Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “We Need A Little Christmas (Evergreen Lane #2)” as Want to Read:
We Need A Little Christmas (Evergreen Lane #2)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

We Need A Little Christmas (Evergreen Lane #2)

by
3.83  ·  Rating details ·  78 Ratings  ·  33 Reviews
The best Christmas present? The unexpected romance that brings two former classmates together for a lesson in holiday magic…

With its festive Snowed Inn and year-round Christmas store, the pretty town of Tall Pine knows how to do the holidays right. But this year, Liv Tomblyn’s homecoming trip may be bittersweet. Liv’s grandmother died soon after Thanksgiving, leaving a lif
...more
ebook, 288 pages
Published September 27th 2016 by Zebra
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about We Need A Little Christmas, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about We Need A Little Christmas

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-30)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Kaylee Nizza
Aug 23, 2016 rated it it was amazing
LOVED IT!!! This is a great way to start off Christmas reading. I loved Liv's
character. She is stubborn and has her pride. Scott is hot and does everything he can help including getting Liv to stay in her hometown and with him. This book is very heartfelt. Loosing your grandma before or after Thanksgiving is never easy. I can relate to that myself.. I couldn't put the book down. I was just so engrossed in the story. I felt like if I put the book down I may miss something important. I highly reco
...more
Amanda
Sep 20, 2016 rated it it was ok
Shelves: netgalley, romance
Originally published at Desert Island Book Reviews

I love Christmas, and even though it's still way, way too early for most things Christmas, I'm always up for holiday-themed books. Clearly, the publishing industry agrees, since many of these are released in early fall. This book, which seems like it would be centered on the holidays, really is more of a "winter" book than a holiday one. It's also not really what I would consider a romance, and because of the disconnect between what I thought it
...more
Kristen
Aug 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Lovely story that will get readers in the Christmas spirit. Great characters and a smoothly flowing storyline will have readers drawn in from the very first page. A moving story filled with love, laughter, tears, and finding your path through life. Definitely recommend!

*ARC received from Net Galley in exchange for a honest review
Jaime Fiction Fangirls Book Review
4.5 Stars

I really enjoyed this story but probably wouldn't suggest it to anyone who prefers strictly romance and NEEDS sex to round out a story. This read more like chick-lit, which I'm perfectly fine with.
This story warmed my heart because it came across so authentic and when I'm home under a blanket trying to keep warm, authentic and sweet are exactly what I need.
Shelleen Toland
Dec 01, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This was a fun and quick Christmas romance. Liv's Grandmother has passed away so she came home to help her mom and sister to say goodbye and clean out the house. She ends up meeting up with Scotty who is the handyman of the town. As he helps them with everything she starts having feelings for him. But her home and business are back in Texas and she needs to get back to a business that she isn't sure will be there anymore. I received this from netGalley for a review.
Marsha Spohn
Reviewed at Keeper Bookshelf

Returning to Tall Pine once again was such fun. I adored last year’s Do You Believe In Santa? and have it on my re-read list for this year’s Christmas season. Oh, and watch for familiar faces to pop up now and then – I love running into old friends. *grin* This year we’ll meet Liv and Scott, former classmates whose lives separated into different directions after school. Liv moved away to start her own business – Scott stayed in Tall Pine becoming the “go to” handyman
...more
Sonya Wasden
Nov 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This was a sweet, clean romance that revolved around the magic of Christmastime.

Liv Tomblyn's grandmother, Nammy, had passed away around Thanksgiving so she had come home to Tall Pine, California. She had been voted "Most Likely To Succeed" when she graduated from high school and was now living Dallas where she was running a successful business with her partner, Terry. She had only come home to help her mom and sister pack up her Nammy's home so it could be sold. She had no intention of staying
...more
Katie W
Dec 17, 2016 rated it really liked it
I love this little Christmas town located in Southern California and the charming people who live here. In this installment, Scott and Liv, two former high school classmates, are reunited when Liv's grandma, Nammy, passes away and she comes home for a month to help her mom and sister. Scott hasn't ever left town and is now the resident handyman.

