Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “A Lady in Disguise (Daughters of Hampshire, #3)” as Want to Read:
A Lady in Disguise (Daughters of Hampshire, #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

A Lady in Disguise

(Daughters of Hampshire #3)

by
4.10  ·  Rating details ·  458 ratings  ·  180 reviews
In this intriguing novel of romance, mystery, and clever disguise set in Victorian England, a young woman investigates the murder of her own father.

After the mysterious death of her father, Miss Gillian Young takes a new job as the principal costume designer at the renowned Drury Lane Theatre Royal. But while she remembers her father as a kind, well-respected man of the Po
...more
Paperback, 384 pages
Published March 21st 2017 by Howard Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about A Lady in Disguise, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about A Lady in Disguise

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.10  · 
Rating details
 ·  458 ratings  ·  180 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of A Lady in Disguise (Daughters of Hampshire, #3)
Staci
Mar 09, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: read-in-2017
Lovely conclusion to the Daughters of Hampshire series. The entire series is Victorian Gothic and offers the feeling of suspense, intrigue of mystery and romance.

In A Lady in Disguise, main character Gillian Young has lost her entire family over several years with the most recent loss being her father. She believes her father has been falsely accused and works toward clearing his name. In the course of solving the mystery, readers learn more about the poor of London during the 1880s and the the
...more
Hannah
4.5 stars
I think this one is my favorite of the series! (Note: none of the books actually have connecting characters and each stands alone.) Quite the thrilling mystery with a seamstress realizing there was something fishy about her constable father's death and all the crazy things that go on as the good and bad guys alike try to get their hands on some evidence that her father had. This one's sure to keep you turning the pages.

Anachronism spotted: go missing/went missing is a 1990s term, not so
...more
Dawn
Nov 15, 2016 rated it really liked it
I had the wonderful opportunity to read this book with the option of endorsing it to my readers and fellow reader friends! ❤️ Pick up this great Victorian mystery told from first person POV! Here is the endorsenent I wrote for the final copy of the book!

"Sandra Byrd's talent for keeping readers on the edges of their seats once again shines throughout this well-written tale. Brimming with mysteries from the very first page, lovers of historical fiction and historical suspense will adore discover
...more
Kav
Aug 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Sqqqquuuueeeealllllll!!!!!!!

Just...

Sqqqquuuueallllll!!!!!!

I am still light-headed with residual Gothic Romance Glee. The first 'grown up' books that I read as a teen were classics in this genre -- Victoria Holt, Mary Stewart, Phyllis A. Whitney -- so I can't help but get a tad shy of giddy when I discover a new one and A Lady in Disguise is exquisitely perfect in absolutely every way.

Deliciously sinister evil threatens Gillian at every turn as she sifts through layers of intrigue. Danger draws e
...more
Melissa Tagg
Apr 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing
It took me a little while to sit down and write this review simply because I wasn’t sure how to put into words how much I loved it…how thoroughly it enchanted me! The writing is sooooo lyrical, so atmospheric. It was such a wonderful blend of eerie, romantic and mysterious. Plus, the story moved at the perfect pace for me. I love authors who can keep a plot moving and yet, also give the story and the characters and the emotion room to breathe.

One of the things I especially loved about this nove
...more
Carrie Turansky
Oct 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing
With impeccable research and elegant writing, Sandra Byrd brings Victorian England to life in her latest novel, A Lady in Disguise. Readers of historical fiction will be delighted with the romance, mystery, and inspiration in this page-turning story, and they will be kept guessing until the end to see how the heroine will uncover the truth behind her father’s death. Well done and highly recommended!
Jennifer
2.5 stars.

I'm sorry to say that I didn't enjoy this one as much as the others in this series. The romance was rather underdeveloped; I felt like I was reading about a teenage girl who kept insisting that she wasn't falling in love but was in love with the man in question after a couple of outings. Her love interest was a moral and decent man, sweet enough in his sentiments and actions, but I just didn't feel the chemistry between the two of them.

The mystery surrounding the heroine's father also
...more
Carrie Schmidt (Reading is My SuperPower)
I have now become a fan of gothic romance, particularly when Sandra Byrd is at the helm!

The brooding heroes who we want so desperately to believe are good, even while the evidence piles up to the contrary. The heroines in dire straits, yet still strong and independent. The shadowy mysteries that swirl around them. The rather spooky atmosphere that drapes across the page. The spotlight on both the fortunate and the less fortunate. I love it!!!

A bonus to Sandra Byrd’s books is the emphasis on fait
...more
Kathleen Kelly
Apr 03, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Gillian Young is a talented seamstress and works for the Theatre Royal on Drury Lane and her father has just died in an accident. She finds out that her father may have led a double life. She meets Viscount Thomas Lockwood, a very handsome young man who is actually a neighbor in Hampshire where the family home, Winton Park is. After her father's death, she finds out that her mother, also deceased, wants the house to be donated to the 'Cause'.

The Cause is where there are people who want to stop
...more
Bluerose's  Heart
This book was such a treat! It made me want an extra cup of tea, even with all the talk of Turkish coffee.

