Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Yetunde: An Ode to My Mother” as Want to Read:
Yetunde: An Ode to My Mother
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Yetunde: An Ode to My Mother

by
4.20  ·  Rating details ·  64 ratings  ·  50 reviews
Yetunde: An Ode to My Mother is a stand alone book from Yetunde: The Life and Times of a Yoruba Girl in London (1). You may think of it as book 1.5, as in this book Yetunde is slightly older.



It is a heart-warming story about the power of a mother's love; truly an ode to women and mothers all over the world. It is a captivating and emotional story that talks about love and
...more
ebook, 40 pages
Published June 1st 2016 by Segilola Publishing
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Yetunde, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Yetunde

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.20  · 
Rating details
 ·  64 ratings  ·  50 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Pooja
Aug 08, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: anyone who wants to be reminded of his mom
Recommended to Pooja by: Archit Ojha
Shelves: arc
A kid of nine months tells the story of how she loves her mother very much.

As a precise story, it not only gives you too much to be engrossed in it but also when you read it remembering your own mother, it can fill you with tears.

The dedication itself was so powerful!

When Yedunte sees her mother crying, I could exactly feel her. The strength each mother carries with her, the love and affection she has for her child, I'm surprised at the power they possess. I guess it comes naturally when one be
...more
Archit Ojha
A beautifully written story of mother-daughter relationship.

The narrator of this book is Yetunde, a small baby who describes about her Mom and the bond they share. Anyone will find her to be overloaded with cuteness.

Truly amazing. Recommended.
Carole P. Roman
Oct 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Yetunde is a precious and precocious nine month old baby who happens to be the narrator of the book. She is living in London with her mother, and as readers we drop in on an intimate moment, when in a fit of loneliness and grief, Yeturnde's mother reflects on life in Nigeria. She is sad at the loss of her own mother, Yetunde's grandmother.
Poetic and heart-wrenching Yetunde's mother recounts stories of life, some of it mystical other parts a picture into the life of a Nigerian woman. In this man
...more
Ana Meyer
Oct 09, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a very short story (only 28 pages) I love classic folk tales and stories of mothers and daughters so I was very happy with this book. I loved the blending of languages but at times even with the translations it was a struggle to understand as I needed the translation to understand the line. Still a good short story for mothers and daughters to share.
DaughterOfHades
May 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I received a free copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. Thankyou Segilola Salami for an oppurtunity to read such a heart warming book!
This book is all about mothers and I have to say, it had me on the brink of tears. For me, this book is about a mother's love towards her child and how it hadn't changed even a little in all the centuries that have passed by. This book had another little story in it about a mother who was willing to do just about anything for her daughter's safety a
...more
Sam (Rescue Dog Mom, Writer, Hugger)
I wanted to be the child in this story. I've known the loss of a grandmother and an aunt who were both wonderful mothers. I have known of friends losing their mother. A good mother teaches a child right from wrong and instills good values. A great mother also gives encouragement, comfort, emotional support, and unconditional love. Those are necessities in life not to be taken lightly. If you have a great mother, let her know it. If you are a great mother, I thank you.
Sarabh
May 03, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: giveaways
I received a free copy of this book, the title grabbed me even if I m not into motherhood stuff but I liked it. It's refreshing when the story is related by the baby explaining his relation with his mommy and how he sees the world. the book is about mother's love for her child. It's short but heart warming book. thanks to Segilola Salami
Rishit
Jun 16, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Luckily, I got a free copy of this book from Smashwords! I
wanted to read it from a long time!
A very heart warming book! A
lil book told about a lil baby, Yetunda and her mother! Its all about MOTHERS, Heavenly and Earthly!
The superb narration made my eyes moist!
Very nicely writen!
Esther (Chapter Adventures)
You can also find this review in Chapter Adventures.

This is a sweet little story with a lot of heart perfect for young and older readers alike. We have an unusual and delightful nine-month-old narrator and her mother, who teach us in a simple but beautiful way about mothers’ strength, the loss of a loved one, cultural identity, and Yoruba folktale. A perfect read for a quiet morning or afternoon.

First of all, let’s talk about the plot. It’s very straightforward, as we find ourselves thrown in t
...more
Joe Turk
May 21, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I have to admit, when I began to read “Yetunde: An Ode to My Mother”, I thought I was reading a short story about a cheetah and her cub. Yes, I judged a book by its cover. So at the first mention of a career and telephone calls with grandad, I had an amusing image in my head. This isn’t a story about cheetahs.

