Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Sun & Moon (A Guitar Girl Romance, #1)” as Want to Read:
Blank 133x176
Sun & Moon
 
by
Lee Strauss
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Sun & Moon

(Minstrel #1)

by
3.48  ·  Rating details ·  663 ratings  ·  90 reviews
Katja Stoltz is a risk-taking singer-songwriter, hoping to make it in the indie music scene in Dresden, Germany. Micah Sturm's a brooding uptown banker on a quest.

Driven to the streets, Katja is picked up by Micah - but he doesn't want what she thinks he does.

There's an undeniable attraction between them, a gravitational pull they both struggle to resist. Katja can't hel
...more
ebook, 306 pages
Published May 12th 2016 (first published January 1st 2014)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Sun & Moon, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Sun & Moon

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.48  · 
Rating details
 ·  663 ratings  ·  90 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Deniz
Dec 26, 2013 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: meh
2,5 Stars
A sweet story about love, overcoming the past and finding your place in life.

Principally I liked the idea behind this, but my main issue with it: the writing style.  To be frank I don't like it, it's too simplistic in a way. Then I had issues with the whole germane phrases and words in the middle of it and while at other times Strauss decided to use english phrases that not used in german, so made no sense. I never like the use of foreign language phrases packed into a novel. Either we
...more
Katrina Passick Lumsden
Now I know that Lee Strauss is apparently a proponent of abstinence until marriage. And sadly, without any good sex scenes to carry this story, it turned out to be rather boring and unrealistic. The actual writing itself isn't terrible, but some aspects simply don't make sense. Like the fact that several of the peripheral characters could have gone to prison for failing to report a missing person found....

I had hope for this, though, and I think that's what irritates me more than anything. I can
...more
Melanie
Jan 23, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Katja is a singer/songwriter and she starts out down on her luck. She needs rent money by tomorrow and one of her roommates told her if she didn't want to be out on the streets, she better put her shapely legs and the rest of her youthful body to work. We learn what's happened to her in the past three days to bring her to the point she's at now and some of her background with her family to show why she moved. While she's flashing her legs, she keeps reminding herself why she needs to do this, ev ...more
Mandy (I Read Indie) Anderson
As with all of Strauss' books I really enjoyed this one. I enjoyed the characters and the story they told. You could almost say this was a modern day, foreign version of PRETTY WOMAN. Even the main character of the story compared herself to Julia Roberts at one point. And I just loved this girl. She has been through so much and still manages to find a way to make her dreams come true. Even if it is not the success seen in the eyes of others...it is a success to her. She is living her dream.

One
...more
Lauren
Feb 21, 2015 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I have never read any books from this author before so when I saw this was a free eBook I thought I would give it a chance. To be honest I wished I had not.

I do not know if it was the author’s intention to make Katja annoying and very irritating but that is how it came across. With many actions Katja did just made me think why would you do that?. For example, why would you sleep in a stranger’s house with lack of clothing and two why would you return back that strangers house the next day when y
...more
Dawn Parker
Dec 29, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A heart wrenching and warming book. This book will put you on a roller coaster of emotions!

Katja is a 20 yr old artist and musician that has left her family in Berlin. She does odds and ends to pay rent when she runs into Micah. Micah notices something about her that draws her in to him but co incidentally they start to build a connection.

Katja notices a couple odd things about Micah that stems from his past however she knows she can't judge because she hasn't opened up about hers and he has b
...more
Tina Larsen
Dec 08, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I was gifted a copy of this book by NetGalley for an honest review ...
Katja Stoltz is a lost soul. She has left home due to etreme circumstances and is trying to make it on her own with little success. When push comes to shove - Katja must make a decision - and this is how she ends up meeting Micha Sturm. He is a quiet man with a secret - he keeps a bedroom door locked in his home, but the bigger question is what's behind it. It's hard to move forward when you won't let go of the past and they
...more
Laura Pauling
Jan 11, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I really enjoyed this sweet, realistic love story between Indie musician Katja and high end banker, Micah. In true Pretty Woman fashion, Micah had his secrets and needed saving in the same way Katja did. I loved watching her struggles to follow her dreams, her passion in caring for her family, and her up and down relationship with Micah.

I felt like this could have happened. This had been someone's life. The beatiful writing leads from one paragraph to another.

If you enjoy a nice love story with
...more
Christine Fonseca
Jan 12, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2014-reads
Really enjoyed everything about this book - my FAV Lee Strauss book to date! Great storyline, great characters, sweet romance!
Amy H
I got this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review...
WARNING!!!! THIS BOOK IS A MUSHY CHEESY ROMANCE....