Christmastime is a very nostalgic time for many people. Although the reader doesn't meet Nammy, she becomes real through the traditions and memories that
...more
Terri
Sep 25, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: netgalley
Review also found at http://kristineandterri.blogspot.ca/2...

I received an advanced copy of this book from the publisher via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.  The expected publication date is September 27th, 2016.

I know, I know.  It is only September and why am I reading a Christmas story already?  I will tell you why.  It is never too soon to get your Christmas shopping done and I thought this would get me in to the right spirit.  Also, who doesn't love a Christmas story?

This was a r
...more
Laura
Jul 24, 2017 rated it really liked it
WE NEED A LITTLE CHRISTMAS is not a Christian Romance, but it does start with a funeral and has a few mentions of a Christian song (Leaning on the Everlasting Arms) and a pastor who makes a mention or two of God.



Liv is a very take charge individual, organized, and in control. She hates falling apart at her grandma's funeral and is crushed she hasn't taken time to visit her family in four years. Her sister is pregnant, but feeling insecure and unneeded since Liv is taking charge and bossing her,
...more
Pam
Sep 02, 2016 rated it really liked it
Wonderful story of a journey through sadness & into a life of love. After being gone four years, Liv has come home for her Nammy's funeral. She plans on staying for a month to be there for her mother & sister & to help them pack up Nammy's things. She feels guilty for not coming home after college or in the years between to see them. Between a breakup and a time consuming business, she can't afford the time but is determined to take it. Scott does a favor for Liv's mother & siste ...more
Susan Newkirk
A wonderfully sweet and tender romance, with a high dose of holiday and family love.
Shirlee McCoy
Jul 06, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Such a sweet lovely book. I enjoyed it immensely.
Sascha
Dec 04, 2016 rated it it was amazing
4 1/2

As I have been scrambling to catch up on a backlog of reading after pretty much taking November off for writing, I have been trying to get through all of the holiday ones so that you might find something to read with your eggnog, Christmas tree, and fire blazing in the fireplace. What I’ve learned in the past couple of weeks of reading Christmas-themed novels is that it’s not as easy as it looks.

Later this week, I’ll do a list with all of the holiday books, I’ve read and reviewed so you mig
...more
Isidora Subotic
May 17, 2018 rated it liked it
Liv is back in Tall Pine for her grandmother's funeral and it stirs all sorts of memroies. She is also reunited with Scott, whi is remembered as the class clown and that is about it. Scott has been doing small jobs for a long time for Liv's grandma but it seems Nammy was trying to get Liv and Scott together...

This book felt a bit empty. Live doesn't really want a relationship (really hesitant) so for a romance book, nothing can/does really happen... On the other hand, there were some sweet part
...more
Patricia
Nov 25, 2017 rated it liked it
This was like a Hallmark Christmas story. While it was a nice story, I found myself skim-reading along. This could have been because it is Thanksgiving vacation, we hosted 12 people for Thanksgiving, I had a lot of cleaning to do, and we had company staying at the house. So when I read during little stolen moments, I was just rushed. Or it could have been that this was not so engaging that I could forget all my duties and just read. 🤓
Pauline Frost
Dec 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing
A lovely Christmas small town story you cannot go wrong in reading this. Growing up in a small town some kids want to stay and some want to get out as soon as possible. Liv thought she was one to move on but coming home for family she finds love for Scott the class clown has grown up but is there for some laughs also. A well written perfectly paced story pulling you in from the start.
Gaele
When I want a romance that’s just a little bit different I know that Sierra Donovan will bring a story that doesn’t solely focus on the connection, but brings a more complete picture of the people involved. In this story, Liv is returning after an absence to attend her grandmother’s funeral and help her mother and sister pack up the house. So, while not a wonderfully cheery start to a homecoming romance, the contrast of grief and loss with hope and the holiday does start to build from the first ...more
Kelly Showalter
Sep 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Welcome home, Liv Tomblyn to Tall Pines, which Liv has avoided returning for years, but not only is Liv returning for the holiday season she is returning for the memorial service for her Nammy, her grandmother who was so proud of her accomplishments. To hear Nammy tell, she was a very successful CEO. Liv is a successful business woman, she may not be the CEO of a huge corporation, but she can organize a closet in the homes of her clients very successfully. With her skills, she hopes to help her ...more
Angie
Sep 06, 2016 rated it really liked it
3.5 - 4 Christmas Stars...

(Hopefully third time is the charm, first 2 reviews apparently are floating in cyber space:/)

This is a great, light, not-too-long Christmas romance and is perfect for getting you in the Holiday spirit!! All through the month of December, I read exclusively holiday-themed books of all genres. This is exactly the kind I enjoy. In We Need A Little Christmas, our main character is Liv who is returning to her hometown after a long absence for her Nammy's funeral. She is a dr
...more
Romantic Reads and Such
Jan 10, 2017 rated it really liked it
Although there is a bit of a love story, this is really about Liv finding herself again. She moved away to another state and is now back for her grandmother’s funeral. It’s unfortunate that such a horrible event brought her home but she’s felt guilty about being so far away and now is her chance to reevaluate her life. And it doesn’t hurt to have Scott around as she does :)

I love good ol’ boy Scott. He’s hard-working, caring, friendly and giving. He helps so many people around town. And that inc
...more
Cathy Geha
Sep 24, 2016 rated it liked it
Sweet small town romance, with a kiss or two, that has Liv questioning just what she really needs in life when she is called home to help her mother deal with her grandmother’s death. Liv is picked up from the airport by a classmate when her sister and mother have an issue to deal with and cannot come themselves. She and Scott reminisce, feel a spark but also realize that with limited time together before Liv returns to Texas there is not much sense in starting anything. The story deals with the ...more
Lisa
Dec 26, 2016 rated it it was ok
You can find more reviews Mademoisellesnow Blog

Liv is back in her hometown since leaving for college. The only reason she’s back now is because her grandmother passed away and she needs to help her mum and sister to clean out her grandmother’s house. When she arrives she doesn’t see her sister coming to pick her up instead in her sister’s place is Scott Leroux the class clown but now the town handyman.

I got a hold of this book just before Christmas. So I was completely in the Christmas Spirit of
...more
Hilda
Aug 15, 2016 rated it really liked it
I received this book via NetGalley in exchange for my honest opinion.

I received several Christmas themed books these last few weeks. Many are magical and put that feel good spirit into you. But We Need a Little Christmas by Sierra Donovan brought me so much more. Liv and Scott will forever have a place in my holiday.

When Liv’s Nammy dies and she is brought back to her home town she isn’t in a good place. Fresh out of a break up, and a business that is all consuming her time. But she must hold f
...more
Bette Hansen
Sep 19, 2016 rated it really liked it
A wonderful heartwarming story of going home, remembering good times, and finding new love all wrapped up in the magic of the holiday season. Liv Tomblyn hasn't been back to Tall Pines in four years. She always thought there would be time but now her beloved Nammy is gone and she's returning for her service and to help her mother and sister handle things. A lot about Tall Pines is just as she remembered them but some things have definitely changed. One of those changes is standing in front of he ...more
Paula
Sep 28, 2016 rated it really liked it
We Need A Little Christmas by Sierra Donovan has sad elements handled with a light touch. That is what I have come to expected for Sierra Donovan’s Christmas stories. I was not disappointed this time. It may have seemed to some that the death of a grandmother at this time of year would not work but it does happen in life, does it not? I know because I lost a very loved parent right at the beginning of December one year. I guess even now so many years later I found a measure of comfort in Liv’s s ...more
Sherin
Sep 26, 2016 rated it liked it
This is my first book by Sierra Donovan. We need a little Christmas is the second book in Ever Green Lane Series and is the story of Liv and Scott.

Liv is a driven career woman and Scott is the local handy in her hometown where she is heading back to after a long time, for her grandmother's memorial.

The whole scenario was a bit saddening and though Scott and Liv were often in each other's company ... they weren't alone a lot and the few times they were ...you don't really feel the connection be
...more
Becky
Dec 14, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: christmas, romance
I liked this one just fine, but not as much as the other two Christmas books by the same author. The first of hers that I read had a strong fantasy element, the second had just a touch and this one had almost none. I'm not liking this trend. The story in this one was more straight-forward and simple, and it felt like some spark was missing. If a romance doesn't have fantasy (other than the obvious fantasy of love itself) I need strong humor, and that wasn't there either. However, it also didn't ...more
Mona
Jan 05, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: done
What a beautiful story. I love Ms. Donovan's books.
Liv comes home to Tall Pine because her Nammy has just passed away. So many memories come flooding back as she, her sister, and her mom go through things in her house. The one thing Liv was not expecting was Scotty Leroux to be helping them out. She soon learns how he helped Nammy out a lot.

Scott will do whatever he can to help Liv and her family.
He loved her Nammy. But this thing between them is hot and cold.
He knows Liv is leaving, but wha
...more
Peggy Clayton
Nov 29, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This is the 2nd of the Evergreen Lane Novels and this is an enjoyable book for the holiday! It is such a good romance and I liked that it is set in the town of Tall Pine where the first book was set. You will run into characters that were from the first one and that I really liked to see what they were up to. This is a grand slam for Sierra and the holidays!
« previous 1 3 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Other books in the series

Evergreen Lane (3 books)
  • Do You Believe in Santa? (Evergreen Lane #1)
  • Do Not Open 'til Christmas

Romance Deals

  • Protected (Deadly Secrets, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Plain Fame (Plain Fame #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Crazy Little Thing (Bell Harbor, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Safe Haven
    $7.99 $2.99
  • The King (Masterpiece Duet, #1)
    $3.99 $1.49
  • Along the Broken Road (The Roads to River Rock, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Avalon
    $14.99 $1.99
  • Down the Hidden Path (The Roads to River Rock Book 2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • My Kind of You (Trillium Bay #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • How to Say I Love You Out Loud
    $7.09 $2.99
  • The Queen and the Cure (The Bird and the Sword Chronicles, #2)
    $5.95 $2.49
  • If You Stay (Beautifully Broken, #1)
    $8.99 $1.99
  • Moonlight Over Paris
    $10.74 $1.99
  • Crossing Hearts (Cross Creek, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Midnight Exposure (Midnight, #1)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Burned by Her Devotion (Rogue Vows, #2)
    $2.99 $0.99
  • The Trouble with Dukes (Windham Brides, #1)
    $6.99 $2.99
  • Crossing the Line (Cross Creek #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Yours Until Dawn
    $6.74 $1.99
  • Fallen Crest Forever (Fallen Crest Series #7)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • I See London, I See France
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Dragonwyck
    $14.99 $1.99
  • While You Were Mine
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Falling Star (Shooting Stars, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Suddenly in Love (Lake Haven, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Seconds to Live (Scarlet Falls #3)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Her Darkest Nightmare (The Evelyn Talbot Chronicles, #1)
    $7.99 $2.99
  • Passing His Guard (Against the Cage, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Hour of Need (Scarlet Falls, #1)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Minutes to Kill (Scarlet Falls, #2)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Sharp Edges
    $6.72 $1.99
  • Our Now and Forever (Ardent Springs, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • #Starstruck (#Lovestruck, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Beauty of Us (Fusion, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Law of Moses (The Law of Moses, #1)
    $5.95 $2.49
  • Emerald (Red Hot Love #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • She Can Run (She Can Series)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • 13 Little Blue Envelopes (Little Blue Envelope, #1)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • White Heat (Firefighter Book 1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • His First and Last (Ardent Springs, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Softhearted (Deep in the Heart, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Goodbye Bride (Summer Harbor, #2)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • The Wedding Chapel
    $7.99 $1.99
  • The Raven Prince (princes trilogy)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Maggie's Turn
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Cover of Darkness (Suspense Series, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • After You Left
    $4.99 $1.99
  • How the Cowboy Was Won (Cupid, Texas, #6)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Don't Let Go
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Magnolia Nights
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Her Last Goodbye (Morgan Dane, #2)
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Filthy Rich (Blackstone Dynasty, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Tempting the Beast (Breeds, #1; Feline Breeds, #1)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Saving Abby
    $4.49 $1.99
  • She Can Kill (She Can...#5)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Gone (Deadly Secrets, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Trust in Advertising
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Fatal Pursuit (Aegis, #3)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Changing Lanes
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Doing It Over (Most Likely To, #1)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • One Dance with a Duke (Stud Club, #1)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • An Obsession with Vengeance (Wanted Men, #3)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Promise of Provence (Love in Provence, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Tracks of Her Tears (Rogue Winter, #1)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Crash (Crash, #1)
    $4.24 $1.99
  • A Matter of Grave Concern
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Duke's Holiday (The Regency Romp Trilogy, #1)
    $4.49 $1.99
  • Stay (WAGs, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Seventh Grave and No Body (Charley Davidson, #7)
    $8.99 $2.99
  • Heat Wave
    $11.99 $1.99
  • Midnight Pleasures (Pleasures, #2)
    $5.99 $1.99
  • Hello Love
    $5.49 $1.99
  • Be Mine Tonight  (Brotherhood of Blood, #1)
    $1.99 $0.99
  • A Darker Dream
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Someone like You (Someone to Love, #2)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Murder Notes (Lilah Love, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Since You've Been Gone
    $3.99 $1.99
  • The Laws of Gravity
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Dangerous Waters (Barkley Sound, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Not Quite Dating (Not Quite, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Emergency Contact
    $10.99 $3.99
  • Not Quite Mine (Not Quite, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Only for You (Sugar Lake #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Salvation of Vengeance (Wanted Men, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Fired (Worked Up, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Things We Know by Heart
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Internet Famous
    $7.80 $2.99
  • Kissing in America
    $9.99 $1.99
  • Rock Me (Ross Siblings Book 2)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • A Love of Vengeance (Wanted Men, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Someone to Love (Someone to Love, #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • The Best Man (Alpha Men, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Never Love a Cowboy (Rogues in Texas, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Wrong Question, Right Answer (The Bourbon Street Boys #3)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Bent (Back to Brooklyn, #1)
    $3.99 $0.99
  • Stone Cold Cowboy (Montana Men, #4)
    $6.99 $1.99
  • Suddenly Dating (Lake Haven,  #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Midnight Embrace
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Suddenly Engaged (Lake Haven #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Shadow Fall (Tracers, #9)
    $7.99 $1.99
  • She Can Hide (She Can, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Crush
    $7.99 $2.99
  • After the Game (The Field Party, #3)
    $10.99 $1.99
  • More to Give (Anchor Island #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Up to the Challenge (Anchor Island, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Color of Secrets
    $5.99 $2.99
  • Home to Stay (Anchor Island, #3)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Gone to Her Grave (Rogue River, #2)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • Someone Like Her (K2 Team, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Crushing on Love (The Bradens at Peaceful Harbor, MD #4; The Bradens #16; Love in Bloom #35)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Thrill of Love
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Not Quite Perfect (Not Quite Series, #5)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Not Quite Enough (Not Quite, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Mighty Storm (The Storm, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • River of Love (The Bradens at Peaceful Harbor, MD #3; The Bradens #15; Love in Bloom #34)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Not Quite Forever (Not Quite, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • The Hellion (Wicked Wallflowers, #1)
    $4.99 $2.49
  • Roomies
    $7.99 $1.99
  • Whisper of Love (The Bradens at Peaceful Harbor, MD #5; The Bradens #21; Love in Bloom #36)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Crazy for Her (K2 Team, #1)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Left Drowning (Left Drowning #1)
    $5.49 $1.99
  • All I Need Is You (Thrillseekers Anonymous, #1)
    $3.99 $1.99
  • How To Keep Rolling After a Fall
    $7.09 $2.99
  • No Love Allowed
    $7.09 $2.99
  • Midnight Sacrifice (Midnight, #2)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Midnight Obsession (Midnight, #4)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Midnight Betrayal (Midnight, #3)
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Meant to Be
    $4.99 $1.99
  • Love, Chloe
    $3.99 $1.99