I've read and loved all of Sandra Byrd's adult novels, but it's been her gothic romance series, Daughters of Hampshire, that I've loved more than any other. I've been greatly looking forward to reading A Lady in Disguise, and now as I leave it, I'm left greatly looking forward to reading more from her.

In this book, we meet Miss Gillian. She's middle class, and works hard as a costume designe
...more
Jamie
Mar 23, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: 2017
4.5
“Women work a good many miracles.”
Little Women

As I was writing the post for my 5 year anniversary (there’s still time to enter the giveaway, so be sure to!), I thought about how my taste in books have changed, but one thing has remained – Sandra Byrd’s books grab my attention and have me hooked the whole way through.

Among many things, this book was a good mix of mystery, history and romance. Plus I liked the ode to Little Women. Slipped throughout the pages, I wanted to send an internet high
...more
Karen R
Nov 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Another fantastic book in the Daughters of Hampshire series! Taking place between the foggy streets of London in 1883, as well as a grand manor house in Hampshire, this one will send chills up your spine at times, and pull your heart strings too. Mystery, danger, and romance mix well to create a standout Victorian era novel.

This author never disappoints, skillfully weaving fact with fiction, creating scenes and people that all seem real somehow. The emotions run high as the suspense and tensio
...more
Rebecca
May 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing
"He had died there, . . . . . But his death had been no accident. No indeed."

Following the mysterious death of her father, a well known and respected officer of the law, costume designer Gillian Young is handed a cryptic letter from the deceased; it was as if he knew the end was near and wanted to remind her of his love. Convinced that the terrible rumors circling London implicating her father in duplicity are false, Gillian finds her efforts thwarted at every turn when she determines to investi
...more
eyes.2c
Darkness in Victorian times

An engaging mystery and romance set smack in the middle of the Drury Lane theatre district of London in Victorian times.
There's treachery, mystery and fear. Young children, the 'pantomime children', discarded when too old or when the season is over and who are lured into darker employment in London or taken to Paris are at the heart of the matter.
Miss Gillian Young is a talented seamstress whose father, a hitherto respected inspector in the police force, has recently b
...more
Rachel
Review to follow.

*Thanks to NetGalley & the publisher for a complimentary copy of this book. I was not paid or required to write a positive review and all opinions stated are my own.*
...more
Lisa
Jun 05, 2017 rated it really liked it
Oh, I quite liked this one. Kept me guessing through almost the entire novel. I also thought the romance was blended into the rest of the story very well. It's also clear the author put a lot of research into the period and specific events in the book. Overall a great read.
Bookish Ally
Jan 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
I’m a big fan of Sandra Byrd but this book disappointed. It felt rushed, contrived, as well as awkward at times. Enjoyed some of the themes and characters that may well have been present in 1870’s London: underage prostitution and the milieu chewed up and spat out by the theatrical world. One thing I’ve noted is that Ms Byrd does address and take on social injustices, refusing to paint a story that is too whitewashed. That said the last quarter of the book was unwieldy and predictable with the m ...more
Yara
A Lady in Disguise by Sarah Byrd is the last book in the Daughters of Hampshire trilogy. I have not read the first two books; however, I don’t think you need to have read them in order to understand book three. From what I gather the books are loosely tied together.

The story has an interesting premise, a murder mystery, with a romance on the side. While the idea was an interesting one, the execution didn’t live up to the idea. The biggest problem for me was that the story was a murder mystery t
...more
Hannah
Feb 19, 2019 rated it really liked it
Shelves: owned-books
4.5 stars
Faye
Apr 16, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
Gillian Young is a talented costumer, the daughter of a titled socialite-turned-actress and policeman, she becomes he heir to her maternal grandparent's estate, Winton Park, upon the death of her father. When she returns from her father's funeral she finds that her home has been searched, and that her father's name has been dishonored by accusations of inside deals, corruption, prostitutes, and conspiracy. Gillian wants to honor her parents memory and the charitable cause that her mother was a p ...more
Diana
Mar 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing
In A Lady in Disguise, author Sandra Byrd has penned a hauntingly breathtaking Gothic romance set in Victorian England—with mysterious, dark mansions shrouded in secrets—and a beautiful, angst-filled romance befit for a fairytale.

Gillian Young is one of the most captivating heroines to ever grace the pages of a novel. Strong...yet vulnerable, classy...yet humble and compassionate, professional...yet with an enchanting sense of humor. The charming, enigmatic, and dashing Viscount Thomas Lockwood
...more
Heather Snyder
Mar 24, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Sandra Byrd's novel A Lady in Disguise is the perfect read for those who love stories set in England. More specifically, stories set in Victorian England. The Victorian era has always been my favorite era of literature, so I was excited to read this book, and it did not disappoint! The characters were relatable, and it was easy to stand behind the female protagonist of the story, Miss Gillian Young. Her story will resonate to the heart of the reader, because she endures so much. Her world is con ...more
Janka H.
Apr 14, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Innocence and harm, corruption and protection.
This miltifaceted novel offers much more than a love story - it offers a meaning, an invitation to offer however small (you think) helping hand to the world who has been hurting by the crimes identical both then in Victorian England and now.