I have to say that this book started off really really slow!!!!

sleepy photo: Sleepy Sleepy.gif

then it got excited and i couldn't put it down...
woohoo photo: Woohoo! TheMaskGIF.gif

this book is about a girl named Katja. She left home because of her abusive step father. she left behind her pill induced mother and her sister. she was going to follow her dream and become an artist. She started to play music on the side of the road and started to
...more
Amber Stokes
Dec 07, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: amber-s-kindle
A creative approach to NA (New Adult) contemporary romance, Sun and Moon is an interesting read. I enjoy Strauss's writing style, and I appreciate that she offers such a wide variety of stories with the romance I love and minus the explicit content I'd prefer to avoid. (Note that this book does contain a little bit of language, some innuendos, references to drinking, and some heavier kissing scenes, though - definitely for the NA crowd and above.)

This book starts out with such intrigue that I fo
...more
Mandy (I Read Indie) Anderson
As with all of Franke's books I really enjoyed this one. I enjoyed the characters and the story they told. You could almost say this was a modern day, foreign version of PRETTY WOMAN. Even the main character of the story compared herself to Julia Roberts at one point. And I just loved this girl. She has been through so much and still manages to find a way to make her dreams come true. Even if it is not the success seen in the eyes of others...it is a success to her. She is living her dream.

One
...more
Aimee (Getting Your Read On)
I was really looking forward to reading Sun and Moon. I think it's a cool idea- blending Indie music with books and giving me something fresh and new. I really, really liked it. It's like combining my favorite things.

Katja and Micah's story is a good one. I loved the pull between them. Micah is an enigma and I found myself as confused and frustrated as Katja that I didn't know what was going on with him. One of the things I like best in books is when characters grow up and change for the better
...more
Destiny Rose READS
I really felt that this story could have happened. It was extremely well written with good storyline flow. My only wish was to hear Micah's POV in a few places. When I read, I like to fall in love with the characters and feel like I'm reading about a dear friend. It was easy to become emotionally attached to Katja, but Micah was too aloof with no explanation for his behavior until the middle of the book. One or two scenes told from his eyes would have endeared him more to my heart. But when the ...more
Jessica Adkins-Charles {Bottles & Books Reviews}
Katja Stoltz, a down on her luck singer, is looking for a way to keep herself a float without giving up the thing she loves most: her music.

Micha Sturm has secrets to hide but behind what sometimes comes off as a hard exterior is a man who made mistakes and is dealing with the past as best as he can.

Katja, the sun - is the light - whereas Micha, the moon, is dark. Katja is beautiful, talented, and passionate. Micha is strong, wise, and handsome. Together they bring out the best in one another.
...more
Alisa
Jan 28, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
4.5 stars… I usually stay away from the New Adult genre because it has a reputation for not being clean. So I am really excited for this new series by Lee Strauss.

I loved the characters Katja and Micah. They are real, they are flawed and they are doing their best. And in the end, they make each other better.

I loved how no one fit in a stereotype. Katja comes from poverty, but she is working hard and following her dream. When her family needs her, she is there for them! Micah comes from privileg
...more
Rachel Morgan
Feb 10, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
In this sweet romance reminiscent of Pretty Woman, Lee Strauss weaves song through the tale of Katja and Micah, two people from completely different walks of life.

Katja was running from her past, while Micah was tortured by his. They were both real, flawed characters. They both made mistakes and bad decisions, which gave them room to grow. The setting of the story was described well—it made me feel like I was on holiday while reading ;-) What I loved most, though, was the music. The songs aren’t
...more
Adriana
Apr 09, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved this book! I am becoming a big Lee Strauss/Elle Strauss fan. Clockwise was one of the first books I downloaded on my Kindle and have grabbed up everything Strauss-related I could find since. As a church girl, I truly appreciate her writing style. This story kept me up til after midnight (with a five am alarm looming in my future) because I just had to see what happened next. I liked Micah's transformation through the story and that he didn't try to change Katja. I liked his whole soul-ti ...more
Mary Hartshorn
Apr 18, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wow this book took me on an emotional roller coaster. I could not put this book down because i really needed to see how this book ended. This book is about Katja's struggle to survive and finding the strength to face her demons head on. During her journey she meets a troubled man who helps her when she has officially hit rock bottom. They are from two different worlds, so she cannot understand why someone would possibly help her for nothing. There is nothing supernatural about this book. I highl ...more
Gwynn White
Two stars may be a bit harsh, so I'll say 2.5.

I enjoyed the story and really liked Katja and Micha, but my big problem was the writing style, which surprised me because I know Lee Strauss can write. The trouble was that there was way too much tell and not show - I think having the story written in third person contributed to that. I also felt bored at times because there were too many periods of plain sailing for our heroine when she and Micha finally hit it off. It was as if all the drama and
...more
Crystal Collier
Aug 01, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites, 2014
I KNEW I was going to love this book after reading Lee's PERCEPTION, but I didn't know exactly how much I'd love it. First off, the older I get, the more I love a good romance. More particularly, take me to Germany, please? And lastly, this is a book I could confidently place in my daughter's hands (once she's a little older) and feel comfortable with her reading. Clean. Very clean. Sweet. Oh so sweet.

