Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Black Monday (A Stan Turner Mystery #6)” as Want to Read:
Black Monday (A Stan Turner Mystery #6)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Black Monday (Stan Turner #6)

by
3.66  ·  Rating details ·  68 Ratings  ·  45 Reviews
In Black Monday (Lean Press, Trade Paperback, Summer 2005) one of Stan's clients, a widow, is found murdered in her home along with eleven of her twelve dogs that were living with her. When Stan reviews the old woman's will, he discovers she has appointed him executor of her estate and that her beneficiary is the SPCA. He could kick himself for agreeing to be executor of L ...more
Paperback, 260 pages
Published July 23rd 2017 by Top Publications, Ltd. (first published August 1st 2005)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Black Monday, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Black Monday

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Nancy Steinle gummel
Black Monday by William Manchee is a first read win and I am giving my honest opinion. All of the other books of Manchee that I read by Manchee were his science fiction books about Tarizon. This is his first thriller that I'm reading. It is excellent. Stan Turner and his business partner Paul's Waters, are attorneys. Stan is married to Rebecka and they have 4 children. Paula has a crush on Stan but knows it's a lost cause so she accepts Bart's marriage proposal. Stan is asked by a former CIA cli ...more
Katherine
This is a limited edition MP3 version of the sixth in a series of Stan Turner mysteries. It took a long time to get through since my mind tends to wander during recorded books so they get " read " in dribs and drabs. To think I used to listen to the radio for hours as a kid and never missed a word!

Anyway, in addition to my wandering mind, the recording itself has some problems. There are only two narrators, Jeffrey Kafer, whose voice is very droning and lacking in expression, and Arika Escalona,
...more
Gabby-Lily Raines
(3.5 / 5)
I found Black Monday to be a good, fast-paced read overall. The book also had reasonably well-rounded characters - which I always consider to be a plus.

Having said that, I had one issue that I found to be a distraction - especially considering that I took the book to be a final, store shelf copy instead of an advance one - and that is: grammar. A couple of mistakes here and there throughout a book are not too big a deal. After all, not every issue can be caught ahead of time.

However, th
...more
Amy Adams
Jul 15, 2014 rated it liked it
*received free from Goodreads First Reads

Overall it a a quick, enjoyable read. I finished it in about a day. I have to say it did keep me guessing for the most part. Up until the end I wasn't sure who committed the murders, but I did figure it out a few pages before it was revealed.

I wasn't sure what exactly some of the legal terms meant, but that wasn't really the book or authors fault. There were a few typos but I believe this is an advance copy, so hopefully those get resolved. There was als
...more
Molly
Jul 01, 2014 rated it it was ok
Shelves: first-reads
For a thriller, this book isn't very thrilling. I thought the story was decent and I probably would have liked it more if I wasn't so distracted by the typos and mistakes in this book. Obvious typos start on page one and get progressively worse throughout the book. Most of them are easy mistakes to spot- missing quotation marks when someone is speaking, extra quotation marks in random places, words misspelled... halfway through the book the font changes completely. There were also mistakes in th ...more
Mary
Jul 01, 2014 rated it it was ok
First the disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book thru Goodreads' "First Reads" giveaways.

I have one very important thing to say to the author - please please please find an editor or proofreader next time you want to publish a book. There was literally not one single page without errors, either typographical, grammatical, or what appeared to be the author's own confusion. The mistakes were so prevalent they went beyond simply annoying, hindering understanding in many cases. As an exampl
...more
Brent Soderstrum
Volume 6 of the Stan Turner mystery series was pretty mediocre. Manchee begins his tale on October 19, 1987 when the stock market crashes. Known by all as Black Monday. I was in law school then and remember the job market tightening in the next few years as a result. Don Baker, the President of Metroplex Savings and his girlfriend are killed that same day. Don had many enemies. His son-law Jimmy is arrested and represented by Paula Waters, Stan's partner. Stan is mixed up in the Iran Contra mess ...more
Emily
May 26, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received a free copy of this book through the GoodReads First Reads giveaways.


Black Monday (A Stan Turner Mystery #6) is another good summer read. I received an audio version of this book and the production was pretty good. This was my second Stan Turner book and I really appreciate how the author provides both of Stan's and Paula's viewpoints. I still can't stand hearing/reading Paula's fascination with Stan, as I find it distracting from the main storyline. Please move on Paula and focus on
...more
Natalia
I got this book/recording from the First Reads program, and I felt a little lost sometimes since it's not the first book in the series. (And also, there were references to previous events in the series, and it was a little distracting since it seemed like a lot of crazy stuff to happen to someone who just runs a small-time legal practice)

The book told a fun story, and unravelled in a way that makes it possible that a reader might guess the killer (I hate when a book ended with Surprise! The kil
...more
Marissa
Aug 28, 2014 rated it really liked it
Shelves: goodreads-win
Goodreads Win

This starts off on the infamous Black Monday October 19, 1987 when the stock market fell.

Stan Turner has always dislike Mondays since his clients has the weekends to think up questions. He probably should have stayed away that fatal Monday but it is too late now.

He finds himself asked by the CIA to help an operative unravel an IRS garnishment and ends up being caught between the CIA and the FBI. Stan then finds himself the executor of Lottie West who has no surviving relatives but w
...more
David Ketelsen
Jun 27, 2014 rated it really liked it
I received a free copy of this book from a Goodreads giveaway.

This is the second book I've read by William Manchee and I liked this one a lot more. Black Monday is a well plotted and tightly written novel. The two main characters, Stan Turner and Paula Waters, are lawyers that act a lot like private detectives, and get into a lot of tight spots and routinely escape danger by the skin of their teeth.

The plot of this installment in the series is complicated with two seemingly separate cases, each
...more
Jennifer
Jun 30, 2014 rated it it was ok
I received this book through the First Reads program.

To begin, I must say that this is my second book by this author and someone seriously needs to have a little chat with editing. each book has been so full of typos and mis-spellings that it makes the books quite difficult to read at times. if these were ARCs, I could understand, but one copy I received through the library.

story line is decent enough, but the changing point of view gets tiresome, especially since it's often not until the secon
...more
Julie Barrett
Aug 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Black Monday by William Manchee
Have read other series from this author and loved the books, enough that I went and bought the other 2 in the series.
Starts out 1987 black Monday for the stock market. He's involved in many things going on, an executor for an old woman who has passed away and the proceeds will go towards her dogs, another needs IRS to unfreeze his accounts or a man overseas could die...
Like the family time at home and the kids interactions. Alternating chapters about other cases us
...more
Kelley
Novel received courtesy of Goodreads.com giveaway

I had to look over and over again to be sure that this wasn't an ARC rather than a published novel! I had to stop reading at so many times because of grammatical errors and spelling errors. To top it off, there were times when the wrong character's name would be used; that was totally confusing!

I thought the idea for the mystery was clever (spelled "cleaver" in the novel). It was set during the Iran/Contra Hearings in the 80's and wove that into
...more
Martha
Oct 08, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
William Manchee has a great way of writing page turners. I'm hooked on Stan Turner mysteries from the beginning until the end. And, I mean the very end. I'm always wishing I would get some clue to figure out how the mystery will be solved, but the drama last until the last page. Black Monday is an example of how devastating it can be to lose a lot of money when stocks go south. Not only do people lose their money, their business, their home, and their reputation can also be taken away. In this s ...more
Gregg
May 21, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
I won this book in a Goodreads First Reads Giveaway. Thanks!

This was my first experience with an audio book, and I really struggled initially with the format. I didn't feel comfortable with the pace and character voices until about Chapter 11. I will go back and listen again, as I really enjoyed the story.

Black Monday is a well written legal/political thriller with detailed financial aspects. The politics of the 1980's play an important role in the story as well, so it can be a bit of a history
...more
Meredith
Jun 02, 2011 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
This was a First Reads book. I received this book as an audio file, which was a first for me.

