Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Double Take” as Want to Read:
Double Take
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Double Take

by
3.53  ·  Rating details ·  17 Ratings  ·  11 Reviews
All those people - were any of them who they seemed?

Set in Chicago, 1975, Double-take is the story of artsy Rachel Cochrane, who returns from college with no job and confronts the recent death of Bando, one of her best friends. When she runs into Joey, a mutual friend, their conversations take them back into their shared past and to the revelation that Bando may have been
...more
Kindle Edition, 186 pages
Published March 21st 2016 by Impulse Australia
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Double Take, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Double Take

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-47
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Leslie aka StoreyBook Reviews
I've read many mysteries in my life and this didn't read like any other mystery.

Rachel aka Cookie has come back to her parent's home in 1975 and finds out that perhaps one of her friends did not commit suicide and perchance he was murdered. This causes a flood of memories from the late 60's to early 70's of her life at that time and the hippie lifestyle she seemed to lead.

It took getting used to with the back and forth between various years and memories. It might have made for a more fluid read
...more
Melyssa
Jan 14, 2018 rated it it was ok
Double Take by Abby Bardi is a dark mystery featuring Rachel (aka Cookie) as a troubled, recent college graduate who returns home from California to decide what direction her life is going. While there, she reconnects with friends and coworkers from high school, specifically Joey (aka Rat) and learns more about the suicide of their mutual friend Robert Bandolini (aka Bando) that might actually ...

More here: bit.ly/PageBedtime
Anara Guard
Mar 27, 2016 rated it really liked it
Double Take moves between two time periods: 1975 when Rachel has returned home to her old neighborhood in Chicago, moving in with her parents and waitressing while she waits to figure out what to do next. She has abandoned a loving relationship for reasons that are not clear to her and all she knows is that she needs to understand something. That something is rooted in her turbulent past: 1969, when everyone knew her as Cookie. She waitressed then too but it was a different time. As the author w ...more
Cheryl
Jan 24, 2017 rated it did not like it
I liked the time period of this story. Rachel aka Cookie was a very damaged woman. Sadly, I could not feel a lot of compassionate emotions towards Rachel. It is because when she was telling stories of past events like a horrible one, she was so cool about the one particular event that she did not react. In addition, in the past Rachel hung out with the wrong crowd. To me, she came off as a brat. The rest of her friends I could not share a connection with what so ever. Therefore, I was not inter ...more
Jessica
Netgalley provided me with free digital access to this title in exchange for an honest review.

Well, this is kind of a weird one. I had a difficult time getting into the story due to the structure: the story is told mainly in short scenes that jump between past and present. The past is narrated by Rachel/Cookie in third-person and includes action, while the present is narrated by Rachel/Cookie in first person and are mainly dialogue that doesn't sound like real people conversing. The characters
...more
Tina
Jan 09, 2018 rated it liked it
Bell-bottoms, booze and mystery are all a big part of this story. Bardi does a wonderful job painting the picture of Casa Sanchez and the way things used to be. Rachel aka Cookie remembers all the subtleties of her experiences and does a great job bringing you with her down memory lane.

I never quite connected with Rachel as a character, perhaps because things like bulimia were thrown around without context or point. Regardless, looking for truths from your past is always an interesting storytell
...more
Misty
Dec 17, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Rachel Cochrane and Joey's interactions felt very real and natural especially as they began to consider that their friend's death may have actually been a murder. The element of murder is what really made this book a great read as the author took two characters that would not normally be involved in a murder mystery and got them involved after their friend died and they began to think it was a murder not a normal death. Overall, it was a book that I ended up finishing in one day without taking a ...more
Kelsi H
Jan 10, 2017 rated it liked it
Please read all of my reviews at http://ultraviolentlit.blogspot.ca!

Aimless and unsure of her future, Rachel has just returned to her childhood home in Chicago after finishing college. She takes a job in a coffee shop in her old neighbourhood, which she seems to enjoy, even though her parents think she is wasting her life. It is 1975, but being back in her old surroundings brings back Rachel’s memories of her turbulent adolescence and the loss of a close friend in 1969.

The novel jumps back and f
...more
Nicki
Jul 30, 2016 rated it liked it
I found this really hard to follow. There are a lot of characters with odd names and it jumps back and forward between the late 60's and mid 70's.
Rachel (or Cookie, in her younger days) is a lost young woman. She has run off on her finance and is working in a cafe with no real prospects despite being well educated. Little things are revealed which were painful in her past - a rape, the death of a good friend which has always plagued her with guilt and it seems she is currently bulimic and may h
...more
Elisha
Jan 11, 2017 rated it liked it
This story moves between two time periods: 1975 When Rachael has rebound to home to her old neighborhood in Chicago and 1969 when everyone knows her by a different name, Cookie.
It took me a minute to figure this one out because it jumped back and forth in almost scene-like story lines but, once I got the hang of it, it was fine. The only thing I found a real challenge for myself was keeping up with the different characters given the structure of the story with jumping back and forth.
But, as yo
...more
Kathleen Gray
Aug 29, 2016 rated it really liked it
Interesting but a bit confusing given the structure of the novel. It is well written but I didn't especially like any of the characters, perhaps because it's short and I felt I didn't have time to warm up to them. Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC. You will like this if you are interested in Chicago in the 1970s.
Mable Dixon
rated it it was amazing
Aug 19, 2016
Christopher Sneed
rated it liked it
Aug 30, 2016
Naomi Mullman
rated it really liked it
May 23, 2017
Lori Day
rated it it was amazing
Sep 18, 2016
Libby
rated it it was amazing
Nov 25, 2017
Ginaschuchman
rated it it was amazing
Sep 25, 2016
Angela
marked it as to-read
Mar 23, 2016
Shaaru Retnakumar
marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2016
Herta Feely
marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2016
Leigh
marked it as to-read
Mar 28, 2016
Jacqui
marked it as to-read
Mar 30, 2016
Jane Harriet Richards
is currently reading it
May 26, 2016
Sikeri
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2016
Penny Long
marked it as to-read
Aug 07, 2016
Sarah
marked it as to-read
Aug 25, 2016
Cassie Schultz
marked it as to-read
Aug 28, 2016
Amy
marked it as to-read
Sep 06, 2016
Kayt Sukel
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2016
Kerry Egan
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2016
Nancy Slavin
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2016
Liz Kay
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2016
Liane
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2016
Rebecca Strong
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2016
Jamie
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2016
Marian Palaia
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2016
Will Ralston
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2016
Nadia King
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2016
Jill Weiner
marked it as to-read
Sep 18, 2016
Lillian
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2016
Rachel Weingarten
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2016
Rebecca Lawton
marked it as to-read
Sep 19, 2016
Nancy Peacock
marked it as to-read
Sep 20, 2016
Sheena
marked it as to-read
Sep 20, 2016
Joann Takasaki
marked it as to-read
Sep 22, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
20 followers
Abby Bardi is the author of THE BOOK OF FRED, THE SECRET LETTERS, and DOUBLE TAKE. She grew up in Chicago, went to college in California, then spent a decade teaching English in Japan and England. She currently teaches at a college in Maryland and lives in historic Ellicott City with her husband and dog.
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »