Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Georgette Heyer's Regency World” as Want to Read:
Georgette Heyer's Regency World
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Georgette Heyer's Regency World

by
3.98  ·  Rating details ·  3,047 Ratings  ·  172 Reviews
Georgette Heyers Regency World
Paperback, 400 pages
Published February 7th 2008 by Arrow (first published October 6th 2005)
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Georgette Heyer's Regency World, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about Georgette Heyer's Regency World

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-10)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Meredith (Austenesque Reviews)
While engrossed in the pages of a delightful Jane Austen or Georgette Heyer novel have you ever come across something you didn't quite understand? Like what is the difference between a barouche and a phaeton? Have you ever thought about places mentioned in these novels like Almacks, Hyde Park, Carlton House,Vauxhall Garden and wondered if their renderings were true? Or are you fascinated by the Regency Era and interested in learning all you can about it? If you are anything like me, you would pr ...more
Melissa McShane
This is closer to 3.5 stars. As a companion to Heyer's novels, it's invaluable. Kloester makes frequent references to characters and events from the books when she's discussing aspects of Regency society, and I think the only way it could be more useful in that respect is if there were some sort of index so you could look up facts in reverse (though this would be a truly major endeavor and probably better suited to a database). She's also got an extensive list of recommendations for further read ...more
kris
Apr 14, 2014 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book is a quick, glancing look at life during the Regency, complete with lots and lots of references to the books written by Heyer. So if you read Heyer and had questions: this is the book for you, probably. Maybe.

1. Ultimately, this was adequate. It doesn't provide quite the depth I would have liked, and it spends too much time referencing books rather than referencing Heyer's allegedly deep pile of reference materials. It felt like the sight-seers guide to Heyer rather than a tour of the
...more
Kelly
A few weeks ago, as I was browsing the Romance shelves at one of my local Barnes & Noble stores, I spied a few copies of Georgette Heyer's Regency World, which I immediately scooped up. I could have used it for some of my Jane Austen-related research, since it includes quite a lot of useful information about the customs, manners, fashions, and practices of the time period.

If you are a fan of (a) Georgette Heyer's books; (b) Jane Austen's novels; (c) Regency romances; (d) the Regency era for
...more
Amy Bruno
Jennifer Kloester has authored a MUST READ reference book for any avid Georgette Heyer or Regency period fans.

In Georgette Heyer’s Regency World Kloester covers a wide-range of information pertaining to the Regency period; from deciphering the convoluted social class order of the day (wowza!), to what they wore, where and what they ate, where they shopped, the daily life of regency men and women, and my favorite, the hottest entertainment destinations to see and be seen! Also included is a who’
...more
Hannah
Read in one sitting at my local Borders today :D

Interesting compendium of everything regency, especially as it relates to Georgette Heyer's novels. A good reference companion book, but probably best for people who don't know all the in's and out's of this fascinating time period.

Glad to say I knew most of this stuff already (yes, I'm bragging....)

QNPoohBear
Jul 13, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: non-fiction, history

This is a handy reference book for fans of Georgette Heyer, Jane Austen and the Regency era. Each chapter covers an aspect of Regency society: clothing, transportation, etiquette, health care and more. She uses examples from Heyer's novels and appendices provide a list of slang words, biographies of Regency people and a timeline. The book is illustrated with small line drawings done from 19th century illustrations. The book could have benefited from full-color or at least larger illustrations. T
...more
Rebekah
Jun 14, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Terrifically entertaining and interesting guide to the Regency World of Georgette Heyer. Kloester goes into just enough depth on such topics as Clothing, Sport, The wars, A typical day in a bachelor's or a Debutante's life, The Royal Family, etc. to both enlighten the Heyer fan, and to remind them of what they already know. It's not for the serious historian or sociologist. She keeps it light and entertaining. As she goes from topic to topic, she adeptly and smoothly weaves in illustrations and ...more
Laurel
Jan 04, 2010 rated it really liked it
During her prolific fifty-three year writing career, British author Georgette Heyer (1902-1974) wrote fifty-six historical romance and detective fiction novels. She was a pioneer in Regency romance, and is generally attributed by many for establishing the sub genre that is flourishing today. Stylish, witty and historically accurate, her humorous plots and memorable characters serve as the benchmark for new Regency romance writers.

In her lifetime Heyer publisher twenty-six Regency-era novels, man
...more
Lori
Oct 19, 2015 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This book really takes the guess work out of the slang terms and social customs of the regency period. I plan to read more of Heyer's work, as well as other regency novels, so this book has given me a better understanding of all things regency. My only disappointment was the omission of the slang term "stoopid" which I encountered in Venetia. A term of endearment??? All in all, I felt like this book was an easy to read motorcycle ride through the time period and the illustrations will help me to ...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Which is the best Georgette Heyer book to start with? 4 14 Dec 03, 2017 06:25AM  
  • The Private World of Georgette Heyer
  • Our Tempestuous Day: History Of Regency England
  • Fashion in the Time of Jane Austen
  • Jane Austen's World: The Life and Times of England's Most Popular Author
  • An Elegant Madness: High Society in Regency England
  • Jane Austen: The World of Her Novels
  • Pistols For Two
  • The Writer's Guide to Everyday Life in Regency and Victorian England
  • Behind Closed Doors: At Home in Georgian England
  • The Cambridge Companion to Jane Austen
  • Beau Brummell: The Ultimate Man of Style
  • Harriette Wilson's Memoirs: The Greatest Courtesan of Her Age
  • Jane Austen's Guide to Good Manners: Compliments, Charades & Horrible Blunders
  • English Society in the 18th Century
179250

I was born in Melbourne, Australia, but have lived and worked in Papua New Guinea and the Middle East and travelled to more than thirty countries. During my time abroad I studied as an off-campus student with Deakin University and achieved my BA (Hons) while raising my three children.

After graduating with a PhD in history from the University of Melbourne, I had my first two books: 'Georgette Heyer

...more
More about Jennifer Kloester...