Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Your Heart Will Grow (The Absolutes, #1)” as Want to Read:
Your Heart Will Grow (The Absolutes, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Your Heart Will Grow

(The Absolutes #1)

by
3.93  ·  Rating details ·  27 ratings  ·  18 reviews
Kelpana was never supposed to love humans this much.

As a mermaid tasked with keeping peace between land and sea, her job is to be fair. Neutral. Diplomatic. Political. But her carefree spirit is bewitched by the carousing, free-swinging ways of the landfolk...yet one night of careless fun becomes a death sentence when she spurns a bratty prince. Now she's facing life in pr
...more
Kindle Edition, 264 pages
Published June 5th 2018
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Your Heart Will Grow, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Your Heart Will Grow

Stealing the Wind by Shira AnthonyBlood in the Water by Megan DerrLove Rising by Piper VaughnKraken by M. CaspianInto the Wind by Shira Anthony
Queer Merfolk
166 books — 197 voters
Ice Massacre by Tiana WarnerThe Seafarer's Kiss by Julia EmberThe Witch Sea by Sarah DiemerThe Secret of Mermaid Cove by Megan DerrOut of Her Depth by Pike Martell
Queer mermaids
32 books — 30 voters


More lists with this book...

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.93  · 
Rating details
 ·  27 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Your Heart Will Grow (The Absolutes, #1)
Chasia Lloyd
well look who wrote another book and is gonna finally get it out there? nice, nice. this book does start bending toward heavier topics and comes with more CWs than my other stuff.

Content warnings:

- Offers of sex as currency/bargaining tool
- Multiple instances of a character being drugged
- Slut-shaming
- Abusive family members
- Hair-pulling kink
- Some graphic violence

let me know if you have any questions about the presence or absence of a trigger. your safety matters <3
...more
Leah
This fantasy novel is yet another wonderful book from Chace Verity! Read the full review on my blog! ...more
Nicole Field
May 04, 2018 rated it liked it
This is the second book by Chace Verity that I've read, though this is longer by far. It involves an entire fantasy world made up of half a dozen fantasy creatures. The world building was fantastic, but the first half of the story really let it down for me.

First up, though, some content warnings. These are taken from the author directly:

- Offers of sex as currency/bargaining tool
- Multiple instances of a character being drugged
- Slut-shaming
- Abusive family members
- Hair-pulling kink
- Some gra
...more
Kate Swed
May 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Kelpana is a delightfully quirky (and charming!) mermaid with a heart more generous than she realizes. Morgan is a soldier with his heart set on a goal, and more strength than he knows. Through their adventures together, these two beautiful souls grow into themselves and learn what dangers beat at the heart of their magical land.

Supported by a fantastic cast of secondary characters (Lorris is my fave. Also Izzy though. And Aragona. And also everyone.), YOUR HEART WILL GROW is a fun, adventurous
...more
Stephanie Eding
May 29, 2018 rated it it was amazing
I am such a huge fan of the world Chace Verity has created in this series, and I'm so pumped for this first full-length feature! Morgan and Kelpana seem like such an unlikely pairing at first meet, but I found myself cheering for them more and more with each page. One of my favorite aspects of Chace's writing is how wonderfully developed every single character is. I'm in love with this whole quirky cast!
sam
Jul 08, 2018 rated it really liked it
This was amazing. I loved how everything was interwoven and set up for other character's plots. Morgan was my favorite and deserves all the love in the world. I love that everything actually worked out for Kelpana and Morgan. I can't wait for the next story in the series (ahem meaning I can't wait to hear more about Dearth).
Eli
Jun 01, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is the first book I’ve read from the author, but I glanced at their other books and Your Heart Will Grow does feature a cameo appearance from some of their other characters, like the self-proclaimed harpy king Lester, and the Absolutes were introduced in the prequel, My Heart Is Ready, which I am definitely checking out soon. However, you do not need to read the author’s other books to understand what is happening.

The romance is between a cis pansexual f mermaid / trans heteroflexible m sol
...more
Solly
This was so good <3

I read My Heart Is Ready a while ago and really liked it, and this book was really different but just as good.

It's unapologetically queer and unapologetic fantasy. There are mermaids and sirens and unicorns and dragons and centaurs and more. The worldbuilding and creatures are just wholesome and I just really love the Absolutes series/world in general. This was really different from book #0.5 because it was a lot darker, but it's still a fantasy romance at heart and the end d
...more
Maria
Jun 06, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Disclaimer: I CPed this book and am friends with the author.

I've been a fan of Morgan since the very first time I read his story. I don't know what it is, but he's been a favorite of mine ever since. I've read many, many books (both bestsellers and indies) and he's still one of my favorite characters. Chace Verity just was a way with characters, and they tend to stay with you long after you finished reading. I loved this story when I first read it long ago, and I love this final version even mor
...more
Tanya
Jun 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
She is a mermaids she has to keep everything fair but trouble happens when she spurred the Prince she is good she would serve life in prison. Her life won't be long if she is away from the ocean. Will she be saved? Who will help her? See if she will be saved

I received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Leigh Landry
Jun 05, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This story is a delightful romantic fantasy filled with magic, mystery, adventure, and a fascinating cast of lovingly crafted characters. The royal intrigue builds to an exciting climax, and I can't wait to continue reading this series. (Also ... oh how I love a cranky old lady with secrets. <3 ) ...more
Joanna
This was such a great adventure romance. I loved all of it and this author is quickly becoming a favorite of mine. I fell for Morgan and Kelpana completely and am eagerly awaiting this author’s next book. Can’t wait.
Barbara
Jun 05, 2018 rated it really liked it
This is the first book by this Author I have read and I found it to be a sweet story of values, and what can happen when you believe in yourself. received a free copy of this book via Booksprout and am voluntarily leaving a review.
Samantha
Sep 11, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites, indie
4.5/5 rounded up
Ash
May 01, 2020 marked it as abandoned
I tried, but this is just not the book I need for my brain right now.
♡
Nov 10, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: read-in-2018
3 ⭐️
Diana
Nov 19, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: fantasy, quiltbag, romance
An impressive first full-length project and a wonderful new addition to the world of the Absolutes! Fans of My Heart Is Ready and The Masked Minotaur will love this dive into the intrigue and romance of Valiance. Kelpana is a delightfully headstrong heroine, matched by Morgan's sweetness and big dreams, while Prince Aeron's development is unexpected and thoughtfully unveiled. As a mermaid enthusiast, I especially enjoyed the scenes of sea magic and communion with Kelpana's sisters and goddess. T ...more
Eduarda Mariz
rated it did not like it
Apr 17, 2019
Ingrid
rated it it was amazing
May 24, 2018
Bookish Devices
rated it really liked it
Jun 05, 2018
Melinda
rated it really liked it
May 14, 2018
Inka York
rated it really liked it
Oct 06, 2018
Emilie
rated it liked it
Apr 04, 2020
Polina
rated it really liked it
Dec 09, 2019
Charles
rated it did not like it
Feb 29, 2020
A.L.
rated it it was amazing
Feb 11, 2019
Allie
So, I cancelled my arc promise because this is too much romance, not enough anything else. It has nothing to do with the quality or content other than I don't like strict romances.
K.A. Masters
rated it it was amazing
Jun 16, 2018
Megan
rated it liked it
Jul 28, 2020
Avery Lynn
rated it did not like it
Aug 20, 2018
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Reverb (Twisted Wishes, #3)
  • Take a Hint, Dani Brown (The Brown Sisters, #2)
  • Defending Chloe (Mountain Mercenaries, #2)
  • Flaunt (The F-Word, #1)
  • Dream Maker (Dream Team, #1)
  • Forever (The F-Word, #4)
  • Defending Allye (Mountain Mercenaries, #1)
  • The Player Next Door
  • Beneath The Surface Is Love
  • Nome-o Seeks Juliet (Odds-Are-Good, #2)
  • Wicked Games (Games, #1)
  • Empire of Sand (The Books of Ambha, #1)
  • The Mermaid's Voice Returns in This One (Women Are Some Kind of Magic, #3)
  • Soft on Soft
  • A Duke by Default (Reluctant Royals, #2)
  • Forest of a Thousand Lanterns (Rise of the Empress, #1)
  • Start Here
  • Cheerleaders From Planet X
See similar books…
46 followers
Chace Verity (she/they) is publishing queer as heck stories with a strong romantic focus, although queer friendships and found families are important too. Chace prefers to write fantasy but dabbles in contemporary and historical fiction as well. An American citizen & Canadian permanent resident, Chace will probably never be able to call a gallon of milk a "four-liter." ...more

Other books in the series

The Absolutes (3 books)
  • My Heart Is Ready (The Absolutes #0.5)
  • My Heart Is Yours (The Absolutes #1.5)

News & Interviews

The young adult genre continues to lead literature in embracing new voices, championing all types of diversity, and, well, just really app...
77 likes · 37 comments