Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Beat the Rain” as Want to Read:
Beat the Rain
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Read Book

Beat the Rain

by
3.94  ·  Rating details ·  177 ratings  ·  87 reviews
Alternate cover editions can be found here and here.

All relationships start out as love stories. They don't all end as one.

After Louise's lover passes away, will a fragile new relationship with his twin brother bring comfort -- or destroy them both? A haunting exploration of love and loss.

Goodreads Choice Awards nominee, Best Debut Author and Roundfire's Bestselling Ficti
...more
Paperback, 256 pages
Published July 29th 2016 by Roundfire Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Beat the Rain, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Beat the Rain

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.94  · 
Rating details
 ·  177 ratings  ·  87 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Beat the Rain
Shelby *trains flying monkeys*
Louise lives with her boyfriend Tom, they have a 'perfect' life. Tom has a big old secret though, he is dying and he doesn't tell anyone. Not even his twin brother Adam.
The story starts right after Tom has passed away. *not spoiling because it happens at the beginning*
Louise is crushed, then she gets a DVD from Tom. He sends his brother Adam a letter at the same time. He tells them both that since he is gone he knows that they love each other so they should do the hook up.
Palm Springs commercial photography

They jump right on
...more
Miriam Smith (A Mother’s Musings)
I was pleasantly surprised at how good "Beat the Rain" was, it really is a decent contemporary psychological novel that I enjoyed reading.
Louise is still grieving over the sudden death of her boyfriend Tom. Tom knew he was dying but chose to keep it a secret from her. Six months after his death Louise receives a DVD made by Tom before his death, seemingly giving her permission for her and Adam - his twin brother - to become romantically involved. The story follows Louise and Adam's relationship
...more
Magdalena
Nov 11, 2017 rated it really liked it
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Petra
Jul 16, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I would love to use something better than this worn-out cliché, but I'm tired today because of this book. So here goes, this really was an "emotional rollercoaster". One moment I was thinking things are picking up for the protagonists, perhaps this won't all go down the drain, the next moment it felt like I was being crushed, despairing, at the bleak bottom. And then there would be these really humorous scenes. That dinner party was hilarious.
Beat The Rain is the story of a relationship that is
...more
Louise Wilson
Jul 19, 2016 rated it really liked it
Louise is grieving the death of her husband Tom. Tom has a twin brother called Adam. Letting go of her past is not easy and she thinks that by marring Adam it will take the pain away.

This is a phycological thriller which is both heartbreaking and funny.

This book is not for people who can't cope with raw emotion as it will pull at your heartstrings.

I would like to thank Net Galley, John Hunt Publishing and the author Nigel Jay Cooper for my ARC in exchange for an honest review.
...more
Teresa
Louise and Tom fall madly in love. After what feels like a very short time together, Tom becomes ill, but doesn't tell Louise, and he also doesn't tell his twin brother Adam, in fact he tells no-one. But while Tom is busy dying, Louise and Adam are busy falling in love, they just haven't realized it yet, but Tom has. Adam has always taken second place to Tom. Adam is handsome, but not quite as handsome as Tom. Adam is clever, but not quite as clever as Tom - you get the picture? Will Adam and Lo ...more
Michelle Only Wants to Read
This book will break your heart. If you can't handle intense emotions, stay away from it.

Without trying to give much of the story away and avoiding repeating the blurb, one of the things I liked the most about the story is how Nigel Jay Cooper takes a challenging risk in this novel. He dares to reverse the traditional roles in a marriage and explores the different struggles parenthood can bring to a couple, and to each spouse. He goes deep in character development and introspection under both p
...more
Kristina
Jul 20, 2016 rated it really liked it
Beat the Rain is Nigel Jay Cooper's debut novel, and what an auspicious start to what will be an undoubtedly successful writing career. It's hard to say exactly what this book is about without giving too much away, so--read the book synopsis for plot details and I will share with you some of the great writing that's in this book. There's this:

