Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The River's Edge” as Want to Read:
The River's Edge
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The River's Edge

by
4.33  ·  Rating details ·  24 ratings  ·  10 reviews
“Set in 1976, the intriguing story includes some unexpected plot turns. Delving into heavy family issues, this novel is best suited for more mature teens. VERDICT Consider as a purchase for readers who enjoy books by April Henry.” — School Library Journal

“The book is one that teens will read, engaging with Chris, her feelings, and her fight for survival in a terrible situa
...more
Paperback, 208 pages
Published October 28th 2016 by Bedazzled Ink Publishing
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The River's Edge, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The River's Edge

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-41
4.33  · 
Rating details
 ·  24 ratings  ·  10 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Kayla
Dec 21, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: favorites
Tina Sears' debut novel, The River's Edge, is the kind of novel that will bring readers to the edge of something real. Following the protagonist, Chris Morgan, during the summer of 1976, this novel is at times bright with the beauty of first love, friendship, and family, while maintaining a sense of secretive danger. which is compelling.

While the beginning of the novel introduces young adult readers to a time they may not know, Sears has painted such a realistic picture of summer in the 70s tha
...more
G. MA
Jan 14, 2017 rated it really liked it
This book swept me away in its pages, in the current, and pulled the tears out of me from my toes. Not a light read, and at times triggering, but a powerful story full of beauty and fierceness, honesty, and raw, unfiltered truth. It will grab you. It may pull you under. Powerful read.

I really liked the interaction between the main character, Chris, and her "boyfriend," Reds. This section summed up what I liked about them and why they were the perfect fit for each other:

"But I liked Reds. And he
...more
Lisa Kishpaugh
Feb 04, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I really enjoyed this book. It was such a cute and interesting story of the lives of teenagers and the difficult things they endure in that stage of life. It was so good that I think there should be a series or sequel of the book. I say this because the story ended in suspense where there could definitely be more to be told. For instance: If the one girl went on to lead a normal life after her ordeal, what the teens ended up doing after graduating from high school; college, careers, family etc. ...more
Jill Dater
Aug 27, 2017 rated it really liked it
Sears book The River's Edge made me both feel such sadness about a world where children are hurt but also such a belief in the strength of the human spirit.

Chris Morgan's mother drops her off in the summer of 1976 at her Aunt and Uncle's house at the lake for the summer while her parents are going through a divorce. At first, she's excited to spend time with her cousin and new friends but then when her Uncle drinks he becomes another person. As the summer continues what has seemed like a fun su
...more
Jackee
Feb 04, 2017 rated it it was amazing
This book is full of tough topics told with clarity and feeling. It's one of those books that will hopefully help those going through similar issues (such as divorce and abuse) to know they're not alone.
Beth Rodgers
Nov 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
'The River's Edge' by Tina Sears is a hauntingly telling read, with powerful descriptions. Sears' debut novel packs a punch and engages readers with real-life issues that many teens, and even many adults, face. A definite title to add to any contemporary young adult fan's reading list.

To read the full review, visit http://www.yabookscentral.com/yaficti...
Heather
Dec 06, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I could not put this down! Sears has proven herself a master storyteller with this first novel. A haunting story, with beautiful descriptions and lyrical prose. I cannot wait for another book by Ms. Sears!
Sarah Carlysle
Dec 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
The rivers edge is so interesting! I can't put it down and when I do I can't wait to pick it back up!
Adrienne Amborski
rated it liked it
Nov 16, 2016
Avery
rated it liked it
Nov 02, 2018
Fyre Curl
Apr 09, 2017 rated it really liked it
A true-to-life coming of age story with a strong theme of survival from a first time novelist. This is a read one is likely never to forget and will resonate with many female readers who have experienced similar tragedies. Chris is thirteen when she loses her family, her security and innocence. Her dad, a man she describes as: reliable as a fart in a windstorm, has left and her mother is unable to cope or care for Chris and so she is dumped off on the door step of an estranged brother and his fa ...more
Kate
rated it it was ok
Oct 01, 2016
Connie Vitiello
rated it liked it
Mar 18, 2017
Maria M. Self
rated it really liked it
May 31, 2017
Erica Holliday
rated it it was amazing
Feb 01, 2017
Catherine Gnadt
rated it it was amazing
Apr 23, 2016
Diane Les
rated it it was amazing
Apr 14, 2016
Jacquie Hart
Mar 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing
The tell-tell sign of a good fiction book is when you feel submersed inside the main character. You feel what he/she feels and have the same hopes. Tina Sears pulls the reader in by using detailed descriptions and an unusual weaving of metaphors, which makes for very interesting reading.

This story brings back the exciting memories of discovery, trial and error and summer love. Although it takes place in the 1970’s, a teen or an adult can identify with the emotions portrayed in it. Unfortunately,
...more
Tina Sears
Dec 16, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Jo Ann
rated it really liked it
Jul 21, 2018
Karen Richards
rated it it was amazing
Feb 05, 2019
Scitchr
rated it it was amazing
Jan 05, 2017
Jo
rated it it was amazing
Apr 27, 2016
Jennifer Brothers
rated it really liked it
Dec 29, 2018
Mell Blackman
marked it as to-read
May 02, 2016
Heather
marked it as to-read
May 10, 2016
Gary Nilsen
marked it as to-read
May 11, 2016
Megan
marked it as to-read
Aug 13, 2016
Hannah
added it
Sep 12, 2016
Taisha Casimir
marked it as to-read
Nov 12, 2016
Julie
added it
Nov 26, 2016
Moriah
marked it as to-read
Jan 31, 2017
Annie
marked it as to-read
Mar 13, 2017
Jill
marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2017
Garrett Stanley
marked it as to-read
Apr 29, 2017
Allison Trask
marked it as to-read
Jul 16, 2017
Melanie Patterson
marked it as to-read
Sep 10, 2017
Shawna
marked it as to-read
Sep 15, 2017
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »