Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Harbinger (Wake-Robin Ridge #3)” as Want to Read:
Harbinger (Wake-Robin Ridge #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Harbinger (Wake-Robin Ridge #3)

by
4.85  ·  Rating details ·  27 ratings  ·  15 reviews
Continuing in the tradition of Wake-Robin Ridge and A Boy Named Rabbit, Marcia Meara's North Carolina mountain series takes a shivery turn with the Appalachian Legend of Ol' Shuck, the Harbinger of Death.

“. . . he felt the wet slide of the dog’s burning hot tongue on his face, and the scrape of its razor sharp teeth against the top of his head. A white-hot agony of crush
...more
Kindle Edition, 408 pages
Published June 1st 2016
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Harbinger, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Harbinger

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-39
Average rating 4.85  · 
Rating details
 ·  27 ratings  ·  15 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Harbinger (Wake-Robin Ridge #3)
CD {Boulder Blvd}
Another great book from Marcia Meara!

Harbinger is book 3 in the Wake Robin Ridge series by Marcia Meara. I really liked book 1 and became vested in the characters of these stories. It is a series that although the books can stand alone, you are much more vested in the characters if you read the books in order.

Book 1 is the story of Mac and Sarah. Mac has isolated himself due to the loss of his son, but when Sarah moves in down the road he finds himself caught up in the mystery of the house she
...more
Sally Cronin
Oct 20, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Another lovely chapter in the life of Rabbit as he adapts to life as the adopted son of Mac and Sarah and brother to baby Branna. This magical little boy is an old soul with a special gift that sometimes shakes him to the core. He feels and sees people and events that others cannot even conceive of, and it is a heavy burden at times. But Rabbit feels obligated to do what he can to help other people.

In this new case that the local sheriff has had on his desk for twenty years, Rabbit and Mac partn
...more
Deborah
Feb 29, 2020 rated it it was amazing
A little girl goes into the woods with someone she trusts – but never comes out again.
20 years later, Sheriff Wardell asks if Mac and his adopted son, Rabbit, will consider reviewing the unsolved cold case in the hope that maybe Rabbit’s gift of the Sight might bring something new to light where conventional methods failed.
Rabbit is keen to help bring closure to a family torn apart by the girl’s disappearance, and Mac, along with a less than keen Sarah, agree to support him as he learns more ab
...more
Alex Craigie
Jan 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I came somewhat reluctantly to Book 3 of the Wake-Robin Ridge trilogy. I'd really enjoyed Book 1 but Book 2 was one of those amazing books that stays with you forever and I was afraid Marcia Meara wouldn't be able to sustain the magic in this last one.
I was wrong.
This is a brilliant book. My favourite characters are back in the shape of Rabbit and his adopted family, the Coles. Sarah and Mac are wonderful as parents and you feel their torment as they struggle to do the right thing by their son,
...more
Irene Marie Baker
Jul 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Another wonderful read from Marcia
Janet Gogerty
Jun 22, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I have loved reading this series of three books, all different, but all well told stories that flow in an easy style. Complex plots with a delicious mix of family life, psychological drama and supernatural mystery. Unlike many crime thrillers this novel probes deeply into the mind of someone who can never be free from what he has done. Thrills, spills and a rattling good tale.
Karen
Jun 23, 2016 rated it it was amazing
LOVED this book! I have been waiting for the third in the Wake Robin Ridge series for months. Now I have to wait again, after devouring this story in just 3 days.

Marcia Meara is a master at story telling, and at writing the dialects she uses. She describes scenes beautifully without becoming tiresome in descriptive details. Her stories involve mysteries to be solved, and love to be shared. I totally enjoy her books.
D. Peach
Nov 24, 2020 rated it it was amazing
I loved the book A Boy Named Rabbit and couldn’t wait to read Rabbit’s next adventure. Once again, this little 11-year-old kid stole my heart. Rabbit and his dad, Mac, are enlisted by the local sheriff to see if they can use Rabbit’s “sight” to figure out what happened to a little girl who disappeared twenty years ago.

The book is a paranormal mystery and thriller as well as a beautiful story about goodness and love. I enjoyed watching Rabbit and his new family interact. They’re kind and thoughtf
...more
Staci Troilo
Sep 12, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This series just gets better and better. The first novel introduces us to a damaged man and a lonely woman who finally begin to heal when they find each other. Their family expands in the second book when they take in a young boy who can’t help but melt the iciest of hearts. I couldn’t wait to read the third book, and it did not disappoint. Marcia Meara crafted a blend of love story/murder mystery/coming-of-age tale that had me riveted from page one.

