Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “In Some Other Life” as Want to Read:
In Some Other Life
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

In Some Other Life

by
3.86  ·  Rating details ·  1,517 ratings  ·  306 reviews
Kennedy Rhodes turns down an acceptance to an elite private school, instead choosing to stay at her high school and jump at the opportunity to date the boy of her dreams. Three years later, Kennedy walks in on that same boyfriend cheating with her best friend—and wishes she had made a different choice. But when Kennedy hits her head and wakes up in the version of her life ...more
Hardcover, 464 pages
Published August 8th 2017 by Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about In Some Other Life, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Maybe in Another Life by Taylor Jenkins ReidIn Some Other Life by Jessica BrodyThe Post-Birthday World by Lionel ShriverThe Versions of Us by Laura  BarnettTwo Summers by Aimee Friedman
Sliding Doors
20 books — 23 voters
Lord of Shadows by Cassandra ClareKing's Cage by Victoria AveyardCarve the Mark by Veronica RothCaraval by Stephanie GarberFlame in the Mist by Renée Ahdieh
YA Novels of 2017
1,098 books — 8,458 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.86  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,517 ratings  ·  306 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of In Some Other Life
Alyssa
Aug 06, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2017-releases
***Review posted on The Eater of Books! blog***

In Some Other Life by Jessica Brody
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (BYR)
Publication Date: August 8, 2017
Rating: 3 stars
Source: ARC sent by the publisher

Summary (from Goodreads):

Kennedy Rhodes turns down an acceptance to an elite private school, instead choosing to stay at her high school and jump at the opportunity to date the boy of her dreams. Three years later, Kennedy walks in on that same boyfriend cheating with her best friend—and wishes
...more
alice (arctic books)
I'm marking this as a DNF at this time, which makes me incredibly disappointed.

This multiverse/parallel universe story started off pretty strong, introducing a fun family with an overachieving girl, Kennedy Rhodes. Though I found it silly that Kennedy would drop the school over a BOY (but to each their own, I guess), I was intrigued to see how Kennedy would play out in a different world based on one different decision.

However, I'm deciding to not finish this novel due to some internalized misog
...more
Fafa's Book Corner
DNF

Mini review:

I was really looking forward to reading this. I loved the synopsis and couldn't wait to start it. Unfortunately it wasn't for me.

My problem was the main character. I found her to be utterly annoying and crazily over dramatic. I have no idea if she improved, I didn't have it in me to see for myself.

I have a feeling people will still enjoy this. Recommend.
Maé (readwithmae)
Jun 23, 2017 rated it did not like it
DNF at 31%

I kinda liked the concept of this book, but the characters was just infuriating and very sexist, being horrified at the fact that she became a "girly girl" in her other life, like it was a bad thing (along with the fact that she is obviously too good for make up, because it's "fake and misleading"). Anyway, I could keep reading this book but I don't want to spend my time reading some sexist lines.
Gray Cox
Sep 29, 2018 rated it liked it
This book is the equivalent of a pop song.

Enjoyable, fluffy, and totally a guilty pleasure.

Did I get anything out of this?

No.

Was it cliche?

Yes.

Did I secretly enjoy it?

Also yes.
Taylor Ramirez
What’s this? I actually like a YA Contemporary book? This hasn’t happened in a very long time. This book was excellent with an interesting premise, a wonderful message about regret and even pretty good anti-establishment message that didn’t come off too preachy. At time it was incredibly predictable and the main character wasn’t the smartest in the world but there are some great twists and Brody wrote some excellent characters. I look forward to reading more books by Brody.

~Spoilers~

“May I sugge
...more
Leah
Jul 21, 2017 rated it it was ok
To start off, I didn't have any expectations for this book so I wasn't disappointed by it. I did have many problems with it and the biggest one is that I found Kennedy to be naive and kind of clueless. She wanted to attend the Windsor Academy since 6th grade and when she applied she was wait listed until right before her freshman year when a spot opens up. This is exactly what she wants, but just a week earlier the boy she has a crush on asked her out. She has to choose between attending the sch ...more
Samantha (WLABB)
Oct 23, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: contemporary, 2017, ya, library
Rating: 3.5 Stars

I mostly enjoyed this parallel life tale. There was one thing that I wish the author would not have pursued, but still liked the majority of the story.

•Pro: I am a fan of parallel universe stories, and this one had a little touch of It's a Wonderful Life in how Kennedy's alternate choice affected all those in her world.

•Con: I would have been fine with the cheating part of the book, if it had just served as the impetus for Kennedy rethinking her choice, but I just was not a fa
...more
Shelley
*Source* Publisher
*Genre* Young Adult, Contemporary
*Rating* 3-3.5

*Full Review Pending*

Not an original concept, but it is an intriguing idea of parallel universes. However, I guess I will remain against those who willingly cheat on another person be it with their spouse, boyfriend/girlfriend, or best friend. It is inconceivable to me that our heroine would be willing to forgive so easily. Life is too short to just allow yourself to be abused and then laugh it off.
Dania
Apr 01, 2017 rated it really liked it
So much fun. I enjoyed this book immensely. It did drag a little bit, and it was a little predictable, but it didn't take away from the overall experience. I was jubilant with how the story turned out, especially the ending.
Stacie (Shy Book Nerd)
It was an okay read. I didn’t love it or hate it, it just wasn’t that memorable. Also, the main character Kennedy was pretty annoying. She felt really immature, naive, and so self-centered so it was kind of hard to like her. She redeemed herself in the end so that was good. I just wish the story was as beautiful as the cover haha.
Mary
Sep 24, 2017 rated it really liked it
An entertaining The Road Not Taken meets It's a Wonderful Life high school mashup. Although the story is predictable, it does have a positive message about following your bliss and being true to your values.
Paula  Phillips
Jun 16, 2018 rated it it was amazing
For the past three years, Kennedy Rhodes has been keeping a big secret from her family. All her life, she wanted to attend Windsor Academy and that dream nearly came true until she gave it all up for a guy named Austin. Yes, you heard correctly - Kennedy chucked everything away for a high school romance. Now three years later, she has accomplished resurrecting a school newspaper and winning awards but is she truly happy as she constantly checks the Windsor website and wonders What If ? Especiall ...more
Nicole
Sep 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I honestly loved this book! I always think about how my life would be different if I'd made other choices, especially since I moved around a bit when I was a kid, and this book really captured the feeling. The ending was also perfect, and while there was little romance, I felt myself getting lost in Kennedy's story of self-discovery more and more.

For the people who DNF'd this book because of how Kennedy made fun of her other self for having makeup and girly things, get over yourselves. It's in t
...more
Hillary
Aug 09, 2016 marked it as to-read
Shelves: contemporary
I'M SO EXCITED FOR THIS.
Sumaya Musse
Jul 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Loved it! Will review soon!
Violet
Nov 16, 2017 rated it really liked it
Actual Rating: 4.5 Stars
Briana Yanson
May 04, 2018 rated it really liked it
I really liked this book because it showed a sense of mystery. Kennedy showed curiosity by trying to figure out who was selling stolen exams to other students.
Gabby
Jun 20, 2018 rated it it was ok
I picked this up on a whim at the library so I had no expectations because I’ve never heard of this book before, but I wasn’t disappointed or satisfied by this book. I don’t even really know how I feel about this book haha so I’m just gonna make a list:

Pros:
- I FLEW through this book. It’s 450 pages and as I was reading it I couldn’t believe that I was already on this page!
- Frankie is my FAVE character!!!
- this was a really cool concept.
- kind of enjoyable

Cons:
- not even half way through this
...more
Leah
Dec 13, 2017 rated it it was ok
I was enjoying this story until the end. I did not like the ending.
Trisha
Quick read (despite its length). Thoughtful insights into topical issues. Maybe a little more balance needed.
Brenda Brown
Super fast and fun read. I was looking for a low angst YA and this fit the bill perfectly!
Aditi ~ A Thousand Words A Million Books
AS SEEN ON: A THOUSAND WORDS A MILLION BOOKS

I received a review copy from Macmillan Intl in exchange for an honest review. All thoughts and opinions are entirely my own.

In A Nutshell: In Some Other Life is Freaky Friday meets a little physics in a high schooler’s story of a choice that changed her life. As an added bonus, there’s also a very swoony boy.

