Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Fallen Star (The Nocturnals #3)” as Want to Read:
The Fallen Star (The Nocturnals #3)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Fallen Star

(The Nocturnals #3)

by
4.23  ·  Rating details ·  48 ratings  ·  24 reviews
In The Fallen Star, Dawn, Tobin, and Bismark awaken one evening to a disaster: all of the forest's pomelos have been mysteriously poisoned! As the Nocturnal Brigade sets out to investigate, they encounter Iris, a mysterious aye-aye, who claims monsters from the moon are to blame. While the three heroes suspect a more earthly explanation, the animals of the valley are all ...more
Hardcover, 208 pages
Published May 2nd 2017 by Fabled Films Press
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Fallen Star, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Fallen Star

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.23  · 
Rating details
 ·  48 ratings  ·  24 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Fallen Star (The Nocturnals #3)
Jim
Oct 08, 2019 rated it it was ok
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Suzanne
Mar 13, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ya-kid-lit
In their first appearance (The Mysterious Abductions), three very different animals - Tobin the pangolin, Bismarck the sugar glider, and Dawn the fox- work together to save themselves from a hungry snake on the very first night they meet. That success leads to the formation of the Nocturnal Brigade, with the three new friends ready to help others. In this third adventure the friends are watching falling stars and see one crash down near their valley. Strange things begin to happen after it ...more
Valerie
Apr 24, 2017 rated it really liked it
I am excited to be here today to bring you a review of the 3rd Nocturnals book! This book is another geared at the middle school age and we once again get to meet up with the friends we made in the first two books. This time the crew has gotten sick and they must work together to solve what is causing it.

I enjoy these books because they have themes that I believe in woven throughout the story. It's not in your face, but done in a tactful way. I appreciate the story very much throughout. My
...more
Tori Kelley
Mar 06, 2017 rated it really liked it
I was mailed this book as an ARC (advanced reading copy) and wanted to give it an honest review in return. This was the first chapter book my seven year old daughter ever let me read to her. And then the five year old came in and he was also hooked. They loved it! Fraught with age-appropriate peril, my kids were deep in thought about what would happen next and truly cared about the characters. Bismark was good for laughs with his multi-lingual personality. The story held their attention to the ...more
Jill
May 07, 2017 rated it really liked it
Dawn, Tobin, and Bismark continue their adventures when they go on a quest to find out what is making the animals in their valley sick. Tobin is poisoned and much of the story is spent looking for a cure. Hecht uses real nocturnal animals found in exotic places. The tale contains lessons about friendship, first impression, and a very interesting biological weapon. This is the third book in the series.

Through a promotion giveaway, the publisher I was randomly chosen to receive this book free. I
...more
Stephanie
Feb 25, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: middle-grade, arc
3.5 stars

This was the second Nocturnals book I have read (I started with the second book in the series) and this is my favorite one so far. As far as I can tell all of the books, while part of a series, can be read as stand-alone novels.

It was a quick and entertaining read. The plot was fast paced enough to hold even short attention spans while still being entirely coherent. It also introduces readers to rare animals that are likely unfamiliar. The mystery was well done and I honestly didn't see
...more
 wade
Jul 03, 2017 rated it really liked it
The third in a series of books with unlikely animal heroes, a fox, a pangolin and a sugar glider who call themselves the Nocturnal Brigade. There is always a catastrophe that starts these books and this one begins with a meteor crashing to earth which starts a dangerous chain of events. This book is pure fantasy but does teach about the characteristics of different unusual animals. A humorous subplot deals with the amorous sugar glider's (Bismark) cross species courtship of the fox (Dawn) who ...more
Lauren
Jun 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing
In Tracey Hecht’s, “The Fallen Star,” her readers will find the perfect addition to The Nocturnals series. As Dawn, Bismark, and Tobin begin another heroic crusade, Hecht expands the wonderful world of The Nocturnal Brigade. Her readers will enjoy more of Bismarck’s comical chatter and Tobin’s goofy heroics. New characters like Aye-aye Iris and the lemurs make an exciting debut. While combining animal facts with a well-devised plot, Hecht yet again creates a story your kids will love!
Gisselle
Jun 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I loved reading this book with my nephews. It was awesome to see their imaginations working as we took turns reading.
The book is creatively written, allowing us to easily get into a detailed discussion about self acceptance and friendship. The characters are witty, likeable, and share an endearing adventure that is fun to unfold. It's the perfect book for children embarking on a passion for reading.
Neva Womack
Jan 28, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Thoroughly delightful book geared toward 3rd to 5th graders. Met some unusual animals that I, as an adult, had never heard of and had to look up to educate myself - pangolin, aye-aye, woylie, and bilby. I think every elementary school library should have this book and the 2 preceding ones. When I was in elementary school an eternity ago, I had one teacher who read to us after lunch each day. She read some of the most amazing books to us and instilled my love of reading to this day.
Maria Berg
Jun 28, 2017 rated it really liked it
This is a fun and unique story. Because I started with the third book in the series, I think I missed some character development, but I enjoyed the collection of animals I wouldn't usually read about. There were a few too many "mon dieu"s for my taste and I found the use of French and Spanish in the same sentence a bit odd. Overall, I enjoyed the story.
Aaron Schefflin
Dec 07, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
A great sequal

