Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The Book Club Murders (Oakwood Mystery #1)” as Want to Read:
The Book Club Murders (Oakwood Mystery #1)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The Book Club Murders

(Oakwood Mystery #1)

by
3.90  ·  Rating details ·  941 ratings  ·  246 reviews
In a charming cozy mystery series debut, Leslie Nagel’s irrepressible small-town heroine finds that her fellow mystery book club members may be taking their Agatha Christie a bit too literally—and murder a bit too lightly.

Charley Carpenter has poured heart and soul into her clothing store, Old Hat Vintage Fashions. She’ll do anything to make it a success—even join the
...more
ebook, 224 pages
Published September 27th 2016 by Alibi
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The Book Club Murders, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Juli I've read and enjoyed both. Similar plots have been used in several mystery books I've read (bodies posed like crime scenes or historical events), but…moreI've read and enjoyed both. Similar plots have been used in several mystery books I've read (bodies posed like crime scenes or historical events), but the characters and situations are different enough to keep the story interesting and readable. Aurora Teagarden is a librarian, and Charley Carpenter owns a vintage clothing shop. The plot advances differently in both books, and the supporting characters are also different. I noticed the similarity, but it didn't hurt my enjoyment of The Book Club Murders. (less)

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 3.90  · 
Rating details
 ·  941 ratings  ·  246 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of The Book Club Murders (Oakwood Mystery #1)
Carrie
Sep 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: netgalley
Charley Carpenter will go to any lengths to further her clothing store business and drum up more sales. She's even joined the stuffy Agathas Book Club group made up of the wealthy elite of their small town of Oakwood, Ohio. Although the company is a bit lacking in the club with only her one good friend in the group she does however enjoy the books so vows to stick around for her store.

When a body is found in the small town though the gossip starts flying around rather quickly. Charley finds
...more
Linda Strong
Aug 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This debut novel is the first in the Oakwood Mystery Series. It's billed as a cozy mystery, but it is much more. A bit cozy in that even though there are bodies falling here and there, nothing too graphic. It's a little romantic suspense in that it is suspenseful and there is definitely romance involved ... again, nothing too graphic.

Charley Carpenter owns the Old Hat Vintage Fashions store. In order to be a success, she even joins the Agathas Book Club in order to perhaps get a few more
...more
Monnie
Sep 27, 2016 rated it really liked it
Much as I love to read about grisly murders and psychological drama, every now and again, my head needs a break and I look for something on the lighter side. When I saw the description of this cozy mystery - the first of a series - it sounded great on several levels. As the title suggests, it's centered around books and a group of rather stuffy women who get together to read and discuss mysteries as part of the Agathas Book Club - and as an avid reader of that genre, it couldn't be more perfect. ...more
Erin *Proud Book Hoarder*
Mysteries are fun, and cozy mysteries fit the sleuthing mood most of the time when I’m not in the mood for dark/ morbid thrillers or psychological whodunnits who make me feel like my mind has been put through a blender. There are certain cozies I enjoy more than others – and book club or bookish themes are one of those.

Right away The Book Club Murders starts out on a different note compared to some cozies. The book club group doesn’t trust each other with a few exceptions – and the heroine is
...more
Tari
Nov 20, 2018 rated it it was amazing
One of my Facebook book clubs chose this for the November book, and I was happy because I already had it in my Kindle library. I can't believe I hadn't read it before now--it was so good! Fairly fast-paced, but lots of detail. I didn't want to put it down.

Charley Carpenter had an upscale used clothing shop and had joined an exclusive mystery book club to get to know some of the wealthy women in the area and drop hints for them to shop at her store. When someone started killing women who had a
...more
Jenny
Dec 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: crime, mystery
The Book Club Murders is the first book in The Oakwood Mystery Series by Leslie Nagel. Charley Carpenter was a member of the Agatha Christie book club when members of the group started to die. Charley Carpenter and her friend Frankie begun to investigate the murders and caused a headache for Detective Marc Trenault and Paul Brixton. The readers of The Book Club Murders will follow Detective Marc Trenault and Charley Carpenter to see you found the murder first.

I enjoyed reading The Book Club
...more
Meg
Nov 18, 2018 rated it really liked it
Loved it. Already have the next one on Kindle wish list.
Becky
Dec 03, 2018 rated it really liked it
Shelves: cozy-mystery, kindle
I've never read anything quite like this book. I wasn't expecting the plot to go the way it did. The language and romance is stronger than a regular cozy but I found it a nice change of pace. There was a little too much detail for my liking which made it start off slow for me. Leslie Nagel is a good author and I plan on reading more of her.

If you don't like strong language, this isn't a book for you. If you can tolerate it, you won't regret it. Author did state it calms down by book 3.
Jody McGrath
Sep 18, 2016 rated it really liked it
* I received a free copy of this book in exchange for an honest review *

Charley Carpenter, owner of a vintage clothing store is desperate for her store to be a success. Her beloved father has incurred multiple strokes and when caring for him was more than she could do, she hired a live-in caretaker, Lawrence. She opened her business two years ago and needs to turn a profit. She decides, with coaxing from her best friend, to join a book club called the Agathas. The Agathas are made up of the
...more
Peggy R
This is the first in a new series and debut cozy mystery for Leslie Nagel. I thought this was a terrific book. I was hooked from the first pages and kept turning pages until the very end. The story is well written and has a well crafted plot and mystery. I was kept guessing as to the identity of the killer until the end. I thought the characters were well done. At first I wasn't a fan of Marc's but as the story progressed he grew on me and I liked how the romance between him and Charley ...more
Marja Coons-Torn
Sep 16, 2016 rated it liked it
I wanted to like this book so much! I loved the title and thought the premise sounded promising. But the more I read, the less I cared. I know others will disagree, and I accept that this book might have just not been my style. But I found that Nagel tends to use a lot of pretty cliched descriptions. I also had difficulty crediting that professional police would involve a local shop owner in the way set forth. Perhaps I will go back to this novel eventually, but for now, I have set it aside.
Carrie Schmidt (Reading is My SuperPower)
There is much to enjoy about this debut, though I would classify it less as a cozy mystery and more as a romantic suspense. The mystery is extremely well-crafted and kept me guessing right up until the very end. We get the best of both worlds with the amateur sleuth as well as police procedural. The romance – whew – the chemistry is through the roof, and the author does a fantastic job creating a tangible electricity between them. The characters are fun and vivid, and at a certain point you like ...more
Janet Robel
Nov 02, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

Super cute with the murders mimicking what the book club is reading. The red herrings were perfectly done to throw the reader off the trail of the killer. This has a lot going on and Charley Carpenter is in over her head trying to piece together a murder while sorting through her feelings for Marc the hunky detective on the case. Charley has a stubborn streak that works here and makes a good protagonist.
...more
NicoleG
Sep 02, 2017 rated it it was amazing
The Book Club Murders by Leslie Nagel is only the first book in this mystery series but it's one you can really sink your teeth into. It technically can be considered a cozy mystery where the amateur sleuth offers her assistance to the tough guy cop who finds her a nuisance (although unsurprisingly a love interest) but that's where the "coziness" ends. Nowhere in this book will you find cupcakes or kittens. It is a gritty mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end.
I found the
...more
Yvonne
Oct 07, 2016 rated it really liked it
I always enjoy getting in on the ground floor of a new series and this one gets off to a great start. As soon as I saw this series involved a mystery book club, I knew I would have fun with it and I did.

The main character, Charley Carpenter, is a strong character who finds herself in the middle of a real life murder mystery. Her reading group calls themselves the Agathas after one of the most famous mystery authors, Agatha Christie. It’s not long before Charley realizes there is a serial killer
...more
Betty
Sep 09, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: arc, e-books, cozy
An exciting mysteries using the old framework of a book club tale. It uses creative and original aspects on this theme. For a first book, the characters are developed and likable. The Agathas is a group of wealthy and elite booklovers of Oakwood, Ohio who meet monthly to read, review and eat lunch at member's homes. The program is selected yearly, printed and sent to each member. This years mysteries that were selected are J. A. Jance's RATTLESNAKE CROSSING, THE ABC MURDERS By Agatha Christie, ...more
Mary Brown
Sep 19, 2016 rated it it was amazing
The Book Club Murders
The Oakwood Mystery Series, Book 1
Leslie Nagel
5+ Stars


Synopsis:

In a charming cozy mystery series debut, Leslie Nagel’s irrepressible small-town heroine finds that her fellow mystery book club members may be taking their Agatha Christie a bit too literally—and murder a bit too lightly.

Charley Carpenter has poured heart and soul into her clothing store, Old Hat Vintage Fashions. She’ll do anything to make it a success—even join the stuffy Agathas Book Club in order to
...more
Carla Johnson-Hicks
Apr 19, 2017 rated it really liked it
This is the first book in the Oakwood Mystery Series. It is a cozy with a bit of a twist. There is some swearing and a little sex, but it is not graphic. There are several murders, there is a serial killer, which is a little uncommon in a cozy, but again, not graphic so if still fits.

Charley Carpenter owns the Old Hat Vintage Fashions store. She dropped out of school and returned home to the small town of Oakwood Ohio after her father suffered a stroke. Trying to make a go of her business during
...more
Juli
Aug 18, 2016 rated it really liked it
Charley Carpenter loves retro clothing and has finally realized her dream: to own a vintage clothing shop. She is busily pouring her heart and soul into Old Hat and doing everything she can to make it successful. To drum up some business with the upper-crust ladies in Oakwood, Ohio, she joins a mystery book club, The Agathas. Each month the club members meet at a member's home to discuss a murder mystery novel. Charley finds the books enjoyable, but most of the members of Agatha are spoiled, ...more
Carole Jarvis
Oct 03, 2016 rated it liked it
Shelves: romance, suspense
Reviewed at The Power of Words: http://bit.ly/2dENMNG

The Book Club Murders . . . how could any reader resist this title? There’s a lot to like about this mystery. Leslie Nagel is a very talented writer and the story is well crafted. Romance plays a big part. I loved the character depth and relational drama. I was hooked from the beginning and didn’t want to put it down.

But this story was different from the cute cozy that I expected. While a few cozy elements are present – small-town setting,
...more
Donna
Apr 23, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Good debut mystery - good character development, and lots of possibilities in the story.

Will definitely read her next one.
Stormi (BMReviewsohmy)
Oct 04, 2016 rated it really liked it
The Book Club Murders was such a fun cozy mystery!

Charley doesn’t really fit in with the Agathas (the name of her book club) because she is not wealthy like they are but she figures it’s her one way to fit and she likes reading. Charley owns a vintage store shop and a lot of her outfits comes from altering some of those from her shop.

They were all at a meeting when the cops come to tell one of the ladies that her sister has been killed. All the Agathas think that Charley can get them the inside
...more
Nancy
Sep 28, 2016 rated it really liked it
Mystery Novels Provide the Staging for Grisly Murders

Charlie Carpenter is determined to make her vintage clothing store, The Old Hat, a success. Part of her campaign to entice people to shop at The Old Hat involves getting to know the rich socialites in her small town. Joining the Agathas's mystery book club was part of the plan in spite of the fact that she feels out of place and doesn't enjoy the bitchy gossip.

On her way to an Agatha meeting, she comes across a grisly scene. Someone has been
...more
Brenda
Aug 21, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The Book Club Murders is the debut of the Oakwood Mystery series. Charlotte "Charley" Carpenter has settled into life in Oakwood, OH, living in her childhood home with her ailing father Bobby and his nurse Lawrence. Her vintage clothing shop, Old Hat Vintage Fashions is successful but always looking for a way to attract more of the society mavens she has joined the Agatha Book Club, along with BFF Frankie Bright.

When the sister of one of the book club members is discovered murdered, Charley and
...more
Barb
Charley Carpenter loves her little shop, Old Hat Vintage Fashions, and has even joined Oakwood's stuffy book club, the Agathas, to help promote her business among the town's well-off elite. The Agathas, named for Agatha Christie, of course, read murder mysteries, but tend to focus more on the social aspect of the club than the books themselves. When the group's members start turning up dead, in situations that resemble scenes from their recently-read books, Charley and her best friend Frankie ...more
Lisa Morin
Jul 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: netgalley
This book is a whirlwind of secrets, affairs, friendship and romance. In her first book, Ms. Nagel has captured the true meaning of a cozy mystery.
The story revolves around a book club, who call themselves The Eight Agathas, in honor of the queen of mystery, Agatha Christie.
Each Agatha carries secrets and for one in particular, these secrets lead to unthinkable events.
The author has created such wonderful characters it made it easy to like all of them, even the not so nice ones.
Charley
...more
Leslie aka StoreyBook Reviews
Before i get into my review, I am going to state I do not think this is a cozy. It is on the fringes, but had a few F* bombs, there was sex that was sort of behind closed doors (perhaps a smidge more explicit than you would normally find) and just didn't read like one to me.

Despite that, the book is good and I did not suspect the right person as the killer. We are led down some paths that don't lead to the killer (but the author does a great job of letting you think that person might be the
...more
Bree
Sep 27, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I found this book to be thrilling and set a new pace to a coach series. Charley is my new favorite protagonist and the Agatha's book club is a group I would join even with murder swirling around. I personally liked that the murders were tied in with a variety of novels that the group read. I also loved how the romance/heat between Charley and Marc was instant but one they both feared.
When the books are down I would count on Charley to make it exciting. I enjoyed the variety in pace of the book,
...more
Georgiann Hennelly
Nov 24, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Charley Carpenter owns the Vintage clothing store Old Hat. In order to get some Rich clients she joins the Agatha Book club with her Best Friend Frankie. The books they read are selected yearly. Each member has their own secrets which they closely guard. When one of the Agatha's sister's is murdered and the scene is set like one of the books they read! Than a second murder happens! The police are stumped . Charley figures it out and is helping the police to catch the killer. Who is it? Is it one ...more
Britney
Nov 17, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: nookbooks, wom-reads, rtyr
I liked the premise of the story of it being centered around a mystery book club who call themselves "The Agathas". The story was well developed with mostly likeable characters. The MC sometimes drove me nuts, but I liked her. It's an interesting read that keeps you wanting to read.

The only thing that kept it from being a 5 star read was the how much the ploce department let a civilian get involved in solving the crime. No department in there right mind would let a civilian get deep involved
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
book club 1 2 Jan 06, 2018 08:42AM  
Cozy Mystery Corner : The Oakwood Mystery by Leslie Nagel 9 50 Jun 30, 2017 03:38PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • The Body in the Attic (A Jazzi Zanders Mystery #1)
  • Digging Up History (Museum, #8)
  • Buried in the Stacks (The Haunted Library Mysteries, #3)
  • Fiction Can Be Murder (Mystery Writer's Mystery, #1)
  • The Crêpes of Wrath (Pancake House Mystery #1)
  • Death by Jack-o'-Lantern (Abby McCree Mystery #2)
  • Death by Committee (Abby McCree Mystery #1)
  • The Quinton Case (A Markham Sisters Cozy Mystery Novella Book 17)
  • Crime and Poetry (Magical Bookshop, #1)
  • Murder in the First Edition (Beyond the Page Bookstore Mystery, #3)
  • Killer in Crinolines  (Consignment Shop Mystery #2)
  • A Very Mummy Holiday (Tourist Trap Mysteries #9.5)
  • Let's Fake a Deal (Sarah Winston Garage Sale Mystery #7)
  • A Most Curious Murder (Little Library Mystery #1)
  • Tandem Demise (A Cycle Path Mystery, #3)
  • Death Waits in the Dark (A Writer's Apprentice Mystery #4)
  • A Christmas Tartan (Scottish Bookshop Mystery, #2.5)
  • Death by Tea (Bookstore Cafe Mystery, #2)
See similar books…

Other books in the series

Oakwood Mystery (4 books)
  • The Antique House Murders (Oakwood Mystery #2)
  • The Advice Column Murders (Oakwood Mystery #3)
  • The Codebook Murders (Oakwood Mystery #4)