Gillian Young is her own woman between two worlds - the arictocratic world of her mother's side, who, a daughter of the lord, had chosen an actress profession and a middle class marriage of love, and the common l
...more
Iola
Jun 24, 2017 added it
I wasn’t sure what to expect from A Lady in Disguise—the title didn’t seem to match the description (and the description ranges between somewhat misleading and coming uncomfortably close to revealing major plot points, in my view).

No matter. The review is of the novel, not the Amazon description.

And the novel was excellent. The balance was more on suspense than romance, partly because Gillian was never sure who she could trust—with good reason, because there were a lot of untoward events occur
...more
Brandi (Rambles of a SAHM)
A Lady In Disguise is the third and final book in the Daughters of Hampshire series. Of the three books included in the series it is by far my favorite. If you've not read the first two books, never fear, each are stand alone titles so you can read them in any order.

After reading the series I am convinced that Sandra Byrd will be a name synonymous with Gothic romance in the future. She has taken all of the elements from our beloved old school Gothics and brought them forward with a few updated
...more
Susan
Sandra Byrd is fast becoming one of my favorite authors of Victorian gothic romance. She immediately draws her reader into the setting from the very first page. Rich with historical detail, this mystery includes a cast from all walks of life of 1883 England, including the wealthy and titled along with the poor who struggle for survival. Gillian is a beautiful strong heroine, whose faith prods her tender heart to be aware of the needs of others. Gillian struggles with determining who she can trus ...more
writer...
Superb! Total reading enjoyment. Masterful suspense. Romance? Yes, delectable!
Aisling
Apr 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Slow start but then more than delivered on historical fiction, romance, mystery.
Nicole Laverdure
Mar 10, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Captivating suspense with a gothic touch!

If you have read, Sandra Byrd's two previous stories, in her Daughters of Hampshire series, then you'll love, A Lady in Disguise, a thrilling suspense with a gothic touch, set in the Victorian era. If you're a fan of this author's novels, don't miss your chance to read this one too. She never disappoints me! A real page turner, with mystery and romance, that will please you! Ms. Byrd nicely blended her characters, Gillian and Thomas, and slowly built up t
...more
Rachael
Mar 05, 2017 rated it really liked it
I generally consider myself fairly well educated in history and period detail, but I learned a surprising amount about Victorian England in this book, from missions, to children's theatre, to Victorian era human trafficking. It's all woven together in a delightfully menacing plot.

Gillian is a strong heroine. Having done costuming and taken in commissions myself, I really enjoyed that she is not only a seamstress, but an independent business woman, not dependent on anyone (save occasional employe
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Combining issues 2 11 Mar 21, 2017 09:10AM  
Sinopsis en Español // Synopsis in Spanish 1 2 Nov 30, 2016 02:39PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Governess of Penwythe Hall (Cornwall, #1)
  • The Weaver's Daughter
  • The Elusive Miss Ellison (Regency Brides: A Legacy of Grace, #1)
  • A Defense of Honor (Haven Manor, #1)
  • A Rumored Fortune
  • An Hour Unspent (Shadows Over England, #3)
  • The Thief of Lanwyn Manor (Cornwall, #2)
  • The Headmistress of Rosemere (Whispers on the Moors, #2)
  • The Noble Guardian (The Bow Street Runners, #3)
  • A Return of Devotion (Haven Manor, #2)
  • The Mark of the King
  • Daisies and Devotion (Mayfield Family, #2)
  • The Captivating Lady Charlotte (Regency Brides: A Legacy of Grace, #2)
  • The Heiress of Winterwood (Whispers on the Moors, #1)
  • A Bound Heart
  • The Spice King (Hope and Glory, #1)
  • The Lady and the Highwayman
  • A Reluctant Bride (The Bride Ships, #1)
See similar books…
730 followers
Bestselling author Sandra Byrd has published fifty books over her editing and writing career. Her traditionally published books include titles by Howard Books, a division of Simon and Schuster, Tyndale House Publishers, WaterBrook Press, an imprint of Penguin Random House, and Bethany House Publishers.

Sandra’s series of historically sound Gothic romances launched with the best-selling Mist of Mid
...more

Other books in the series

Daughters of Hampshire (3 books)
  • Mist of Midnight (Daughters of Hampshire, #1)
  • Bride of a Distant Isle (Daughters of Hampshire, #2)

Related Articles

Dedicated fans of authors Heather Cocks and Jessica Morgan might know the duo better by the affectionate moniker “The Fug Girls,” after their l...
11 likes · 2 comments
“I had learned that every circumstance in life doesn't have to end happily for the Lord to provide a happy ending.” 0 likes
“None of us wants to see the truth of what is right in front of us, do they? But for our protection, we must not sugar-coat the truth. We must have the courage to see people for what they are.” 0 likes
More quotes…