Not as good as the original but still great

They used the antagonist in a different way than usual and made him a solid at first but was revealed later on as a result a finding flowers. Speaking of which the concept of the blue flowers during the scorpion poison was also good plot design when you find out about them.
Janice Cafarelli
Nov 03, 2017 rated it really liked it
I won this book on Goodreads. It's a wonderful book for middle school age kids and as an adult I was wonderfully entranced by the story. There was enough mystery and silliness to keep kids interested.
All kinds of excitement happens when a meteor lands in the forest late one night and The Nocturnal Brigade is called into action. Can they find the aliens and save the animals ??
Lourdes
May 30, 2017 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed the characters and their adventures.

Review to follow.
Crystal ✬ Lost in Storyland
3.5 stars.

I enjoyed this book much more than the first two books. The conflict was intriguing and had me worried about the fates of the forest animals. It actually felt like they were in danger, and there was a real mystery here. I would recommend this book to young readers who love animals and would be interested in reading an animal book that takes place in a foreign country!

Full review on the blog. Link below.

Kris @Imaginary Reads
M.
Oct 31, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: good-reads
What a cute book and a fun read!
Terri Bond
Dec 01, 2017 rated it really liked it
A book for all ages. I enjoyed this story.
A. Hunt
Oct 25, 2017 rated it really liked it
Cute and fun, as with the other books. A full review to come.
Elizabeth Meadows
Super cute and I have enjoyed learning about nocturnal animals that I had not heard of before. Really good series!
S
May 10, 2017 rated it really liked it
Good Read winner- Good book for older elementary or middle school age children. Intriguing story that you will definitely want to read to the end.
Shirley
Apr 26, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Grab your cape and embark on an adventure with Dawn, a wise red fox, Tobin, a kind and brave Pangolin covered with scales that resemble the leaves of an artichoke, (p.15) and Bismark a bilingual, alliteration-speaking Sugar Glider.

Book three in the Nocturnal series is called Fallen Star. It has a reading level of 5.2 and an interest level of third through sixth grade. It isn't a fantasy adventure for the faint of heart with its poisonous pomelos, monsters from the moon, and an invasion of
...more
Natalie {I'd So Rather Be Reading}
The Fallen Star is the 3rd installment in The Nocturnals series. This series is one of my absolute favorite middle grade reads, I always learn something new in each adventure. I like how the author focuses on one of the members of the brigade and this time it's Tobyn who happens to be my favorite! I love his personality. The new animal we are introduced to (I don't want to give it away) is a really strange creature I knew nothing about. As usual I had to do some research and was able to enlisted ...more
Stacey Ashton
Feb 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing
My niece and I were unable to put down Tracey Hecht’s third book in The Nocturnals. The addition of new characters, more nocturnal animal facts, and delightful dialogue between Dawn the fox, Bismark the sugar glider and Tobin the pangolin had us giggling! In this new world filled with lemurs, star creatures, aye-ayes (look them up!) and blue glowing animals, we found ourselves alongside the three friends on their search for the disappearing blue flowers and the strange star creatures. The Fallen ...more
Rumur
rated it it was amazing
Apr 12, 2017
Alex
rated it really liked it
May 20, 2017
Christie
rated it really liked it
Jun 05, 2017
Louve
rated it liked it
Sep 30, 2018
Erin Yun
rated it it was amazing
Jul 29, 2019
Gabriel Gerstman
rated it it was amazing
Sep 14, 2019
Tatum B-B
rated it really liked it
Aug 27, 2018
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
93 followers
Tracey Hecht has written, directed, and produced for film. The American Booksellers Association chose the first book in her critically acclaimed middle grade series, The Nocturnals: The Mysterious Abductions, as a Kids’ Indie Next List pick.

In 2017, she expanded the series to include early reader books, so that families could share the reading experience together. In partnership with the New York
...more

Other books in the series

The Nocturnals (4 books)
  • The Mysterious Abductions (The Nocturnals #1)
  • The Ominous Eye (The Nocturnals #2)
  • The Hidden Kingdom (The Nocturnals #4)