Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Shorty & Clem” as Want to Read:
Shorty & Clem
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Shorty & Clem

by
3.58  ·  Rating details ·  198 ratings  ·  54 reviews
The creator of the award-winning app Scruffy Kitty, Michael Slack, brings young readers a fresh, dynamic duo: an energetic dinosaur and a cranky but loving bird who both pack lots of silly noises and fuzzy surprises in this vibrantly illustrated friendship story.

Meet Shorty & Clem! Shorty is a really short dinosaur. A shortysaurus, to be exact. Clem is a blue quail. A quai
...more
Hardcover, 40 pages
Published April 25th 2017 by HarperCollins
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Shorty & Clem, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Shorty & Clem

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.58  · 
Rating details
 ·  198 ratings  ·  54 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Shorty & Clem
Melki
May 27, 2020 rated it really liked it
Shelves: kidstuff
Shorty's an enthusiastic lizard who can't resist fantasizing about a package he finds addressed to his pal, Clem, a blue bird.

description

His excitement is a wee bit overwhelming . . .

description

and he ends up doing something that he shouldn't.

Luckily, Clem's the forgiving sort, and all ends well.

I liked the artwork more than the story here. And, like Clem, I forgive Shorty his little indiscretion. Guess I just can't resist a lizard who wears glasses.
...more
Garrett
Mar 15, 2018 rated it liked it
I'm not sure who's a worse friend here: Shorty for opening a package not addressed to him, or Clem for assuming Shorty would open the package. These two need to work on their communication AND boundary skills. ...more
Liz H {Redd's Reads}
So, I was really enjoying this cute story with fun illustrations about a dinosaur imagining and playing with a box. That is until we got to the end of the story when he opens the package, which is addressed to his friend, and he doesn't have permission. This is followed by appropriate feelings of guilt for doing something you're not supposed to do. Unfortunately, when the friend comes back and the dinosaur confesses, the friend says it was that was totally ok that this happened as the present i ...more
Josephine Sorrell
Apr 14, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shorty & Clem by Michael Slack Harper Collins April 2017
978-0062421586 Ages 4-8 40 pages


Meet Shorty...he is not a lizard...he is a Shortysaurus otherwise known as
a Short Dinosaur and today he is faced with a mighty thundering problem. A
package has been delivered to his house. Oh happy day until he realizes it
belongs to his dear friend, Clem, a quail.

Now packages have a certain "Je ne sais quoi." They have allure. They
insist on being opened. Shorty's imagination quickly starts working on
what coul
...more
Drew Graham
Oct 23, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: kids
When a package arrives and it's not for you just leave it alone until its intended recipient comes home. It's for the best. ...more
Laurie
Jul 15, 2017 rated it did not like it
Shelves: picture-books
I didn't care for this one. It's sort of cute, but I do not agree with all the comparisons to Elephant & Piggie. It's about two friends and the text is all dialogue. That's where the similarities end for me.

This story is about a dinosaur who is struggling with the temptation to open a package that doesn't belong to him. In fact, the label is clearly addressed to his friend. His struggle is relatable for young kids and might have been humorous, had it ended differently. As it is, the dinosaur doe
...more
Sarah G-Law
Sep 13, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: curious-reads
In this book, Shorty the dinosaur happens upon a present that is for Clem. He can’t handle the excitement of what could be in the box. Is it a race car or a drum or a trampoline? Poor Shorty just can’t take his it and his curiosity and rips into the present. He then realized how upset Clem will be when he finds out that Shorty opened his present. Luckily for Shorty, Clem knows him all too well and the present was meant for him all along.

What did we learn:

That you shouldn’t open presents that are
...more
Kathryn (Dragon Bite Books)
Review originally published on my blog, Nine Pages .

Like Elephant and Piggie, this is a story of two friends who know one another very well. A package arrives for Clem while Clem is away, and Shorty has to know what’s inside of it. Knowing that he shouldn’t open Clem’s mail, Shorty shakes and jumps and beats on the box until it opens. He thinks Clem will be upset, but when Clem gets back, he explains that it was a gift for Shorty and that he knew that Shorty would be unable to resist opening
...more
Becky B
A package comes for Clem, but its mysteriousness is driving Shorty batty. Can he resist opening a package with so many alluring qualities?

