Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Fire Girl (A Tale of Witches and Wolves, #1)” as Want to Read:
Fire Girl (A Tale of Witches and Wolves, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Fire Girl

(A Tale of Witches and Wolves #1)

by
3.53  ·  Rating details ·  47 ratings  ·  30 reviews
No such thing as fate or magic—16-year-old Samantha wouldn't be caught dead wishing upon a star. But when she stumbles upon a crime scene resembling her worst nightmares, something inside her comes undone. A mysterious guy, who's as handsome as he's weird, shows up at her side. And her summer break becomes suddenly a whole lot more interesting. So interesting, it tears her ...more
Kindle Edition, 385 pages
Published April 28th 2016 by Blueglass Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Fire Girl, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Fire Girl

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.53  · 
Rating details
 ·  47 ratings  ·  30 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Fire Girl (A Tale of Witches and Wolves, #1)
Helen 2.0
May 18, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received a free copy from the author in exchange for an honest review :)

Okay, I read this book all in one go so it's all still rattling around in my head right now. I liked it quite a bit, as evidenced by the fact that I went through it so fast.

Sam was wonderful - I could easily relate to her innate skepticism and sarcastic personality. I spent the whole book on her side. Interactions between Sam and Daniel cracked me up so often, those two are just made to bicker. It was nice to watch them go
...more
Amanda
May 10, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: read-in-2016
Thank you to Blueglass Press & Andy Mulberry for my copy of the ARC in exchange for an honest review.

The book was so confusing at the start it was honestly all over the place, yet the more I read the more I wanted! Yeah, I'm a sucker for a YA Paranormal so I did really get into the story but I didn't understand is it meant to be a series or a one-off book? I hope it's a series or it has left me with a load of questions.

Samantha is a 16-year-old with a bright future. Living with her older sis
...more
Bailey Loveless
Apr 14, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
BLOG | INSTAGRAM | TWITTER | FACEBOOK | STORE

3.5

This charming book is actually being released today. I keep switching my rating on Goodreads between a 3 and a 4. I wouldn't call this book a new favorite or particularly amazing, but it was still quite enjoyable and offers profusely in entertainment value. Fire Girl tells the tale of Samantha, a sassy, teenage skeptic interning at a lab for the summer. Her world turns upside down though when she meets Daniel, an attractive young man who claims s
...more
Lilyn G. | Sci-Fi & Scary |
Fire Girl read insanely fast, for the fact that it is 385 pages long. It’s a quick, easy read. It’s a good read, but not a great one.

For at least the first third of the book, Fire Girl is missing the spark (not asking pardon for that pun) that turns a plot into a story. I could definitely see where the author was going, I just didn’t care about the getting there. I thoroughly enjoyed the main character’s smart mouth, but I didn’t care about any of the characters. It gives a very disjointed feeli
...more
Melinda Howard
*This book was provided via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review*

I really liked this book. The characters were entertaining and likeable and the plot was fast moving and enjoyable. I especially liked the fact that Samantha doesn't know whether Daniel likes her or not until the end because of the enchantment. Also they are reluctant friends due to Daniel being forced to protect her, yet they soon become real friends. The writing style was good and overall I just really enjoyed the plot as w
...more
Marguerite
Jun 04, 2016 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: arc, net-galley
1 Star.

Okay, unpopular opinion time - this book didn't do it for me. I took a quick look at other readers opinions, and I'm completely on the outer here. So, what didn't I like about this book? Well...

1. The Characters: Whilst I think the general mythology of the werewolves, vampires and witches was sound (though, why are Dan's family werewolves? This is never explained) it just felt too... flat to me. I felt like there was almost too much drama and intrigue going on, that the supernatural world
...more
Katherine Paschal
All Sam has left is her sister, and together the two of them try and live life as normally as possible. Sam gets a letter in the mail saying she must go to a will reading for a woman she never met, which she promptly disregards because she assumes they have the wrong Sam. But strange things keep happening around her, like bodies that burst into flames and large dogs that appear out of nowhere. Don’t even get her started on her sorta stalker Dan who refuses to leave her alone until she admits she ...more
Meghan Lloyd
Apr 04, 2016 rated it really liked it
This book got off to a slow start for me, but I did end up really enjoying it! This author writes characters really well, making them relatable and easy to picture.

I'm not able to give too much detail about the setting, as I was fairly confused by this throughout the book. While I was able to enjoy the book by filling in the blanks, I was frequently confused by the lack of adults. It was eventually explained, but I still didn't understand - is this a parallel universe? Post-apocalyptic? We have
...more
P Leslie
Dec 01, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
*I voluntarily read a Review Copy of this book, gifted to me by the author. All opinion stated are solely my own and no one else's*

It took me awhile to get into this book, and although I enjoyed it, there were things that I wasn't too keen on.

