Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Politically Incorrect” as Want to Read:
Politically Incorrect
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Politically Incorrect

by
4.33  ·  Rating details ·  223 ratings  ·  131 reviews
Sex. Lies. Greed. Power. Scandal. Politics.

Political strategist, Elizabeth McNeal has been called a lot of things throughout her career—bitch being at the top of the list—but she doesn’t let it get to her. She’s bold, she’s blunt, and she takes orders from no one. This is how she’s survived working in a man’s world. She’s the master of diversion, and her specialty is winni
...more
Paperback
Published August 16th 2016 by Enchanted Publications
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Politically Incorrect, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Politically Incorrect

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Nicola
Aug 04, 2016 rated it it was amazing
4.5 stars.

Politically Incorrect is the first book I've read by Jeanne McDonald, and I can say without a shadow of a doubt I'll be reading her again, because this was a great read. Mixing politics with romance is generally a winning combination for me and this is up there as one of the best I've read.

description

Now I'm going to go against the grain, and the blurb, and say, to me, Elizabeth McNeal is no bitch. She's a focussed, independent, strong, dedicated woman who has raised her daughter single-handedly
...more
1-Click Addict Support Group
Aug 17, 2016 rated it it was amazing
It's been a while since I've read a book that took so little to get me so worked up, but Politically Incorrect did exactly that.

A look.
A touch.
A few sweet, dirty words.
And BAM, an explosion of fluttery butterflies and an aching need to see Lizzy and Liam win.

Good grief, Jeanne McDonald knows how to amp up the sexual tension. I thought for a minute there I would explode from the heat, the chemistry and the sizzle sparking off Elizabeth McNeal and William Baxter, but thankfully, I survived to see
...more
DJ Sakata
Favorite Quotes:

Mr. Right wasn't in the cards for me. Mr. Good for Right Now was all I needed. At least with him, I could toss him back when I was done. No harm, no foul.

From what I've heard your fly's open more than a Google homepage.

No matter how hard I tried, I couldn't fall asleep without him beside me... So I did what any normal, red-blooded American woman would do. I got out of bed, slipped into his discarded shirt, and began to snoop.

I hardly classify as a bimbo according to what you said
...more
Melanie Moreland
Jul 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
It’s no secret I am a fan of Jeanne McDonald’s writing, or the woman herself. Her new book Politically Incorrect is one of her best.
Her leading lady, Elizabeth McNeal, has been described by many as a bitch. To me she is a great example of a woman making it in a man’s world on her own terms. Smart, capable, and driven. All these things valued in a male, yet picked on when displayed by a woman. She is also divorced, raising her daughter, and trying to teach her how to be her own person. She is my
...more
Mari
Oct 19, 2016 rated it it was amazing
What a clever play on the title. This is somehow fitting read with the recent election stuff. Granted with a lighter note and fiction of course. I always find politics and romance mixing interesting, I've only read a few with that theme and it always good combination to explore. This I think was one of the best ones I've read so far. The blurb is what made me curious despite being unfamiliar with the author.

Elizabeth McNeal is at the top of the game as political strategiest,  focused, independe
...more
J.R.
Jul 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Here’s to Eliza-bitch. A truly realistic representation of just about every woman I know out there who’s a mother, a career woman, someone who’s had her heart broken by lover, friend or foe, or any combination of the above for mentioned existences.
My biggest take away from a lot of this book- aside from the awesomeness that is Elizabeth + Liam mind you- is her relationship with her daughter. I freaking adore this woman and all her strengths (and weaknesses). What a great role model she is for Jo
...more
Sally
Jul 17, 2016 rated it it was amazing
What a totally appropriate book for this election year. It was so much fun seeing some of the crazy, and sometimes ugly, sides of what goes on behind the scenes in a political contest.

When we first meet out protagonists, Elizabeth McNeal and William “Liam” Baxter, it is unclear how these two would be able to get along. The initial tension between them stems from her pretty solid preconceived notions about Liam that could color how she “handles” him. As the story begins, these two are constantly
...more
Alissa
Jul 04, 2016 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed my first book by Jeanne McDonald! Politically Incorrect was a smart, witty read about political adviser Elizabeth and the sexy Congressman Liam Baxter, who she's trying to help get elected to the Senate. It was an interesting romance story with a behind the scenes look at a political campaign as the backdrop. Elizabeth was a fantastic heroine - intelligent and sassy, and I LOVED that she was my age!! It took a while for Elizabeth and Liam to get together but once they did, they ...more
Beth
Jul 31, 2016 rated it it was amazing
4.5 Behind the Scenes Stars



Pull the lever. Drop the balloons. Cast your vote. This one is a winner.

Elizabeth is a political insider. As a campaign manager she knows how to manage other people's lives. At 45, she knows what she wants in her life. Her career and her daughter are her priority. She is really good at both.

Liam is a candidate for the open Texas Senate race. In his mid 30's, he is young, good looking, confident and the rarest of finds.....an honest politician. The only draw back is hi
...more
Carrie Elks
Aug 03, 2016 rated it it was amazing
It's no secret that I'm a sucker for a political romance, so when I was offered an ARC of Politically Incorrect I was all grabby hands and 'gimme gimme gimme'. And from the moment I opened my kindle, I knew I was going to love this book. The main heroine, Elizabeth McNeal, is so refreshing and kick ass, so from the start I found myself rooting for her. A forty-something divorcee, with an almost-grown daughter, she finds herself trying to negotiate the quagmire of dating as a more mature (not old ...more
Stephanie Daley
Jul 13, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I LOVED this book!
From page one this story sucked me in. This is one of my favorite books this year! The main character, Elizabeth, rocked it as a hard ass campaign manager and single mom. Liam was just hot and awesome. I loved the back and forth banter between these two leads. The sub characters in Politically Incorrect were amazing as well, I hope Aaron and Scout get there own novel. The plot was continuously entertaining with many lol moments as well as hot and steamy. There were a few plot t
...more
Martyk
Mar 21, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Just loved this story!!! Such a fun fast paced political story! I really loved these characters. The congressman is my new book boyfriend!!!
The Book Junkie Reads . . .
Did the opening not get you. Sex. Lies. Greed. Power. Scandal. Politics. I believe that said it all. I was just awed, wowed, stunned, confused, revived, intrigued, titillated, captivated, and so much more. Go get this book.

Elizabeth has a job to do and do it she will. Notwithstanding the intense attraction to the young, hot, sexy, honest politician that she has been hired to work for. She needs to build a strategy that will get him elected and keep her hands to herself at the same time.

An hone
...more
Irma
Feb 09, 2017 rated it liked it
I am not fond of a big age difference but surprisingly it was pulled of rather nicely.

This was a fun fast paced political story! I really loved the characters, expecialy Liam.

Sarah Reads "Reading in Sarah's Corner"
Man, oh man! Jeanne McDonald out did herself with this book. It is no surprise that I adore Jeanne McDonald's writing style. Her description and placement of detail will have you living the book with her characters.

This book went outside her normal wheelhouse and she hit it right out of the ballpark folks!! You instantly get sucked into the word of Politically Incorrect from that very first page.

Jeanne took a scenario and reversed the playing field with her dominate, independent, job-focused ol
...more
Lourdes
Feb 04, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Elizabeth McNeal is a successful woman in a man’s world. As a political strategist, she has to be. When she’s enlisted to manage the campaign of a man 10 years her junior who is to run for a seat in the Senate, she finds herself unnerved by his good looks, infuriated by his need to be in the midst of everything and challenged every step of the way. This is rather difficult for a woman used to be in control, calling the shots for her clients without being questioned because face it, she’s the bes ...more
Felicia Eddy
Mar 21, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I first have to say I love Jeanne McDonald's writing style, her books are rich in dialog and exposition and I am so happy that Politically Incorrect doesn't disappoint.

Elizabeth has been a political consultant for years and she is the best in the business. She is at a point in her career and personal life that she is unapologetic for who she is and is fine with that. The only person she worries about impressing is her grown daughter. Elizabeth has decided a long time ago that she is ok with thi
...more
2OCC Reviews
Oct 18, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: gemma
Jeanne McDonald has written a compelling story that mixes politics and romance together. I am a big fan of these types of stories and was not disappointed with politically incorrect. Politically incorrect was a perfect combination of romance, politics, humour and drama.



Congressmen Liam Baxter was an honest and sexy male character. Liam made me swoon many times with the things that he says to Elizabeth and other times he made me laugh with his ties that he wore. I loved the way that Liam protect
...more
Nicole Sullivan
Aug 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing
An older woman.
A younger man.
A handler.
A politician.
Instant attraction and desire.
A scandal in the making.
On the surface, Politically Incorrect is scandalous, but deep down it's about a woman, who's so good at her job she uses it as a shield. She convinces herself that being on the sidelines is what's best, when really, she was born to shine.

