Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Il sentiero dei profumi” as Want to Read:
Il sentiero dei profumi
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Il sentiero dei profumi

by
3.81  ·  Rating details ·  1,128 ratings  ·  206 reviews
Il profumo è il sentiero. Percorrerlo significa trovare la propria anima.
Elena non si fida di nessuno. Ha perso ogni certezza e non crede più nell'amore.
Solo quando crea i suoi profumi riesce ad allontanare tutte le insicurezze. Solo avvolta dalle essenze dei fiori, dei legni e delle spezie sa come sconfiggere le sue paure. I profumi sono il suo sentiero verso il cuore del
...more
Hardcover, Super Elefanti Bestseller, 400 pages
Published May 7th 2015 by Garzanti Libri (first published May 8th 2014)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Il sentiero dei profumi, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Il sentiero dei profumi

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
3.81  · 
Rating details
 ·  1,128 ratings  ·  206 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Letty
Jul 07, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Secret Ways of Perfume is a wonderful book that transported me to the streets of Florence and Paris. The story of Elena who is devastated when she discovers her boyfriend is cheating on her and decides, with the urging of her childhood friend Monique, to leave her home in Florence to live and work in Paris as a perfumier. There she meets her neighbor Cail and they become very close friends. You are kept wondering throughout the book if their relationship will develop into something more. Hav ...more
Avigail
I like it when a book and it so interesting that you can't put it down, even though I had to. I love everything about this book, the plot, the characters, the premise of the story. I picked this book from the library last Friday because of the book cover as well as for the summary.
Each chapter has the name of a fragrance and what its medicinal and psychological remedy of it.
It is a story that explains a little bit about perfumes interestingly.
Cristina Caboni's writing is very magical, and I am
...more
Brie Eccles
I wasn't crazy about this story until the last third when she finally got into perfume-making. The romance is lackluster, the periphery characters are bland and the drama just seemed repetitive- like we talked about it much longer than we needed to before actually doing something about it.
Virginia
Nov 03, 2016 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
The idea of the making of perfume was good and the book could have followed through but it fell flat, boring, trite and unrealistic.
litewolf
Sep 28, 2015 rated it it was ok
Shelves: fiction
At the beginning of the book I was buying into all the hype, and it was the kind of story I needed in this period.
Unfortunately it later turned into a long checklist of all possible tropes you can find into a chick-lit book, overdetailed mundane event that take pages away from more important events that are simply dismissed as "this happened".
Andrea Stoeckel
Jun 28, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
(I received this book almost a year ago as part of a GoodReads win. I am choosing in part to review it as a thank you to the author and her publisher who generously gave them out in ARC format)

"Her ancestors had given up everything for perfume...Could she make her peace with perfume without becoming enslaved to it?"

Elena Rossini's life was one of avoidance....run away as far as you are able to not deal with her family and their history as centuries old perfumers. But now, she stops running and m
...more
BJ
Oct 15, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I got this book from a Goodreads giveaway and it has sat in my TBR pile for many months. Finally got around to reading it and enjoyed it very much. Will definitely look for other books by this author. It is the story of Elena, a woman with a "nose" for perfume. It is a story of friendships and love. I had only read about 50 pages in a couple of days and then sat down and read the last 350 pages over a Sunday afternoon and evening. I was totally interested and engrossed in the story. Very readabl ...more
Nora
Jul 16, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
3,5 ⭐ ...more
Nannette Amos
Oct 01, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Really enjoyed this story, it captured me for sure.
Karen M
Jul 24, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: first-reads, romance
A book, just like perfume, has different notes, different scents. Perfume is made up of the essences of flowers, herbs and spices which can evoke different feelings and emotions and just like perfume a story can also evoke different feelings of happiness, joy, fear, anger and sadness. This book was a pleasure to read. It played upon my emotions and was never boring for one moment. If nothing else you get an education in the art of perfumery but I think you will get much more from this well writt ...more
Celeste_pewter
Aug 13, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Guys. So when I was pitched The Secret Ways of Perfume, I immediately said yes. Because how can you resist a book about someone with super! secret! powers! that help her determine the provenance of perfume?

Cristina Carboni introduces readers to Elena, a woman with an elegant, unusual gift that has been passed down in her family through the ages. Though her gift has felt like more of a curse for some time now, life makes sure that she begins to pursue it in earnest...

There are many things to lov
...more
Stephanie
Jul 18, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
I received an ARC from Penguin's First to Read.

I like both of those covers. The one with the Eiffel Tower is the Hardcover edition and the woman in the field is the Kindle edition.

The story was a bit clichéd and formulaic (ha - a pun), but I still enjoyed it very much. Some parts were repetitive and dragged, but overall I liked the characters and the journeys they went on.

I was invested in the mystery about Elena's ancestor, Beatrice, and her lost Perfect Perfume, and how it affected generations
...more
Donna
Sep 01, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I wanted to like this .. I really did, but I found myself annoyed more than anything. The process of making perfume is very intriguing, but it really wasn't the focus until about 2/3 of the way through. Until then, it seemed like everything & everyone else was discussed.

Most of the characters were difficult for me to connect with. Elena was very distant which was a result of her up-bringing, but still, I didn't find much to like in her. Cail was interesting but it annoyed me that he kept his
...more
Jenee Rager
I'm disappointed in this book. It's not terrible, but it's certainly not the best book I've ever read, and I feel like something was lost in the translation. To me it was just a middle of the road, predictable romance story. I couldn't figure out why Cail and Elena were making things difficult on themselves instead of just being together like they were so obviously destined to be.

I did learn a bit about the process of making perfume, and how the different scents hold different meanings. Just ov
...more
Michelle
Mar 21, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: did-not-finish
It seems like the majority of people who read this book enjoyed it.
I expected to.
I just couldn't get into it.
I got to about the 200 page mark, more than halfway in and I couldn't picture myself getting more interested than I already was.
Jaclyn
Jan 26, 2017 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
It's ok. The highlight for me was the lovely and rich descriptions of perfumes.
Arlene
Aug 11, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
It's one of those books that makes you smile since it is quite different from the other stories that you have read before.The art of making perfumes, what an amazing read.
Aila Sako
May 21, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I really enjoy it and i love this book
Kelly Mesisca
Jul 28, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: sappy-romance
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Teri Parks
Nov 05, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fiction
I love books where I learn something or makes me view things in a different light. I never gave a thought of what goes into making perfume. But this story introduced me to the process and I was just absolutely absorbed into the process....and the storyline. But, it also made me look at the natural smells around us as well.

A delightful read, strong characters, and several storylines interweave into a story that will leave you wondering what perfume would reflect your personality. It deserves a hi
...more
Heather
3.5 stars

I saw a woman reading this book last year when I was on a train to York and was captured by the beautiful front cover. Having finally got my hands on a copy, I was keen to give it a go. Whilst I found parts a bit slow and I wasn't impressed with the romance between Elena and Caile, I did love the stunning Paris setting and the detail the author put into all the perfumes. Their descriptions were rich and comprehensive, and I could almost smell them myself. I was fascinated with how they
...more
Jinal Shah (If I Were Marketing)
For anyone who loves a good perfume and has curiosity, read this. Loved the descriptions of perfume making and the reason behind fragrances and what they mean. This was explained through an engaging storyline- there is romance, a bit of mystery, intelligent research and friendship and the beautiful descriptions of paris, grasse and Provence.

Reading the book evoked so many varied emotions- the wish to smell essential oils and pure natural fragrances, the longing to see Paris and Grasse, and go t
...more
Meital Ben-Daniel
A lovely novel of colors and fragrances.
Elena, the grand-daughter of a long tradition of perfume-making, leaves her life in Florence behind, and starts a new life in Paris. She finds the way into people's hearts and souls through the individual, customized perfume she creates for each of them. A beautiful and glamorous world of essences, fragrances and flowers unfolds as Elena finds her new way in the world.
An amazingly sensual and beautifully-described path in the world of perfume.
I enjoyed
...more
K.L. Loveley
Mar 18, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
For me the imagery of Florence and Paris transported me into the world of Elena the protagonist of the story. I enjoyed reading about the secret ways of perfume making and the evocative way that Cristina Caboni described the perfumes, I could almost smell the fragrance such was the description. The character of Cail was well developed although I did think that their relationship was surprising as they seemed such an unlikely couple.
Susan Wetzel
Dec 10, 2018 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Nice story with a lot of perfume terms. Should have Notre Dame on cover not Eiffel Tower.
AnnaOfBookingham
Sep 15, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: favorites
This book is one of the most unique reads I have ever had the luck to find.
Its prose it beautiful and the story is melancholic, beautiful, surreal and at the same time realistic.
Brenda
Dec 03, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Just good enough to finish, but barely.
Yashini Bandara
Jun 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
My personal favorite. Expect more stories like this from the author.
Darina
Nov 12, 2017 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Boring!
Angela
Total fluff with predictable plot
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Finding Steele (North Bay Pursuits, #1)
  • Villa Serena
  • Shocking Paris: Soutine, Chagall and the Outsiders of Montparnasse
  • The Holiday Cruise
  • Holistic Dental Care: The Complete Guide to Healthy Teeth and Gums
  • Last Call for Caviar
  • È per sempre (Wait for You, #2.6)
  • Death in the Shadows (Father Gilbert Mystery #2)
  • La ghostwriter di Babbo Natale: Un racconto di Natale di Vani Sarca
  • A Farm In The Hidewood:  My South Dakota Home
  • Last Chance Beauty Queen (Last Chance, #3)
  • Der Fälscher, die Spionin und der Bombenbauer
  • A Paris All Your Own: Bestselling Women Writers on the City of Light
  • Beyond Rue Morgue Anthology: Further Tales of Edgar Allan Poe's 1st Detective
  • Different Like Coco
  • Seven Days to Hell (Savage Texas, #5)
  • The Last Director of Shoreditch
  • Houseboat on the Seine: A Memoir
See similar books…
135 followers
Cristina Caboni lives in the province of Cagliari with her husband and their three children. In addition to devoting herself full time to writing, Cristina also works for the family beekeeping business, dealing with the care of queen bees, and also enjoys cultivating a variety of roses. The world of perfumes and natural essences has been a passion of Cristina's for a long time. Her debut novel, Th ...more
“Il tempo segna le nostre vite, ogni cosa. Il tempo cambia tutto.” 0 likes
More quotes…