Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Pagan Stone (Sign of Seven, #3)” as Want to Read:
The Pagan Stone (Sign of Seven, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Pagan Stone

(Sign of Seven #3)

by
4.15  ·  Rating details ·  25,843 ratings  ·  992 reviews
From the #1 New York Times bestselling author of Blood Brothers and The Hollow--the conclusion to the electrifying trilogy of three men and three women who join forces--and hearts--to battle the ultimate evil.

The Pagan Stone had stood for hundreds of years, long before three boys gathered around it to spill their blood in a bond of brotherhood, unwittingly releasing a forc
...more
Mass Market Paperback, 305 pages
Published November 25th 2008 by Jove Books (first published 2008)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Pagan Stone, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Pagan Stone

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.15  · 
Rating details
 ·  25,843 ratings  ·  992 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Dina
Aug 02, 2009 rated it it was amazing
Call me a wuss, but The Pagan Stone scared the living daylights out of me. NR's description of the Big Evil was so good that my vivid imagination didn't have any problem bringing it to life. I actually had to stop reading this book last night and find something "lighter" to do, because the Big Evil was the last thing I wanted to have on my mind when I turned off all the lights.

From the publisher:

Years ago, after their blood brother ritual, Gage, Fox and Caleb emerged from the woods, each with a
...more
Shawna
5 stars - Horror/Paranormal Romance

I loved this trilogy! It was fantastically dark, eerie, creepy, and scary with a wonderful, memorable cast of characters that I loved. The Pagan Stone was definitely my favorite book/couple/romance of the series, and the epic showdown with the Big Evil was pretty darn chilling. I just wish there had been more to the ending and epilogue because I really wanted to see all three couples living out their HEA.
Ellyn
Dec 15, 2008 rated it it was ok
I'm sorry, I was just bored by this book. Research, research, research interspersed with predictable demon attacks. I didn't really feel a connection to the characters and I started to skim a lot of the book. As is often the case, especially with the last two trilogies, after a two and a half book buildup, the ending was anticlimactic. I still think Three Sisters Island was her best trilogy with a supernatural thread and I kind of feel like the trilogies in general need a reboot--they don't feel ...more
Gina
A great ending to a good trilogy - even with too many over-stated conversations…

**Spoiler Alert** - review will contain spoilers

I soooo wanted to say a perfect ending to the trilogy, but I can’t. I was so looking forward to reading this one, to giving it a 5-star rating, like I do with most of NR’s novels, but I can’t.

We continue the Sign of Seven trilogy, this time with Gage and Cybil’s story. While it’s obvious to the reader that these two will end up together (every love story has to have an
...more
Sony Reader
May 03, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
No hay estrellas suficientes para valorar esta trilogía... ¡Es increíble! No hay palabras para describir lo maravillosa que es. Los seis personajes principales y los secundarios son fantásticos (excepto el malo), les coges cariño y son muy especiales. La trama es adictiva y está muy bien construida. Tiene varios giros argumentales y sorpresas que no te esperas y el final es... intenso, genial. Ha sido maravilloso, así que tengo que agradecer a mi madre por haberme recomendado a esta autora, toda ...more
jenjn79
Apr 04, 2008 rated it it was amazing
Recommended to jenjn79 by: favorite author, continuation of a serie
Third and last book in the Sign of Seven trilogy by Nora Roberts. And possibly my favorite of the three. It's a tough call between this one and Blood Brothers. I think maybe I liked the romance in book 1 a little bit more (it's a little sweeter), and the overall plot progression of this one (book 3) more. So yeah, it's a bit of a toss-up to which I liked best.

The Pagan Stone continues/ends the tale of Hawkins Hollow, which has been plagued for twenty-years by a nasty evil demon who comes out and
...more
Sarina Morrhaye
Jan 19, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: e-book, 2018
Wat een leuke trilogie. Niet wereldschokkend, maar een goed vlot lezende reeks, vol humor, romantiek en beetje aktie.
☆.。.:*・°☆Love2Read♡HEAs☆.。.:*・°☆ {Anne}
5 "Big Evil Bastard" Stars!!

Holy Cannoli, this was the best book in the series!! I've been coasting along on a all time HIGH for the last hour! Just love when books do that do me.

I knew this was gonna be the best book for a couple reasons. 1) It was the last book and the battle would come to a major showdown and 2) because it was gonna be Cybil and Gage's story. They've been my favorite non-couple all along (they're in the other two books as well).

Cybil and Gage - the odd couple out. Neither wan
...more
Mojca
Aug 11, 2008 rated it really liked it
Recommends it for: lovers of paranormal/suspense
Three boys who shared their birthday, Caleb, Fox, and Gage, decided to celebrate their tenth birthday at the Pagan Stone, a strange, altar-like stone in the middle of the woods surrounding Hawkins Hollow, the village where the three grew up.

A simple vow to always be friends sealed with their blood, unleashed an entity that‘s been haunting them ever since.

