Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Bear Likes Jam” as Want to Read:
Bear Likes Jam
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Bear Likes Jam

3.53  ·  Rating details ·  162 ratings  ·  36 reviews
On the heels of Bear Is Not Tired comes a delicious new story of a big bear with an even bigger sweet tooth--perfect for fans of Karma Wilson's Bear Wants More.

When Bear discovers jam for the time, he can't think of anything else. Mama Duck tells him that growing bears need to eat their vegetables first . . . but Bear can't stand the strange green things on his plate. He o
...more
Hardcover, 32 pages
Published February 14th 2017 by Alfred A. Knopf Books for Young Readers (first published 2017)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Bear Likes Jam, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Bear Likes Jam

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.53  · 
Rating details
 ·  162 ratings  ·  36 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Tasha
Feb 10, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
This is the third book in the sweet series about a bear that lives with a flock of ducks. Bear discovers his love of jam and forgot to share it with the ducklings. He ate it late at night and during the day. Mama Duck worried that Bear wasn’t eating a balanced diet, even though Bear proved that he could balance very well. So she started trying to feed Bear vegetables at dinner with no jam. Bear refused to even taste them and went to bed hungry. Breakfast was oatmeal with no jam in sight. Dinner ...more
Jana
This is an adorable picture book from the author of Bear Is Not Tired. Bear learns that jam tastes wonderful, and it becomes one of his favorite things. He eats jam all of the time to the exclusion of everything else. Mama Duck firmly tells him that he'll get no more jam until he balances his diet with vegetables. Picky eaters will definitely appreciate Bear's problem, and caregivers might learn some fun ways to get kids to eat their vegetables. Warm, friendly illustrations rendered in watercolo ...more
Dana
Feb 17, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Very cute book about eating your vegetables!
Donalyn
Feb 04, 2017 rated it liked it
Fun illustrations, but heavy-handed with its message.
Karin
Jun 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Adorable!!!
Baby Bookworm
Jun 19, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: our-reviews
https://thebabybookwormblog.wordpress.com/2017/06/19/bear-likes-jam-by-ciara-gavin/

This review was originally written for The Baby Bookworm. Visit us for new picture books reviews daily!

Hello, friends! Today’s book is Bear Likes Jam by Ciara Gavin, an adorable tale about the importance of a balanced diet.

Gavin’s lovely blended family of ducks and their beloved bear returns, with a new challenge to overcome. When Bear tries jam for the first time, he is hooked. Sometimes, he gets so excited that he forgets to share. Sometimes, he eats more than his fill, or even eats jam when h
...more
Linda
I am excited that Ciara Gavin has a new story about Bear and the ducks, “Bear Likes Jam.” This time, bear struggles to have balance in his diet. According to the rules of Mama Duck, vegetables come “before” jam. You’ll love seeing how a cute trick made it happen, and Bear got to eat a jar or two of jam again. Endearing scenes created by Ciara return just as they did in her two previous books, “Room for Bear” and “Bear Is Not Tired”. I do love these books!
Anthony
Mar 20, 2018 rated it liked it
Bear eats some jam, and discovers he likes it. He likes it so much that he refuses to eat anything else. His mother wants him to have a balanced diet, and forbids him to eat any more jam until he eats his vegetables. What's a bear to do? Simple and fun ways are implemented to make him eat his vegetables.
Jennifer
Mar 06, 2019 rated it really liked it
Without being patronizing or boring, Gavin teaches kids that eating healthy is important and achievable! Watercolor illustrations not only hold the reader's attention, but add in humor. This book would be perfect for a food or bear themed story time.
Miss Sarah
Bear doesn't want to eat vegetables only jam but Mama duck says no more jam until he eats vegetables. can his duck siblings help? Toddler and up. Loved this what a cute way to make eating vegetables fun.
Lynn
Jun 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
Another warm charming story about bear and his duck family. Here, Bear learns how to eat a balanced diet when the clarion call of jam is overwhelming.
Tracie
Feb 15, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Bear loves jam so much he doesn't want to eat anything else. Mama bear says no more jam until he eats a balanced diet including vegetables. Will bear survive?
Danette
Jun 19, 2018 rated it liked it
Shelves: picture-books
This is a great book for picky eaters.

6/19/18 Read with Naomi, Julia, & Simon
Monica Williams
Jun 06, 2017 rated it liked it
One big picky eater learns that playing with your food makes even vegetables fun.
Juliana Lee
Mama Duck insisted that Bear needed a balanced diet. He was not allowed to have any more jam until he ate his vegetables. The little ducks taught him some fun ways to eat his veggies so he could have some jam for dessert.
Jessica
Apr 22, 2018 rated it liked it
Not as cute as the other two Bear books.
Caroline
Mar 22, 2017 rated it liked it
Bear likes to eat jam so much that he doesn't really eat a balanced diet. When the ducks try to get Bear to eat other foods they aren't successful; it isn't until they make a game out of eating vegetables that Bear widens his food preferences.

A simple story with some funny illustrations.
Kim
Aug 30, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Watercolor images. Sweet story. Sharing is caring.
Brindi Michele
huge fan of these books....theme about picky eaters
Olivia Slykhuis
Aug 17, 2018 rated it liked it
Cute, love the concept and the illustrations as always. Not as good as the other Bear books by Gavin.
Ranea
Mar 13, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
These Bear books by Ciara Gavin warm my heart. :)
Casandria
Mar 09, 2017 rated it really liked it
Veggies first, then jam!
Beth
Oct 07, 2016 rated it liked it
ARC supplied by publisher via Edelweiss
Megan Marvel
With adorable illustrations, this picture book share the story of bear who discovers a love of jam. Bear wants to eat jam and nothing else. On top of that, bear won't share the jam with the ducks! Great book about balanced diets, sharing, and kindness.
Read  Ribbet
Mar 03, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: picture-books
The third Bear story by Gavin focuses on the poor eating habits of a bear that likes jam a little too much and vegetables not at all. Though a few tricks by his friends the ducks, the bear comes to appreciate a more balanced diet. A good book to share with a fussy eater at home or to address good nutrition at school.
Brooke
Mar 01, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: picture-books
Bear loves jam but his duck friends teach him to eat a balanced diet of veggies and jam!
Barbara
I love picture books whose stories start before the copyright page, and this one does so. There's an image of Bear getting a taste of jam while he and his duck family are shopping for groceries, and the story moves from that starting point. Bear realizes that he's really been missing out on something and eats jam at every opportunity he can find, even refusing to share it with the other members of his family. But Mama Duck insists that he needs to eat vegetables as well as jam, which causes prob ...more
Nanci Booher
Bear loves jam...Bear loves jam so much that Bear often forgets to share. Mama Ducks worries that Bear doesn't eat his vegetables so she tells him no more jam until he eats his veggies. At first this doesn't go so well...that is until there is a game! Great illustrations and great text. This will make a great storytime book!
Thank you to Edelweiss and Knopf Books For Young Readers for early access to this title!!!
Rachel
Jul 26, 2016 rated it liked it
Bear has to learn to refine his eating habits, a very nice story with a simple message.
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »