Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “When the English Fall” as Want to Read:
When the English Fall
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

When the English Fall

by
3.70  ·  Rating details ·  2,828 ratings  ·  591 reviews
A riveting and unexpected novel that questions whether a peaceful and nonviolent community can survive when civilization falls apart.

When a catastrophic solar storm brings about the collapse of modern civilization, an Amish community in Pennsylvania is caught up in the devastating aftermath. Once-bright skies are now dark. Planes have plummeted to the ground. The systems o
...more
Hardcover, 242 pages
Published July 11th 2017 by Algonquin Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about When the English Fall, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
David An excellent question. That opening came out of a very early editorial committee discussion back when the first version (which I'd self-pubbed) was…moreAn excellent question. That opening came out of a very early editorial committee discussion back when the first version (which I'd self-pubbed) was barely longer than a novella. Along with many great, great suggestions that made the book much tighter, I was told that the book should be "found literature in an abandoned farmhouse" and told to draft a prologue would give some context for the book. I wrote up several openings, and that one was the choice. There was another prologue I drafted that I liked better, to be honest, one that involved a key character from the book. As it stands, the memorandum still just feels outside the story. Who are these people? Why do I care? I'm askin' that myself, and I'm the author. It's not terrible, or badly crafted (so I'd like to tell myself) but it still just seems superfluous. (less)
David It's "Down in the Willow Garden," by the Everly Brothers, which Holly Hunter sang as a lullaby in the Cohen brothers classic Raising Arizona. It's…moreIt's "Down in the Willow Garden," by the Everly Brothers, which Holly Hunter sang as a lullaby in the Cohen brothers classic Raising Arizona. It's such a weird song, particularly as it's used in that film. Violent, tragic, and gentle enough to quiet a baby, all at the same time.

It was echoing through my head a whole bunch as I wrote, for some reason. Sometimes it's a hard world for little things. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eWYvD...(less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.70  · 
Rating details
 ·  2,828 ratings  ·  591 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Jaidee
Aug 16, 2017 rated it it was ok
Recommends it for: Amish philes with low expectations
Recommended to Jaidee by: Description sounded super interesting
2.5 "lackluster, had a lot of potential, needs a lot more work" stars !

This is the story of Jacob and his family in Amish Pennsylvania. A major disaster hits the Eastern US and possibly elsewhere and all electric power is wiped out. All the non-Amish are called English. Jacob's current diary covers three months and shares his observations of what has occurred and how he, his family and his community will contend with their faith, their isolationist practices and the growing desperation of the o
...more
Evelina | AvalinahsBooks
Jul 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Recommends it for: everyone. Absolutely. Unless you hate slow books.
I find myself struggling to start this review. Because the book was just so unbelievable, I find myself at a lack of words.



What would it be like to watch the end of the world as a bystander? As someone who has always thought that living that way was not wise, but had to hold onto that opinion as nobody really cared for it?

I should start with the fact that this is a dystopian book. However, it's not your typical dystopian book. You will not find zombies or adventure here. Nor will you find
...more
Diane
Jun 01, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: dystopian
What a thought-provoking dystopian novel this was!

When the English Fall is about an Amish family in Pennsylvania. The story is narrated by Jacob, a respected father and farmer, who finds comfort in writing in his journal at night. His diary records how society breaks down after a massive solar storm disrupts America's electrical system. Nothing is moving or working, and soon the "English" — the Amish name for those are aren't Amish — are desperate for food and begin to invade Jacob's small commu
...more
Kate ☀️ Olson
Contemplative and powerful, WHEN THE ENGLISH FALL is an unsettling story about the precarious nature of current American society set in the farmlands of Pennsylvania in seemingly current times. Never before have I learned so much about a culture while reading a postapocalypic novel - a novel that didn't read at all like any dystopian story I have encountered before. In fact, I have a hard time even classifying this as dystopian, and caution readers of entering the novel with that expectation. I ...more
Pat
Jun 15, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This dystopian novel takes place in the eastern part of Pennsylvania near Lancaster among the Amish community. Jacob is an Amish farmer and lives the simple life of the Order. This book is written in diary form which among the Amish is considered prideful but Jacob feels the need to write and tell what is happening. A solar storm takes place and all electricity is lost. For the Amish, this is not a problem but for the English (non-Amish) community living nearby, the loss of electricity is devast ...more
Tony
Jun 19, 2017 rated it it was ok
I kept waiting for this to get good. I considered stopping around 75 pages in. Then, it got more interesting and I thought it would go somewhere. Then, it went somewhere, but not somewhere that was really interesting. The ending just made no sense. The issues with the daughter had potential, but then, it just didn't work. It felt like this was a book about an Amish man who has a magical daughter. I would have read that book. Then, it was a book about the Amish who survive a solar flare and how t ...more
shanghao
Aug 10, 2017 rated it did not like it
DNF at 31%. Too slow without much plot progression and I don' feel like continuing to read the diary entries of a person who can make the apocalypse sound even more uneventful than the process of paint drying.
Sara Kennedy
Feb 20, 2017 rated it really liked it
David William’s debut novel When the English Fall offers a new perspective on apocalyptic fiction, written from the point of view of an Amish farmer named Jacob. Part insight into Amish culture, part dystopian novel, all written as journal entries, the novel follows the days leading up to a solar storm and its aftermath. Farmer Jacob lives a peaceful life with his wife Hannah and their two children, and occasionally does business with “the English” outside of his Amish community. His life is qui ...more
Sherri
Jul 29, 2017 rated it really liked it
This was a refreshingly quiet, thoughtful novel. I loved the premise, and the writing is lovely. The diary format was a bit restrictive in the sense that we only get to know what the diarist knows in the midst of an apocalyptic disaster. On the other hand, it allowed the author to explore ideas about faith, violence, loss, and more.
Danielle Steenrod
Jul 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing
"They are English. They are the world. They are so busy, they have no time to see God or each other."
-David Williams, When the English Fall


