Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Omegaball” as Want to Read:
Omegaball
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Omegaball

by
4.24  ·  Rating details ·  17 ratings  ·  6 reviews
Two sisters. Two worlds.

Meet Laurie and Helen Everett.

They’re identical twin sisters living in the year 2176. They’re mirror images of each other. Laurie’s a genius. Helen’s a problem child. Laurie uses a wheelchair. Helen’s a track star.

They fight. They compete. They hate each other. They love each other. Y’know—typical sisters.

But Laurie has a secret. She escapes her lif
...more
Paperback, 296 pages
Published September 20th 2016 by Rare Bird Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Omegaball, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Omegaball

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-48
Average rating 4.24  · 
Rating details
 ·  17 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Omegaball
Bookie's Chicago
Aug 07, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book was fast-paced, told in a series of something akin to blog posts from three different characters. The characters are interesting and pretty fleshed out. Fans of Ready Player One and Feed will find a familiar territory here. The story takes place in Chicago, so that definitely kept my interest. The world the author built -- a constantly-connected one where objects can be had with the swipe of a hand -- is pretty cool. The sport of Omegaball is interesting, though when all was said and d ...more
Disability in Kidlit
“It’s crucial to realize that for disabled readers who struggle with internalized ableism, Laurie’s recurring self-hating voice could very well be triggering, or, at the very least, painful. If the narrative had countered or done a better job acknowledging the nuances of internalized ableism, that wouldn’t necessarily be a problem; again, it is a difficult reality for many. But the narrative continually reinforces the ableism underlying Laurie’s self-hatred, signaling to disabled readers, howeve ...more
J.M.
Mar 07, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Summary

Omegaball is a YA science fiction about rival twin daughters of radically different impairments playing hyper robot football with a backdrop of future VR internet & terrorism. It’s a well crafted story that -though its reach occasionally exceeds its grasp- works more than it doesn’t.

Longer Review

One of the things I most liked about Omegaball is that it is stuffed full of great ideas; from the well visualized future VR internet based on an utterly unique (and story relevant/evocative) inte
...more
Meg Eden
Sep 23, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
What I enjoy most about Robert Peterson's stories is his ability to throw you right into a new world, with little to no exposition, and ground us through the language of the experience. I've started his other book "The Odds" and love that that book also throws us into a new place, and exposes us very naturally to the world of the story. We're thrown vocabulary like "chyron" and "scoobie" in their natural context, and pick them up very easily. This is so tricky in sci-fi, and many great concepts ...more
Jamie
Jan 23, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Omegaball takes you on an exciting ride through the futuristic world of twin sisters Laurie and Helen, who are opposites in many ways, and who battle each other in the real and virtual worlds when Laurie, a wheelchair-bound introvert, becomes a superstar Omegaball player, first in the underground Darknet, and then in IRL. The sisters are well-drawn and believable characters, and the virtual worlds are exciting - and clearly and visually depicted. Like 'Ready Player One,' this is sci-fi even for ...more
Nona León
rated it it was amazing
Feb 28, 2017
Ray Nowlin
rated it really liked it
Jan 06, 2017
Avidan
rated it really liked it
Nov 29, 2016
Lauren Rogers
rated it it was amazing
Aug 09, 2016
Roxanne Jensen
rated it did not like it
Jun 25, 2018
Lauredhel
rated it did not like it
Feb 28, 2017
Robert Peterson
Aug 09, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)  ·  review of another edition
Joseph Baskin
rated it it was amazing
Jul 19, 2018
Subhajit Das
rated it really liked it
Oct 19, 2019
Kellie Bot
rated it it was amazing
Apr 21, 2017
Molly
rated it it was amazing
Apr 03, 2018
Anne Ruff
rated it it was amazing
Apr 03, 2018
Bill
Mar 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I won this as a Goodreads contest. Really inventive and fun read.
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
A. C. H..
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Cheryl Bradley
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Carla
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Sue
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Kathy
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Stacia Chappell
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Michael Chance
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Debee Sue
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Pam
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Courteney
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Kara
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Robert
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Yesenia
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Jackie Morris
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Urszula
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Donna Barney
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Ms. Reader
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
Kathy Heare Watts
marked it as to-read
Oct 07, 2016
carla clifton
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2016
Tammy Hornbeck
marked it as to-read
Oct 08, 2016
Zainab
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2016
Kara Lauren
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2016
Dawn Obrien
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2016
Katharine Adams
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2016
Cheri Clark
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2016
Crystal
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2016
Grace
marked it as to-read
Oct 09, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
Robert J. Peterson is a graduate of Northwestern University's Medill School of Journalism and a co-founder of the pop-culture emporium CC2K. He's written for newspapers and websites all over the country, including the Marin Independent Journal, PerformInk, Space.com, the Telluride (Colo.) Daily Planet, Gridiron Goddess, CC2K and Geekscape.net. He's appeared as a pop-culture guru on the web talk sh ...more

Related Articles

Dystopias, alien invasions, regenerated dinosaurs, space operas, multiverses, and more, the realm of science fiction takes readers out of this ...
152 likes · 214 comments
No trivia or quizzes yet. Add some now »