This is a RARE find and I give it my highest recommendation.
Veray
Oct 14, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved the music, loved the story, Loved the realness of the whole thing. The characters were real and believable in all they did and said. I loved the way they met and the way Lee hid what the real problem was until there is was and what do you do after that. Katja and Micha are so good for eachother and help each other to truly find themselves. Then Micha makes a big mistake. I wondered how he was going to fix it and he did a great job. Such a sweet romance. I highly recommend it!
Kaffi
Mar 21, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Wonderful clean romance with a great HEA ending

As the story begins, we see how sad Katja's life is...until she meets Micah. It takes a lot of slow going and understanding until these two can work everything out until they finally get their HEA. The story is well written and wonderfully edited, but does move a little slow at times.
For those of you that like a clean romance (no graphic sex scenes), you will love this book. No swearing or sex, just romance.
Josephine
Sep 11, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A modern-day Cinderella perhaps

I really enjoyed his book after getting her past her dismal life to the safety of Micah, that is. The mystery of Micah was great and logical. I loved the way he took care of her and restrained himself. I loved how he tried to make her see she was valuable. My most petty gripe is that she had the flu and was so out of it she had no memory of what happened. I don't think anyone gets the flu that badly. I loved how at the end she recognized that her childhood prayer w
...more
Patrizia
Jul 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I loved this book more and more with every single chapter. Elle Strauss captured the singer-songwriter community in Germany perfectly and created an awesome love story with a realistic touch of describing the way of life in germany. The leading characters are believable and the supporting ones are good described and authentic. I can happily admit that I love happy endings and I got one - after many twists and turns. I have to admit, at the end I couldn't stop reading even when I felt really tir ...more
Rita
Jan 12, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
A sweet wonderful romance. The two main characters are from two different worlds figuratively and literally. One is from poverty and the other from money. One is from America and the other from Germany. Can they really find true love. Love that outlasts their differences? You will find out when you read the book for yourself. I loved it. BTW: this book was called Sing me a Song when I read it.
Tania
Dec 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Amazing

I read the third book before I read this one and they were both amazing. Though this one had a lot less action and more romance, I enjoyed it very much. I will definitely read more of this author's works.
Sarah
Jul 17, 2018 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Fun and emotional read

This book had a mixture of everything I wanted for a summer read! Sweet with a mixture of sadness and lots of action. There were plot twists that I was not expecting, so I was kept on my toes. I can’t wait to read the rest of the series!
Angel Mcduffie
May 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Secrets

Katja is a talented artist with a troubled past. Micah is a young man following in the family business and has a secret. To find out all the goodies read the book sun and moon.
Lynda Knapp
Jun 19, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Enjoyable read!

I thought this was very good. Katja makes decisions that totally change her life. She was very loveable and I found myself pulling for her.
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Drowning (Tears of Sin, #1)
  • Ache (Punk, #1)
  • You Own Me
  • Taming the Country Star (Hometown Heroes, #1)
  • No Way Back (Mia's Way, #1)
  • Dog Days of Summer
  • Chances Aren't
  • Smoke and Fire
  • Young Love Lost
  • Brushing Off the Boss (Half Moon Bay, #2)
  • Revenge Best Served Hot (Men of the Zodiac, #6)
  • Racing the Hunter's Moon (Under the Hood, #3)
  • Make You See Stars (Stardust Erotic Romance Series #2)
  • Crazy Dreams (Dreams, #1)
  • Decadent (Big Sky Pie #4)
  • Metal Urge
  • What Endures
  • When Love Happens (Ribbon Ridge, #3)
See similar books…
1,209 followers
Hi!

Would you like the FREE Lee Strauss starter library that includes 5 novels and 2 short stories? Visit my website: http://www.laplumepress.com/signup

As Lee Strauss, I'm a bestselling author of The Ginger Gold Mysteries series (cozy historical mystery), A Nursery Rhyme Suspense series (mystery sci-fi romantic suspense), The Perception series (young adult dystopian), and young adult historical fic
...more

Other books in the series

Minstrel (4 books)
  • Flesh & Bone (The Minstrel Series, #2)
  • Heart & Soul (The Minstrel Series, #3)
  • Peace & Goodwill (Minstrel #4)
“People aren’t just flesh and blood. They’re soul and spirit, too. When two people join physically, they also join spiritually, creating a soul-tie with each” 1 likes
More quotes…