Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Wild Lavender: The Aurelian Guard - Book One” as Want to Read:
Wild Lavender: The Aurelian Guard - Book One
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Wild Lavender: The Aurelian Guard - Book One

(The Aurelian Guard #1)

by
4.14  ·  Rating details ·  43 ratings  ·  18 reviews
This gorgeous, sweeping historical romance will enchant the readers of Deanna Raybourn, and introduces a wildly talented new voice.

"This epic fantasy romance is a strong debut!"--RT Book Reviews

Anna was born of Chevring, a territory renowned for its valorous war horses, in the kingdom of Aurelia. But peace reigns, and her family's fortune has dwindled. Her father brokers a
...more
Paperback, 318 pages
Published March 8th 2016 by Diversion Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Wild Lavender, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Wild Lavender

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.14  · 
Rating details
 ·  43 ratings  ·  18 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Wild Lavender: The Aurelian Guard - Book One
Marilyn Rondeau
To be quite frank, I actually bought this book because of the cover - a beautiful horse, but let me add that not only was the cover gorgeous, but the story captured me right from the start. If you like strong heroines who can overcome unimaginable horrors, than Lady Anna of Chevring is one of the most fabulous heroines you will ever encounter.

WILD LAVENDER is a sweeping historical romance combining all the things I love, an unbelievable heroine, fabulous secondary characters, amazing destrier h
...more
Bambi Unbridled
Wild Lavender: The Aurelian Guard is the debut novel from Nicole Elizabeth Kelleher, and I have to say that I am quite impressed with her work. I am also very happy that she has chosen the fantasy romance genre because there is just not enough of it out there! I am always scrounging for new books in this genre, but they are few and far between.

The setting for this book is the Kingdom of Aurelia, a map of which is provided at the front of the book. It was too small to read on my Kindle app, so I
...more
Merissa (Archaeolibrarian)
WILD LAVENDER is the first book in The Aurelian Guard series, and is also the debut novel by this author. We are transported to a medieval world, where things aren't always equal or what they seem.

I found this book to be a strong opening to this series. We not only have strong characters on both sides of the conflict, but the world-building is there without overpowering the story. The romance comes later, after a horrific start for Anna. She surely deserves all the love she can get!

With no erro
...more
Margaret Sholders
Mar 08, 2016 rated it really liked it
I don't usually read Medieval stories. It just seems that everyone wants to kill each other. Nicole has worked hard on her story. She has come up with some strong characters-women allowed. Anna is married to Roger and not at all what she expected. She spends more time with her beloved horses. Someone is looking like they are a traitor so Larkin is trying to help. If you like lots of graphical reads then this is your story. For me this is a mature read. I hope you choose to try this book. Enjoy y ...more
Carolyn
Even with an interesting backdrop, the story was weak, and unfortunately much of the language was clunky and awkward. Some examples still reverberate in my mind, and I finished the book two days ago. Much was made of the almost-mythical warrior woman attributes of the main character Aubrianne/Anna, but very little was used of it, overall. Additionally, the semi-mythical status of the famous war horses raised by her family, again unrealized. An editor to excise some of the meaningless/mundane det ...more
Lynn Jones
Mar 11, 2016 rated it it was amazing
How was the author’s writing: Great: Is there violence: Graphic Violence: Is there sexual content: Some sexual content: How was the story narrated: first person: 5 stars Wild Lavender, The Aurelian Guard, written by Nicole Elizabeth Kelleher. The people of Stolweg feared Lord Roger and He wanted it that way. He had a plan and had taken great risks to see it thru. He did not mind the wait for his plan to unfold, even if he had to wait several years. He was evil and got great satisfaction from his ...more
Itsy Bitsy Book Bits
Wild Lavender, The Aurelian Guard, written by Nicole Elizabeth Kelleher. The people of Stolweg feared Lord Roger and He wanted it that way. He had a plan and had taken great risks to see it thru. He did not mind the wait for his plan to unfold, even if he had to wait several years. He was evil and got great satisfaction from his people knowing their place. After his marriage to Anna, Lord Roger was gone weeks at a time and Anna got great joy from his departure. She bonded with the people, gainin ...more
Angela Withrow TheArdentReader
Lady Aubrianne, Anna to her family, is an enchanting character. Her life has been spent with the most beautiful and strongest destrier horses known in the kingdom. She is a very accomplished horse woman.
Lord Roger of Stolweg is her betrothed, a deal struck between Lord Roger and her father, to relieve the crushing debt Chevring had been under in times of peace. Not many war horses were needed during this time.
So Anna sets of to go to her betrothed. The marriage will take place at Stolweg. Lord R
...more
Mave
Jan 10, 2017 rated it really liked it
his historical fantasy is amazing, a real treat, it caught my attention from the first page. The kingdom of Aurelia is really fascinating and well developed, descriptions of landscapes and rich in detail, it is easy to imagine yourself there.
Anna had always dreamed of a romantic marriage, even when parents combine her wedding still hopes to have married her great love. But her husband Roger is a traditional man, very attentive to formalities, not at all romantic. After she discovers that he is i
...more
Tammy
Mar 11, 2016 rated it really liked it
I really enjoyed this book, the characters are amazing and the drama and suspense had me glued to my e-reader. Anna is amazing, so strong. I am looking forward to reading more in the series.
Rebecca Smith
Mar 01, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I could not put this book down! Beautifully told story! I was fortunate enough to read an earlier version, and cannot wait to read it again!
Donna Grimmett
Feb 19, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Terrific book! Lady Chevring is such a strong medieval heroine...the perfect combination of strength and vulnerability. I miss the characters now that I've finished reading it.
Pat Esden
Sep 12, 2017 rated it it was amazing


The epic and sexy world of WILD LAVENDER is filled with castles teeming with secret passages, political intrigue, war horses, horrors and love. The story sucked me right in on the first page and didn’t let me until the very last. The pace was fast. The cast of characters is sweeping but at no point did I lose track of who anyone was.

In the beginning the main character, Anna, believes she’s entered into a marriage that will be filled with romantic love, only to discover her new husband Lord Roge
...more
Katrin Davidson
Jan 09, 2018 rated it really liked it
This came out of nowhere, It was high fantasy with lots of quality. I read this in preparation for book two which I have reason to read for a judging competition. This was a very strong fantasy romance.

Little points to note:
I found Larkin an odd character to visually picture black curls, goatee and cherub face....It doesn't sound sexy but I found Kellehers writing engaging, the story was plot driven ( it was longer than I expected and I think it could have been trimmed a little as around the 60
...more
L.E.
Nov 25, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Nicole Elizabeth Kelleher has rekindled my passion for romance! Anna is a strong, intelligent heroine who strives to overcome her challenges with grace and heart. Larkin is a thoughtful, caring hero who also possess strength and the courage to let Anna be the person she was born to be. Wild Lavender is a thoroughly engaging story set in an intriguing world. I can’t wait to read book two in the Aurelian Guard series.
Jill
There is just a hint of the paranormal here. One quibble is that Anna's importance to Aurelia as a warrior is not really convincing. But, her strength of character certainly is. Great plot twists and interesting characters.
Avid Bookivore
May 31, 2018 rated it it was amazing
A beautifully written piece of work that shares the vivid and wild lands of Aurelia. Well formed characters and an amazing plot! I fell in love with Lark, the brave knight.
Desiree
Mar 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: giveaways
I received this book through a Goodreads giveaway, and have, without a doubt, added it to my favorites list. The story was so delicious on every level...the characters, the beautifully descriptive scenery, and both the heart and the heartbreak. Absolutely loved it!
Abby Thompson
rated it it was amazing
Feb 02, 2018
Paige
rated it it was ok
May 21, 2019
Patti Lisle
rated it it was amazing
Feb 28, 2017
Bianca Eberwein
rated it really liked it
Feb 22, 2018
Susan Summers
rated it it was amazing
Apr 14, 2019
Christina Praser
rated it it was ok
Sep 23, 2017
Anise Eden
rated it it was amazing
Apr 02, 2018
Vicki Christian
rated it did not like it
Apr 25, 2017
Reda
rated it really liked it
Jan 03, 2017
Dotty
rated it it was amazing
Jun 14, 2016
Lisa2aa
rated it really liked it
Mar 12, 2016
Audra Holtwick
rated it it was amazing
Jun 01, 2018
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »

Readers also enjoyed

  • Children of Virtue and Vengeance (Legacy of Orïsha, #2)
  • Home Work: A Memoir of My Hollywood Years
  • The Time Traveller's Guide to Medieval England: A Handbook for Visitors to the Fourteenth Century
  • Code Name Verity
  • Terrier (Beka Cooper, #1)
  • A Natural History of Dragons (The Memoirs of Lady Trent, #1)
  • Jewish Pirates of the Caribbean: How a Generation of Swashbuckling Jews Carved Out an Empire in the New World in Their Quest for Treasure, Religious Freedom--and Revenge
  • Five ​Dark Fates (Three Dark Crowns, #4)
  • Heart of Ashes (Hearts of the Highlands #1)
  • The Hazel Wood (The Hazel Wood, #1)
  • Lord of Scoundrels (Scoundrels, #3)
  • How to Love a Duke in Ten Days (Devil You Know, #1)
See similar books…
Biography for Nicole E. Kelleher

Author of The Aurelian Guard Series, Nicole's first book, Wild Lavender, is a 2017 Golden Quill Winner for Best Fantasy Romance and was named a finalist in the New England Readers Choice's contest for Historical Romance, NYC's Kathryn Hayes "When Sparks Fly" contest, and the Maggie Award for Excellence. Her second book in the series, The Queen's Dance, was released
...more

Other books in the series

The Aurelian Guard (2 books)
  • The Queen's Dance: The Aurelian Guard - Book Two

Related Articles

Dragons, demons, kings, queens, and the occasional farm boy (with a special destiny, of course): Fantasy literature has it all! To celebrate ou...
184 likes · 71 comments