Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Where Wolves Run” as Want to Read:
Where Wolves Run
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Where Wolves Run

by
4.05  ·  Rating details ·  63 ratings  ·  32 reviews
THE BEASTS WILL FEED.

The dense Bavarian forest outside the town of Rattenberg has long been rumored to harbor something sinister, something wild — mythical beasts that vanish into the shadowy woods after each attack, leaving carnage as the only evidence of their existence. Many villagers turn a blind eye to what is happening, but those who believe tremble at the mere whisp
...more
Kindle Edition, 86 pages
Published May 31st 2016 by Corpus Press
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Where Wolves Run, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Where Wolves Run

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.05  · 
Rating details
 ·  63 ratings  ·  32 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Frank Errington
Jun 02, 2016 rated it really liked it
Review copy

A werewolf novella where the hunter is also the hunted.

No new ground is broken in Jason Parent's entry into this sub-genre, but he does deliver a solid tale with a twist in the final pages, and there are some cringe-worthy moments. "Most of Joren's fingernails, pried loose by Father's dagger, now resided in the bucket. A few were still attached to fingers. A couple of toes, several teeth, and most of an ear completed the collection."

If werewolves are your thing and you're looking for
...more
Kimberly
May 20, 2016 rated it really liked it
In WHERE WOLVES RUN: A Novella of Terror, Jason Parent takes on the legend of the werewolf–endowing it with his own, unique perspective. While I have read numerous tales of this fabled man-beast, Parent approaches the topic from a different angle than the usual traditional tales. Instead of showing us the plight of a man turned at the full moon, we take this journey, first, through the eyes of a boy who never gave a thought to these “imaginary” predators–until one fateful night. . .

Near the town
...more
Petra
May 31, 2017 rated it it was amazing
My original Where Wolves Run audiobook review and many others can be found at Audiobook Reviewer.
Where Wolves Run was like listening to a fairytale classic. Set in Rattenberg in the Bavarian forests, we are introduced to Konrad, a young boy, living a simple life, spending his time at home with his loving mother. His father, once again, has left them taking care of “business” elsewhere. Konrad hardly knows his father and their relationship is strained. Then one night, the boy and his mother hear
...more
Ken McKinley
Jul 16, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: horror
Jason Parent is kicking out some very impressive material here lately and Where Wolves Run is absolutely phenomenal. Set in the old country, young Konrad watches from the hiding place under the Bavarian cottage floor as his mother is torn apart by unknown hairy beasts. Trapped and unable to see exactly what happened, his father rescues and enlightens him about the events that unfolded. Werewolves. Unknown to Konrad, his father has been hunting them for years and it's time to train his son to hel ...more
Bill
Jul 19, 2017 rated it really liked it
For the life of me, I can't remember when or where I entered the contest for the audio version of this, but super glad I did because…I am a Winner! Sweeet! Thanks, Jason!

With the audio clocking in at just under two hours, Mr. Parent wastes no time getting right to it. A very good short and dark tale with spot on narration that adds to the “old school” feel. Well done and entertaining.
David Brian
May 30, 2016 rated it really liked it
If you talk to Jason Parent he'll probably tell you he's not a huge fan of stories involving werewolves. Strange then, because the author has succeeded in putting together a finely crafted example of werewolf terror, told in the tradition of a European folktale.
Konrad lives with his mother in a small and basic home, amid the confines of a large European forest. Konrad's father is only ever an occasional visitor, usually traveling to far off locales in search of completing his 'business' dealings
...more
Elke
Jun 04, 2016 rated it really liked it
This fast-paced novella concentrates on two characters: a boy and his father, who reveals himself as a werewolf hunter. While the father is away from home, the boy must find out himself whether the legends and stories about those evil creatures are true...

Offering a slightly different take on the genre, this book did not waste time with a detailed background story or long-winded explanations of the creatures' origin. After the reader is introduced to the characters and the current situation, the
...more
Barbara Lee Wood
Jul 19, 2016 rated it it was amazing
LEFT ALONE

This novella reeks of REVENGE for the death of a son's mother and the lonely life he and his mother led. The father was always away on some unknown distant trip. One night the mother tells the son hide in a hidden opening in the kitchen, stay there no matter what you hear or possibly see. That night there was howling, a full moon, need I say more, he heard the smashing of their door and then BOOM, the door gives all he heard are growls,howls and the ripping and tearing of flesh. His mo
...more
Peter
May 24, 2016 rated it really liked it
Konrad and his mother live on the outskirts of Rattenburg. They are too poor to live in the village. Konrad hunts game, so that there will be meat on their table. Konrad, is considered the man of the house, because his father is hardly ever around. His father leaves the two of them alone for months at a time. When he returns, it is only for a day or two and then he is off again. Konrad, hardly knows his father and after being gone for long periods of time, he does not care. One night, Konrad's m ...more
Kaisersoze
May 31, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: horror
Where Wolves Ruin is a more straight forward read from Jason Parent - an author I have come to associate with an amazing imagination - than might normaly be the case, but is nevertheless a well-written depiction of one family's battle against werewolves.

Parent alternates between the father and son's perspectives as they attempt to deal with this particularly hairy menace. And though said menace's deadly nature is set-up in the novella's opening chapters, I never felt a thrill of excitement when
...more
Glenn Rolfe
May 24, 2016 rated it liked it
3.5 stars! Good deal for 99 cents.

This is the third piece I've read from Jason Parent. He's definitely got skills and isn't afraid to push himself as a writer. Much like the his last novella, Unseemly, this one has Parent easily crafting believable characters outside of the US. That's not an easy feat. Parent's use of language is admirable.

As for the story itself, I felt pulled in right off the bat. Konrad is a kid who witnesses his mother's death at the hands of beasts. His father's return is
...more
Lily Vagabond
Jun 11, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Around chapter 3, it suddenly dawned on me, in a sledgehammer hitting the bck of my skull kind of way, this is contemporary gothic horror. Where Wolves Run is the kind story the Brothers Grimm, if they were alive today, would have killed to have in their collection. Make no mistake, it's not a fairy tale, but true horror fans will recognize a lot of elements. Readers new to this kind of horror will be in for a treat.

Jason Parent has come a long way as a storyteller. He's allowed me to remember
...more
Irene
May 18, 2017 rated it liked it
Konrad has never had much of a relationship with his father. He's always off somewhere, rarely returning home. "Mostly he and his mother lived alone, happy."
When Konrad's mother is murdered he finally learns what Father is up to. Werewolf hunting! But does Father always know best? Konrad is not sure whether he should trust Father's ability to discern werewolves from men, or who should be put to death.
This was a short read, less than 100 pages. There was nothing really remarkable about it other
...more
Nev Murray
Jun 03, 2016 rated it it was amazing
"Emotion is the most descriptive word I can think of for this one. It is very deep, but not while you read it. It’s the sort of story that will have you thinking about it long after you finish it. It certainly did with me."

See here for the full review:

Where Wolves Run

Michelle
Jun 06, 2016 rated it really liked it
Great read

Ahh, werewolves, gotta love them. A fast read, not only because it's a short story, but because it keeps you interested until the last page.
Veronica
May 30, 2017 rated it really liked it
Konrad and his mother live in a thick and forbidding forest outside of the town of Rattenberg where they are forced to fend for themselves while Konrad's father is often away on mysterious business. While his father is away on yet another trip, Konrad and his mother are attacked in their home and Konrad is brought face to face with what his father actually does for a living.
I hate spoilers so I won't say too much here about the events in the story itself. I will say that I was drawn into the st
...more
Tori
May 13, 2017 rated it liked it
Shelves: arc-reviews
****I received a copy of this novella from NetGalley and Red Adept publishing in exchange for an honest review!****

Okay, so my number one favorite genre is horror and my number one favorite monster is the werewolf, so of course I was psyched to be getting a copy of this to read. I also used to be waaaay into the creepypasta world, so the novella format didn't bother me much.

I enjoyed that Parent didn't take too many liberties with trying to change the popular lore of the werewolf and actually m
...more
Scot
May 19, 2017 rated it really liked it
Review