These two remind me quite a bit of Elephant & Piggie in all the best ways. Shorty is gregarious, hilariously distractible, and predictably fallible, but also sweet and honest when the time comes. Clem is savvy and in control. Together they make a great team. In fact, I wouldn't be a bit surprised to see a Geisel sticker on this book come January 2018. It's sim
...more
Dierdre
Mar 19, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shorty is a short dinosaur and his buddy Clem is a quail. This is one of those odd couple friendships; one smart and level-headed and the other excitable with a great imagination and lacking patience. A package comes for Clem while he is out. Shorty uses his imagination to think of many wonderful things that may be inside. Will he give in to the temptation to open it or wait for Clem? The illustrations are expressive and use nice colors. The text is bright and bold, appealing to young children. ...more
Rosa Cline
Jun 01, 2018 rated it really liked it
This is more a picture book than a story book. Wonderful simple illustrations with simple short sentences making it ideal for an infant through learning to read. (Or an adult that just enjoys a quick laugh think of it as a long comic strip) the two friends in the story love one another so much that one gave the other a present,but he didn’t realize it was for him when he found the present. He tried so hard to ignore the pachkage but his imagination ran wild with him. Until he finally opens it th ...more
Juliana Lee
Shorty, the dinosaur, finds a package addressed to his friend Clem, the bird. He knows he shouldn't open it, but he wonders what might be inside it. He thinks it might be a trampoline so he bounces on it; he thinks it might be bongos so he bangs on it. Eventually his curiosity gets the best of him and he opens it. Surprise for him (and young readers), it's a birthday present for him! Clem knew he wouldn't be able to resist and open it anyway. ...more
Tyler Jones
Jul 03, 2017 rated it it was ok
Shelves: childrens-books
Shorty and Clem are The Monkees of the picture book world, and Elephant and Piggy are The Beatles.

The message is pretty messed up; basically Clem is a manipulative jerk who, knowing his friend Shorty's moral short-comings, entraps him into an act of disloyalty, then forgives him, thus forever insuring he (Clem) can claim moral superiority for the foreseeable future.
...more
Tompkins County Public Library Youth Services
The blocky digital illustrations rule in this laugh-out-loud treatment of a classic dilemma. Slack is spot-on with his depictions of Shorty’s and Clem’s personalities through their facial expressions and body postures, and children will identify with Shorty’s emotional changes as he tries and tries, and ultimately fails, to resist seeing what is in that package.
Rachel
Very predictable but these characters are delightful, text in dialogue and sound, the story starts from the first page and goes through the title page. Love the bold colors with lots of orange and yellow.
Miss Sarah
Shorty is given a large box for Clem. Can he keep himself from opening it? I loved the movement as he's trying not to open the box and think kids could repeat that and I love the forgiveness themes. Toddler and up. ...more
Amber Webb
Oct 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Slack delivers a lovely story of two friends and the power of knowing one another, strengths and challenges. True friendship understands and even loves the weaknesses we have as individuals. My kids loved the story of Shorty, Clem and the beloved package!
Sarah
Shorty receives a package for Clem and wonders about what is inside. Finally his curiosity gets the best of him and he opens the package. then he worries that Clem will be mad. A good springboard for talking about patience.
Michele Knott
Another very cute book for young readers. Written in the vein of Elephant and Piggie, this will please a lot of readers.
Lisa D
May 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Loved it ! What a cute book!!
Lindsey
May 11, 2017 rated it really liked it
For fans of Elephant and Piggie
Mary Luzader
May 14, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: picture-books
This book has a "Elephant and Piggie" feel to it, from text to the characters. I look forward to possibly more stories from Shorty and Clem. ...more
Jacki
May 14, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: picture-book
Funny story somewhat along the lines of, dare I say it, Elephant and Piggie. Friendship/dinosaur/box/surprise storytime possibility.
Daphne
What a fun, fun book - would be great to read at storytimes!
Steph
Jun 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing
You're right, reviewers; this is predictable.

But it's also ADORABLE and what a ball of fun to read aloud!!!!
...more
Jschofi4
Jun 17, 2017 rated it liked it
Fun elephant and piggie readalike. Did not like the ending... what is it modeling for kids?
Kathryn
Fantastic until it falls apart at the end with an ultimately strange message.
Erin Richards
Aug 11, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: picture-books
Cute and imaginative-- what can you do with a box?
Molly
Aug 19, 2017 rated it did not like it
Shelves: picture-books
Read this at the SWON Picture Book Read-In.

This one was weird.
MaryLibrarianOH
Sep 04, 2017 rated it really liked it
Any kid who wanted to open the package, the package that belongs to someone else, will relate to Shorty's dilemma and appreciate the ending among the two friends.
...more
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Henny, Penny, Lenny, Denny, and Mike
  • They All Saw A Cat
  • Unicorn Is Maybe Not So Great After All
  • My Leaf Book
  • I Am Not a Chair!
  • Rulers of the Playground
  • Creepy Pair of Underwear!
  • Should I Share My Ice Cream? (Elephant & Piggie, #15)
  • The Dreamer
  • Hug Machine
  • Anywhere Artist
  • Bone Soup
  • Tallulah The Tooth Fairy CEO
  • Who Bop
  • Reading Beauty
  • What Is Inside THIS Box? (Monkey & Cake, #1)
  • In the Small, Small Pond
  • A Sick Day for Amos McGee
See similar books…
15 followers
Michael is an author, illustrator, and character designer. He uses bold colors, and fun shapes to create his quirky character-driven art. His illustrations can be found in books, magazines and on television. He has designed artwork for various children's products and apparel. His paintings and drawings have been exhibited in the U.S. and Europe.


Michael is represented by Painted-Words Represents
...more

News & Interviews

The idea for The Gilded Ones came to author Namina Forna in a dream. The recurring image was one of a young girl in armor walking up a...
69 likes · 6 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »