Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “UnCommon Origins: A Collection of Gods, Monsters, Nature, and Science” as Want to Read:
UnCommon Origins: A Collection of Gods, Monsters, Nature, and Science
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

UnCommon Origins: A Collection of Gods, Monsters, Nature, and Science

(Many Lives Spinoff)

by
4.31  ·  Rating details ·  59 ratings  ·  35 reviews
UnCommon Origins presents 22 depictions of moments on the precipice, beginnings both beautiful and tragic. Fantastical stories of Creation, Feral Children, Gods and Goddesses (both holy and horrific), and possibilities you never dared imagine come to life.

Including stories from some of the most talented Speculative Fiction and Magical Realism authors around, UnCommon Orig
...more
Paperback, 360 pages
Published June 15th 2015 by Fighting Monkey Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about UnCommon Origins, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about UnCommon Origins

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.31  · 
Rating details
 ·  59 ratings  ·  35 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of UnCommon Origins: A Collection of Gods, Monsters, Nature, and Science
Siobhan
UnCommon Origins is the second UnCommon Anthology. Don’t worry, though, you don’t have to read one to understand the other. Both tell tales based upon different topics. With UnCommon Origins we’re given a collection of stories about deities, monsters, nature and science. You get a bit of everything, really.

Before I go any farther, though, I’d like to say a massive thank you to P.K. Tyler for sending me an advance read in exchange for an honest review. It was much appreciated – I had fun with the
...more
Boundless Book Reviews
I was offered this book in exchange for an honest review.

Uncommon Origins is a collection of short stories, each including at least one type of supernatural aspect; events, characters, etc. As a reviewer, I find these types of books difficult to review without providing a short review for each story, especially with each story is written by a different author. But who has time for that, so I’ve decided to sum all stories up with a quick review. All of the stories are written by talented author
...more
Lynda Dickson
Jun 09, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Ages 16+
This review is for "My Darlings" by P. K. Tyler, one of 22 stories in the UnCommon Origins anthology.

Adaline will soon become a mother, but we get the impression there is something unusual about her situation. While the author hints at peculiarities in Adaline's behavior, you will never guess what she does in the name of motherhood.

This deftly crafted story will keep you wondering. Repulsive yet compelling, you won't be able to put it down until the very end.

I received this book in return for an
...more
Kel (Faerie-bookworm)
Title: Uncommon Origins
Author: Anthology
Genre: Sci-Fi/Fantasy
Format: Ebook
Pages: 361
Rating: 4
Heat: 0

Thoughts: The stories were a mixture of cloning, mythology, science experiments, and completely off the wall crazy stuff. Some make you wonder, some make you think, and others you know are too far-fetched to even consider. But each story was interesting and fun to read.

Please note that I received a complimentary copy of this work in exchange for an honest review.
Lene Blackthorn
Jun 07, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Though containing nearly two dozen short stories varying in length, theme, plot, character types, narrator, storytelling and everything else, they all have one common variable – the uncommon origin of some characters. The diversity never lets you get bored; surely you will find more and less entertaining and interesting stories, but the anthology covers variety of topics and subgenres related to sci-fi and fantasy to keep the reader interested and willing to continue reading. Writing down my per ...more
Merril Anil
Jun 06, 2016 rated it really liked it
Truly uncommon collection

First of all a huge thank to the book r3views and the author Laxmi Hariharan for sharing me the copy of the book to read and review

The book was given to me so that I could read and review Laxmi Hariharan’s Short story, Exhale which forms one of the story of this anthology, Uncommon Origins. Coincidentally or ironically , hers was one of the very few stories that I actually loved as rest of the stories were outright creepy or failed to bring out its true color in the
...more
Kay Smillie
Jun 13, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I have not managed to read all the stories in this collection, but the ones that I have read are superb so far. Really enjoyable. The standard of quality is very high and, overall, I would award 5*.

In no particular order...that's the way I like to read compilations!

