Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Softpaw (Smilodon Pride, #1)” as Want to Read:
Softpaw (Smilodon Pride, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

Softpaw

(Smilodon Pride #1)

by
3.78  ·  Rating details ·  54 ratings  ·  33 reviews
Connor’s life could have been the dream of any cultured werecat. He is spending his days in Paris’ gay quarter with comfortably little real work, playing the piano, surrounded by art, fine food and good friends. It could have been, if not for a feral vampire preying on the prostitutes of ‘his’ quarter, killing the boys of the Marais one by one.

When Connor invites a newly
...more
Paperback, First Edition, 229 pages
Published July 14th 2016 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Softpaw, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Softpaw

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Optimist ♰King's Wench♰ & MANTIES Champion
2.5 Hearts

I wanted to love this book. I kept trying and trying to grab on and take the ride but just when I thought I had it...



I didn't have it.

It would take off in these weird tangents that lost me; shook me off like a bad habit. Everything I was interested in got scuttled to the back burner in favor of on overwhelming amount of aesthetic minutiae that left me bored and oftentimes confused.

Softpaw revolves around a serial killer who is targeting male prostitutes in the Marais arrondissement of
...more
Feliz
This book grabbed me right from the start and didn't let me go. I mean, come on, look at the blurb alone. Cultured,artsy black sabre tooth panther shifter living on a houseboat on the Seine meets hunky former rent-boy turned undercover cop posing as a street hustler while hunting a creepy, bloodsuckin' serial killer in Paris?

Rawr.

Add to that the cover, and I was so in. Right in the middle, at that. Paris is one of my favorite places on earth, and this book transported me right there, drew me i
...more
Ami
3.5 stars

First of all, there were moments were I was so appalled with the incompetence that Michel showed as a cop. I mean ... (view spoiler)
...more
Lila Hunter
Jul 08, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: zz-2016-arc-ses
Rating: 3.75 stars

My View: I had said, multiple times, that I have a soft spot for stories with rentboys and escorts. I like seeing how they evolved through the story and what caused those changes. In this case, we see a different side of the equation. And combined with an undercover investigation and a werecat, this story has the bones to be great.

This story got me more interested in the mystery aspect than the romance. Yes, it was nice to see how Connor's and Michel's feelings developed, but I
...more
Cryselle
Jun 27, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: shifter, paranormal
This book had me at the title - how could I resist a smilodon shifter? Connor was everything I hoped he would be and more, a man of culture and a saber-toothed panther. Michel, the hooker turned cop, was equally amazing, with his history, his climb to a better life, and his doubts about himself, his mission, and his new companion.

The prose was beautifully evocative, putting us right into the heart of Paris, from elegant offices to dank alleys, zinc rooftops, and the smoke filled clubs where agin
...more
Susan65
Jun 23, 2016 rated it really liked it
French, sassy, and sexy, combined with a side dish of a crazed paranormal serial killer. What an eye opening experience this story turned out to be. I was expecting the typical paranormal shifter with a murder mystery thrown in, but what you get is a lot more…and a lot less. The paranormal aspect really isn’t part of the story until much later and the romance develops slowly, as well. So, what do you get? You get a tour of the French gay scene, a safe place for the prostitutes (since prostitutio ...more
F.

*I received a copy of this book free from the author/s in exchange for an honest review*

Softpaw is a paranormal mystery.

Connor is of American Indian descent with an Aztec tinge (hence his darker skin) and has thin dreadlocks adorning his head. He lives on a large houseboat (apparently houseboat sitting for his sister) on the Seine in Paris and spends his days educating young minds about art and his evenings playing piano at Chez Chantal. He is also a sabre-toothed black panther unhappy that a r
...more
Tiferet
Jul 20, 2016 rated it really liked it
Very engaging story with great, likeable characters and fantastic, vibrant and vivid depictions of Paris. It has some facepalm-y moments but remains gripping to the very end.
Jane A
Jul 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
*I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review