There isn’t a lot of setup to this brief tale. We are dropped into the middle of a moment between a mother, who may be dying, and her child. The mother recites poetry and shares what I’m a
...more
J Aislynn d'Merricksson
***This book was reviewed for the Manhattan and Seattle Book Reviews***

Yetunde: An Ode to My Mother is the second of Salami's Yetunde books. This short, beautiful read is told from the perspective of Yetunde, a mere babe, who’s own ma has passed away. Yetunde narrates for us as her ma engages in a Yoruba tradition of praise poetry, reciting one for her own mother.

Yetunde is so sweet and charming. She is a wee one, and her language reflects it. She doesn't speak in nonsensical baby talk, but doe
...more
Brian James
Nov 13, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is the first book I've ever read where the narration is from the perspective of nine month old. While most children of that age still consider their toes fascinating, Yetunde engages in advanced storytelling. It works for this book though. Who better then a baby, for whom their mother is their whole world, to narrate a story about a mom.

This book is an amazing work. Its not just about mom but its about family and heritage. Its about the home she lives in now and the place her family used to
...more
Ellie Firestone
Apr 05, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book is a beautiful little short story, told from the perspective of Yetunde, a baby who lives in London with her mother.

My favourite part about this story was the concept of language. I loved the idea that babies speak in the language of the angels, and though they can't speak English for a while, they can understand what other people say. Also, because Yetunde is being brought up as bilingual (English and Yoruba), she sometimes thinks in Yoruba instead of English (thankfully, all the Yoru
...more
Ann Girdharry
A short story, drawing on a rich, Yoruba folkloric tradition, rarely found.
Yetunde's mother is mourning the death of her own mother and she does so by telling little Yetunde an evocative, mystical bedtime story. The story that she tells has ancient roots and, through it, we understand the power of motherhood and the links between the goddess and birth mothers. We understand too, the ongoing links from mother to daughter and that this is a sacred bond. This sacred bond can withstand self-sacrifi
...more
Tara Woods Turner
I discovered this book on goodreads and since the book was not too long I decided to give it a try. I’m really glad I did because I found a sweet, little story about a mother’s love that also contained a fascinating story within a story. I’d like to see the author continue this as a series with little Yetunde giving her mother different reasons to delight us, the readers, with more beguiling Yoruba folk-tales! Truly a charming, poignant book.
Vasudha Uttam
Apr 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This book was in my 'To be read' list since long time. But, this time I got this book in exchange of an honest review.

I must say another good work by Segilola!!

I loved the story, the concept, & the fact that, how well she is trying to represent her culture.
Mother is the greatest gift to us. This is a valuable books for all young kids as well as adults.

I really liked it.

Good work!!
Aly
Apr 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What I beautiful cover of the book! I love it! This book was wonderful too. This book to me tells about a mothers love. I think this is wonderful that this author translated this book for me to enjoy. I feel blessed! * I received this book from the author in exchange for an honest review*
Silvie
Mar 20, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Yetunde: An Ode to My Mother is not only a beautiful story about importance of motherhood, women, set in between London and Africa. It’s also a touching reminder of woman’s importance, mixed with small language course of Yoruba. I liked it a lot.
Laura Smith
Children’s books help young readers to understand the world, and not just the world that they know. Stories teach them about different lifestyles, cultures, and customs from around the world. Author Segilola Salami has provided young readers with a tale written in both Yoruba and English to expose them to a different culture but also to teach a universal lesson about the love between mothers and children in her new book, Yetunde: An Ode to My Mother.

Yetunde is a young child from African descenda
...more
Bina
Aug 09, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review was originally posted on my blog ifyoucanreadthis.wordpress.com.

Yetunde by Segilola Salami is a story about caring and family, that will make you want to hug your mother (figure) and/or your daughters. Unconventionally, Yetunde is told through the eyes of a 9 month old baby, the titular Yetunde. The narrative voice is more complex than that of course, but it presents readers with an interesting new angle from which to explore mother-daughter relationships and Yoruba folktales. Yetund
...more
Gloria Piper
Here is a book that is immediately captivating for its delight. One expects this is a baby's story about her mother and in honor of her mother. It takes place in London, England, where Mama wants to make sure her baby learns not only English but Yoruba and Yoruba culture.

I love the baby understanding, even before she learns to walk. While improbable, we are charmed into suspending disbelief so we can taste the sweetness of the story. We are learning as Yotunda learns, about the greatness of moth
...more
P. Zoro
Jan 04, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Too short and too sweet. That says it all.
Yetunde: An Ode to My Mother is a narration of the natural interaction between a nine-month old baby, Yetunde, and her mother. It doesn't follow an orderly plot, but rather highlights the poignant moments- the sadness, kisses, tears, smiles, hugs and cuddles. It draws the reader into the peculiar world of a baby who understands all around her but cannot speak as yet. What makes it beautiful is the evident love between mother and child and the so many way
...more
Anna Lane
Oct 06, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: magic
Yetunde is a wonderful story, beautifully written about a 9-month-old with her mother. The grandmother has passed away, and the mother tries to comfort herself, recognizes she's selfish to mourn the death.
In her sadness, the mother tells the child a story. It is a story within a story where a girl is forced to marry a brute. A goddess hears the mother's anguish and endows her with power, like the Airbender water, to defeat the brute (the said brute had the mother tied up and beaten previously).
...more
☆Stephanie☆
**I received a copy of this book free from the author in exchange for an honest review**

This is a very short story (about 26 pages) from the point of view of a very young child listening to her mother tell her a story about a Yoruban daughter that is abducted. Though it wasn't something I would personally choose to read on my own, it was a sweet reminder of the mother-daughter connection. I have no children, but I can imagine the passion behind the story and the strength of a mother's love.
Thi
...more
Jane Blythe
Mar 27, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I had read the first book featuring Yetunde, a little Yoruba baby living in London, and while I enjoyed the book I enjoyed this one more. I thought this book was both different enough from and similar enough to the first book. I loved that the focus this time around was a bit more on the folktales and a little less on Yetunde's day to day life, but still had a few bits and pieces about her interactions with her mother and their
...more
M.J. Lau
Nov 05, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
3.5 stars

Yetunde is a meditation on the importance, love, and dedication of mothers. It is told from the perspective of Yetunde, an infant seeing her mother as the sort of goddess all young children see their mothers as. It begins with Yetunde listening to her mother and being playful together. The heart of the story is actually a story-within-a-story, the Yoruba tale of Iya Labake. It tells of a mother who lost 9 of her 10 children to death, and the remaining one is taken as an unwilling wife b
...more
Tony Parsons
Apr 28, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Yetunde (9 months, baby, narrator) tells the ode about her mother; Oriki Iya.

I did not receive any type of compensation for reading & reviewing this book. While I receive free books from publishers & authors, I am under no obligation to write a positive review, only an honest one.

A very awesome book cover, great font & writing style. A failry well written African folktale book. It wasn’t always very easy for me to read/follow from start/finish, but never a dull moment. There were n
...more
T. K. Elliott (Tiffany)
This little book (only 28 pages) is pure delight. The narrator, who is 9 months old (and obviously precociously intelligent, since she can use words like 'digress' and 'transmission') relates a traditional Yoruba tale told to her by her mother. It's about gratitude, last chances, and the inadvisability of threatening a mother's child.

It's also about Yetunde (the narrator) who is growing up in London, learning Yoruba alongside English as her mother tries to introduce her to her African traditiona
...more
Loudelah0
Jun 22, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book was so very emotional with a very strong message about how a mother will always love and protect her child and will go to the ends off earth to make sure they are safe and protected.
I really liked how this was told in the child, Yetunde's perspective and how it was a serious story yet it had a childish light element to make it a quick and a good read.
There is a lot of information given in this book, as it tells you about the heritage of the child and the history of where they came from
...more
Marie Silk
Mar 29, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
This is a very sweet book that pulled at my heartstrings more than once. The book itself is very short, using two main chapters to convey the transcendence of maternal love throughout time and culture. It is written from the point of view of a 9-month-old baby who describes the love she has for her mother while her mother tells stories from Yoruba culture in Nigeria. A fascinating look into the legend of a mother who must fight a warrior to save her only daughter. Powerfully and poetically writt ...more
« previous 1 next »
102 followers
Segilola Salami is an author, blogger, freelance writer and host of books podcast The Segilola Salami Show.

Barracudas Activity Day Camps, in collaboration with The Segilola Salami Show, is offering parents £10 offer their next booing this Easter or Summerk. Click here for more info.

Barracudas Activity Day Camps discount code

Click here to take part in Segilola Salami's latest blog giveaway.


Segilola also writes paranormal romance as Elizabet
...more