Every seven years, for seven days in the seventh month, the small town of Hawkins Hollow descends into madness. Strange accidents happen; neigh
...more
Tempo de Ler
Aug 19, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Tenho aguardado ansiosamente por Pedra Pagã, o último livro da trilogia Signo dos Sete…e valeu bem o tempo de espera!

Durante a maior parte do tempo, o nosso já bem conhecido conjunto de heróis concentra mente e músculos na derrota do inimigo, mas sobra ainda muito espaço para o tempestuoso romance entre Cybil e Gage.

Ambos de carácter fortemente vincado, Cyb e Gage sabem bem o que querem e envolverem-se um com o outro não consta na lista! Gage não se quer comprometer de forma alguma, gosta de man
...more
LibraryLass
Jan 06, 2009 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2009, books-i-own
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Μαρία Γεωργοπούλου


You can see the following review also here: http://loveandlivetoread.wordpress.co...

I loved this book! The perfect conclusion in this trilogy! I knew Gage would be my favorite and I wasn’t wrong! It’s time for our favorite characters to put an end to the evil that threatens not only their lives but the lives of the people who live in this town. It’s not easy and it’s going to be worse before it gets better!

Our last couple is very different than the previous two. Both of them need freedom of choi
...more
Ashley
Jan 09, 2009 rated it it was ok
OK, I'm just going to write my review of the whole trilogy here. And I'm not entirely sure if it's a review of this particular trilogy or a review of Nora Roberts in recent years. So, just hang in there.

I have been reading Nora Roberts for about 10 years now. I'm pretty sure that I've read most (if not all) of what she's written. Therefore, I think it's safe to say that she now officially SUCKS! Now, I understand, when an author is as prolific as Roberts is, you're going to get a bit stale. It's
...more
Emily
Sep 10, 2012 rated it it was amazing
Nora Roberts never seems to disappoint! In the stunning conclusion of her Sign of Seven Trilogy, Gage and Cybil struggle to keep from being coupled up, even though it's completely obvious that Fate (a.k.a. Nora Roberts) intends for them to fall in love and live happily ever after. The six friends also have to come up with a way to defeat the demon known as Twisse and save Hawkins Hollow from his evil machinations. The eventual climactic fight was suspenseful and well-plotted, and Roberts did not ...more
Kelly
Nov 30, 2008 rated it did not like it
What can i say. Alittlemoreparanormal very predictable book. I really used to love a Nora Roberts boo... a little break from reality but she has really gone to far. All of her characters are all the same and the plots..... much to be desired. But I had to finish it...
Carolina Urán
y termina asi con este libro y con la historia de Cybil y Gage la trilogía del signo del siete.

En cuanto al hilo principal de la trilogía, el demonio super malote y la búsqueda de como vencerlo, todo siguió su buen camino de horror, miedo y cosas asquerosas. Es decir, por unos dias me voy a ir a la cama con la luz encendida y que alguien mas la apague cuando yo ya este dormida.
Esta historia me encanta, me tuvo atrapada desde el primer libro de forma tal que no los pude soltar hasta que terminé e
...more
Jan
Jan 31, 2019 rated it liked it
The third in the Sign of Seven Trilogy, The Pagan Stone brings together the final couple, Gage and Cybil. They do not want a domestic relationship of settling down in Hawkins Hollow Maryland. Gage’s boyhood friends, Fox and Caleb, the blood brothers who released demons in the town, have found their lifetime loves, but that life is not for Gage and Cybil. They will work with the others including Layla and Quinn to defeat the demons, but then they are off.

The demon Twisse is building up to a catac
...more
Ana Luiza
Encerramento da Trilogia Sina dos Sete, A Pedra Pagã acabou se tornando o melhor e o meu livro favorito da série. O romance bem-humorado e sensual está muito bem equilibrado com o mistério sobrenatural da saga, que é encerrado de forma emocionante e surpreendente nesse livro. Contudo, achei que a autora demorou demais para chegar ao conflito final contra o grande vilão da história, e ainda deixou a desejar em nos mostrar o destino dos personagens depois de terem vencido. Mas, no geral, a históri ...more
Pandem Buckner
Dec 23, 2008 rated it did not like it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Shirlene
Gage Turner left home after he graduated from high school. He worked at a variety of jobs to earn money until he learned that he was best at gambling. A part of him would always be with his friends, Fox O'Dell and Caleb Hawkins, in Hawkins Hollow. He couldn't forget the events that took place the night of their 10th birthday. The 3 of them had gone to a place in the woods known as the Pagan Stone near their homes. Their intent was to camp out and they decided to become blood brothers by slitting ...more
María José
Sep 17, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Ha sido un final de serie perfecto, aunque a veces eran ya demasiadas explicaciones y ataques y cosas sobrenaturales, pero en general me ha gustado y es uno bueno de Nora Roberts.
Ana Luisa
Aug 01, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
http://viv-omundoencantadodoslivros.b...