This story is set in Paris, France and is told in 2 point of views; Michel's and Connor's. It all starts with a number of murders of male prostitutes of the Marais. The police have no leads to who may be the killer and they've become desperate, which is why they've brought in Michel, who because of his background is the best choice for going under cover as one of the prostitutes. He is supposed to keep an eye on Connor who seem
...more
Serena Yates
Apr 19, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
What do you get when you put together two men with deep, dark secrets, a serial killer who seems too smart for the police to catch, and a whole Parisian neighborhood full of young, vulnerable male prostitutes? A fantastic murder mystery, for sure, but also a slowly developing relationship and several suspenseful moments and situations. ‘Softpaw’ is a wonderful blend of mystery, a paranormal story, and a hard-won romance between lonely werecat, Connor, and ex-prostitute now undercover cop, Michel ...more
Aljoscha Steiner
Sep 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This was a rather unexpected read for me as I don’t usually go into books with urban fantasy or paranormal elements. I chose to read it just because I wanted something m&m happening in Paris for a change, entertaining and kind of different, from an author I didn’t know yet, getting me surprised. And wow, that was above all my expectations! I like to discover that there are great books in every genres or sub-genres!
The first thing I fell for in this book was the general atmosphere. I was surp
...more
Linda
Oct 06, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: kindle
Softpaw (Smilodon Pride Book 1) by Osiris Brackhaus and Beryll Brackhaus

Michel Dupont has a dubious past; he has fought his way back from sex, alcohol, and drug addiction with the help of his arresting officer, Capitaine Thierry Plouescat. Despite Plouescat and Michel’s rough start, Plouescat had become like a father to Michel. As such, after many months of rehab and therapy, Michel has recently graduated from E’cole Nationale de Police at the top of his class.

As his first assignment, Plouescat
...more
Tony Parsons
Jun 20, 2016 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
blub
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Ali
Jun 23, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: reviewed
A Scattered Thoughts and Rogue Words Review An Alisa Review:

Connor has been living a quiet life in Paris while trying to figure out what he really wants to do with his life. Connor is surprised when Michel takes him up on his open invitation for a place to stay. Both hide important information about themselves from the other while opening their hearts to the other.

This story is told from both of the main characters’ point of view, which helps to understand them a bit better. Connor does everythi
...more
Skye Blue ☆*~゚ლ(´ڡ`ლ)~*☆
I wavered between 3 and 4 stars, and decided to put 4.

I was very interested, and enjoyed most of the story.

I liked the supernatural aspect.

I started falling apart for me, when out of nowhere Conner professed his love. It stopped me cold. WTF? Of course, a few pages later I looked down to realize I was over the 90% or so mark, and realized time had run out, time to jump start the relationship.

The big bad fight was so so. I liked it, but it felt like something was missing, and it was rushed. We ne
...more
Lisa
I was given a copy of this book free by the author in exchange for an unbiased review.
Michel a cop goes undercover as a prostitute to try to catch a killer who is preying on other prostitutes.
Connor, a local piano player and friend to local male prostitutes offers to take Michel in for the night.
Connor is a werecat also trying to locate the killer.

Neither man knows the others secret. An interesting book based around Paris and telling of another world in which supernatural creatures exist but the
...more
tzinnamon
Oct 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Excellent story. I hope this duo writes fast as I want more. Dialogue was well developed, and characters were wonderful. Highly recommended.
Men In books
Dec 16, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Petite incursion dans Paris pour ce premier volume où l'on suit Connor un ailuranthrope : chat à dents de sabre - garou,qui évolue dans le quartier du Marais. Il navigue entre la musique dans un club Chez Chantal comme pianiste, et les musées en tant que guide pour enfants. La nuit, sous sa forme féline, il traque un meurtrier sanguinaire de prostitués masculins - surnommé Jacqueline - en résonance avec Jack l’éventreur. Connor se met sur la piste de ce monstre afin de mettre fin à ses agissemen ...more
Virginie Dauphin
Très belle découverte. merci pour ce SP qui m a fait découvrir un livre dans un registre différent sur les métamorphes. le suspens est présent et j ai beaucoup aimé le style de l'auteur. a recommander et j ai hâte de découvrir le tome 2 sur le 2 ème frère
Jeannie Zelos
Jul 14, 2016 rated it liked it
Softpaw, (Smilodon Pride 1),  Beryll Brackhau, Osiris Brackhaus 