In the mood for a fun, quick read? Then look no further. Where Wolves Run is a well written short novella that tears at you from the first page then comes back for the kill in the last few paragraphs. I really enjoyed the author's take on the genre. A nice mix of period piece and werewolf fiction, this one hits in all of the right places and leaves plenty of room for continuation (or even some back story). The action sequences are a blast too, leaving a little blood on the pages, but... it
...more
June
Jun 08, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Where Wolves Run by Jason Parent is very much an old style werewolf tale. There are no friendly teen wolves in this book, and neither are there any 'alphas' looking to help sexy maidens disrobe. Mr. Parent's werewolves are bad-ass, and that really is the way it should be.
Konrad lives with his mother in a cottage in the forest. He has a father, but the man is usually absent on business. One night there home is visited by a pack of werewolves, and Konrad soon learns the true nature of evil, and wh
...more
Debbi Smith
Jun 03, 2017 rated it really liked it
The scary werewolf is back! A really good read that just might scare your pants off. If your tired of werewolves of the fluffy variety you have to read this book.
I received a copy of this book from netgalley and chose to review it.
Melanie
Jul 28, 2018 rated it liked it
Beautifully written and narrated, this feels like an old classic from the turn of the century. The descriptions of the werewolves was spot-on as was the family-living-in-the-woods-feel, unfortunately, I could see the twist coming from very early on. No real surprises here but I'm hoping it's a great intro to Parent's work as I thoroughly enjoyed his writing style and I'll be going back for more.
RachelvlehcaR

I love stories by Jason Parent. I get a big kick out of them because he adds a lot of atmosphere to his stories. This is a grittier story but the storytelling of Konrad and his father is really interesting. It's a short read, so it goes by fast.

Another part I liked was the angle in this story and it wasn't like the many other were-creature stories out there with this crazy romance or the main character has the were "force" and just knows everything without ever having knowledge of it before. The
...more
Curtis
Apr 27, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: horror, fantasy
A wonderfully dark, old world werewolf story. Violent, grim, and downright scary it reminded me of the best parts of the Howling films, but set in a dark, medieval time.
I listened to the audio book, and the narration was nearly perfect!
Simon
May 11, 2017 rated it really liked it
A super-short horror that mixes the atmosphere of German fairy tales with bucketloads of gore and some damn impressive writing.

The short novella tells the story of Konrad, a boy somewhere in Bavarian mountains (or their counterpart), whose mother is killed one night by a pack of werewolves as his father is out hunting these very beasts. The youngling develops a thirst for revenge and, trained by his father, sets out to avenge the fallen parent.

Jason Parent paints a remarkably unforgiving world,
...more
Elisa
May 14, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A charming (if horror-filled) throwback to the classic, un-disneyfied fairy tale classics. A short story so suspenseful that I had to keep reading. Two well-drawn characters in an impossible quandary, Where Wolves Run had me glued to my Kindle. Konrad is a young man who discovers, in a horrible way, that werewolves are real and that his father has devoted his life to hunting them. But what if his father is lying or crazy, is he going to turn Konrad into a cold-blooded killer? A chase through the ...more
Sarah
Jan 30, 2018 rated it really liked it
Werewolves, Bavaria, gruesome violence and a twist ending comes together well for this very, very quick read, perfect to jump into when you have a spare few minutes or need a quick break from other books you may be reading.

*Huge thanks to Jason Parent, Corpus Press and NetGalley for this copy which I chose to read and all opinions are my own*

Josef Hernandez
Sep 30, 2017 rated it liked it
A good werewolf novella

For a full review, please go to https://areviewerdarkly.blogspot.com/ and follow me on Twitter @josenher
BookLoversLife
Dec 15, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audio-book
Konrad and his mother live in a hovel in the Bavarian forest. Konrads' dad left them and Konrad hasn't seen him in years. One night both his mother and himself hear what can only be wolves all around their little shack. These are no ordinary wolves and by chance, Konrad survives when the wolves attack. His mother is killed though. Konrad has to put his survival down to his father who shows up just in time. His father weaves a tale so fantastical that Konrad has a hard time believing him, but see ...more
Martha
Nov 05, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Konrad has been raised by his loving mother since they were abandoned by his father. For a number of years he longed to have his father return and develop a relationship. However, as time goes by with no appearance by his father he closes his heart to him. One-night howling and a ruckus is heard outside their door. Konrad’s mother rushes him to the root cellar under the floor telling him to stay there no matter what happens. This night brings his father back, now not so welcome, and changes Konr ...more
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
540 followers
In his head, Jason Parent lives in many places, but in the real world, he calls New England his home. The region offers an abundance of settings for his writing and many wonderful places in which to write them. He currently resides in Southeastern Massachusetts with his cuddly corgi named Calypso.

In a prior life, Jason spent most of his time in front of a judge . . . as a civil litigator. When he
...more