Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Brash Endeavor (Stan Turner, #2)” as Want to Read:
Brash Endeavor (Stan Turner, #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Brash Endeavor

(Stan Turner #2)

by
3.96  ·  Rating details ·  103 ratings  ·  67 reviews
Step into the shoes of Dallas attorney, Stan Turner, in the late 1970's as he begins the practice of law. Then hang on for the ride of your life as Stan immediately steps into a rattlesnake's nest and has to do some fancy two-steppin' to avoid a lethal strike from his own clients. When Stan's wife, Rebekah, is arrested for murder and a client turns out to be a ghost, Stan ...more
Paperback, 298 pages
Published July 16th 2017 by Top Publications, Ltd. (first published July 1st 1998)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Brash Endeavor, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Brash Endeavor

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.96  · 
Rating details
 ·  103 ratings  ·  67 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Diane
Apr 17, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: mystery
Maybe guys like the character of Stan Turner better than a woman. Other than him being handsome, I just didn't find anything about him appealing. BRASH described him to a T. I just found myself wanting to yell at him for being so naive on one hand and thinking with his hormones on the next! He takes on clients who are questionable at best, responds to any woman who flirts with him and lies outright, or by omission, to his wife.

The multiple mystery store lines that interweave through the novel i
...more
Julie
Oct 13, 2015 added it
Shelves: first-reads
I received a free copy of this book from ‘Goodreads First Reads’.

The book opens with Stan Turner’s wife Rebekah being arrested for murder and then takes you back in time to get you up to date with how events turned out that way. Stan loses his job and decides to become an independent lawyer. He is unable to get a business loan but manages to get a credit card which will help to pay bills in the meantime. He gets a small office through a man: General Burton and waits for business to come rolling
...more
Pamela DeWolf
Sep 20, 2013 rated it it was ok
Shelves: first-reads
Thanks to Goodreads First Reads for an ARC of the book.
Being an ARC, there were lots of typos, wrong words used, etc. It also seemed that parts were missing, the way it would jump ahead in the story. Stan seemed like a real naive idiot for someone who made it through law school, and he was just not real likeable. Several apparently incredibly hot women came on to him, well, more like threw themselves at him, and being such a good Catholic family man with four kids he was always tempted and gave
...more
Erin
Apr 25, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
Stan Turner is a lawyer who is just building his own practice. You can't really pick the clients when you need the money and this is where the story begins. Stan's wife is arrested for murder, Stan doesn't feel right about one of the deals another client is involving him in, and a ghost is calling asking for help. Stan not only has to play lawyer, but private investigator and therapist to his clients. Will his wife get off, and will he be able to solve all of the problems for his clients?

This bo
...more
Pam Mooney
Sep 08, 2014 rated it really liked it
I enjoyed this book very much. Lots of twist and turns that kept my interest as well as a few surprises that were fun. I can relate to backing into circumstances you wouldn't ordinarily consider and the challenges it entails. A great mystery and - A Good Read.
Deb Wade
Mar 10, 2019 rated it really liked it
This is the second book in the Stan Turner series. Stan endeavors to set up his own law practise when he is made redundant from an insurance job. He is a young family man with four children under the age of nine and a wife who works part-time as a nurse, to help make ends meet. Indeed a brash endeavor for a new legal graduate.

Stan therefore takes on any work which is offered to him, and his clients all seem risky to someone who desperately needs their next pay packet to stop their bank foreclosi
...more
D R
Mar 16, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Carol
Apr 26, 2013 rated it really liked it
This is going to be a strange review of Brash Endeavor by William Manchee which is the third book in the Stan Turner series. My reaction to his book is extreme love/hate. I will tell you why later. When Stan Turner’s job in selling insurance fizzled out, he was ready for a career change. Since he had finished law school and passed the bar, he decided to hang his shingle out. This took place in the 1970s in the Dallas area. Already, chills are going up and down my back when also in the 1970s, my ...more
David Caldwell
This is the second Stan Turner novel.It also happens to be the second Stan Turner novel that I won. I also won the tenth Stan Turner novel.

There is a cliche that says beggars can't be choosers. Apparently neither can new lawyers, at least when it comes to his clients. Stan Turner has just started his new law practice and is having to watch every penny, so when he gets his first three clients, he feels things are starting to turn around. But his clients are qute quirky and he starts to wonder if
...more
Jody
Sep 13, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: first-reads, mystery
I received this book for free in exchange for an honest review.

I know the author has published two other books before this one, what I don't know is whether they are part of a Stan Turner series or if this book is a stand alone. Whichever...it really doesn't matter. If this is part of a series, you do not have to have read the first two. If it is not part of a series you get the feeling that the book picks up the action in the middle of someone's life and gives you a brief snapshot of what was g
...more
Kai
Mar 19, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
Brash Endeavor is the second book in the Stan Turner series. Stan Turner is out of a job when he decided to start his own law practice. With four kids and a mortgage, he and his wife Rebekah didn't have a choice except to move forward with his plan. Rebekah went back to working part-time as a nurse while Stan hopes that he gets reference from his connection from the insurance business.

Given the choice of his clients, Stan took clients from being questionable to those who might not be able to pa
...more
Vera Seidler
Sep 19, 2013 rated it liked it
I won this book in the giveaway, so I do appreciate it being sent to me for free.
I liked the story line...the plot and the various stories that went on were good and intriguing.
However, I wasn't thrilled with the writing itself. It often seemed that the author was "reciting" the events, rather than the character "living" the events. So for me what occurred was sort of a bit of separation from the story, and the result was no suspense...
But I continued on to see how the author would wrap things u
...more
Brent Soderstrum
Apr 27, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: first-read
I won this book through GoodReads first read program.

This is book #2 of Manchee's Stan Turner mystery series. This book covers Stan's first couple of years after opening up his law practice in 1979. Going on his own is a brash endeavor. Stan certainly has some weird clients. An investor who buys properties and flips them after refurbishing them. A client who tries to get old oil wells flowing again. And a client whose boyfriend ran off with all her clients money which she was to use to set up tr
...more
Marissa
Oct 14, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: goodreads-win
Goodreads Win

We find Stan Turner a newish lawyer out of a job as the insurance company he worked for goes bankrupt. He finds opening up his own law practice and realizing the hazard of being on his own as he struggles to make end meet for his four children and wife. Even his wife has to go back to work part time as a nurse to help pay the bills.

He finds himself with unlikely clients and they are less than admirable but he finds himself involved more than he should and trusting them despite they
...more
Tammy
Sep 08, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
Another first read that I won. Interesting book. It started out with Stan's wife being arrested which was intriguing though at first I thought maybe I had missed something from a previous book since I wasn't sure this was a first book.
Stand and rebekah have 4 kids and don't have any money. Stand finds out he is loosing his job and he has to figure out what he wants to do. He has been in insurance but has a a law degree. He decides he should be a lawyer and open his own office because he wants f
...more
Mindy
May 01, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
I received this novel for free through Goodreads' First Reads program.

I have to say, it grabbed you from the beginning. I really like the way the author starts out with something currently going on and then with the next chapter he starts the back story. I laughed out loud on parts of this novel since it is set in 1979 -- before cell phones and email. So, it caught me as humorous when Stan (the main character) would stop and use a pay phone. He also drives a Pinto -- which in and of itself is ju
...more
Christy
May 20, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: goodreads-arc, own
First off I won this off ARC Goodreads Giveaway! Thanks.

I'm not too much into books about court cases, but I was intrugied with this one.

This book is about a 1970's attorney Stan Turner. Whose wife was arrested for murder. Stan is and was a PIG! He has his wife and 3 kids and 1 was a baby. But he still almost messes with another woman. I wonder if that is the was men where back then or even now today.This was a fast read and I thourghly enjoyed it. I wonder if the wife actually did mirder the gi
...more
Tina
Apr 26, 2013 rated it liked it
Shelves: first-reads
Brash Endeavor is mystery involving Stan Turner, an attorney who just hung out his shingle, and his questionable clients. The story is set in a time before cell phones and internet, so it's rather interesting for Stan to do his prep work by going to title companies, libraries and court houses. I found Stan likable, despite his tendency to drool over anything with a short skirt. The story is a fast and engaging read, a few typos. I would read the other books in the Stan Turner series, hopeful tha ...more
Sarah Cook
Sep 04, 2013 rated it really liked it
I won this book in a Goodreads giveaway.

It is the second book in the Stan Turner Mystery series and I really enjoyed it, even without having read the first book. I didn't feel lost because I didn't read the first book, and the plot moves pretty quickly. I like that there were a lot of legal aspects to the plot (which makes sense because Stan is an attorney) because I'm interested in law myself. I do wish the author had been a little more descriptive about some things, but all in all I really en
...more
Stacy
Apr 25, 2013 rated it really liked it
Shelves: first-reads
First off, I won Brash Endeavor from the Goodreads First Reads giveaway. When I first started reading it, I did not know what to think, as the dialogue seemed a bit forced and did not really hold my interest. However, the novel took a turn for the better, and I found myself enjoying the story. The suspense was great. I was thoroughly surprised by the ending. I am glad that I discovered this and would definitely like to read more books in the Stan Turner series. Despite my initial concerns, I end ...more
susan murray
Mar 02, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Won from good reads
The story starts off when stan turner a lawyer is at home with the family and the police come to arrest his wife Rebekah for murder.
Then it goes back to the beginning so you know how it all began with Stan starting out on his own and getting clients struggling to get paid and not sure if some of the deals are dodgy.
Stan then starts getting phone all from a person saying they are be held prisoner but the said person is dead.
Really enjoyed the book the ups and downs of Stan's li
...more
Carmen
Jan 23, 2013 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This is the first book of William Manchee that I have read. I will look into getting the other Stan Turner mysteries. The book flowed together easily. It kept me interested and I wanted to read more. It was fast to read. I have never read anything like this before. I really liked it because it had to do with criminal justice and it involved the law and a lawyer. The mystery of the book keeps me reading. I want to find out what happens next. I was really interested in the characters and I wanted ...more
Nicholas
Sep 22, 2014 rated it liked it
Shelves: goodreads-win
Goodreads win. Will read and review once received.

I really enjoyed the story line found in this book. The plot was very good and interesting. I will admit the writing wasn't one of my favorites. I couldn't really find myself to connect to the story, even with that I still did enjoy it. It was a decent paced book that took me longer than usual to read for books. I really disliked seeing the book end. After reading the second book I can see myself tracking down the first book to read in the series
...more
Chris
Feb 18, 2011 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I won a copy of the audio version of "Brash Endeavor: A Stan Turner Mystery" and was delighted to listen to it. I give the story 5 stars. What an incredible ending! This was a great story with so many twists and turns going on in this attorneys life, as it raced toward the end and the surprising finish. I definitely recommend it to fans of John Grisham and legal thriller fans as well. You will NOT be disappointed!
Debra Jeakins
Mar 24, 2015 rated it it was amazing
BRASH ENDEAVOR is the second in the Stan Turner mysteries and a whole lot better than the first book in the series. The characters are more developed as well as the plot.

Stan Turner has just graduated college and taken the BAR exam and passed. He is now wondering what's next?

I'm NOT going to give that away so if you want to know read the book.

I can say its good to know that life can really be crappy not only for me but for a fictional character as well.

Holly
I have never read a book by William Manchee before, but after winning a copy from Goodreads/First Reads (BTW, thanks so much!) I was excited to read it and was shocked to see that I received it within a few days of being notified that I won.

Sorry, but here is my honest review of this book:

This book jumps around a lot from plot to plot and I did not care for the writing style of this author. There are also numerous typos and misspellings.
R J Mckay
This is Manchee's first book and also the beginning of his "Stan Turner Mysteries". While I found that the plot was interesting, I felt that the dialogue was a bit stilted. The ending wasn't as dramatic as I thought it should be. I have read other books in the Stan Turner series and feel that Manchee 's writing skills inprove as he published more books.

I did enjoy seeing the beginnings of Stan Turner's law practice and the plot lines kept me reading.
Read Ng
Apr 27, 2013 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
This was a GoodReads giveaway.

This was an okay story. It was set in the late 1970's and the characters and reactions seemed to be true to the era. Our hero - Stan Turner has a heart of gold and try as he might, one project after another slowly spins out of control. In the end, most resolve themselves for the better. It was a good afternoon escape. I will read more of Stan the next time I need a getaway
Richard
Apr 26, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
"This is going to be a lot of damn trouble Stan Turner."
If she only knew.
Brash Endeavor is an early Stan Turner Mystery (Book 2). Stan opens his law practice and it doesn't take long for the trouble to start.
Fast and entertaining from start to finish.
Brash Endeavor can be read as a stand alone novel.
This book goes on my favorites shelf.
5 stars.
Martha
Apr 17, 2013 rated it it was amazing
Brash Endeavor was a fast paced mystery that I didn't want to put down. The new lawyer, Stan Turner gets deeper and deeper into trouble with each client which also puts a strain on his marriage. I kept wondering how is he legally going to solve the murders and his financial crisis. His clients add humor, and passion to the story. I enjoyed it. I won this book from Goodreads.
« previous 1 3 4 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • There Is No Mrs. Gezunterman
  • My Greek Drama: Life, Love, and One Woman's Olympic Effort to Bring Glory to Her Country
  • The Infinite Resource: The Power of Ideas on a Finite Planet
  • Pale Horses (Jade de Jong, #4)
  • Gabriella and Dr. Duggan's Secret Dimensional Transport Machine (NuGen, #1)
  • Dancing On Their Tails
  • Closure of the Helpdesk — A Geek Tragedy
  • The Satirist: America's Most Critical Book (vol. 1)
  • Where You Can Find Me
  • The Caretaker (Ranjit Singh, #1)
  • Crazy Little Thing Called Love (Everson, Texas #2)
  • HeartStone (Dolvia Saga #2)
  • The Leviathan Effect
  • My Next Step: An Extraordinary Journey of Healing and Hope
  • Professor Payne's Intrepid Time Travelers (A Leap Behind Series, #1)
  • I Know You're There
  • Georgia Sweethearts
  • Mania: The Story of the Outraged and Outrageous Lives That Launched a Cultural Revolution
180 followers
William Manchee is an attorney by trade and practices consumer law in Dallas with his son Jim. Originally from southern California, he now lives in Plano, Texas.

Other books in the series

Stan Turner (10 books)
  • Undaunted (Stan Turner, #1)
  • Second Chair (Stan Turner, #3)
  • Cash Call
  • Deadly Distractions (Stan Turner, #5)
  • Black Monday (Stan Turner, #6)
  • Cactus Island (Stan Turner, #7)
  • Act Normal (Stan Turner, #8)
  • Disillusioned (Stan Turner, #9)
  • Deadly Defiance (Stan Turner, #10)