Rabbit had me from word one of the second book
...more
Norma Reasor
Jan 07, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Oh, my. I think I have a new favorite author (added to my other favorites). The Wake-Robin series is the best I’ve read in a good while. Just the right amount of suspense in all three, a wonderful love story that expands into a family, and good, clean mountain living. I’m looking forward to more of this story. Rabbit is amazing and seems so real. I want to live on Wake-Robin Ridge myself. Sounds beautiful. Ageless.
Beth
Oct 07, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Loved book number 3 of the Wake-Robing Ridge series! I'm ready to read #4 ...more
Cathy Ryan
Oct 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing
The story opens in 1994 when eight year old Sissy Birdwell meets neighbour Cadey Hagen as she begins the walk home after being dropped off from the school bus. Cadey has a secret he promises to share with Sissy and takes her into the woods. She is never seen again. If I actually needed a hook for the book, this would have been it.

Fast forward to 2014 on Wake-Robin Ridge. It’s been a quiet time since the Cole family expanded to four, with the addition of baby Branna, but now Sheriff Raleigh Warde
...more
Rosie Amber
Jul 31, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Harbinger is book#3 in the Wake-Robin Ridge series of paranormal suspense mysteries set in the Carolina Mountains.

The book opens with a scene from June 1994, eight year old Sissy Birdwell steps off the school bus on the last day of term and begins her walk up the long road to home, it's not a walk she enjoys alone, sometimes things scare her, but she sets bravely off. Along the road she meets Cadey Hagen a boy and mountain neighbour. He is currently suspended from school and is a known trouble m
...more
Judith Barrow
This is the third in the series of Marcia Meara novels but can certainly be read as a standalone book. It’s a well-told story of good overcoming evil, of how all deeds have repercussions, of love, of family, of friendship, of manipulation, of how childhood can affect what we become as adults, of mystery and special talents, of traditions, of folklore. I think that covers all aspects of Harbinger: Wake-Robin Ridge Book 3 ; a book I thoroughly enjoyed.

I love this author’s style of writing; Marcia
...more
Mae Clair
Aug 28, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I’ve been following Marcia Meara’s Wake-Robin Ridge series since book 1 and each novel just keeps getting better. Harbinger is my new favorite. By now, the characters feel like family, due to the author’s incredible skill at building three-dimensional relationships and creating believable, relatable dynamics. Mac, Rabbit, Sarah and their friends are all people we care about. This is easily read as a standalone novel or enjoyed as part of the series. Either way, it’s sure to enthrall anyone who o ...more
Jean M Blair
rated it it was amazing
Jul 19, 2018
Paula
rated it it was amazing
Aug 28, 2016
Scarlettlady
rated it it was amazing
Mar 26, 2017
Andrea Olson
rated it it was amazing
Jun 26, 2017
Maggie
rated it liked it
Aug 26, 2017
Debbie
rated it really liked it
May 29, 2017
Kathy Griffin
rated it it was amazing
Jun 27, 2016
Sharon
rated it it was amazing
Mar 27, 2017
Glenda K Selby
rated it it was amazing
Aug 20, 2017
Diane M. Heichel
rated it it was amazing
Oct 17, 2018
Linda
rated it it was amazing
Jun 30, 2018
Trish
rated it it was amazing
Jun 25, 2019
Michelle
rated it it was amazing
Aug 21, 2016
Brenda Seaberg
marked it as to-read
Aug 07, 2016
Jennifer
marked it as to-read
Aug 08, 2016
Twilightwatchers
marked it as to-read
Aug 11, 2016
Carmen
marked it as to-read
Aug 23, 2016
Vicki
marked it as to-read
Oct 13, 2016
D.G. Kaye
marked it as to-read
Nov 27, 2017
Denise Jimenez
marked it as to-read
Mar 02, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Perfectly Imperfect
  • Mr. Sagittarius
  • Desolation Bluff
  • Virtually Gone (High-Tech Crime Solvers #6)
  • Elizabeth's War
  • The Nine (Astral Conspiracy, #3)
  • Crimson Skins
  • The Weight of Small Things
  • Crown of Coral and Pearl (Crown of Coral and Pearl, #1)
  • Sam, A Shaggy Dog Story
  • The Pellucid Witch
  • Snow White and the Civil War: Survival of the Fairest (Snow White and the Civil War, #1)
  • Mitosis (The Reckoners, #1.5)
  • The Contract: between heaven and earth
  • The Glamourist (The Vine Witch, #2)
  • Whispers of Dawn (A book of Cherita)
  • Myrtle the Purple Turtle
  • A Bard’s Lament
See similar books…
45 followers
Marcia Meara lives in central Florida, just north of Orlando, with her husband of over thirty years and four big cats.

When not writing or blogging, she spends her time gardening, and enjoying the surprising amount of wildlife that manages to make a home in her suburban yard. She enjoys nature. Really, really enjoys it. All of it! Well, almost all of it, anyway. From birds, to furry critters, to he
...more

Related Articles

With his new horror novel, The Only Good Indians, author Stephen Graham Jones conjures one of the most effective scary images to ever hover in that...
65 likes · 8 comments