I liked the paranormal aspect of the book and was particularly liked the vampire - sorry can't remember his name. However, I was left wanting more, this area wasn't fully explored.

The plot was interesting and there were parts of the book that were dry and
...more
Kristi Housman Confessions of a YA Reader
I received this book from netgalley for review.

I really enjoyed Fire Girl. It's a great start to a new paranormal series. Sam doesn't know that she's a witch growing up with her sister Ally. She received a notice from a law firm to attend a will reading for her mother, but the mother she knew died before this. Daniel is a werewolf/shifter whom she meets one night when she happens upon a body burning outside. Dan is drawn to Sam after Simone, Sam's mom, binds him to Sam as payment for a service s
...more
shannonbookishlife
Received for review from netgally and the publisher this has no way affected my opinion

This book was confusing at the start but once i got into it I was hooked.

Samantha is s 16 year old with a bright future living with her older sister Ally on their own as they have lost their parents things are tight but with a paid summer internship at the top lab at the university things are definitely looking good. One night a stranger comes into Sams life and he is about to change it forever. Daniel made s
...more
Stephanie
Let me just say there was nothing really new about this book. The plot was terribly predictable, as were the characters and don't even get me started on the suspense, which by the way was very wanting. I wasn't left begging for more after finishing each chapter. Infact reading this was like Deja Vu for me. The plot's similar to a lot of other paranormal young adult literature I've read before. Nothing really stands out. Plus I did not like the male leads romance with the female (none of whose na ...more
Kriselda Gray
Jan 09, 2017 rated it liked it
A solid supernatural suspense romance

"Fire Girl" is a nice urban fantasy book, and the first book of the series "A Tale of Witches and Wolves." The story moves at a steady pace and isn't overcrowded with so many characters that you have to look back to figure out if you met someone already. The author has laid the story out neatly with some good foreshadowing that doesn't give away all the surprises. The romance is a bit lacking in this volume, but only because one half of the couple is under a
...more
Alicia
I was a bit off-put by trying to understand why our main characters are teenagers, but that came and went as I was interested in the situation that Samantha was put in and the relationship between Dan and her.

And, I'm a sucker for some witches and wolves. It reminds me of Shiver and The Witching Hour all rolled in to one. So I'm a fan of some good ol' fashion magic and fantasy. The dynamic between the characters moved the story forward, making it feel new adult rather than YA.
...more
Jasmin
Jun 02, 2016 rated it really liked it
The author of this book was kind enough to give me a copy of this book for an honest review!
I really, really liked this book! I enjoyed the story, the world was great and the characters were even better.
I'm going to go ahead and say that Sam is one of my favourite female leads, she's strong and independent. She doesn't rely on anyone to save her, Sam's decisions are precise and well thought out. I absolutely love her.
I'm a sucker for fantasy, combine all the mythical creatures and throw them in
...more
Whitney
Jul 01, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I received this book free for an honest review and I really enjoyed it. It was a really decent book that just sucked me into its world. I didn’t want to put it down until I read the last page and even then I wanted more. This book was a supernatural book through and through. It had witches, demons, vampires, wolf-shifters, and humans. The main characters Samantha and Daniel just make you fall in love with them. Samantha a witch in denial and Daniel a wolf-shifter forced to protect her go on a jo ...more
Book Wings
May 25, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Samantha Miles (Beaufort) has no idea that she's part witch when she receives a letter from a lawyer inviting her to the reading of her mother's last will. Vampires, werewolves, witches, and demons OhMy!
This book is a page turner from the very beginning. The overwhelming sense of doom to the big questions that needed answers made it hard to put the book down. Even on the last page I was still wanting more. This would be a great book to make a series out of. I definitely want to check out more b
...more
Jennifer Scott
I received a copy of this story from Net Galley. Yay books!

Spoilers possible ahead...

This story was okay. It had some parts in it that I really liked and some parts that made my eyes roll into the back of my head. Seriously. The ending was kind of a surprise, not the romance part, that was pretty much a given...but the part about who her father is. I actually didn't see that coming. If you're into YA paranormal romance, then this would be a story to read.
Wyldrabbit
Oct 18, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Although I had a difficult time at the beginning of this book, it turned out to be a quick, fun read that I enjoyed very much. There were some parts that I would have wanted to know more about, maybe some history behind the wolves, and the vampires. I usually do not pick up books that are YA, so this is new for me, and I found this one to be very satisfying. The cover rocks, and that deserves stars all by itself.
Amanda Passalaqua
Jun 29, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I wasn't too sure about this book in the beginning, it seemed a little rushed. A few chapters in and I didn't want to put it down. The story kept my interest, I wanted to know what was going to happen next. The book was overall well written.
Riddhi
May 16, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I read this book with the help of NetGalley.The story is simply amazing.I t is interesting to read about witches and wolves.
Morgan Beard
Dec 28, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Awesome

Loved this story was awesome never read anything this interesting with all the different plots love love.you won't be disappointed
Edye
Oct 25, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book had its high and low points. I loved the beginning and the middle. The end, however, fell a little short for me. I don't know what I was expecting, but I was a little underwhelmed by it. This book is one that I'm glad I read and would recommend if you're looking for a witch-y, young love story.

