Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Machine (Blood and Destiny, #1)” as Want to Read:
The Machine (Blood and Destiny, #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Machine

(Blood and Destiny #1)

by
4.10  ·  Rating details ·  110 ratings  ·  48 reviews
Larissa Markus' life is turned upside down when a romantic date ends in an explosion and a burning building. Her lover - the Professor - is kidnapped, and she is left for dead.
Though she escapes she faces the blame for the destruction, leaving her no choice but to try and save the Professor and clear her name. However, the naive sales clerk is ill-prepared for such an adve
...more
Paperback, 274 pages
Published January 22nd 2016 by Createspace Independent Publishing Platform (first published November 1st 2015)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Machine, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The Machine

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.10  · 
Rating details
 ·  110 ratings  ·  48 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Jhaydun Dinan
Dec 08, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy
First off, I will have to say that I had never read a Steampunk novel before finishing The Machine. I had no idea where this journey was going to take me or what kind of world I was diving into.

I was able to quickly see the hard work and love put into the words I was reading. The beautiful descriptions of both the scenes and characters had me drawn into this written world. I am not usually one for romance. Not in books, television series' or movies, but somehow, The Machine kept my mind craving
...more
Sydney Blackburn
Jun 19, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: steampunk
I am really picky about steampunk stories, and I was cautious going in with this one. Of course, one the best things about not expecting much is that I get to be happily surprised when the book turns out to be well-written, well-plotted, with engaging characters. The m/c goes on a believable journey from retail clerk to airship pirate captain.

If you enjoy the webcomic Girl Genius, you'll enjoy this book.

Also, author understands the difference between series and serial. This is the first book in
...more
P.S.W. Gear
Larissa, a clerk at a clothing store, wanted nothing more than to be seduced and ravished The Professor. She was a pale, uninteresting twentysomething who had nothing to her name but a missing, disgraced father and a silver charm left to her by her dead mother. And yet The Professor, a dashing member of society’s elite, smart and wantonly confident, wanted her. Her!

On a snowy night, all of Larissa’s fantasies appear about to come true. She’s standing in front of The Professor, barely wearing any
...more
Stephanie
Nov 07, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
E.C. Jarvis weaves a wonderful web of action that keeps going all the way to the very end.

Larissa is a regular girl, working a regular job, and falling for a dashing stranger who turns out not to be truly as interested in her as he seems. A dinner date goes disastrous and Larissa finds herself a fugitive in pursuit of the captors of this man who did her wrong. She meets plenty of scoundrels along the way, including air pirates, a purely evil doctor, and a handsome assassin. Also, enter in one o
...more
F.D. Gross
Feb 24, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: tbc-reviews
The Machine, by E. C. Jarvis

A swashbuckling adventure of immense proportions. Set in a world of machines and steam, a woman becomes caught in the adventure of a life time. Filled with passion, piracy, and death, this novel is grounded in the harsh realities of pain and suffering. Jarvis demonstrates man's ability to be stretched to it's limit. And all for what you ask? - the sake of love.

The Machine is a fantasy steampunk adventure that will take you through the skies of war torn empires seeking
...more
Kayla Krantz
Nov 16, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Excellent steampunk adventure involving Larissa, Cid, Holt, and of course, Imago. I love the interactions between the characters, progressively getting wittier as the story unfolds. Cid is a humble engineer working for the Professor when he first meets Larissa, a girl who believes has no potential...until things change. When they wind up together, running for their lives, he realizes how wrong his initial observation is...for Larissa and Imago.
Bryce Raffle
Feb 04, 2016 rated it it was amazing
The Machine: Book Review

I don’t read a lot of books by indie authors, and I definitely don’t read a lot of self-published writers’ work. I’m a slow reader, and most of my spare time is filled by writing (as well as my other hobbies), but E.C. Jarvis was on my must-read list ever since I heard about The Machine. I’d also made the new year’s resolution of reading more indie authors in 2016, so I was particularly keen to read The Machine. That said, I was also a bit apprehensive. I can be a very im
...more
N.W. Moors
Dec 23, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Larissa Markus is an ordinary shop girl living a somewhat dreary life in her steampunk era city. When the Professor, a rich and handsome older man, approaches her, she is flattered and falls for his attentions. What he really wants is her Anthonium necklace since he needs the rare stone to power his machine. Things don't work out the way he plans, though. The machine blows up, the Professor is kidnapped, and Larissa is left with Cid, the Professor's assistant to try and clear things up.
What foll
...more
Wendy Strain
Jul 25, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: steampunk, romance
As a fan of steampunk, I was not disappointed, but as a fan of literature, I was happily surprised to find so many nuances in this first book by E.C. Jarvis. It is smart, funny, suspenseful, sometimes graphic, as real as it can get (which may be upsetting to some but was refreshing to me), and features a beautiful, strong, resilient, and practical woman who is never afraid to make the important decisions even if she knows they might be wrong. She is not infallible and thankfully has a cast of fr ...more
Wim Verveen
Dec 09, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
When I began to read this book I wondered what it was all about. So there is this girl Larissa, she lives in a strange steampunk world. I needed some time to adjust to that environment and wondered what it was all about. Larissa appeared to be mostly focused on her feelings for a man and the pace was slow. Then, all of a sudden the story went into overdrive enveloping both the girl and myself as a reader in a rollercoaster of events which never really stopped until the very end. While in the beg ...more
Lucy Hay
Steampunk is not my genre, yet Jarvis still did a great job of drawing me into the storyworld via 3D characters with a tangible goal. Larissa was easily my favourite: she is a well drawn female protagonist and her desire to rescue the professor from his torment at the hands of maniacal Doctor Orother turns gender stereotypes on its head. Dialogue is "ye olde worlde" yet still contains a modern flavour via hand picked expletives courtesy of secondary character Cid, who also feels like he has a li ...more
J.F. Holland
May 22, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I love E.C. Jarvis's work, her characters have sass and well character and she has a wonderful imagination, she doesn't disappoint with the story or storyline
Leo McBride
Oct 30, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Let me say from the outset that this book is best enjoyed with a liberal helping of rum. Be tipsy enough to giggle and you'll be all well and good.
This is a steampunk tale filled with lashings of sex, torture and swearing. Steamypunk, perhaps. But golly, if it doesn't get off to matters at quite the pace.
Our erstwhile heroine, Larissa, is practically ripping off her blouse and throwing herself at her would-be beau, The Professor, before we've reached the end of chapter two. Frankly, I had more
...more
Rebecca Pierce
Jun 05, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The Machine had me laugh out loud and gasp out in expletives. This book was a pleasure to read from start to finish, truly an unexpected surprise for my eyes. As soon as I finished reading it, I had to buy the sequel, the Pirate. I am completely hooked. This novel has everything I want in a steampunk story: an evil mad scientist, deadly mercenaries, a swoon-worthy heroes, a dash of comedy and romance, an enigmatic cleric or two and one cat. (Because, let's face it: this novel would not be comple ...more
R.G. Westerman
Feb 01, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Freaking finally!

A heroine who actually behaves like a real human woman. Larissa Markus is a gem of a character and E.C. Jarvis is a gem for having written her. I fully expected an entertaining jaunt into the Future-That-Was of the Steampunk universe. I expected all of the trappings of top hats and goggles, fantastical adventures, flying zeppelins, mad scientists, and dashing heroes. Jarvis does not disappoint. I got all of those things and then some.

What I did not expect was the nuance and com
...more
Rachel
May 23, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2016-ebook
I was sent a copy of this book for an honest review, these are my thoughts however muddled.