Elizabeth McNeal is the best in handling wayward politicians and helping them rise to greatness. She has a daughter attending college and she lives t
...more
Brandy
Jul 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Politically Incorrect was OH SO Correct!! This was my first book by author Jeanne McDonald and after reading the synopsis I knew I had to meet Liz and Liam. I adored Eliza-bitch...in so many way. She was freaking amazing. It was nice to finally see a strong, powerful and confident woman that was not afraid to go after a career and life that she wanted. Liz made no excuses for her success and I LOVE that about her. In romance novels the male character typically 'takes over' the female lead; not i ...more
Clayr Catherall
Jul 13, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Wow!! This book was so good, it was totally different to anything I've ever read.
It was filled with lots of laugh out loud moments. Not to mention, some seriously hot, steamy encounters, that will have you fanning yourself. Loved all the characters, and hope there is a follow on to this book....

Elizabeth is a strong, kickass, take nonsense, political strategist. She's the best in her line of work, and didn't get there, by bowing down to anybody...

Congressman William Baxter is to be Elizabeth's n
...more
Mary Devereaux
Jul 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Jeanne McDonald stretches her writing fingers with her new book as she presents a strong female lead that has as much moxie as she does prowess in her field.

Elizabeth is a smart, older woman. A like able character that holds no punches. In her career as a campaign manager, she's the best. She's just cold and calculating enough to get her candidate to the top. But when she agrees to take on the younger Liam Baxter in his campaign for Senator, her determination to keep things professional begins t
...more
Autumn Beaty
Mar 21, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Baxter for President!! Politically Incorrect explores rhe relationship between the sexy William "Liam" Baxter and the strong willed Texas woman who is tasked with helping him get further in his political career. Elizabeth is sassy and charming and definitely no damsel in distress. She can hold her own against the best of them, and knows how to get what she wants. Sparks fly between Liam and Eliabeth from the very beginning and reading their story unfold was quite a treat. From ugly ties to the d ...more
Jess Brown
Aug 31, 2016 rated it really liked it
Timely story.

Jeanne McDonald is a talented storyteller. I really enjoyed looking behind the scenes of Liam’s political campaign. I liked him immensely. He’s mature and wise beyond his years, and it’s therefore not in the least surprising that he gravitates toward older women. In fact, this pair is beautifully matched. I was completely comfortable with the age gap, which is rare for me. In most stories I’ve read about an older woman and a younger man, the relationship reads as a little creepy. No
...more
Becca Reads A Lot
Jul 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing
5 Jalepeno stars

If you are looking for a story with some tension, steam, heart, and light, check out Politically Incorrect.

McDonald writes tension like a badass. I was so surprised and excited by the way this story unfolded.
It was a sweet and moderately steamy read.

Liam and Elizabeth had the odds stacked against them. But when they got together, you couldn't help but swoon.

I look forward for more from McDonald especially after reading this nice, easy read!
Stacy Aube
Jun 01, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I received this book for a honest review.

This was a great book and very appropriate for election time. It was fun to see a behind the scenes kind of thing. Elizabeth is a powerhouse of a woman. Laim is the perfect candidate. I loved the interaction between the two. I am a fan of Jeanne's books so I highly recommend.
BethyMac
Jul 15, 2016 rated it really liked it
4 stars

A really great and very enjoyable political read. Really loved both Elizabeth and Liam's characters and absolutely loved the immediate chemistry and build up between these two. Will definitely be checking out more books by this author now for sure. Full review can be found at https://www.goodreads.com/review/show...
Eva • All Books Considered
3.5 STARS
Malacima
Mar 31, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: adult-romance
3.87 -Sweet erotic romance with older heroine Elizabeth and young man Liam(Senator/Congressman) in the political world. Easy to read.There is just enough political race business to make the story believable and interesting. The main heroine is full of attitude,witty and kick ass.From the start I found myself rooting for her.I loved easy banter.The only disappointment is too much sweetness in the end and the other half of the book is too quick.The only thing I would have liked to hear would have ...more
Lustful Literature
Aug 16, 2016 rated it really liked it

Beth's Review

Although I don’t read political romances very often, I must say I do really enjoy them. There is just something about a hot and sexy Politician that I absolutely love. I also love finding new authors to read so when I saw the chance to review this political romance, it intrigued me and I jumped at the chance to read it. So glad I did as I really enjoyed this one and will definitely be checking out more by this author.

Elizabeth McNeal is the best of the best when it comes to being a
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Bargain Basement: $10 Amazon Gift Card 1 8 Oct 20, 2016 03:10PM  
440 followers
Jeanne McDonald enjoys writing contemporary fiction filled with spice, romance, drama, and humor. She prides herself in being a mother, a friend, a student of knowledge and of life, a coffee addict, a philosophy novice, a pop culture connoisseur, inspired by music, encouraged by words, and a believer in true love.

Jeanne is the founder of the author co-op, Enchanted Publications, and is an avid su
...more