*I received a free e-copy of this book in exchange for my honest review via Netgalley.*
Bobbie
Apr 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: ya, witches, paranormal, curse
It's not often any more that a new YA paranormal comes along and really catches my attention. The market is so flooded, it's a hard task to find something that really suits me as a reader. I've definitely become pickier over the years. But Fire Girl had me from the moment I saw that gorgeous cover and read the intriguing blurb. I loved the magic and the mystery, the characters and the dialogue - for me this was a fully immersive experience.

Samantha is a wonderful character to have in a YA paran
...more
Brygitt Pfaff
My thoughts -

I read this book from April 28th - May 2nd via Bluegrass Press (Pikko's House) on Netgalley. I did run into a few technical difficulties and glitches, which I've informed the publisher about. Over all, this book was well written. I thought the plot was simple and easy to follow. It was semi-predictable. I was disappointed that the story ended up being anticlimactic. The characters (Samantha & Daniel) seemed to be in denial throughout the entire book, which really puts a damper on th
...more
Sue Wallace
Jan 16, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Fire girl by Andy Mulberry is a ya and paranormal read.
No such thing as fate or magic—16-year-old Samantha wouldn't be caught dead wishing upon a star. But when she stumbles upon a crime scene resembling her worst nightmares, something inside her comes undone. A mysterious guy, who's as handsome as he's weird, shows up at her side. And her summer break becomes suddenly a whole lot more interesting. So interesting, it tears her life apart.
I really enjoyed this book. Samantha is my favourite char
...more
Samantha
This was just an ok book for me. It didn't really pique my interest and I really didn't like Samantha all that much. I mean she goes from being a very non-believer in magic to all of a sudden going out into the wilderness and she accepts being a witch? She was all it's my way or I'll wait for you to leave and then continue to do what I wanted in the first place.

I wouldn't necessarily recommend this book, unless you have nothing else to read at the moment then I'd say give it a shot. Maybe you'l
...more
mypoppingthoughts
Jul 03, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: arc
First, thank you very much for allowing me a free copy of this book.

The first part of the story made me say.. “Whaaattttt????” I mean, on my point of view, the author failed to establish the connection, between Dan and Sam. The only explanation is just because of Simone, but for me it’s not enough. I’m looking for some grounds here…. but….

Continue reading my review here: https://mypoppingthoughts.wordpress.c...
...more
Yara
Main guy wolf boy is bewitched to help witch girl. Sounds typical and a bit overdone, but the story was ok. It moved at a nice clip. There were a few surprise plot points I wasn't expecting, and the ending was good.
Hannah Roselyn Bloczynski
Skip this book. Seriously. The plotting and pacing both were terrible. While I didn't hate the heroine, I couldn't bring myself to even like her either. Don't get me started on literally every male character in this book. Can you say problematic romantic archetypes? Just ew, no, not happening, toxic masculinity spill on aisle everywhere. Thank God it was free, because I would be seriously pissed if I had wasted money as well as my time on this crap.

I was, in fact, given a free copy of this book
...more
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Found (Books of Stone, #1)
  • No Strings Attached (Last Hope Ranch, #1)
  • Roam (Roam, #1)
  • Three Kinds of Wicked (The True and the Crown, #1)
  • Voodoo Knights (Black Magic Harem, #1)
  • Mates Since Birth (Half-breed Shifters, #3)
  • When Evil Comes To Play (The Veil Diaries, #5)
  • Moonlight Heart (The Witch and the Wolf Pack #4)
  • Illusion of Escape (Crystal Clear, #1)
  • Ruinous (Order of the Fallen #1)
  • Touch Of Regret (The Collectors, #1)
  • Written (The Librarian's Coven #1)
  • The Rise of Babylon (Harem of Babylon, #2)
  • Lies and Other Drugs (Lies, #1)
  • Awakened And Betrayed (The Lost Sentinel, #2)
  • Crimson Sins
  • James (Circle Eight, #7)
  • Sunshine and Bullets (The Bullets, #1)
See similar books…
225 followers
Andy loves to write books filled with strange adventures, odd characters and mysterious circumstances. She lives in Southern California with her scowling teenager, a chubby blue cat-beast, an imaginary dog and one leaky roof.

Other books in the series

A Tale of Witches and Wolves (2 books)
  • Ice Girl (A Tale of Witches and Wolves, #2)

News & Interviews

Let's talk books, shall we? As you can imagine, Goodreads editors are voracious readers and there's nothing we like more than talking shop. Seriou...
26 likes · 12 comments