Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Bad Penny (Smart Sexy Nerds, #1)” as Want to Read:
Bad Penny (Smart Sexy Nerds, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Bad Penny (San Francisco Nights #1)

by
4.21  ·  Rating details ·  24 Ratings  ·  8 Reviews
Penny is happy, settled…and in a rut. A dominatrix in San Francisco for the last ten years, she has a great roommate, a fascinating job, a big comic book collection, and not too much else. But she’s happy enough, and change is so hard… Too bad that, whether she likes it or not, change is coming.

Her asexual best friend and landlord wants kids…with her, preferably. Her favo
...more
ebook, 1st edition, 271 pages
Published June 7th 2016 by Jocelyn Adler
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Bad Penny, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Bad Penny

Community Reviews

(showing 1-50)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Lia   Covington
Jun 09, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I received from the author in exchange for an honest review of her work.

Bad Penny is about Penny a settled dominatrix in the heart of San Francisco, working in the kinky community. Penny is happy, and why shouldn’t she be? She has an interesting job, a great landlord who just so happens to be her roommate and best friend, honestly life is prefect. Just when Penny believed her life is perfectly stable, everything has to change! Her best friend/landlord wants kids, G-R-E-A-T. Then her boss wants h
...more
Rebecca
Aug 10, 2016 rated it liked it
I enjoyed this book for the most part, but ultimately felt let down with the potential that it had. The main character, Penny, is great. She's fun, she's unabashedly geeky, and she has great relationships that we get to experience from her point of view. I do wish that we could have learned more about some of the other characters we meet, especially those that take center stage with Penny, as what was left out of this novel made it less enjoyable for me, especially at one point described below.

M
...more
Kris
Sep 19, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: 2016, wrrt
I received a copy of this book to read and review for Wicked Reads

I like Penny for the most part. I found her likeable enough as a main character but never did love her character. She does have some humorous thoughts and she's sweet & geeky but I wasn't finding her super dominating. She sees a therapist, there's hints at some troubled past but never really gets delved into in this book. Her job as a dominatrix could have been more interesting, I think, it seemed to get too technical and a li
...more
Nicole Chu
Dec 30, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Love love loved this book.
I am so over quick romance novels that skip the substance or give you the same old villains and drama.
Penny is a strong amazing female character trying to find out who she is outside of her job.
She wants to figure out if all she can be is her job and will she ever get the “normal” happily ever after.
Penny being a dominatrix is a fascinating career and I loved that we got to experience her clients with her.
I also love the side characters as well.
The happy ending isn’t th
...more
Karla Schneider
May 09, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is my favorite type of read. A heartwarming plot with some bdsm on the side, well in this case it was like extra vanilla pretending to be bdsm. But this book was very metaphoric, almost poetic. Excessive detail in every action and feeling. Not better than the crass and heart thumping kink I'm used to reading per say, more mature rather, and leaving me satisfied at the end. It was a wonderful book. I'm sure everybody can relate; when you're thrusting hard and sweating profusely but can't cli ...more
Sarah
Mar 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Hot, smart, and nerdy. Penny reminds me of my college friends, like headon. A fun shortish read that is eager to teach the basics of the scene by offering an approachable character. Would recommend as novel and erotica.
dommebooks
I stayed up late to finish this book. It's great. Penny has a lot going on in her life - don't we all - but this was intense and emotional. Worth a read.
Stone Bell
Nov 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I received a copy of this book from the author.

I enjoyed it immensely! I love Penny, and the storyline was very agreeable to me. Penny was very realistically geeky, in the way where being a fan is a noticeable part of her life and the way she thinks. Her friends, coworkers, clients, and romantic partner all seemed like real people with real personalities.

It was a bit more of a story about Penny than I expected. I went in thinking it would be more about her relationship with a single romantic le
...more
Margaret Smith
rated it liked it
Oct 22, 2017
sfc
rated it really liked it
Jan 02, 2018
Ceri
rated it really liked it
Dec 30, 2017
Francis K
rated it it was amazing
Aug 14, 2016
Karen
rated it really liked it
Mar 05, 2017
Susannah Aston
rated it it was ok
Jan 17, 2017
Anna
rated it it was amazing
Jan 19, 2018
Pamg
rated it really liked it
Jul 21, 2016
Ronald
rated it it was amazing
Mar 27, 2018
J.R. Griffith
rated it really liked it
Jul 07, 2018
RatCreature
rated it liked it
May 23, 2018
ellenbutnotdegeneres
rated it really liked it
Jul 11, 2016
Jess
rated it it was amazing
Sep 17, 2017
Cheshire
rated it really liked it
Jul 27, 2018
Sandy
rated it really liked it
Oct 06, 2017
Beth Mitchell parker
rated it it was amazing
Oct 08, 2017
Raven
marked it as to-read
Jun 24, 2016
ann
marked it as to-read
Jun 28, 2016
Tiffany Renee Whitfield
marked it as to-read
Mar 06, 2017
Aunt
marked it as to-read
Mar 28, 2017
Sonja
added it
Apr 11, 2017
Jenny Dauksa Schaber
marked it as to-read
Apr 20, 2017
Alanna
marked it as to-read
Jun 14, 2017
MsKingsPens
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2017
Catherine Ojalvo
marked it as to-read
Nov 14, 2017
Carrie K-Ski
marked it as to-read
Nov 14, 2017
Elizabeth
marked it as to-read
Nov 18, 2017
Debbie Orazi
marked it as to-read
Nov 20, 2017
Xan West
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2017
Shannon
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2017
MH
marked it as to-read
Dec 25, 2017
Gloriana
marked it as to-read
Feb 01, 2018
Tamara
marked it as to-read
Feb 02, 2018
Nada
marked it as to-read
Feb 06, 2018
Brittany
is currently reading it
Feb 24, 2018
Cindy
marked it as to-read
Mar 10, 2018
16 followers
Jocelyn Adler is a mild-mannered librarian by day, and a mild-mannered author by night. She enjoys spicy books and spicy foods, and writing spicy fiction for the betterment of the world.

Jocelyn just released the second novel in the Nerds series ("Bad Decisions," coming out Oct. 2017), which stars Tabitha, Jason, and a new character named Nathan.

The first chapter of Bad Decisions is available for f
...more
More about Jocelyn Adler