Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Dr. Power's Casebook” as Want to Read:
Dr. Power's Casebook
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Dr. Power's Casebook

(Dr Power)

by
4.45  ·  Rating details ·  11 ratings  ·  6 reviews
Dr Power's Casebook is a collection of 14 new Dr Power short stories by scientist Hugh Greene. @hughgreenauthor Each has a particular diagnosis in mind and describes elements of the psychiatrist detective's life. The book is intended for aficinados of the acclaimed Dr Power / Superintendent Lynch novels and answers questions about Dr Power and the other character.

The Case
...more
Paperback, 216 pages
Published December 25th 2015 by Hugh Greene
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Dr. Power's Casebook, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Dr. Power's Casebook

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-37
Average rating 4.45  · 
Rating details
 ·  11 ratings  ·  6 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Dr. Power's Casebook
Judith
Dec 29, 2015 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: favorites
Dr Power's Casebook Hugh Greene
The more I read of Hugh Greene's stories the more a fan I become. These short stories are written in his own inimitable way and tell of the happenings in Dr Power's life in the time between the novels, bringing back characters introduced before and some new ones. They tell of Power's medical work, his personal relationships and his daily life, they are imaginative and have drama and some humour included, and I love the well researched historical facts. As always th
...more
Marc Williams
Mar 05, 2016 rated it really liked it
I received a copy of this book from the Author as I had previously reviewed another of his books.

It is targeted at existing readers of the Power/Lynch series. (If you have not come across this series yet, I highly recommend it).

Dr Powers is a psychiatrist who gets involved in mysteries along with his friend Inspector Lynch.
This book short stories about Dr Power's cases that cover the period of the first three novels in the series. It also acts for me as a taster for the fourth book that will be
...more
John Naylor
Feb 22, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I received this book for free directly from the author.

First things first. I cannot believe it has been six months since I last read anything from the world of Dr. Power. I feel I never left his world. This is a little different to the novels but it is entertaining and well worth reading.

There are 14 short stories revolving around the life of Dr. Power and they all explore different parts of his life, work and even go a lot more intimate than the novels do. It starts with why a relationship did
...more
SALLY WHITE
Feb 03, 2016 rated it really liked it
Thank you Goodreads for sending me this book. I have already read Hugh’s book “The Darkening Sky” and so was pleased when I received Dr Powers Casebook. This is a book of short stories, Dr Powers & Inspector Lynch solving mysteries. During these stories you begin to get a real feel of the characters the book is based on. I can honestly say I am enjoying this authors books and I will definitely be on the lookout for his future novels. ...more
Jane Willis
Feb 03, 2019 rated it it was amazing
Although I've loved all the other Dr Power books, I really didn't expect to like this as I am not a fan of short stories and this is a collection of stories and episodes from Dr Power's life. But I loved it!
As I've read my way through the series of books, I've often wondered about what happened in between them, as several years elapses between them and lady friends come and go. The stories and episodes in this book fill in a lot of those gaps and, no doubt, set the scene for more stories still
...more
Nigel Greaves
Jul 09, 2020 rated it it was amazing
Yet another excellent book by this author and yet again I had to read it all in one sitting. I particularly like the fact that Dr Power is by no means a perfect character and can admit that sometimes his actions are not fully thought through (as in The Dark).
Hugh Greene obviously knows a great deal about both medicine and psychiatry and this adds further depth to the stories.
Thoroughly recommended read!
Sharon Chilvers
rated it it was amazing
Jul 03, 2016
Pat
rated it liked it
Feb 21, 2016
Jemima
rated it it was amazing
Jan 10, 2016
Pat Kidd
rated it really liked it
Mar 25, 2018
Julie Brown
rated it really liked it
Mar 07, 2016
Kay Smillie
marked it as to-read
Dec 29, 2015
Tehila
marked it as to-read
Jan 10, 2016
Lilian Flesher
marked it as to-read
Jan 15, 2016
Patricia
marked it as to-read
Feb 01, 2016
Julia Conway
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2016
Tim Gray
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2016
Richard Randall
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2016
Nicola Fantom
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2016
Betty
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2016
Claire
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2016
Evelyn Murray
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2016
Stella Clarkson
marked it as to-read
Feb 03, 2016
Agnes
marked it as to-read
Feb 04, 2016
Diane
marked it as to-read
Feb 04, 2016
John Carter
marked it as to-read
Feb 04, 2016
Kazimiera pendrey
marked it as to-read
Feb 06, 2016
Jean
marked it as to-read
Feb 06, 2016
Sabrina Wilson
marked it as to-read
Feb 07, 2016
Emma
marked it as to-read
Feb 07, 2016
Maureen
marked it as to-read
Feb 08, 2016
Carlene
marked it as to-read
Feb 10, 2016
Marion King
marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2016
Rachel Gascoyne
marked it as to-read
Feb 16, 2016
Richard Whale
marked it as to-read
Feb 18, 2016
Carol Ann
marked it as to-read
Feb 19, 2016
Laura | What's Hot?
marked it as to-read
Feb 19, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
89 followers
Hugh Greene was born in Chester and is a scientist and author. He has published numerous peer-reviewed books and scientific papers and brought his experience working with the police and victims of crime to bear on the popular Dr Power novels. He lives in Cheshire/Shropshire.

Other books in the series

Dr Power (5 books)
  • The Darkening Sky
  • The Fire of Love
  • The Good Shepherd
  • Schrödinger's God (Dr Power Book 4)
  • Son of Darkness: (Illustrated Edition)

News & Interviews

Some people love books. Some people fall in love. And some people fall in love with books about falling in love. Every month our team sorts...
13 likes · 7 comments