Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Setting Boundaries with Negative Thoughts and Painful Memories: How to Stop Hoarding Your Hurts” as Want to Read:
Setting Boundaries with Negative Thoughts and Painful Memories: How to Stop Hoarding Your Hurts
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Setting Boundaries with Negative Thoughts and Painful Memories: How to Stop Hoarding Your Hurts

by
4.14  ·  Rating details ·  21 ratings  ·  6 reviews
Find Lasting Freedom from Past Emotional Pain

If you wait long enough, difficult and traumatic experiences from your past will go away on their own...right?

Except they won't. Time doesn't heal all wounds.

Instead, we hoard our hurts. We rehash our sorrows and wonder how they could have been prevented. This keeps us from making brand-new memories and embracing the richer
...more
Paperback, 208 pages
Published April 1st 2017 by Harvest House Publishers
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

Be the first to ask a question about Setting Boundaries with Negative Thoughts and Painful Memories

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-45
Average rating 4.14  · 
Rating details
 ·  21 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Setting Boundaries with Negative Thoughts and Painful Memories: How to Stop Hoarding Your Hurts
Amy
Mar 19, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A must read!
Michelle Kidwell
Mar 18, 2017 rated it it was amazing

Setting Boundaries® with Negative Thoughts and Painful Memories

How to Stop Hoarding Your Hurts
by Allison Bottke

Harvest House Publishers

Self-Help, Christian

Pub Date 01 Apr 2017

I am voluntarily reviewing a copy of Setting Boundaries with Negative Thoughts and Painful Memories:

She grew up with a Mother who in the fifties and sixties saved a lot of paperwork, then they didn't have a name for it now they call them hoarders. Thankfully her Mother did not save unsanitary trash, and they weren't on the
...more
Deborah-Ruth
Sep 17, 2017 rated it really liked it
I have heard a lot about "boundary" books - usually related to how we interact with other people or how we let people treat us. However, I have never come across a book quite like this one that teaches us how to set limits on our own negative thoughts in order to get out of destructive thinking patterns and habits ("stinkin' thinkin'). This book is an incredible resource not only because of the journal prompts and practical exercises, but most importantly because the author herself is someone wh ...more
Sandra
Jun 10, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
If you want to learn how to set boundaries with negative thoughts and painful memories read this book. The author recommends to use The Six Steps of SANITY:
Stop hoarding your hurts
Assemble supportive people
Nip excuses in the bud
Implement a plan of action
Trust the voice of the Spirit
Yield everything to God

Very biblical, practical and easy to understand.

Thank you Netgalley for this book
Cat
Jul 22, 2017 rated it liked it
Too Christian for my tastes, tho some of the advice was worth taking. I have friends who will appreciate this book. Any Christian with painful pasts would likely benefit from the book. This appears to be a series of self help books in case anyone is interested in pursuing other titles.
Joy Kieffer
rated it it was amazing
Jan 10, 2020
Hope
rated it it was amazing
May 26, 2020
Kelsey Morris
rated it liked it
Feb 09, 2018
Nina
rated it really liked it
May 23, 2020
W. Whalin
Mar 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Get this New Addition to the best-selling Setting Boundaries Series

At first, I was going to set aside and not read SETTING BOUNDARIES WITH NEGATIVE THOUGHTS AND PAINFUL MEMORIES. After all, I’ve read the other books in this series. Yet when I began reading the foreword by Bonnie Keen of the music group, First Call, Allison Bottke pulled me into these pages. As Bonnie Keen writes, “This book is quite simply about godly, emotional care of your heart and mind. A step-by-step guide to heart care and
...more
Elizabeth
rated it it was amazing
May 16, 2019
Billie
rated it it was amazing
Jan 01, 2019
Rebecca Trent
rated it liked it
Jul 16, 2020
Robin Reynolds
rated it it was amazing
Feb 03, 2018
Serena Russell
rated it it was ok
Apr 21, 2019
Cassandra adkins
rated it it was amazing
Nov 09, 2017
Kimberly Civitarese
rated it liked it
May 25, 2019
Ori
rated it really liked it
Apr 15, 2020
Rebecca
rated it it was amazing
Oct 25, 2018
Nicole Lane
rated it it was ok
Aug 27, 2018
Tim Ousley
rated it it was amazing
Feb 12, 2020
Deb
marked it as to-read
Mar 26, 2017
Allison Bottke
Mar 26, 2017 marked it as to-read  ·  (Review from the author)
Shelves: boundaries-books
T.J. Burns
marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2017
Eleni Konstantine
marked it as to-read
Mar 28, 2017
Nancy La Luz Ramos
marked it as to-read
Mar 29, 2017
Grace
marked it as to-read
May 04, 2017
Brandi Davis
marked it as to-read
May 24, 2017
Michelle Burns
marked it as to-read
May 26, 2017
Madeline
marked it as to-read
Jun 05, 2017
Pamela Singleton
marked it as to-read
Jul 23, 2017
Gina
marked it as to-read
Sep 11, 2017
Jessica Johnson
marked it as to-read
Sep 15, 2017
Emily
added it
Sep 16, 2017
Mars
marked it as to-read
Oct 01, 2017
SHELBY
is currently reading it
Nov 10, 2017
Chameleon
marked it as to-read
Nov 15, 2017
Trindi
is currently reading it
Nov 20, 2017
Brittany
marked it as to-read
Jan 04, 2018
Kelley Taylor
marked it as to-read
Jan 11, 2018
Carolyn
marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2018
Chelsea
marked it as to-read
Jan 18, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Orphan Collector
  • The Debriefing
  • What Looks Like Crazy on an Ordinary Day (Idlewild, #1)
  • Silver Sparrow
  • Forty Acres
  • The Twelve Tribes of Hattie
  • What Looks Like Crazy On an Ordinary Day
  • Eloquent Rage: A Black Feminist Discovers Her Superpower
  • The Mother of Black Hollywood: A Memoir
  • When They Call You a Terrorist: A Black Lives Matter Memoir
  • Sacred Pathways: Discover Your Soul's Path to God
  • For Colored Girls Who Have Considered Suicide When the Rainbow Is Enuf
  • Rise of the Mystics (Beyond the Circle, #2)
  • The 49th Mystic (Beyond the Circle, #1)
  • Final Hour (Ashley Bell, #0.5)
  • A Heart Like His: Intimate Reflections on the Life of David
  • 90 Minutes in Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
  • The Last Monument
See similar books…

Related Articles

  The cohosts of the By the Book podcast, Jolenta Greenberg and Kristen Meinzer, are hitting the bookshelves themselves this spring with thei...
57 likes · 15 comments