Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Heroes or Thieves (Steps of Power #2; The Kings #2)” as Want to Read:
Heroes or Thieves (Steps of Power #2; The Kings #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Heroes or Thieves

(The Kings #2)

by
4.23  ·  Rating details ·  40 ratings  ·  14 reviews
"War is the action taken to determine who has strength enough to live, and who has strength enough to die. Death can be the gateway to victory, but not all men are brave enough to face this truth."

A dark and ancient magic has resurfaced upon Aersadore, and it serves the new lords of the elven nation. Disgraced and on a land far from home, Jikun yet finds himself in the mid
...more
Paperback, 488 pages
Published June 14th 2016 by Silver Helm
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Heroes or Thieves, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Heroes or Thieves

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.23  · 
Rating details
 ·  40 ratings  ·  14 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Heroes or Thieves (Steps of Power #2; The Kings #2)
Dianne
The new rulers are brutal to all who opposed them. The elven world has become a dark land, filled with evil intent and powered by the darkness of necromancy. Saebellus has decimated Jikun’s army and the once proud and powerful general is shattered by shame. He has let his people down and is left to remind himself of his failings with every heartbeat. Determined to redeem himself and save his land, only one thing will appease the brunt of his pain, kill Saebellus, but how does a mere general kill ...more
Bradley
Jul 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing
What can I say except that this is a much stronger continuation of the greater tale, proving that Epic Fantasy is far from losing fresh voices.

Both books end on fantastically evil revelations, and while I must be honest in saying that I actually welcomed the surprises, whether they were deaths, increasing power, massive reversals of fortune, or simple betrayal, the one surprise I wasn't quite prepared for was the option of a middle path.

Alvena proves to be a leaf on the wind for most of the book
...more
Magda Żmijan
Oh gosh, have you read the first book already? You really should've because this one is even better!

The world is struggling to survive under the new, ruthless king. The evil necromancer at Saebellus's command destroy's potential elven allies.
The sole survivors of the last battle for Savrigel embark to Ryekarayn to stop the necromancer. But they can't do it themselves, can they? And can their friendship survive?
The king's beast escapes and even two experienced hunters have trouble killing it. Or
...more
Erin Cataldi
Nov 02, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: 2016
A slam dunk follow up the first in the series, Kings or Pawns. World building isn't easy, but author J.J. Sherwood, makes it look like a piece of cake. She seemlessly picks up where the last book left off and we continue to follow our favorite (and least favorite) characters on the next steps of their journeys. Jikun and Navon have crossed the sea and are looking for a way to gather troops and somehow attack the tyrant ruler Saebellus again, Alvena is trying to put as much distance between herse ...more
Joselyn  Raquel Moreno Burke
Jul 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I was left breathless, I found more characters to love and the plot just tickens a lot in this one. betrayal on both sides, improbable allegiance and a lot of drama and warfare later I just need more of this story, because it cannot end like that.

I do thinks the series just engrained more in me. Vale and Adonis make me understood some things on the plot that made saebellus maybe a little comprehensible but he still's a little contradictory and Jerah damn he is so cute I need more of him.

hopefu
...more
Phil Leader
Nov 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed, amazon
The second book of Sherwood's epic fantasy series picks up the threads from the first, Kings or Pawns, and follows various characters in the aftermath of Saebellus' victory. Some of these are familiar, such as the defeated general Jikun, others are less so and some are completely new.

Once again the story doesn't follow the usual fantasy template. Where in the first book Saebellus was depicted as the main enemy and villain of the piece here shades of grey are cast on his character and his actions
...more
Luna Lovebooks
Aug 04, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: read-in-2016
It is rare that a sequel is better than the first, especially when it comes to book series. With Book 2, Sherwood has created a much stronger continuation of this series.

The world is massive and the characters are complex and have depth. Alvena continues to be my favorite with her strong spirit. Even mute she stands up to her captors and, when the opportunity presents itself, she does what she can to get back at them.

I was surprised by Eldaeus—an elf from an extinct race who has been trapped for
...more
E.P.
Jul 05, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: fantasy
4.5 stars, rounded up to 5.

"Heroes or Thieves" is the second book in the "Steps of Power" series, and it starts off from the CRAZY cliffhanger that book 1 ended with. King Hairem has been murdered and those who know about it are on the run, only not very successfully. Will they succeed in overthrowing the scheming Ilsevel, or are they doomed to fall to her wiles?

Although there is a lot of intrigue and there is a fair amount of world-building, the action moves swiftly; this is definitely a high-a
...more
Brian
Jun 29, 2016 rated it it was amazing
If I had a sixth star, I would use it here. This second installment in the Steps of Power: The Kings series is even better than the first. Without spoiling anything, the plot is deeper, the characters are fleshier (and there's more of them with no loss of depth), and the world is wider. With the exploration of Ryekarayn as a reader, Aersadore is much bigger now. In short, I can't wait for Book 3. If you like fantasy and want to read a realistic take on war and political intrigue, look no further ...more
David Baird
Aug 17, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Review to follow
Tavleen Kaur
Jun 08, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: read-in-2017
Visit my blog for more reviews: https://travellingthroughwords.wordpr...

3. 75 Stars

Heroes or Thieves is the second book in a high fantasy series by J.J Sherwood. It is set in the world of Arsedore. This book follows the events from the first book. It shows the journey of Jikun and Navon after King Hairem is killed. Alvena flees the city after witnessing the king's death Ilsevel and Saeballus have taked over the kingdom.

I absolutely loved the first book so I had really high expectations before st
...more
Seregon
Nov 08, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This picks up right after the end of book 1, so you definitely need to read them in order.

*Warning: possible spoilers!!*

After fleeing a losing war to (now King) Saebellus and Queen Ilsevel, General Jikun and Captain Navon are forced to live hand to mouth in disgrace. Along the way the barely escape the necromancer working for Saebellus and True Blood Prince Darcarus - who is a long way from his home in Ryekarayn, the human part of Aersadore. The planet is in disarray, since those in Sel'vari set
...more
Patti
Jul 24, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Kings or Pawns, Heroes or Thieves, Men or Monsters?

These elemental questions are posed in the second installment of J.J. Sherwood's Heroes or Thieves. Continuing the saga begun in Kings or Pawns, this book finds protagonist General Jikun Taemrin on the run and reeling with guilt over the obliteration of his army by the necromancer Saebellus after the stunning betrayal of his queen. Alive only because of the efforts of his loyal second, Navon, Jikun embarks on a hellbent quest to destroy the man
...more
Angela Crawford
Oct 06, 2016 rated it really liked it
I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. This is in no way reflected in my opinion of this story.

Heroes or Thieves is the second part of the epic fantasy adventure that began with Kings or Pawns. Dealing with the outcome of the battle to stop Saebellus from taking the elven city of Elarium, Jikun and Navon flee across the channel to Ryekarayn, giving us a whole new land to explore and more characters to get to know. I love that Navon has become more of a main character in
...more
Liz
rated it liked it
Jan 07, 2017
Sheba Hall
rated it it was amazing
Dec 05, 2019
Kaitlyn King
rated it liked it
Nov 20, 2016
Vivek
rated it it was amazing
Aug 10, 2016
Rachel
rated it it was amazing
Jul 25, 2016
Paula
rated it really liked it
Dec 14, 2016
Viet Van
rated it really liked it
Aug 09, 2019
Becky
rated it really liked it
Jul 02, 2016
William Hands
rated it it was amazing
Jul 09, 2017
Michael
rated it it was amazing
Nov 22, 2016
W.D.Vlugt
rated it really liked it
Dec 28, 2017
Brendon James
rated it it was amazing
Jul 18, 2020
Michael
rated it it was amazing
Jul 24, 2016
Maria
rated it liked it
Nov 18, 2018
Steve Reckelhoff
rated it really liked it
Apr 05, 2019
Jordan
rated it really liked it
Aug 07, 2016
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Series Creation 11 161 Jun 25, 2016 05:25AM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Box: Puppets and Puppeteers
See similar books…
107 followers
Blog Here: http://www.stepsofpower.com/news.php

Facebook Here: https://www.facebook.com/stepsofpower

The release of Book 3 of The Kings (Gods or Men) is TBA.

--

On a cold winter night, wind howling into the desert sky, one ordinary hospital gave witness to a historic event. JJ Sherwood was born at 2:30 a.m. on December 31st, just barely managing to squeeze in to supplant New Year's Eve. JJ has always
...more

Other books in the series

The Kings (2 books)
  • Kings or Pawns (Steps of Power: The Kings Book 1)

Related Articles

Myths and mayhem, the fantastical and the scientifically plausible, these are readers’ most popular sci-fi and fantasy novels published in the ...
142 likes · 28 comments