I’ve heard about the wonderfulness of Jessica Brody’s books from various blogger friends, especially her Unremembered trilogy and so, when I s
...more
Bells
Nov 18, 2017 rated it did not like it
Shelves: read-in-2017
Jessica Brody writes cute contemporary novels that don't take themselves too seriously. Her characters are funny and relatable and I find myself understanding why they do what they do, even if I don't always agree with their decisions. Everything in her novels is chill and easygoing, which I happen to love.

I also happen to hate In Some Other Life with a passion. The premise of the story is actually a trope I very much enjoy—MC gets to travel to a parallel universe! But sadly, the main character,
...more
Ajita
Dec 19, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2017
Three years ago Kennedy chose a boy over the school of her dreams. She knew it wasn’t the right thing to do so she never told anyone she got off the waitlist. It stings a little extra when she walks in on her boyfriend with her best friend, and on top of that, she ruins her interview with Colombia, her dream university. In a desperate act, Kennedy visits Windsor Academy to convince them to let her attend the school. Before she leaves campus, Kennedy is knocked out. When she wakes up, she finds h ...more
Christina (A Reader of Fictions)
3.5 stars

Previously, I’ve only tried Jessica Brody’s science fiction (Unremembered), and it…didn’t do a lot for me. Despite that, I’ve had a few of her contemporary novels on my list forever but never gotten around to them. In Some Other Life appealed to me for that most classic of reasons: the cover’s cute. So sue me (actually, don’t, please). In Some Other Life is a fluffier readalike for Kasie West’s debut Pivot Point, and I liked it quite a bit.

Kennedy Rhodes turned down an elite private hig
...more
Kathy Martin
Jul 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This is a story about choices and decisions.

Kennedy Rhodes made a decisions three years earlier between a boy and a prestigious school. She and the boy have been together for three years. She's the editor in chief of the school newspaper which she revived when she started ninth grade. She is determined to get into Columbia's School of Journalism. She has a mother who is a partner in a law firm and a stay-at-home father who is getting ready for his first gallery show featuring his photography. S
...more
Natalie
Sep 07, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
WOW! A+ for a book I picked up randomly on a whim!

I’ve been reading a lot of multiverse theory books lately (Pivot Point, Maybe in Another Life, etc) and I am really enjoying this style of book.

I loved Kennedy. She was so easy to read about, and I loved her drive to succeed. And her family! Oh my goodness, I loved her family! Frankie was just the cutest, and I liked Kennedy’s relationship with him. The dad was funny and I liked how supportive he was. Kennedy really grew as a character, which ma
...more
Booklover2017
Apr 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Soooo much overlap in Addie Bell’s Shortcut to Growing Up. But very good!
Angie
Mar 22, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Actual rating: 4.25 stars🌟

The theory of multiverse is a very interesting topic for me so I make it a point to acquire as many books with this theme as possible.

The cover and title of the book are what caught my attention first, then the synopsis made me add this book on my tbr.

We have Kennedy, the editor in chief of their school paper, who sometimes wishes she made a different choice years ago.

After experiencing the worst day of her life and accidentally tumbling down a flight of stairs, she fou
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Genevieve's War
  • Sidetracked
  • Hear the Wolves
  • The Secret Sheriff of Sixth Grade
  • The Summer After You and Me
  • Halfway Normal
  • Tied Up In You (All Laced Up, #2)
  • The Boy Next Story (Bookish Boyfriends, #2)
  • 13 and Counting (Friendship List #3)
  • Maybe This Time
  • The Sweetest Kind of Fate (Windy City Magic, #2)
  • Saving Marty
  • Love, Life, and the List (Love, Life, and the List, #1)
  • The Game Can't Love You Back
  • Fred Korematsu Speaks Up (Fighting for Justice)
  • You're Bacon Me Crazy (Wish, #4)
  • Adventures from the Land of Stories Boxed Set: The Mother Goose Diaries and Queen Red Riding Hood's Guide to Royalty
  • Listen to Your Heart
See similar books…
2,202 followers
Jessica Brody knew from a young age that she wanted to be a writer. She started self “publishing” her own books when she was seven years old, binding the pages together with cardboard, wallpaper samples, and electrical tape.

After graduating from Smith College in 2001 where she double majored in Economics and French and minored in Japanese, Jessica later went on to work for MGM Studios as a Manager
...more

Related Articles

Dedicated fans of authors Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan might know the duo better by the affectionate moniker “The Fug Girls,” after their l...
12 likes · 3 comments