Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Babylon Terminal” as Want to Read:
Babylon Terminal
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Babylon Terminal

3.89  ·  Rating details ·  47 ratings  ·  26 reviews
In a nightmare world of darkness and violence lies a city that is home to those who inhabit the dreams of the living, those who sleep in daylight and struggle to survive the night.

But there are some who break the rules, who believe there may be something better out there beyond their city of dreams, those who run in search of a promised land of sunshine and peace.

Enter the
...more
Paperback, 200 pages
Published March 1st 2016 by Dark Fuse
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Babylon Terminal, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Babylon Terminal

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.89  · 
Rating details
 ·  47 ratings  ·  26 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Babylon Terminal
Char
Babylon Terminal is like an acid trip with Blade Runner running in the background. Even though there's no direct science fiction in this book, it felt like a sci-fi read and because there are "runners" my mind automatically goes to Blade Runner, but there is no real similarity between the two.

Monk is a Dreamcatcher-those whose job it is to track down runners. Runners from what and to what- that's where all the questions begin, and that IS a beginning. Are runners those who are bold enough to
...more
Jon Recluse
Feb 20, 2016 rated it really liked it
Greg Gifune takes his signature psychological horror into a place where dark urban fantasy meets science fiction in his latest book.....where a man whose job it is to track and terminate runners who dare to follow a dream that speaks of a Promised Land far from the City....a man who now must track down his wife before another bountyhunter reaches her first, across a landscape that is at turns hallucinatory and nightmarish, a no man's land of no-when and never-where....
This one reminded me of BLA
...more
Kimberly
BABYLON TERMINAL by Greg F. Gifune centers around one main character, Monk, and his desire to find his fleeing wife, Julia. In this dreamisque, fantasy world, Monk is a Dreamcatcher--a type of law enforcement officer that tracks down to capture or kill anyone attempting to run away from their dark, twisted universe.

First of all, I will say that the writing is very good, with an almost poetic ring to some of the sections--of course, I would expect nothing less from this author. Unfortunately, tha
...more
Mike
Jan 15, 2016 rated it really liked it
Babylon Terminal is the fourteenth book by Greg I have read. This one is a little hard for me to review. The story centers around Monk a law officer known as a Dreamcatcher. His job is to catch these people that take off known as Runners. In this case the runner is his wife Julia. He is trying to get to her before another dreamcatcher does. Will stop here don't want to give too much away. A few times in the story I would get lost, then thought I caught up yet to get lost again. But over all by t ...more
Andi Rawson
Jan 22, 2016 rated it liked it
Greg F. Gifune is an amazing writer. His prose is beyond what I could ever hope to accomplish in my own writing. I absolutely loved the last two books that I read by him, which were Devil's Breath and Oasis of the Damned. That said, Babylon Terminal is not my favorite book. The hardest part about reviewing for me is a story line that I don't care for by an author that I love.

This one worked for some people. I agree with most that the story was hard to follow at times. Monk is the only real char
...more
Michael Hicks
Jan 15, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: horror, netgalley
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Bill
Jan 24, 2016 rated it really liked it
There is no way I could review this one better than Michael Hicks, because he fuckin’ nailed it. Well done, sir!

What I could figure out from this one, I really enjoyed. It was a little sci-fi-ish for me. It lost me on more than one occasion and I still couldn’t stop reading it. Crazy. I don’t know many authors that could have pulled this one off without creating a total trainwreck and I still am not sure wtf happened here. It doesn’t even matter because this was still a very good one from one of
...more
Frank Errington
Mar 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Review copy

I can't say I always connect with a Greg F. Gifune story, but I always try to read his works. He challenges me as a reader and Babylon Terminal did just that. This is not a casual read, it's not light material. I feel I had to work for every bit of enjoyment I got out of this book, but it was worth it.

There is some stunning wordcraft going on in this story. At times Gifune's prose is close to breathtaking. There is powerful, rich dialogue, as well.