"Perhaps that’s how all relationships end, not with a bang but with the accumulation of millions of tiny moments that matter, going unnoticed by one partne
...more
Javi
Nov 22, 2016 rated it liked it
* 2 and half stars*

This book was at times all over the place, trying to tackle too many issues at the same time and failing at it. The plot is pretty simple: it's the story of the relationship between Adam and Louise, which is flawed from the very beginning and simply goes downhill as they try to navigate everyday life in the shadow of Adam's twin brother, Tom. Once they get into their own dynamic, the author lays both characters totally bare by exposing their grief and especially their frustrat
...more
Brittany
This book was jacked, but I liked it. It's one of those books that feels like a reality tv show that you can't stop watching because the situation keeps deteriorating, and you want to watch everyone fail.

It starts with Louise's husband dying and then her pretty much immediately marrying his twin brother.... Socially, it goes downhill from there. It's bizarre to root for the failure of pretty much all of the characters, but this book gives you that.

This was entertaining, and a great guilty plea
...more
Rae Colley
Jul 22, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: netgalley
This debut novel by Nigel Jay Cooper is absolutely lovely and haunting. It’s a rare combination of page-turning psychological suspense and beautiful language.

Beat the Rain opens with the death of Tom, twin brother of Adam and partner of Louise. Tom’s death was unexpected by everyone except Tom himself, so the main characters are both left untethered by loss. They marry, and life proceeds as normal, until it doesn’t.

Narration alternates (mostly) between Louise and Adam, and I found Adam to be th
...more
Pia
Apr 23, 2016 rated it really liked it
Tom and Louise are a couple. Tom dies. Louise is devastated. Tom's twin brother, Adam, is devastated too.
And then Adam and Louise fall in love, marry, have children. Sounds complicated? It is...
Not only because of the social pressure (it's almost like incest, marrying your late lover's brother), but because Adam and Louise seem like star crossed lovers.

Adam is a writer who works from home and takes care of the children, Louise has a café and is at work all day long. Her kids barely know her, she
...more
Mollie
Jun 02, 2016 rated it really liked it
After reading the synopsis of this book, I thought I knew what to expect. After a chapter or two, I told myself I understood where the author was taking me. Time and again, I settled in for the ride only to fall flat on my face, breathless...

With each page, the question...should I believe? If so, whom? What?

Regarding any advice to the reader of this novel...a mysterious character says it best, "Don't try to beat the rain. Just accept that sometimes you're going to get wet."

Intrigued? Mystified
...more
Amanda Sayer
Oct 24, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2017-books-read
Wow! Couldn’t put this down!
The story starts with Tom and Louise and then Tom is dead and it seems that he has given Louise and Adam permission to get together. Adam is Tom’s twin brother. They live the dream for a while, get married and have children but due to Louise’s past she never thinks she is good enough. Then one day in walks Jarvis and she becomes obsessed. I can’t say anymore without giving the plot away. You must read it and find out!
A well written story with characters that you root
...more
Lianne
Jul 28, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Thank you to Netgalley, Nigel Jay Cooper, and the publishers for letting me read an advance copy of this book. Really - thank you!
Beat The Rain was not what I expected at all. Not from the cover, and not from the synopsis. I've read a few psychological thrillers recently and before too long they all blur into one. Similar story line and similar characters, so I had put off reading this one because I was becoming a bit bored of the genre in general. But I wouldn't class Beat The Rain as a psycho
...more
Chandra Claypool (WhereTheReaderGrows)
This is the story of Louise and Adam. Louise was originally the girlfriend of Tom (Adam's twin brother), but when Tom died, he gave permission for Louise and Adam to be together as he noticed they had a closeness. From this point forward, we see Louise and Adam's relationship unfold with the main question being who do they stay loyal to? Tom? Each other? Themselves?

