read
Jul 29, 2016
Sammi
marked it as to-read
Aug 24, 2016
Mspraise50
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2016
Petit Pety
marked it as to-read
Aug 28, 2016
Imogene Matthews
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2016
Marynea Collina
marked it as to-read
Oct 02, 2016
Ahmed H. Mansour
marked it as to-read
Oct 03, 2016
Bri
marked it as to-read
Oct 03, 2016
Ahlam
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2016
Alshimaa Mohamed
marked it as to-read
Oct 04, 2016
Tatiana Robinson
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2016
Deanna_morley
marked it as to-read
Oct 22, 2016
Kristin Yoder
marked it as to-read
Nov 16, 2016
kristy
marked it as to-read
Dec 12, 2016
17 followers
Evelyn Sun is the author of the gothic horror novel, Sorrel and Myriana. Although she lives in the small, quaint city of Richmond, she works in the hustle and bustle of the big city, Vancouver. Evelyn had always had a fascination with science especially infectious diseases. After graduating from UBC, she decided to pursue her PhD in microbiology. Although she loves what she does, she isn’t too ...more