Mais uma trilogia que chegou ao fim e novamente vem aquela sensação de vazio que me aparece sempre que termino de ler um livro que adoro! Queria mais, muito mais… O livro acabou de uma forma tão perfeita que queria acompanhar as vidas dos três casais até que já fossem velhinhos e estivessem acompanhados dos seus filhos e netos. Nora Roberts tem este efeito em mim, são raros os livros da autora que me deixam desgostosa. Ela tem uma maneira de escrever muito
...more
Angela
Dec 15, 2008 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: romance, ebooks
The conclusion of Nora Roberts' Sign of Seven trilogy, The Pagan Stone, was about what I expected: the remaining couple of the feature characters, Gage and Cybil, wind up pairing off while they deal with their respective bits of familial angst. Cal and Quinn and Fox and Layla get to radiate soon-to-be-wedded bliss. The showdown with the Big Bad comes. Things go splody, and it's not really much of a spoiler for me to conclude that our six demon fighters do prevail. This is, after all, a Nora Robe ...more
Vicky
Sep 21, 2016 rated it it was amazing
A surprising but very good trilogy by Nora Roberts. A little horror mixed in with the romance. Not a romance fan but the horror was spot on for me.
Ronda  Tutt
Feb 24, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I love happy endings! I really enjoyed this trilogy. This was my first Nora Roberts read and I am glad I gave her books a try. I am giving this a 4 star because it made me laugh out loud when the guys were teasing each other or when the whole group was teasing each other, there were parts that were very funny.

The first book in this trilogy focused on Caleb and Quinn and the second book focused on Fox and Layla with each book getting closer to destroying the evil that reaked habit over the town H
...more
C
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Sara
I read this book because I came to work one day and mentioned I had forgotten to bring my book for lunch and my co-worker gave me this one to read as she had just finished it. That explains why I did not read books 1 and 2 of this trilogy. That DOESN'T explain why I won't read books 1 and 2 of this trilogy.

I had never read a Nora Roberts book before. Maybe this wasn't the one to start with. I have barely heard of her. I'm not a romance reader and I think that's her main genre.

I was fairly amused
...more
Jennifer☠Pher☠
I am writing one review for all three books in the Sign of Seven Trilogy. The other two books can be found here: Blood Brothers and The Hollow. I knew the entire time I was reading this trilogy that Nora Roberts was the author but I couldn’t help but be reminded of Stephen King while reading. Of course, this is Nora Roberts so we aren’t going to get the horror that we do from a King book but we did get a similar formula that I love from his books. Small town setting, lifelong friends and of cour ...more
Ne
Jul 13, 2012 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: biblioteca
E finalmente chegamos ao fim desta trilogia.
18241686
Posso já afirmar que foi a pior trilogia de Nora Roberts que li. Não gostei do início, não gostei do meio e não gostei do fim.
Achei o demónio muito mal caracterizado, sempre com os mesmos truques - nada original. Mas o que menos gostei foi mesmo as relações amorosas destes três casais. Primeiro, acho que a escritora fez mal em juntá-los logo no primeiro livro tal como disse na altura (Opinião Irmãos de Sangue).
Segundo, e agora mais em relação
...more
Kris - My Novelesque Life
Jul 30, 2014 rated it really liked it
4 STARS

"The Pagan Stone had stood for hundreds of years, long before three boys gathered around it to spill their blood in a bond of brotherhood, unwittingly releasing a force bent on destruction... Gage Turner has been running from his past for a long time. The son of an abusive drunk, his childhood in the small town of Hawkins Hollow was tough--his only solace his friendship with Fox O'Dell and Caleb Hawkins. But, aged ten, the boys unleashed evil on their town: every seven years murder and ma
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Nora Roberts Grou...: The Pagan Stone (Sign of Seven #3) - January 2017 Book of the Month 8 21 Jan 16, 2017 06:04PM  
Movie Time 20 140 Sep 18, 2014 12:11PM  
Nora Roberts Grou...: Sign of Seven Trilogy - The Pagan Stone 42 36 Jul 27, 2014 03:04PM  
Nora Roberts Grou...: The Pagan Stone (Sign of Seven #3) 18 90 May 18, 2009 06:18PM  
  • Conspiracy in Death (In Death, #8)
  • Touch of Darkness (Darkness Chosen #2)
  • Safe Harbor (Drake Sisters, #5)
  • White Lies (Arcane Society, #2)
32,871 followers
Nora Roberts is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of more than 200 novels, including Come Sundown, The Obsession, The Liar, and coming in December 2017, Year One -- the first book in The Chronicles of The One. She is also the author of the futuristic suspense In Death series written under the pen name J.D. Robb. There are more than 500 million copies of her books in print.

Other books in the series

Sign of Seven (3 books)
  • Blood Brothers (Sign of Seven, #1)
  • The Hollow (Sign of Seven, #2)
“My boyfriend and I are badasses. ” 70 likes
“Did he mean me or Jenny Mullendore was a slut?" Joanne wondered. "Because honestly, I don't see how she has the time for slut activities with those two preschoolers of hers. Me, I've got lots of time.” 35 likes
More quotes…