This is a dystopian novel unlike any other, as it takes the point of view of an Amish man named Jacob. The story is told through Jacob's journal entries. This is not your typical survival dystopian story, it's more of seeing the world through the eyes of the Amish community. When the English Fall was such a unique take on a dystopian novel that I found myself
...more
Michele
Mar 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
I had to think about this one for a while but I'm changing my initial rating from 3 to 4 simply because I'm still thinking about it.

I received a free advance reader copy of this book from the publisher.

I was on a cross country flight this week for a librarian conference and just desperately going through my ebooks looking for something to read after I finished the amazing Ender's Game. I tried one and was bored, I scrolled thru the list several times, I had zero memory attached to the cover of
...more
Sasha (whispersofthesilentwind)
2.5 stars

Note: received and reviewed as a NetGalley

"Yes, we have the Order, and yes, we have our way, but the time when that meant we stood free from the world has passed."

The premise and cover of this book are marvelous. On the other hand, William's writing was dry and simple throughout the whole book. I'm not sure if that was supposed to be like that to reflect how simple the Amish live (since our narrator is Amish) but I just wasn't impressed.

The plot was pretty solid and I'm sad we we
...more
Paula DuPont
Jan 26, 2017 rated it really liked it
I really loved the premise. When I picked the book up from the Algonquin/Workman stall at the ALA Midwinter conference, I read the back and was instantly hooked. An electromagnetic storm? Okay. That disrupts civilization? Right on. From the perspective of an Amish man? Oh hell yes. And that's exactly what the book is.

Again, I loved the premise, but the story lacked the depth I'd hoped to see as this Amish community soldiered on while the outside world fell apart. I would have loved to have seen
...more
Tina
Jul 31, 2017 rated it it was ok
Shelves: not-recommended
 I was looking forward to this book with it's apocalyptic theme.  A solar storm / EMP causes a collapse of society as we know it.  Survivalists would be able to hunker down and survive a good long time but face it, most of us would starve or die from lack of necessary medication and sanitation issues if something like this happened.

This book tells a story of how the English (non-Amish folk) reacted and how they eventually prey on the Amish community.  Amish know how to grow food, store food and
...more
Lauren
When the English Fall takes a familiar dystopian plotline, and dramatically shifts perspective to offer a wholly new experience in the genre.

Our point-of-view character is an Amish father and husband, Jacob, living in Lancaster county, Pennsylvania, and witnessing a solar storm that leads to an global-scale electromagnetic pulse (EMP) that shuts down all machines and the power grid. As an Amish community who lives without power, and electric machines, very little changes for the people on a dai
...more
Strugglingwriter
Jan 26, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Just a beautiful novel. One of few where the story beats what I thought the synopsis to be.

And a protagonist in a "post Apocalypse" that chooses a way that is not violent.
Wendy Bunnell
Oct 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
Ok, I really liked this book except for two parts. The beginning, and the end. But that middle really rocked.

1. The beginning, I'm not sure what exactly adding that framework did for this book. It does indicate that humanity is still alive in the future, but I went back after I finished, and was still puzzled by this choice.

2. The end, as it was written, would have been more appropriate without that beginning "hook" I think. I would have been ok if I hadn't been looking for more of a link betwee
...more
Martha
Jul 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is well written, insightful and engaging. My rating 4.75.

I was immediately drawn to this when I noted the genre and blurb. I have been reading a lot of post-apocalyptic stories and find some are more realistic than others. This one is could happen and is different because of the setting and characters.

This story is told in the form of diaries found on an Amish farm outside of Lancaster, Pennsylvania. Jacob, the father of the family, shares of the struggle his family has been experiencing. T
...more
Andrew Campbell
Jun 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Disquieting but gentle, When the English Fall made me ask what my responsibility was to my neighbor, my community, and myself.

It is a little preachy in places, and I don't believe it needs the short prologue attached to it. Tonally and thematically controlled, it is still expansive enough to allow for glimpses of delight and hope. Of late I have read more formidable works, but none which didn't wallow in despair.