This book was full of adventure, a 'normal girl' fell in lust with an intelligent man who turned out to be someone she wasn't quite expecting. At the beginning of the book you get the impression that Larissa is looking for a man to take care of her and settle down, that quickly changes with the first (of a few) plot twists. She stumbles upon some weird happenings where she finds herself and then falls into
...more
Kade Cook
From far beneath the ground's surface to the precipice of the tallest mountain tops the adventure never stops. Larissa, Cid, Holt and 'Imago' become thrown together on a fast paced and dangerous quest. All of them searching for different things but those things seem to be leading them all in the same direction.
E.C. Jarvis has created a fantastical journey that captivates you from the first page and keeps you clinging to every written word until the very end. Wonderful story, highly recommended f
...more
Ju Ephraime
May 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: to-be-read
I never read a steampunk adventure before, or if I did, I didn’t know it. I do have to admit this story had a lot of adventure, and it involves quite a bit of pain and suffering on the part of the two main characters. Even Cid, one of the secondary characters, was not left unscathed. I don’t know why, but my sympathy was with the Professor. It could be the way the author describes his torture in graphic details, taking the reader into the room with him, and the way he was fighting for his freedo ...more
Amanda Lindsey Bursting Bookshelf Blog
Exciting, adventurous, ilussionist, action, lust, infatuation, chaos, loyalty, murder, experiments, friendships and so much more. This was a superb read. It flowed without a hitch. Loved the characters and their tales. The story line was amazing! I had to find out what happened next. One of the best Steampunk Pirate books I have read! I loved this book! I look forward to reading more from E.C. Jarvis. Well done!
Laurie Gardiner
Nov 17, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Machine starts out slowly, but once the pace picks up, it's non-stop action until the end. The characters are quirky and likeable, the dialogue is natural, and the fast-paced story flows well. I feel that more inner dialogue would give better insight into Larissa's thoughts and feelings, especially when she is reacting to traumatic events. I look forward to reading the next book in the series.
Deanna
Dec 08, 2016 rated it did not like it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: gave-up
I read until around chapter three, and couldn't read anymore. I don't think Steampunk is my thing.
Simone Coote
Jun 14, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Great read, thoroughly enjoyed the plot and characters!!
William
Mar 31, 2016 rated it really liked it
FUN quick read very enjoyable and left me looking for further adventures
K.J. Harrowick
Why I picked up this book:

I’ve seen this cover around the internet block a few times and always loved the design. As I read the blurb for the story, I was still uncertain if I wanted to delve into anything with pirates again. I read several last year—some were fantastic, others left me wanting more—but I have grown my love of anything steampunk. As soon as I read the trigger warning, I was all in. I love reading books that delve deep into the darker sides of characters and take a little risk.

Thi
...more
Drew
Jan 21, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The Machine is a damn good book. It hooked me in from the very beginning, and didn't let up until I finished. I'm a fan of steampunk do begin with, and the main thing that this book did was make me realize that yes, there is another steampunk series to add to my ever-growing To Read Pile. I mean, seriously, it's getting ridiculous, you guys.

But this isn't the place for that, this is about Jarvis' excellent first installment of the Blood and Destiny series, and it's a damn fine addition to the ro
...more
Stacy Overby
Mar 06, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It’s been a while since I’ve managed to get a book review posted. As usual, though, I received this book in exchange for an honest review. On to the good part.

The Machine by E.C. Jarvis is a wild ride into a steampunk world where the slightly childish shop girl, Larissa, is thrown into adventure head first and learns to grow up some along the way. Airship battles, pirates, religious mystics of multiple persuasions, and a cat keep thing spiced up along the way. Now, make a note, this is not a boo
...more
Zee
Feb 11, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Officially the first steampunk novel I've managed to finish. The story was fast-paced and the plot wasn't too complicated. The characters were well-crafted but Holt and Dr. Orother are my favorite characters.
Michelle Olms
May 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Great book
Anna
Apr 18, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Fun exciting steampunk novel
Sue
Sep 13, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Brilliantly weird

This is a book I would never have chosen but once I started reading it, couldn't put it down. A very weird and wonderful read.
« previous 1 3 4 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
That Scene 1 4 Mar 18, 2016 03:04PM  
  • The Mechanic's Mate (The Diesel War #1)
  • Fate War: Alliance
  • The Sunken
  • Rebel's Honor (Crown of Blood #1)
  • Fall of Sky City (Devices of War, #1)
  • Waking (Clockwork Twist #1)
  • All That Glitters (A Jake & Laura Mystery, #2)
  • Tempting The Light (L.A.M.P.S., #1)
  • Wolves and Daggers (Steampunk Red Riding Hood #1)
  • Mad Tinker's Daughter (Mad Tinker Chronicles, #1)
  • Smoke and Magic (Blood and Gold #1)
  • Returned
  • Duke (Albaterra Mates, #2)
  • On a White Horse (Revelations #2)
  • Thimblerig's Ark
  • The Barefoot Bride
  • Wes and Kit (Steampunk Mystery #1)
  • Full Steam Ahead
109 followers
Professional bean counter.

Semi-professional word spewer.

Once got the two confused - it was not pretty.

Born, raised, and currently living in England.

Over the years, E.C. Jarvis has managed to accumulate a husband, a daughter, and a cat.

Other books in the series

Blood and Destiny (4 books)
  • The Pirate (Blood and Destiny #2)
  • The War (Blood and Destiny #3)
  • The Destiny (Blood and Destiny #4)