Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Luck is Just the Beginning” as Want to Read:
Luck is Just the Beginning
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Luck is Just the Beginning

by
4.36  ·  Rating details ·  14 Ratings  ·  8 Reviews
This title is published by Floricanto and Berkeley Presses. When nineteen-year-old Ramón León wins the Puerto Rican lottery, he believes his promise to establish the first dental and medical clinic in his village will be achievable. But a chain of catastrophic events intervenes. Luck is Just the Beginning is not only an enchanting story of the joys and sorrows of family, b ...more
Paperback, 350 pages
Published October 7th 2015 by Floricanto and Berkeley Presses
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Luck is Just the Beginning, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Luck is Just the Beginning

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-46)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
L.F. Falconer
May 24, 2016 rated it really liked it
When young Ramon wins the lottery he soon learns that money doesn't solve all one's problems--it often invites more.

I enjoyed this rags-to-riches story which is based upon true events. The author instantly plunked me down into a poorer Puerto Rican world, brought to life through vivid imagery, language, and delicately detailed descriptions. Ramon proved to be a captivating character; strong willed, and filled with youthful innocence, yet possessing a fiery, often short-fused temper and occasiona
...more
Mayra
Jul 06, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Based on a true story, Celeste Leon’s beautifully written debut novel is the story of a young man in 1940s Puerto Rico who wins the lottery, only to realize that, as the title states, luck is just the beginning.

Young Ramon is able to see visions, a gift he inherited from his mother. When he sees a number flash across the sky, he decides to buy a complete lottery ticket. At first, he’s thrilled to have won a fortune, for his plan is to go to college, become a dentist, and make the world a better
...more
Amy Vey
Feb 17, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I was in utter amazement of how well written this book was, that I couldn't put it down! I was drawn immediately into the fullness of this true story, it's depth of emotions, struggle, family, God and how service to others comes into play in our lives. It definitely will get you to reflect on moments in your life where perhaps you've struggled and have wondered the purpose of it. It shows how we can find our way out of any challenges in our lives with faith in God, ourselves, support of our fami ...more
Vanessa Roth
This book written by Celeste Leon is a compassionate and educational read that will warm your heart. The novel is set in Puerto Rico in the 1940s and outlines the scenario that Ramon Leon goes through to achieve his dream. It shows what one can achieve in life with determination and skill. I highly recommend this book to anyone interested in reading about history and family in the Latina commonwealth of Puerto Rico. Leon's debut novel places her among the most exciting Latina writers today. Vane ...more
Mntnmama
May 24, 2017 rated it it was amazing
I heard this story for 10 years before we encouraged Celeste to write it and then supported her for the next 10 while she did. It is a story that needed to be told and that we all need to hear. It restores us no matter who we are or where we come from.

It's a true tale about Celeste's father and at it's heart is the true determination of the human story. Ramon Leon, a poor boy in Puerto Rico, wins the lottery and struggles with the emotions--excitement, hope, and some guilt--to ultimately accomp
...more
Roxanne Lawler
Feb 27, 2016 rated it it was amazing
"Brava" to the author, Celeste Leon, on her first novel!
The reader is pleasantly transported, as if in a time warp, to a small village in Puerto Rico in the 1940's. All the sights, sounds & sentiments are poetically recreated as the complications of winning the lottery for a single man and his village is revealed in this poignant story. I found myself not wanting to put this book down and was both inspired and teary-eyed when it was over....perhaps she'll write more? I highly recommend it f
...more
Dorothy Rice
Oct 25, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Luck is Just the Beginning is the heart-felt and moving story of a young man's determination and struggles to fulfill a lifelong dream of becoming a dentist and helping the residents of his small Puerto Rican hometown. I would recommend it for young adults and adults looking to be inspired. I also thoroughly enjoyed the depiction of World War II era Puerto Rico and the nuances of the language and culture in a close knit family struggling with economic hardship and doing so with grace.
Jane
May 22, 2016 added it
Recommends it for: my sisters , family and friends
Recommended to Jane by: Vanessa Roth
I thoroughly enjoyed reading Luck is Just the Beginning, in fact I did not want it to end. It was a heartwarming read in which I laughed, cried and smiled. I enjoyed the author’s writing style in which I was captivated from the first chapter. I so appreciated the depiction of the main character’s tenaciousness and love of family. I am hoping for a sequel!
Patty
rated it really liked it
Jan 17, 2016
Norma Iris
rated it really liked it
Dec 18, 2017
Jane Lufkin
rated it it was amazing
Jan 12, 2016
Chelene
rated it liked it
Feb 24, 2016
Celina
rated it really liked it
Aug 20, 2016
Nancy
rated it really liked it
Oct 01, 2016
Rosa Tobiansky
rated it really liked it
Jul 26, 2016
Crooks Lucia
rated it really liked it
Aug 08, 2016
Shirley
marked it as to-read
Dec 01, 2015
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Terry Pearson
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Stacia Chappell
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Sandra Beck
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Emiley Allen Bowes
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Cheryl Bradley
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Glenn
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Joy Yerkie
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Ms. Reader
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Ann Ellis
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Tracey
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Rhonda
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Dawn Obrien
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Diana Skvorak
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Kathy Heare Watts
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Laura Luzzi
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Carol
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Nijole
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Phyllis Krall
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Roxanne
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
Erica Carver
marked it as to-read
Jan 24, 2016
D
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2016
Carol
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2016
Gerald Hickman
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2016
Shana M. Garrity
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2016
Jane
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2016
Ted
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2016
Carla
marked it as to-read
Jan 25, 2016
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Making Connections: 4360. - LUCK IS JUST THE BEGINNING by Celeste León 7 22 Jun 07, 2016 12:53AM  
  • Bus Stop: A Memoir
  • Marriage, A Journey and A Dog
  • A Place For Us
  • The Rarest Bird in the World: The Search for the Nechisar Nightjar
  • In My Wildest Dreams: In My Wildest Coloring Book Series
  • Entrepreneurs in the Midst: Stories from Founders, Creators, and Builders
  • Forces From Within & Without
  • Record Store Days: From Vinyl to Digital and Back Again
  • Flying Paint Rollers from Heaven: Messages of Hope, Humor and Love from Beyond
  • Becoming: The Life & Musings of a Girl Poet
  • Trust Your Gut: Get Lasting Healing from IBS and Other Chronic Digestive Problems Without Drugs
  • The Asset (Wounded Warrior #1)
  • New England Getting Started Garden Guide: Grow the Best Flowers, Shrubs, Trees, Vines & Groundcovers - Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, Vermont
  • 100% Commission Brokerage and Death of the Big Box Realty
  • Out of Isak Dinesen in Africa: Karen Blixen's Untold Story
  • Chasing Heaven: What Dying Taught Me about Living
  • Coco Chanel (Little People, Big Dreams, #1)
  • Invisible Girl
17 followers
Luck is Just the Beginning earned a Mariposa Award for Best First Book in the 2016 International Latino Book Awards and Finalist in Multicultural Fiction in the 2016 International Book Awards. The book is inspired by the true story of author Celeste León's father and was released by Floricanto Press in November 2015. (www.floricantopress.com)
When nineteen-year-old Ramón León wins the Puerto Rican
...more
More about Celeste Leon