David Williams' debut novel does the work of the very best fiction, and for years to
...more
Jamie
Jan 26, 2018 rated it really liked it
This is a nearly perfect book, in my opinion, and it really delivers on its premise. Highly recommend for anyone that wants a unique and thoughtful eco-dystopian novel that is concise, moving, and scary.
Lou
Jul 27, 2017 rated it it was amazing
New perspective on a world gone topsy turvy, post apocalyptic.
The telling of Jacob captivates the reader, getting through it all, what takes place, and what road he will traverse upon, an empathy grows with the telling.
His writing in his journal has him have a voice to see the world through, come to realize his fate and faith, his spiritual struggle with the terrible world he finds himself in.
The authors lucid prose style delivers the tale into a memorable first person gripping narrative, a must
...more
Lori
Nov 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What would happen if something catastrophic knocked out the power grid and caused even vehicles and farm equipment to fail? An Amish farmer's daughter seemed to know the English would fall. Told through the farmer's diary, readers see life day by day as his daughter predicts the catastrophe, as the catastrophe unfolds, and as the crisis worsens. I am not a fan of science fiction or dystopian literature, but I loved this book! I listened to the audio book narrated by Eric Michael Summerer whose v ...more
Ned
Aug 24, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I didn't expect to like this book as much as I did - it's set up as a post-apocalyptic narrative about the poor, quaint Amish getting attacked by people with guns because the Amish still have food, and the relative importance of faith in a world that is, literally, broken. The first page is one of those "hey, Dr. Researcher Person, I found these archival documents, take a look!" tropes that keeps cropping up. It's probably one of the most annoying examples, because no context for the named organ ...more
Michelle
I really enjoyed this book despite it's simplicity.

A solar storm ends "modern" life as we know it. Planes fall from the sky, cars and machines stop working and modern devices are useless. Life is in chaos for 'The English', but for the Amish people, it is life as usual. They continue living their simple lives, but become more and more aware of the unrest in the rest of the country.

The story is told through the diary of Jacob, an Amish farmer, I can see how others can find this boring. His life
...more
Dana Stabenow
Sep 16, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Apocalypse through the eyes of the Amish. It defies credulity to call a novel on such a subject lyrical, but this one is. As the world falls apart, Jacob and his family and his community live up to every expectation while everyone else around them lives down. There is humor, too, as there always is when an author writes successfully about real people, no matter their situation.

Before I went, I went behind the house, to where we keep our small store of fuel and the little Honda generator that
...more
Mike
After an apocalyptic event, an Amish farmer struggles with his faith as desperate outsiders encroach on his peaceful community.

There are no zombies, political commentaries, or even climactic showdowns, but this very personal account of a post-apocalyptic catastrophe, written from an unfamiliar perspective, kept a simple and steady pace, which resulted in a quick yet absorbing read.

Jessica
Sep 08, 2017 rated it it was ok
B.O.R.I.N.G. But it didn't have to be! It consisted only of journal entries from only one guy's perspective. I had high hopes for this one because the story sounded so interesting.
Carol Ann
Jul 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
Interesting and unsettling story. It's quick and very, very good, don't miss it. Great addition to the apocalyptic genre.
Shall I Download A Black Hole And Offer It To You
what an amazingly simple and yet incredibly complex little book... the narrator's voice was pitch-perfect for the telling... an untidy morality tale, possibly even a metaphor for authenticity in the face of the world's hypocrisy... is it better to act, truly, and take what comes? or is it better to be acted upon and cry foul by being forced to act untruly in response? i enjoyed this from the beginning, being a person who cherishes the real and the mundane of life as it is lived... i loved how th ...more
Pam
Aug 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: mommy-s-shelf
I read this book because it was on a "read alike" shelf for the Big Read of Station Eleven, at my local library. I wasn't sure I could do another apocalypse book so soon after Station Eleven, but it turns out I liked it a lot. I'd like to give it 4.5 stars.

I want to know how the author knows so much about the Amish lifestyle, he really puts a heart and soul into the main character...and the blurb at the back of the book says Williams is a "teaching elder in the Presbyterian church" I'd like to k
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Sounds like a sequel to.... (spoilers) 1 23 Jul 11, 2017 07:53PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Art of Space Travel
  • Above the Timberline
  • Prime Meridian
  • The Rending and the Nest
  • Marco's Millions (Marco's Millions #1)
  • Before She Sleeps
  • Gray Matter
  • A Planet for Rent
  • All In the Mind
  • The Asperkid's (Secret) Book of Social Rules: The Handbook of Not-So-Obvious Social Guidelines for Tweens and Teens with Asperger Syndrome
  • Return with Honor
  • America Pacifica
  • The Salt Line
  • Mother Angelica's Little Book of Life Lessons and Everyday Spirituality
  • Battlestar Suburbia
  • Ancient Spirits (Daisy Gumm Majesty, #6)
  • The Hopkins Manuscript
  • The Mystical Life of Jesus: An Uncommon Perspective on the Life of Christ
See similar books…
“It is hard to see who a person is, through all of those memories of who they were.” 1 likes
“A wife makes a far better helpmate if you remember to ask her before doing something.” 0 likes
More quotes…