I read the First Stan Turner novel but not the books in between. I think my thoughts about Black Monday are similar to the first in the series. While having an audio book gave it a different perspective, and I didn't notice the amateur writing that I did in the first book. Another good story line but there just doesn't seem to be as much depth to the characters as I would like to see. As a woman it's di
...more
Kim
Jun 02, 2011 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
Won this from Goodreads First Reads giveaway!
*update: this was a good old fashioned mystery. It definately wasn't the most rivoting book, but it was entertaining, if somewhat predictable. While there wasn't any explicit sex scenes, there was definately a lot of implied sexual activity, most of it immoral (men having affairs, one night stands, pre-marital sex, married men daydreaming about women other than their wives). I found this to be completely unneccessary and it definately lowered the book
...more
Michelle
I received “Black Monday: A Stan Turner Mystery” by William Manchee for free through Goodreads First Reads.

Although a good mystery, I found this audiobook a little slow for me. I think that perhaps I should have first listened to or read "Undaunted", book 1 in the Stan Turner Mystery series just to understand the dynamics of the characters relationships. Very strange relationship that the married Stan Turner has with co-worker Paula Waters. She has a major crush on Stan yet she is involved with
...more
Pam Gnner
I won this Stan Turner mystery Book/Audio disc from the Goodreads Program. Thank you so much.

I had some trouble keeping track of what was happening since it was a audio which I can have some trouble concentrating on. I along with others didn't realize this was a audio disc instead of the book until i got it.But it started to pick up some as the story went along.

I particularly liked Deadly Distraction better.This is the second book that i have read by this author and not my last.

It has some h
...more
Lisa Cobb Sabatini
Jun 30, 2014 rated it really liked it
I won Black Monday: A Stan Turner Mystery by William Manchee from Goodreads.

As the law firm of Turner and Waters takes on a case defending a man accused of murder, helps the friend of a friend with an IRS garnishment, and settles the estate of a murder victim, Stan and Paula find their very lives at risk again.
Black Monday is a complex mystery with overlapping plots and lots of tension. Great characters, a good amount of action, and three complicated mystery plot lines make this novel a great re
...more
Julie Mink
May 19, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads
This was the first Stan Turner story I have read, actually listened to. I won the MP3 audio version as a First Read on Goodreads. This is a legal mystery and while I had not read the first 5 books in this series, I really enjoyed the mystery and soon will go back and read the books that led up to this one. The readers who read the book did a great job and the mystery had great twists and turns. Since I am retired and no longer have a commute to work, it took me quite awhile to finish listening b ...more
Debbie
So excited to win this and have it arrive on CD! I listen to audiobooks every day during my commute and had just finished my last audiobook so was looking for the "next one" - perfect timing.

Finished the audio -- it was ok. There are 2 murders that Stan is trying to solve and I actually liked the lesser of the two, wish he would have spent more time on that one. Also clearly written by a man -- why is Stan's female co-worker so smitten with Stan? Maybe earlier books in the series explained that
...more
Fredrick Danysh
Stan Turner is a North Texas lawyer during the time of the Reagan administration. One Monday starts off with a bang. The stock market is way down, a client has died with Turner becoming the executor of the estates, and a CIA agent hires him to unfreeze a bank account that the IRS has seized. He is soon caught in a battle between the CIA and FBI. It took 8 hours and 12 minutes to listen to the story. I usually read much faster when reading a paper book. This was a free advance copy thru Goodreads ...more
Steve
I won this book in a first reads giveaway.

Overall I enjoyed this story. For me it's a run-of-the-mill, first person, P.I. mystery with not much else going for it. I do like the genre and wasn't disappointed with the book at all, but there really isn't anything special about it either.

I did appreciate the historical aspect of this story. It takes place in 1987, and the details are true to the period.

There isn't necessarily anything memorable about this story, but it is worth reading for readers w
...more
Caiti
May 31, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received this book from a goodreads giveaway.
This was a nice mystery that kept you in the story. This book had almost movie like characters that were very believable. This wasn't my favorite book because I felt it was pretty predictable however it had nice character development. The pros of this book heavily out weighed the cons and overall i would recommend this book for anyone looking for a nice mystery.
Katy
Jun 02, 2011 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
A FirstReads GoodReads Book.
Just received this today.
It is MP3 audio, not a book -- I know I should read the details more carefully.
We are driving for vacation this summer and this will help pass the time.
How fun!

Finally remembered to take this MP3 on a road trip.
It was an okay mystery book, and served its purpose on the long drive.
Candice Mckinney
Apr 07, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I won this book from Goodreads. Did not realize it was MP3 Audio until it arrived. I had a trip planned so I waited until then to listen to the book. It is very entertaining. Wonderful way to pass the time while driving. I Love mysterys so I throughly enjoyed this book. While there are no twists or surprises it is a very entertaining mystery.
Wanda
Jan 23, 2014 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I have enjoyed every one of William Manchees' Stan Turner mystery books. The characters, the plots, the subplots all keep the interest going. This one was a quick read and more predictable than the others. I am going to the last book that is in the series and can't wait for another book to be published. Kudos to William Manchee for writing the Stan Turner mysteries.
Elizabeth Whitehead
Jun 02, 2011 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audio
I received this audio edition as a Goodreads ARC copy. I had a hard time getting into listening since I like to read a book quickly and found it hard to get enough time to listen to the book. But I recently took a long road trip and listened to the book. I really enjoyed it and will look for other books in this series.
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • The Harvest Killings
  • Stay Another Night
  • Haven 6 (A New Dawn, #3)
  • One Was Stubborn
  • Destiny Calls (The Phoenix Rising, #1)
  • Storm Demon
  • The Cruiser (Dan Lenson, #14)
  • Dreaming of Her
  • Deception's Web (Deizian Empire, #3)
  • A Cure to Die For
  • Twilight's Eternal Embrace
  • Play Nice (Anna Smith & Nick Dade Thrillers #1)
  • Good Raider (Bond & Benevolence #1)
  • Edmund Persuader (Hampshire Romances #1)
  • The Third Sign
  • Volcan Knights
  • Twisted Linen
  • Bringer of Justice ( Legends of Herric #1)
162 followers
William Manchee is an attorney by trade and practices consumer law in Dallas with his son Jim. Originally from southern California, he now lives in Plano, Texas.
More about William Manchee

Other books in the series

Stan Turner (10 books)
  • Undaunted (Stan Turner, #1)
  • Brash Endeavor (Stan Turner, #2)
  • Second Chair (Stan Turner, #3)
  • Cash Call
  • Deadly Distractions (Stan Turner, #5)
  • Cactus Island (Stan Turner, #7)
  • Act Normal (Stan Turner, #8)
  • Disillusioned (Stan Turner, #9)
  • Deadly Defiance (Stan Turner, #10)

Mystery & Thrillers Deals

  • Killman Creek (Stillhouse Lake, #2)
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Shaken (Jack Daniels Mystery, #7)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Her Last Day (Jessie Cole, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Split Second
    $3.99 $1.49
  • The Killing Lessons (Valerie Hart, #1)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Scat
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Blood Money (Joe Dillard #6)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Bluebird, Bluebird
    $13.99 $2.99
  • The Falcon at the Portal (Amelia Peabody, #11)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • In Good Faith (Joe Dillard #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Forbidden Stone (The Copernicus Legacy, #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • The Monogram Murders
    $10.99 $1.99
  • The Hanging Judge (The Judge Norcross Novels)
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Visitant: A Venetian Ghost Story
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Die Like an Eagle (Meg Langslow #20)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • Damaged
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Virgin in the Ice (The Chronicles of Brother Cadfael)
    $13.99 $1.99
  • Little Monsters
    $10.99 $1.99
  • A Reason to Live (A Marty Singer Mystery Book 1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Agatha Raisin and the Potted Gardener (Agatha Raisin, #3)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • Infinity Born
    $6.99 $2.49
  • True Fiction (Ian Ludlow Thrillers #1)
    $5.99 $2.99
  • The Long and Faraway Gone
    $10.99 $1.99
  • Deadly Recall (Jessie Cole, #2)
    $5.99 $2.99
  • The Curse of the Pharaohs
    $9.99 $2.99
  • When You Disappeared
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Mr. Paradise
    $6.99 $1.99
  • Queenpin
    $10.99 $1.99
  • I'm Thinking of Ending Things
    $10.99 $1.99
  • Song of Kali
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Counterfeit Heiress (Lady Emily, #9)
    $7.09 $2.99
  • Ugly Young Thing (Strangers #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Burglars Can't Be Choosers (Rhodenbarr, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Trespassing
    $5.99 $2.99
  • In Cold Blood (A Beatrix Rose Thriller Book 1)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • The Mysterious Benedict Society
    $7.99 $2.99
  • Lord Peter Views the Body (Lord Peter Wimsey, #4)
    $11.99 $1.99
  • The Stranger Inside (Strangers #4)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Remains
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Doubt (Caroline Auden, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Marriage Pact
    $11.99 $2.99
  • Signature Wounds (A Grale Thriller Book 1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Trouble with Goats and Sheep
    $11.99 $2.99
  • Mystic River
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Hard Goodbye (Frank Miller's Sin City, #1)
    $10.99 $1.99
  • I Am Not a Serial Killer (John Cleaver, #1)
    $8.51 $2.99
  • The Dinner
    $14.99 $3.99
  • Career of Evil (Cormoran Strike, #3)
    $11.99 $2.99
  • The Secret in Their Eyes
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Snow Falling on Cedars
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Agatha Raisin and the Terrible Tourist (Agatha Raisin, #6)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • Absolute Power
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Instinct (previously published as Murder Games)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Lincoln Lawyer (Mickey Haller, #1; Harry Bosch Universe, #17)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Naturalist (The Naturalist #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Girl from the Sea
    $2.99 $1.49
  • Hammerhead Ranch Motel (Serge Storms Mystery, #2)
    $2.99 $1.99
  • The Five Red Herrings (Lord Peter Wimsey, #7)
    $10.99 $1.99
  • Lady Cop Makes Trouble  (Kopp Sisters #2)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Stillhouse Lake (Stillhouse Lake, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Death in the Devil's Acre (Charlotte & Thomas Pitt, #7)
    $11.99 $1.99
  • And Only to Deceive (Lady Emily, #1)
    $10.49 $1.99
  • Furious (Faith McMann Trilogy, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Forgotten Ones
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Moving Day
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Jade Dragon Mountain
    $9.99 $2.99
  • The Hangman's Daughter (The Hangman's Daughter, #1)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • Dead Over Heels (Aurora Teagarden, #5)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • The Whole Enchilada (A Goldy Schulz Culinary Mystery #17)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Curse (Blur Trilogy #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Poisonous (Max Revere, #3)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • An Expert in Murder (Josephine Tey, #1)
    $4.74 $1.99
  • Blur  (Blur Trilogy #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Death of a Travelling Man (Hamish Macbeth Mystery)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • The Grave Tender
    $3.99 $1.99
  • I Am Watching You
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Cold Vengeance (Pendergast, #11)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • Outrage (Faith McMann Trilogy, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Lion (John Corey, #5)
    $9.99 $2.99
  • Injustice For All (Joe Dillard #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Wrath (Faith McMann Trilogy, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Stockholm Octavo
    $9.74 $1.99
  • The Buried Book
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Cutting Season
    $9.24 $1.99
  • The Party
    $13.99 $2.99
  • Birthday Girl
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Friend
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Fractured
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Winter Over
    $4.99 $1.99
  • American by Day
    $9.99 $1.99
  • The Necklace
    $13.99 $1.99
  • Good Behavior
    $5.99 $2.99
  • The Big Fear (Hollow City Series, #1)
    $2.99 $0.99
  • Birdman
    $13.99 $1.99
  • Clockers
    $13.99 $1.99
  • Never Smile at Strangers
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Moonlit Garden
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Holy Island (DCI Ryan Mysteries, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • The Barkeep
    $4.49 $1.99
  • The Good Liar
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Cold (A Joe Tiplady Thriller #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • A Criminal Defense (Philadelphia Legal #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Poppy Done to Death (Aurora Teagarden, #8)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • Twisted
    $5.49 $1.99
  • Open and Shut (Andy Carpenter Series, #1)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • No Shred of Evidence (Inspector Ian Rutledge, #18)
    $10.99 $1.99