As a pretty somber book dealing with some abuse, depression, suicide and grief - I almost gave up after 30% because it was such a sa
...more
Sue Wallace
Jan 20, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Beat the rain by nigel Jay Cooper is a mystery and thriller and general fiction (adult) read.
Louise, grieving the death of her lover Tom, does the only thing she can think of to make the pain go away - she marries his twin brother Adam. But letting go of her past isnt as easy as she thought. After a seemingly chance encounter with a charming stranger called Jarvis, all of their lives begin to unravel. Beat The Rain is a moving and vulnerable psychological thriller, depicting the reality of a re
...more
Clare Seel
Mar 10, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Wow, an emotional roller coaster with some unexpected twists. Raw, painful emotions laid bare. Some parts made me laugh out loud, others cringe as it dawned what was coming. Oh how I loved the dinner party, everyone knows an 'Imogen'... And an 'Alice' for that matter too. I wait with baited breath for your next book... ...more
Sue Purbrick
Nov 14, 2017 rated it really liked it
This book was both desperately sad and wholly uplifting. Author Nigel Cooper writes about life and love in all its stark reality, dealing with death and love, misery and elation. Louise’s boyfriend, Tom, dies without ever having shared with her that he was terminally ill. She soon finds new love and gets married. But is this marriage really right? Or was it simply pre-ordained by Tom? And then, much later, beautiful, charismatic Jarvis appears on the scene in Brighton, tearing through the family ...more
Louise
Nov 12, 2017 rated it liked it
Brilliantly drawn characters even though they are not very likeable
Crystal clear description of emotions and tensions in the story
Felt on edge all the time!
Lisa
Oct 09, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A spectacular debut novel by Nigel Jay Cooper. This compelling tale of love and loss is deeply moving and wonderfully written. Full of troubled characters, hidden messages and unexpected twists and turns, this book took me on an emotional roller coaster ride and had hooked me from start to finish. I won this novel in a Goodreads giveaway and it's one I won't forget in a hurry. ...more
Misfits farm
Oct 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing
It says so much about a book when I read it in one sitting- something I have never done before. Staying awake well beyond my normal time desperate to keep my eyes open to complete this. It grabbed me, pulled me in and I couldn’t put it down.
Tom, Louise’s boyfriend dies from something he could have told her about but for various reasons chose not to. His twin brother comforts her and Adam has flirted with Louise in the past. Tom leaves messages for them both which lead to their future actions. L
...more
Veryan
Aug 06, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Compelling and compulsive.

Sometimes you can't beat the rain, you just have to get wet, and if you won't communicate, then everyone around you gets soaked too.

There are already so many rave reviews for 'Beat the Rain' that it is difficult to find anything new to say, however I enjoyed this book so enormously that I want to add a few thoughts. First, on the cover the book is described as a psychological thriller - this description nearly put me off reading it as I don't like being frightened. But
...more
Rebecca Armstrong
Jul 28, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley
After starting off slow and already deciding I wasn’t enjoying this book Cooper managed to captivate me and pull me back into the storyline. Louise and Adam’s lives seem almost predictable at first, after subconsciously filling in the rest of the plotline the shocks and surprises which Cooper writes were a pleasant surprise. The main, and arguably the most shocking part of the book made me put it down for a few minutes just to process what had just happened. Cooper’s writing to lead up to these ...more
Malou
May 01, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: dramalama, 2016, star-3
what did I think? I think I really enjoyed this read. Nigel has the words that's for sure, and he has stories too. noone but Adam was likeable to me but I still rooted for them all, I wanted a happy ending..please,please sugar coat this ending for me Nigel, I thought..Obviously i cant say here whether he did or not, but ether way nothing is a disappointment.