The author paints a bleak new world w
...more
Chris
Sep 12, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: arcs, 2016-reads
I received an ARC of this novel from the publisher, Darkfuse, through NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

I am a big fan of Greg Gifune’s work---personal favorites are Saying Uncle, The View from the Lake, Judas Goat, and The Rain Dancers—most if not all of which I read through Darkfuse. In short he is one of the best horror writers working today and if you enjoy horror and haven’t read him you are definitely missing out.

Gifune takes a stab at dystopian future with this one. Two parts
...more
Kate
3.5*
*Disclaimer: I received a copy of this book through Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.*

Monk is a dreamcatcher, a law enforcer who is sent to catch those that run and return them to the city. When he finds out his wife is now a runner, he takes it upon himself to catch her before another enforcer is given the job and terminates her.

Monk goes further out to the wastelands of society and comes across those he thought were only myths. He begins to question his society, his dreams, is an
...more
Mommacat
Jan 15, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: darkfuse
This is one of those books by Greg Gifune that makes you go 'huh?' while you're reading it, but if you stick it out til the end you'll find that once again he's messing with your mind - something he does very well! Gifune is always looking at the human condition; at how lemming like most people are.

What we have here in BABYLON TERMINAL is another example of that. BT is about a bounty hunter of sorts. And while this didn't rank up with my favorite Greg titles (he's one of my must read authors) i
...more
Robert Mingee
Jan 27, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: 2016
Wow, so that was weird. As many of the other reviews have stated, I spent much of this title wondering exactly what was going on, and more specifically wondering what was really happening, and what was a "dream". The story is about Monk, a Dreamcatcher, who is charged with bringing back "runners" - people who flee the (fairly awful) city they live in seeking "the promised land". He's quick to point out that a Dreamcatcher is what he DOES, not what he IS, and that he's "just doing his job". But a ...more
 Reading Reindeer 2021 On Proxima Centauri
Review of BABYLON TERMINAL by Greg F. Gifune

Once again, author Greg F. Gifune explores unexplored territories in this story of a couple locked in an unnamed city where dreams are life and existence might as well be death. The ocean is considered a fantasy. Even though individuals are not physically confined, no one is allowed to leave, and Dreamcatchers make sure they can't. One such Dreamcatcher, a very violent man, is Monk. When his Julia disappears, he searches high and low, literally, despit
...more
Karl
This hardcover copy is number 28 of 52 copies signed and numbered by Greg F. Gifune the book is #3 in Darkfuse's Signature Series. ...more
Troy
Jan 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Elements of Dark City, Mad Max, Planet of the Apes, Logan's Run and Conan in a wonderful mashup.
Hallucinogenic, violent, touching and always satisfying.
...more
Wayne McCoy
Mar 15, 2016 rated it liked it
In 'Babylon Terminal' by Greg F. Gifune, we enter a strange world where it is always dark. It feels like some familiar ideas from Science Fiction movies like Dark City or Logan's Run or Blade Runner, but I don't think that's such a bad thing.

Monk is a Dreamcatcher in the city. His job is to stop people who leave the city. The main reason they leave is to find the ocean, but as far as Monk is concerned, there is no ocean. He also doesn't seem to have any memories. To make things worse, his wife h
...more
Don
Feb 11, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I love this novel. I've read it through three times and each time there is a nuance I missed. This isn't your average novel to breeze through and expect to understand in a linear read. It is thought provoking in it's plotting and the characters are not only imaginative, but richly memorial.

BABYLON TERMINAL contains remarkably beautiful prose. Prose like "A starless black sky made promises it could never keep." Creepy lines like "It lingers at the edge of my peripheral vision, and for some reason
...more
Bob
Aug 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Excellent novel of a city whose nocturnal populace are forced to remain within by armed enforcers. These Dreamcatchers hunt down the escapees who dream of a better life and search beyond the city.
One such Dreamcatcher is caught in a dilemma when his wife becomes one of the hunted runners. I highly recommend this book!
A Reader's Heaven
(I received a free copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review.)

In a nightmare world of darkness and violence lies a city that is home to those who inhabit the dreams of the living, those who sleep in daylight and struggle to survive the night.
But there are some who break the rules, who believe there may be something better out there beyond their city of dreams, those who run in search of a promised land of sunshine and peace.
Enter the Dreamcatchers, an elite law enforceme
...more
Amit
Mar 30, 2020 rated it really liked it
Don't know actually what should I think or make out of it. This is one of those from Greg F. Gifune that will left you behind and wondering in your brain; what on earth is going on here. Yeah that's exactly how I feeling after completing the read of it...

To make details into short narration Monk is a dreamcatcher and he kill anyone who tried to escape or disobey the law enforcement. But he got a problem of his personal life when his wife Julia was missing and he has to track down her path before
...more
Eddie Generous
Nov 13, 2016 rated it really liked it
Unnerving Magazine - Review
Trailing the dystopian nights into the no less dystopian days, Greg F. Gifune’s grim fantasy, Babylon Terminal, is a quick tour of a blood-spattered world of rules and punishers. Between the fights, the bathing in blood and gore-laden scenery, there is something poetic in how Monk sees his world of reality and dreams. A flavor not uncommon of recent releases indie publishing houses, the bleak, graphic, startling, chaotic worlds where imagery reigns over likelihoods for
...more
Cheryl
Aug 24, 2016 rated it liked it
"Relax, we in-a-gadda-da-vida, baby. While they sleep, we live. While they live, we sleep."

There were many times I almost closed this book out of frustration. It was probably in only the last quarter of the book that I had any clue as to where it was leading me or what the frigging story was about. I felt like I was back in the 1970s having a nasty drug dream.

And the thing is - I am quite sure that is what the author was trying for.

Did I enjoy this dark, noirish tale of dreams, dark, violence an
...more
Majanka
Aug 15, 2016 rated it really liked it
Book Review originally published here: http://www.iheartreading.net/uncatego...

Another dark, thrilling horror novel by Greg F. Gifune. The writing is stellar, and the characters are so realistic they might as well crawl out from the pages. The only downside was that the plot was hard to follow at times, with the “dream within a dream” quality of the plot, and it was hard to know what was real and what wasn’t. I would’ve liked to know a bit more about what was truly going on, though.
...more
Josef Hernandez
Feb 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Another Gifune masterpiece

For a full review, please go to http://www.examiner.com/review/babylo... or http://areviewerdarkly.blogspot.com or http://www.areviewerdarkly.com and follow me on Twitter @josenher
...more
Tim
Nov 15, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Review to follow. This book rocked!
Scott
rated it it was amazing
Feb 14, 2016
Sid Stiles
rated it really liked it
Aug 26, 2016
Nick
rated it really liked it
Aug 21, 2016
Donald
rated it really liked it
Feb 09, 2016
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • A Time to Kill (Jake Brigance, #1)
  • Mr. Mercedes (Bill Hodges Trilogy, #1)
  • The Silence of the Lambs  (Hannibal Lecter, #2)
  • Infection (Sympatico Syndrome #1)
  • Interview with the Vampire (The Vampire Chronicles, #1)
  • The Stand
  • Horror in the Woods
  • Misery
  • The 1%: A Collection of Stories from the Good Doctor
  • Gilchrist
  • Joyland
  • The Seventh Bride
  • Bound
  • Cell
  • Firestarter
  • Access Point: A Psychological Thriller
  • The Shining Pyramid
  • The Red Hand
See similar books…
285 followers
Called "One of the best writers of his generation" by both the Roswell Literary Review and author Brian Keene, Greg F. Gifune is the author of numerous short stories, several novels and two short story collections. His work has been published in a wide range of magazines and anthologies all over the world, and has recently garnered interest from Hollywood. His novels include The Bleeding Season, D ...more

Related Articles

We asked Alice Bolin, author of Dead Girls: Essays on Surviving an American Obsession, and journalist-turned-crime novelist Laura...
99 likes · 49 comments