Exhale - Laxmi Hariharan 5*
Totally terrifying experience for Sofia, finding out that her grandmother was not what and who she was expected to be. Frightening, but once accepted, very beautiful. Well written and gorgeously worded.

My Da
...more
Lorena
Jun 16, 2016 rated it really liked it
This anthology offers a diverse selection of stories from different genres of speculative fiction. Some of the writing styles were quite different, and while I appreciated some stories a lot more than others, overall, I enjoyed the diversity and frequent surprises.

I enjoyed the mythology incorporated in several of the stories. As someone coping with a serious illness, I could particularly relate to Nillu Nasser Stelter’s “The Tombstone Man and the Coming of the Tigress.” I found D.L. Orton’s “Th
...more
Debbie McQueen
Jun 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This review is for Exhale by Laxmi Hariharan. Exhale is a short story that seems to bridge her Ascension series, and her Many Lives series. This story follows Sofia whose world is turned upside down when her grandmother tells her that she is not entirely human. She is an ascended being. As if that's not strange enough, she is told that the fate of the world falls on her bearing a child, to integrate the human andthe ascended. Sofia has to figure out what path she will take, and if she even belie ...more
Karen
Jun 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed this anthology.The standouts for me are Aplanetary by Holly Heisey who did an amazing job at world building and creating a strong main character I felt invested in.I would love to read more about this universe she has created.The Hanging Gardens Of Brooklyn was interesting and reminded me that we all need forgiveness.Becoming Mage by Melanie Lamaga was unique and amusing.The Last Star by D.L. Orton was interesting and beautiful expressed.I have definitely found a few new authors ...more
Terry
Oct 17, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Just what was expected!

It's an anthology, so I expected some good, some great, some so-so and some outright bad short stories I wasn't surprised! But I absolutely did not like the summaries at the beginning of each story! They ruined the overall surprises of each tale. So, even though I liked 90% of this unusual collection, the summaries cost the rating one point and the other was lost due to a couple of really bad stories!
Jennifer Lynn
Jun 21, 2016 rated it really liked it
There is just something amazing and fantastical when authors attempt to write and create their own ideas of myths and fairytales. This book contains some really original stories and showcases the author's vivid imagination and ideas. With many to choose from, there is bound to be a favorite for everyone.
Betty
Jun 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
UnCommon Origins, how completely this describes this rare mix anthology. Several very short stories that can blow your mind, others that are just weird, and others seem based on some normalcy until you reach the crux. One war story caught me off guard because I'm sure I have heard of the making of the product before, I think it could be truth.

These macabre stories are certainly versatile, not alike in any form except to suspend belief. Differing in such a way as to make the reader want to carry
...more
Tanya
Jun 15, 2016 rated it liked it
This anthology really has a little bit of everything all tied together with the common thread of “origins” and is sure to have at least a story or two that will resonate with all those who enjoy sci-fi and speculative fiction. As is the case with many anthologies, not all the stories were easy for me to get into or connect with, but they were all well written and thought out nonetheless. I enjoyed the diversity of the collection, never knowing what I was going to get next. Of course, there were ...more
Tera Comer
Jun 02, 2016 rated it really liked it
I received a copy for review in exchange for an honest review
With this being a anthology let me say I struggle to rate this. For me it is around a 3-4 stars on most stories and some I have not read yet as I need to be in a mood to read to read them. Plus I am in the middle of a move so the reading has been cut to a quarter of the time I usually read. I will eventually get to the other stories.
The Hanging Gardens of Brooklyn by Rhoads Brazos - This story I really could not get into, there was no
...more
Diana in SC
Jun 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Wonderfully imaginative anthology

This is a really high quality Sci-fi and fantasy anthology, and it is a great deal! I was very pleased by the great writing and variety of moods/tones of the many stories.  I have not finished reading it yet, but the following are my reviews of some of the stories.

1.) "The Hanging Gardens of Brooklyn" by Rhoads Brazos: This was a fantasy story that would be rated PG, I think.  A spunky, good-hearted girl lives in the inner city.  The details of her unpleasant lif
...more
Joe Bonadonna
Jun 08, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I was unfamiliar with UNCOMMON ORIGINS until I was given a copy of this brand-new edition, A COLLECTION OF GODS, MONSTERS, NATURE & SCIENCE in exchange for a fair and honest review. I was pleasantly surprised by the diversity of stories, styles, themes, and characters. I especially liked "My Darlings" by PK Tyler, "Glass Heart" by Sacha Hope, and "Cultural Gleanings" by Deanne Charlton. But the story that really appealed to my morbid sense of humor was "The Apple" by Shebat Legion. This is a qui ...more
Karen
Jun 15, 2016 rated it really liked it
This anthology comprises 22 different stories, taking you on 22 very different trips; some will chill you, some will make you sad, others will make you wonder. There is one thing that they all have in common: They are unforgettable. I cannot tell you more about this anthology as it would spoil the fun of reading it yourself.

With UnCommon Origins, the reader is presented a broad variety of stories. Each story takes you to its own world; I preferred a little break after completing a story, allowin
...more
Azzurra Nox
Jun 19, 2016 rated it really liked it
An intriguing collection of 22 short stories that explore the meaning of life and the philosophical beginning of time question: Where do we come from and why are we here? The stories in this collection vary from sci-fi, to Victorian Gothic, and horror, so there's a little for everyone.

I previously read the first volume Uncommon Bodies, and truly enjoyed it, so I was looking forward to reading this second installation of the series.

Glass Heart – Sacha Hope, Cultural Gleanings – Deanne Charlton,
...more
Privy Trifles
Jun 02, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: review
This review is for Exhale by Laxmi Hariharan which is a part of this anthology.

Having read and devoured her Many Lives series reading and enjoying this story was very obvious to me. I like the way she creates characters which are so close to live and yet manages to enthrall readers till the last page with her paced narration.

I am in awe of her story telling skills. Written to act like a bridge between her Many Lives series and Ascension series the pivotal character Sophia in this story is as con
...more
Gina Smith
Jun 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Nikki
Jun 16, 2016 rated it really liked it
This review is for Fringling by J.D. Harpley

J.D. Harpley has once again stunned me on her ability to write so many emotions into a few number of pages while still allowing the reader to recover before getting hit with another shocking twist. I was a little concerned with how quickly things got started and wondered how many questions I would be left with, but was pleasantly surprised to find all my questions answered by the end of this short story. The main character Baylin, is well written and
...more
PJ Lea
Jun 03, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A genre crossing collection of short stories linked by the uncommon origins of the characters. Obviously it is unlikely that anyone would love every single story but I did enjoy reading each one, in fact it was quite difficult to choose a favourite so here are my top two:
The Hanging Gardens of Brooklyn by Rhoads Brazos, because of the utterly fascinating mix of modern day and myth & legend.
The Least Child by Daniel Arthur Smith because it was very sweet with a real shock right at the end.
With t
...more
Caffeine & Legends book reviews
I’m gonna be honest here – I haven’t read ALL of the anthologies.

But I did read one that I found particularly striking. The kind that makes you sit back and contemplate the meaning of light because of a most unexpected, sci-fi scenario. I’m talking about Fringling by J.D. Harpley. It’s a short story, so I refuse to spoil anything for you. Despite the length, it’s certainly a wild, tragic ride composed of love, remorse, and sorrow. Yet somehow, I left the story feeling better than ok, despite my
...more
Helen Heathfield
Jun 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I thoroughly enjoyed this anthology, filled with re-imaginings of archetypes fit for our times of diverse identity. Playing with humans as other animals, immortals, shape-shifters, transcenders of gender, race, language and time... all so much fun with a goodly dose of horripilation at times. I was given a free copy in exchange for an honest review and I'm so glad because some of these are the best I've read in ages. Highlights for me were Hanging Gardens of Brooklyn, Aplanetary, The Tombstone M ...more
Susan Landowski
Jun 16, 2016 added it
Recommends it for: ANTHOLOGIES, VARIETY SCI FY FANTASY
This is an anthology which means several short stories about all different myths as well as scientific type stories. If you like one kind of genre and have a hard time switching from one story arc to another this series is not for you. Most of the stories are average about a 3.5 to 4 but there are a couple outstanding stories as well. I would recommend you pick and choose stories and maybe go back to others later. I will not recommend favorites as it is extremely subjective and depends totally o ...more
Klarissa Kocsis
Jun 02, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Brilliantly diverse. Uncommon Origins is the second volume in the Uncommon series and lives up to its name in spades. There is nothing common about this collection of brilliantly diverse stories that tell of possible futures and alternative beginnings. This is a collection of thought provoking tales that will leave the reader with chills long after the book has been read. One such story by Shebat Legion, titled 'The Apple', is one of the most poignant yet terrifying story I have read.
Courtney
Jun 15, 2016 rated it really liked it
My Darlings- PK Tyler
Can you say creepy! Seriously, the creep factor was high on this one. I enjoyed it, I really did, but I think I'm going to have nightmares about this story! The writing was superb and for such a short story the character development of the MC was astounding! I'm so glad that I got to read this because it was exceptional!


Reviews of the other stories coming soon!

*I received this book for free in return for an honest review.*
Philip
May 31, 2016 rated it it was amazing
An excellent, varied collection of short stories. P.K. Tyler has brought together a diverse group of authors and the result is a diverse collection - from the Frankenstein-esque Glass Heart from Sacha Hope to Zig Zag Claybourne's somewhat surreal Consciousness and everything inbetween. Well worth picking up.
Bryan Jarvis
Jun 13, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I got a advance copy of Shebat Legion's story "Apple" and it is by far the darkest story I have read she paints a bleak and near hopeless picture of a post-apocalyptic world where food is scarce on a good day, cannibalism is common, and mutations have started and not in the fun X-men way. I overall think this is a great story and is definitely worth a read.
« previous 1 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Goodreads Librari...: Please Add My GR Author Profile to Anthology 3 16 Jun 02, 2016 04:30PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • At the Helm, Volume 1
  • The Reapers are the Angels (Reapers, #1)
  • Daunting Deviations
  • Synchronic: 13 Tales of Time Travel
  • UnCommonly Good
  • After the Roads: Sidney’s Way, Volume 1 (Five Roads to Texas, #2)
  • The Year's Top Robot and AI Stories
  • The Long List Anthology Volume 3: More Stories From the Hugo Award Nomination List (The Long List Anthology Series)
  • The Long List Anthology: More Stories from the Hugo Awards Nomination List
  • The Year's Top Ten Tales of Science Fiction 2
  • Indexing (Indexing, #1)
  • Shorting the Undead and Other Horrors: A Menagerie of Macabre Minifiction
  • Reflections (Indexing, #2)
  • Resist: Tales from a Future Worth Fighting Against
  • Bite-Sized Offerings: Tales & Legends of the Zombie Apocalypse
  • The Book of the Unnamed Midwife (The Road to Nowhere, #1)
  • The Book of Etta (The Road to Nowhere #2)
  • The Book of Flora (The Road to Nowhere, #3)
See similar books…
153 followers
PK Tyler is the author of Speculative Fiction and other Genre Bending novels. She is an artist, wife, mother and number cruncher. She graduated Smith College in 1999 with a degree in Theatre.

After graduation, she moved to New York, where she worked as a Dramaturge, Assistant Director and Production Manager on productions both on and off Broadway.

Later, Pavarti went to work in the finance industr
...more

Other books in the series

Many Lives Spinoff (3 books)
  • Feral (Many Lives, #1)
  • UnTamed
  • Exhale

News & Interviews

There are many ways to take action against racism. Reading in order to learn more about oppression and how to oppose it is just one of those ways...
411 likes · 254 comments