A few things that brought it down a star for me..I felt it a good bit to long and the lives as they unfolded to separated, I kept thinking
...more
Charlotte Anderson
Aug 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I received an advanced copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. This story has an emotional and gripping story line. The book pulls you in from the very first page to the very last page.
Beat The Rain is a psychological thriller; it i a story about a women name Louise, who is grieving the death of her lover, "Tom", Then she decides to marry his twin brother in hopes this will make her pain away. She soon finds out that letting go of her past is a lot harder then she thou
...more
Irene
Sep 29, 2016 rated it liked it
Louise's boyfriend Tom dies and she marries his twin brother Adam after she received a DVD and Adam a letter 6 months after his death, urging them to get together because they know they want to! Although the author is obviously talented, this debut didn't quite hit the spot for me, despite the emotional trauma. It was hard to feel much for any of the characters as they didn't have many redeeming qualities and felt that they could have done with a good shake. Loved the descriptions of the Brighto ...more
Caroline Jory
Mar 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This is one of my favourite books I’ve read in a long time. Be prepared because once you start, it’s one of those stay-awake-all-night-til-you-finish-it books. And you’ll be glad you did. The storyline had me hooked from the start, but what makes this such a rare find is how the author captures the day to day minutiae inside a relationship that could so easily be our own. This insight into what’s going on around us, at times heart-wrenching and other times very funny, leaves you feeling glad to ...more
Em Jay
Jun 25, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: jhp, giveaway-wins
**I received this book through a Goodreads Giveaway**

Darn BEAT THE RAIN for making me feel too many feelings. Bleak, unapologetically honest, and filled with shocking plot twists, this isn't one for those looking for an easy breezy summer read. Don't get me wrong, I mean that in the best way possible. The characters were all very clever, in that you can't help but empathize with them despite not being able to like them. The writing was beautiful, with every line sounding 'quotable', and always k
...more
Laurie
Sep 30, 2016 rated it really liked it
Shelves: netgalley
Wow speechless!! First I would like to thank NetGalley and the very talented author Nigel Jay Cooper for my advanced copy for a fair and honest review.

This has been one of the most challenging books to put down, that I have read in a long time! I loved all of the beautifully developed characters, with all of their flaws, their dysfunctional selves, and their dysfunctional relationships. Each character brought new complications into the relationships and friendships through the book leading to un
...more
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Quite
  • Scar Tissue
  • Queen of Clubs: A white-knuckled, true story: From carefree 24-hour East London party girl to scandalous nightclub owner. Highly entertaining. Brutally raw. Wildly unpredictable.
  • Meet Me at the Museum
  • As Good As It Gets: Life Lessons from a Reluctant Adult
  • More Than a Woman
  • Hungry
  • Persona Non Grata
  • The White Princess (The Plantagenet and Tudor Novels, #5; Cousins War #5)
  • The Solitaire Mystery
  • The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden
  • Dreams of Gods & Monsters (Daughter of Smoke & Bone, #3)
  • Foucault's Pendulum
  • The Prague Cemetery
  • The Hotel New Hampshire
  • A Son of the Circus
  • A Widow for One Year
  • We Own the Sky
See similar books…
63 followers
Author, father, cat and dog owner. More than a list of things. Probably.

Nigel's debut, Beat The Rain, was a semi-finalist for Best Debut Author in the Goodreads Choice Awards 2016. His second novel The Pursuit of Ordinary was a finalist for The People's Book Prize for Fiction 2019 and was longlisted for The Guardian's Not The Booker Prize.

Nigel has just finished his third novel.
...more

News & Interviews

Here’s some trivia for your next vacation get-together: The concept of the summer “beach read” book goes all the way back to the Victorian...
10 likes · 8 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »
“Memory is an artist, an impressionist. She adds colour, sound, smell and emotion to events at her whim. She adds, subtracts and embellishes until the event she started documenting is quite unrecognisable to the others who also experienced it, but at the same time, is more truthful to the owner of the memory. There is no reality. There are only impres- sions of past events, made by a million selves, all interacting with each other, vying for superiority. Reality doesn’t exist, perhaps in the end, that’s my only truth.” 1 likes
“She leaves the coffee shop and walks down to the seafront, standing staring for a long time at the burnt-out remains of West Pier, derelict, rusting, but somehow still beautiful, looking like there may be life left in its broken remains yet, that it could magically be reborn from its own devastation, bigger and better than ever.” 0 likes
More quotes…