Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Ritual of the Savage” as Want to Read:
Ritual of the Savage
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Ritual of the Savage

really liked it 4.00  ·  Rating details ·  15 ratings  ·  3 reviews
It's the long, hot summer of 1958 and struggling private eye Johnny Davis embarks on a seemingly routine missing person case which drags him out of his comfort zone of sharp suits, bottle blondes and Tiki bars into a nightmare world of mind-altering drugs, deception and murder. From the cocktail lounges and beatnik clubs of LA to the desert resort of Palm Springs and the i ...more
Paperback, 228 pages
Published December 1st 2015 by Hungry Eye Books
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Ritual of the Savage, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Ritual of the Savage

Community Reviews

Showing 1-45
really liked it Average rating 4.00  · 
Rating details
 ·  15 ratings  ·  3 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Will Viharo
Apr 17, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Authentic, vintage "tiki noir" pulp with an edge, and twist. Period details are perfectly painted. Stylish and suspenseful.
Chris
Jan 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing
"Ritual of the Savage" by Jay Strongman was given to me as a new year's present on a Friday, and by Saturday I had not only started it but finished the last chapter. It is captivating! I love 50's Americana and this book brings you right into that era, combining the fictitious adventures (I presume) of our Private eye with real people, sounds and events of the late 50's.

Although this is a detective novel, it doesn't have the one-dimensional characters so often found in this genre. In
...more
Martin Oroyan
Aug 26, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This book gets the full five stars and more if they were to be had. It took me to places I remember from times in my life very close to me, but now seeming like a lifetime away. From the musical references to the detail of style of a bygone era, to being kept on the edge of my seat until the last page. I won't give anything away here, so get it and read it (preferably with no interruptions).
Thomas
rated it it was amazing
Apr 05, 2016
Brigid
rated it liked it
Nov 18, 2018
James
rated it really liked it
Jul 10, 2017
Panos
rated it liked it
Dec 30, 2017
Valerie Brett
rated it liked it
Jun 03, 2016
P Moss
rated it really liked it
Jul 17, 2016
Yak
rated it it was amazing
Mar 27, 2016
Donovan
rated it it was amazing
Apr 26, 2016
Dustin
rated it liked it
May 22, 2017
Keith
rated it really liked it
Jul 03, 2018
Chelsea-Rae
rated it liked it
May 30, 2016
Ellen B.
rated it liked it
Mar 02, 2018
Barb Lawrence
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2016
Amy
marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2016
Bill
marked it as to-read
Feb 09, 2016
Kurt
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2016
Kevin
marked it as to-read
May 25, 2016
Alan
marked it as to-read
Jul 05, 2016
Jan Lenders
marked it as to-read
Aug 27, 2016
Jeff Harrison
marked it as to-read
Apr 21, 2017
Megan
marked it as to-read
May 21, 2017
Alyssa
marked it as to-read
May 24, 2017
Dru Munsell
marked it as to-read
Jun 29, 2017
David DeMar
marked it as to-read
Jul 18, 2017
Adam Coolong
marked it as to-read
Jul 19, 2017
Point
marked it as to-read
Nov 20, 2017
Georg
marked it as to-read
Mar 08, 2018
Aran
marked it as to-read
May 07, 2018
Deirdre LaRock
marked it as to-read
May 14, 2018
Sam Tarrant
marked it as to-read
Sep 13, 2018
Michael Joseph Schumann
marked it as to-read
Nov 05, 2018
Andrea
marked it as to-read
Dec 11, 2018
Christiaan
marked it as to-read
Feb 21, 2019
Tosh
marked it as to-read
Feb 26, 2019
Michael
is currently reading it
Mar 12, 2019
Leah Weyandt
marked it as to-read
Apr 01, 2019
Butchito
marked it as to-read
May 04, 2019
Daniel C. Wittig
is currently reading it
Aug 17, 2016
David
marked it as to-read
Sep 07, 2016
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
2 followers
Jay Strongman has always been involved in the underground elements of popular culture, both as a journalist and a participant. His writing credits include articles in The Sunday Times, The Face, i-D, Vogue and the New Musical Express. In 1979 Jay opened London’s first neo-rockabilly store before beginning a legendary career as a DJ and spending much of the ’80s and ’90s gigging around the world; h ...more