Review from Jeannie Zelos book reviews

Genre: Romance, LGBTQIA, Fantasy and paranormal
 
New to me authors so I had no idea what to expect, but its shifters and romance so I wanted to try.
It was a book I enjoyed, a fun read, but I wasn’t totally invested in it.I put it aside a couple of times and picked up again later.  I’m not really sure why it was like that for me – all the elements were there, great characters, a decent plot, some
...more
Susana
Sep 30, 2016 rated it liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Susan
Jun 18, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: m-m-read
A copy of this book was provided for a fair and honest review through Love Bytes Same Sex Book Reviews.

This story grabbed me by the throat (no pun intended) and did not let me go. The writing is both engaging and comfortable and the suspense that builds as the story evolves was well done.

Michel is not your typical hero. He grew up on the streets as a prostitute with addictions. The friendship of a policeman helps him turn his life around and he is now a policeman himself. But he still has a lot
...more
Molly Lolly
Dec 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
Original review on Molly Lolly
Four and a half stars!
This story was so much fun. It was a pleasant harken back to the Golden Age of mysteries even if it wasn’t a whodunnit type. I loved the aspect of knowing who the bad guy was the whole time yet unable to solve the mystery of why he was killing and when he would strike next. Bringing the paranormal aspect to the mystery was far more fun than I expected. The way Connor held that from Michel added a fabulous dimension to the story. The tension of
...more
Roger - president of NBR United -
I got this for free in exchange for an honest review through the DBML program of the M/M Romance group at goodreads.

Normally this should be up my alley with hot cop a cat shifter mystery. Unfortunately this took forever to build up into a romance and to develop the plotline of the mystery. I was come on already let see something happen. Connor the saber tooth panther shifter is also a piano player and an African American. Michel is undercover as a hustler in the marais district where Conner Live
...more
Ilona
Jul 16, 2016 rated it really liked it
I received a free copy from author in exchange for an honest review. I had recently read a book by these authors, so was more than happy to find out if this book would be as good as the previous one had been. Actually I think this one was a little better because of the addition of the undercover nature of both main character. It was fun reading how they were both trying to be honest and aboveboard with their feelings for each other whist still trying to keep their secrets hidden. I believe I w ...more
Fangs for the Fantasy
Mar 06, 2017 rated it it was ok
Connor loves Paris and revels in his beautiful life in the museums of the city and the streets of Le Marais – and he’s always ready to take in waifs and strays who need shelter, good advice and a warm meal

But when these gay sex workers are targeted by a serial killer, Connor’s not going to stand aside and if he catches the serial killer they’ll find there’s another dangerous predator prowling the rooftops of Paris.

While Michel is an undercover cop, ideally placed to infiltrate the killers victim
...more
Osiris Brackhaus
Mar 09, 2016 marked it as written_by_me  ·  (Review from the author)
Softpaw is now available at all the usual shops! The list of shopping links will be maintained on our site, here: http://www.brackhaus.com/the-books/so...

Also, we have uploaded a free 30-page reading sample to Goodreads. You can find it on the book's page right below the cover image under the link 'read book'.

Reviewers looking for review copies please contact me directly.
Colette
4.5 I enjoyed this on a lot. It has all my favorite plot points: it's a mystery; cops; shifters; romance and good storytelling. Recommended
Curtis
A serial killer is targeting male prostitutes on the streets of Paris. And the grisly nature of the crimes earned the perp the moniker "Jacqueline the Ripper". At a complete loss for leads, the police are set to send Michel in undercover. The hope is he will make connections easily, since he used to work the streets before he joined the force. And as much as he never wants to fall back into that life, he knows that they need to do everything they can to catch a killer.
Connor seems to have what h
...more
« previous 1 next »

Other books in the series

Smilodon Pride (2 books)
  • Sunchaser (Smilodon Pride, #2)