Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Incredible Stories From Space: A Behind the Scenes Look at the Missions Changing Our View of the Cosmos.” as Want to Read:
Incredible Stories From Space: A Behind the Scenes Look at the Missions Changing Our View of the Cosmos.
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Incredible Stories From Space: A Behind the Scenes Look at the Missions Changing Our View of the Cosmos.

by
4.59  ·  Rating details ·  27 ratings  ·  3 reviews
In "Incredible Stories from Space," veteran space journalist Nancy Atkinson shares compelling insights from over 35 NASA scientists and engineers, taking readers behind the scenes of the unmanned missions that are transforming our understanding of the solar system and beyond. Weaving together one-on-one interviews along with the extraordinary sagas of the spacecraft themse ...more
Mass Market Paperback, 224 pages
Published December 20th 2016 by Page Street Publishing
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Incredible Stories From Space, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Incredible Stories From Space

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-57
4.59  · 
Rating details
 ·  27 ratings  ·  3 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Elizabeth
Aug 19, 2018 rated it it was amazing
This is the only book I have ever finished and then, immediately restarted. It’s absolutely mind-blowing in the most enchanting, digestible way. Jam packed with incredible information that brings it from the large and grand, to the granular and awe-inspiring. I can’t speak long enough or well enough about this incredible work - please, please, PLEASE give it a read!!
Patrick Schwisow
Mar 20, 2017 rated it really liked it
Lots of serious science in here, but the author does a great job of telling the stories of the people who worked on these (mostly unmanned) missions. This makes the hard-core science much more approachable. Very well written.

DISCLAIMER: I received my copy free from the publisher as part of a Goodreads Giveaway.
Cynthia Turner
Mar 19, 2017 rated it really liked it
I learned so much from reading this book. The beautiful color pictures left me in awe of our huge universe. We have so much more to learn and many more space missions/explorations yet to come. We have just uncovered the tip of the iceberg, when it come to knowledge of space/universe and everything that is out there. The author really knows her stuff. Great amazing book, and my children enjoyed it too.
Stefan
rated it really liked it
Oct 22, 2017
Lara (Bookish_turtle)
rated it really liked it
Feb 12, 2018
Kaming Yip
rated it it was amazing
Jan 01, 2019
Mark McKellar
rated it really liked it
Jul 05, 2017
Tatiana
rated it really liked it
Jun 04, 2017
Karl
rated it really liked it
Apr 19, 2018
Matthew Williams
rated it it was amazing
Oct 06, 2017
Eric Helm
rated it it was amazing
Oct 27, 2018
Josje
rated it really liked it
May 24, 2017
Maria Quiros
rated it it was amazing
Oct 10, 2018
Thegeekyone
rated it it was amazing
Mar 23, 2017
Matthew
rated it it was amazing
Mar 29, 2018
Timur Malikov
rated it it was amazing
Feb 01, 2019
Tom Dixon
rated it really liked it
Dec 24, 2016
Yating Tu
rated it it was amazing
Nov 25, 2018
Mary Dixon
rated it really liked it
Jul 30, 2017
Kelly
rated it it was amazing
Nov 04, 2017
Lauren
rated it it was amazing
Dec 01, 2016
Melly Mel
rated it it was amazing
Jun 14, 2017
家名 林
rated it it was amazing
Dec 07, 2018
Katie
rated it it was amazing
Mar 08, 2017
Elizabeth S
rated it really liked it
Aug 18, 2018
Pierre
rated it it was amazing
May 01, 2017
Gary Lindros
rated it it was amazing
Jan 27, 2019
Steve Walker
marked it as to-read
May 12, 2016
Jasmine
marked it as to-read
Nov 08, 2016
Nancy Atkinson
Nov 22, 2016 added it  ·  (Review from the author)
Brian
marked it as to-read
Dec 06, 2016
Andrea
marked it as to-read
Dec 07, 2016
Michael Davie
marked it as to-read
Dec 08, 2016
Antti Leväsaari
marked it as to-read
Dec 10, 2016
Christophe Zoghbi
marked it as to-read
Dec 17, 2016
Kenneth
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Lynn Demsky
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Jamie Piper
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Frederick Rotzien
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Kay Smillie
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
SALLY WHITE
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Betty
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Kristi
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Gazmend Kryeziu
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
V Mckain
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Rebecca
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Cheryl Bradley
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Alice Myers
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Nicola Fantom
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Micielle
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Christina Roberts
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Donald
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Dianne
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Katherine
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
Edgar Connell
marked it as to-read
Dec 20, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
  • Chasing New Horizons: Inside the Epic First Mission to Pluto
  • How to Build a Universe: From the Big Bang to the End of the Universe
  • The Design and Engineering of Curiosity: How the Mars Rover Performs Its Job
  • Scaly Spotted Feathered Frilled: How do we know what dinosaurs really looked like?
  • The Stardust Revolution: The New Story of Our Origin in the Stars
  • The Tapir Scientist: Saving South America's Largest Mammal
  • Coloring the Universe: An Insider's Look at Making Spectacular Images of Space
  • Red Rover: Inside the Story of Robotic Space Exploration, from Genesis to the Mars Rover Curiosity
  • Lives of the Scientists: Experiments, Explosions (and What the Neighbors Thought)
  • Mission to Pluto: The First Visit to an Ice Dwarf and the Kuiper Belt
  • Your Ticket to the Universe: A Guide to Exploring the Cosmos
  • Edge of the Universe A Voyage to the Cosmic Horizon and Beyond
  • Lonely Planets: The Natural Philosophy of Alien Life
  • How to Make a Spaceship: A Band of Renegades, an Epic Race, and the Birth of Private Space Flight
  • Black Hole: How an Idea Abandoned by Newtonians, Hated by Einstein, and Gambled On by Hawking Became Loved
  • The Geek Atlas
  • You Are Here: Around the World in 92 Minutes
  • The Hardware Hacker: Adventures in Making and Breaking Hardware
18 followers
Nancy Atkinson is a science journalist and author with a passion for telling the stories of people involved in space exploration and astronomy. She writes for Universe Today, Seeker and Ad Astra, and is currently working on a book about Apollo 11, titled “Apollo 11: Eight Years to the Moon,” sharing the untold stories of engineers and scientists who helped make the Apollo program so successful, de ...more