Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “The California Gold Rush Romance Collection: 9 Stories of Finding Treasures Worth More than Gold” as Want to Read:
The California Gold Rush Romance Collection: 9 Stories of Finding Treasures Worth More than Gold
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

The California Gold Rush Romance Collection: 9 Stories of Finding Treasures Worth More than Gold

(Love & Romance Collections)

by
4.18  ·  Rating details ·  57 ratings  ·  20 reviews
Rush to California after the 1848 gold discovery alongside thousands of hopeful men and women. Meet news reporters, English gentry, miners, morticians, marriage brokers, bankers, fugitives, preachers, imposters, trail guides, map makers, cooks, missionaries, town builders, soiled doves, and more people who take advantage of the opportunities to make their fortunes in place ...more
Paperback, 448 pages
Published August 1st 2016 by Barbour Books
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about The California Gold Rush Romance Collection, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about The California Gold Rush Romance Collection

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
4.18  · 
Rating details
 ·  57 ratings  ·  20 reviews


Filter
 | 
Sort order
Amy
May 14, 2016 rated it it was amazing
The California Gold Rush Romance Collection of nine stories. These stories include:
The Price of Love by Amanda Barratt
The Best Mn in Brookside by Angela Bell
Civilizing Clementine by Dianne Christner
The Marriage Broker and the Mortician by Anne Greene
The Lye Water Bride by Linda Farmer Harris
A Sketch of Gold by Cyntiha Hickey
Love Is a Puzzle by Pam Hillman
The Golden Cross by Jennifer Rogers Spinola
Gold Haven Heiress by Jamie Jo Wright
These stories are fabulous. My favorites are Amanda Barratt's
...more
Cathe Swanson
Sep 09, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Shelves: reviewed
The California Gold Rush Romance Collection is a delightful collection of stories from nine talented and very creative authors. The plots are diverse, and I’ve never seen such an eclectic group of heroes and heroines in one book!

I enjoyed all of the stories in this book, but I was especially interested in Jaime Jo Wright’s Gold Haven Heiress, which is an unusual love story with interesting characters. Jack Taylor is a man who grew wealthy by taking advantage of gold rush miners. He’s a changed m
...more
Karen R
Jun 08, 2016 rated it it was amazing
An entertaining set of new novellas centered on all of the people brought together in search of California gold in the 1850's!
From all the corners of the world and various walks of life, many people came out of desperation, and others for an adventure. Some went home again with their newfound wealth, hoping to change their family's status, like in the story by Angela Bell. Still more decided to stay and continue working among the down-and-out miners, and those who had sunk low, like in Anne Gr
...more
KO
Aug 29, 2017 rated it really liked it
If you love American history, you gotta love the California Gold Rush! The 1800s had many tales worth telling, but as a reader, I often find them so similar it is hard to distinguish the difference. If you're looking for an array of women's romance stories from that era, you can't go wrong with this collection of nine, all steeped in the Christian faith.

The first story is from Amanda Barratt, called The Price of Love. A young woman who is a writer accepts a bet from her employer that she can't g
...more
Kelly
May 23, 2018 rated it it was amazing
Rush to California after the 1848 gold discovery alongside thousands of hopeful men and women. Meet news reporters, English gentry, miners, morticians, marriage brokers, bankers, fugitives, preachers, imposters, trail guides, map makers, cooks, missionaries, town builders, soiled doves, and more people who take advantage of the opportunities to make their fortunes in places where the population swelled overnight. But can faith and romance transform lives where gold is king?
I recommend this to an
...more
Robbie
Feb 22, 2017 rated it really liked it
Everyone, from all walks of life, is caught up in gold fever during the California gold rush. The anthology richly captures a slice of life during this tumultuous and exciting time in American history.
Nine authors come together to give a unique perspective on the robust era of the gold rush.
Amanda Barratt pens the story of Lorena Quinn, in The Price of Love. Lorena is a struggling new reporter who jumps at the chance to cover the gold rush and to prove her boss wrong. Women don’t need men to ta
...more
Kathryn
Ok

It wasn’t bad, but it wasn’t great.... I found myself reluctant to finish this. A few were better than others but overall they felt rushed and not fully conceptualized.
Michelle Kidwell
Aug 08, 2016 rated it it was amazing



The California Gold Rush Romance Collection

9 Stories of Finding Treasures Worth More than Gold



by Amanda Barratt, Angela Bell, Dianne Christner, Anne Greene, Linda Farmer Harris, Cynthia Hickey, Pam Hillman, Jennifer Rogers Spinola, Jaime Jo Wright

Barbour Publishing, Inc.

Barbour Books



Christian, Romance

Pub Date 01 Aug 2016

I was given a Copy of The California Gold Rush Collection through the publisher and their partnership with Netgalley in exchange for my honest review which is as follows:

The fir
...more
Dana Kamstra
Jun 29, 2016 rated it really liked it
Sometimes, I've found that these novella collections can be a bit hit or miss. Many of the stories don't have enough length to remain entertaining or there is too much that is trying to be packed into one story. But I was impressed with this collection. While I don't know if it will be a standout collection for me, it was fun to use these stories as a changeup once in awhile from reading novels. Most every story was entertaining and well written. Overall, it is a collection that I would reccomme ...more
Kerry Hedden
Sep 22, 2016 rated it really liked it
The gold rush years in America were an interesting time. Our country was young and growing and the west coast had an influx of people from all over the world. This collection from Barbour Books is centralized around this fascinating period of history. Most of the novels in this collection center around women and what a difficult yet opportunistic time it was for females during the gold rush.

All of the novels in this collection are well done with good story lines and really good character develop
...more
Yvette (bookworlder)
It is no secret that I love these Bride Collections from Barbour. I pick which ones I want to read based on the theme and, usually, a single author that I already know and enjoy. In this case, it was solely an author that had me requesting an ebook through NetGalley. Having previously enjoyed Angela Bell's contribution to the Lassoed By Marriage Romance Collection, I was excited to see what she would do for the Gold Rush theme and how she would take it to England and add her signature twist with ...more
Ladyp
Aug 02, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Great book about riches from the heart!
I loved reading about all the history of the gold rush and the inspiring stories from that era. Here are a few of my favorites.
The story ‘Civilizing Clementine’ the way Clementine’s pa sought out two ladies to refine Clementine in this story had quite the comical scenes that kept me smiling and wanting to find out how things worked out for her. What a hoot!

In ‘The Marriage Broker and the Mortician’ from Eureka CA 1850 well let’s just say, that was an intere
...more
Becky
Jun 21, 2016 rated it really liked it
Whenever I see that Barbour Publishing has a collection to read, I jump on it like a rabbit on a carrot. These are nice little novellas to read to fill an hour when you don't want to be too involved in the plot of the book. A lot of them do fit the Romance Novel Formula, but they still will have a few surprises. But there is one more aspect to the formula I haven't really hit on, and that is by the time the first chapter or two is over, the reader knows which boy and which girl are going to end ...more
Tima
Mar 29, 2016 rated it liked it
Nine authors come together to write historical romance novellas centered on the California gold rush. Each author takes a different look at the hardships, triumphs, and relationships that steamed from the fervor the gold caused. The connection between each story is the faith that is woven throughout the plot, the location and topic of each story, and the romantic story.

I enjoyed reading this book. It was a great glimpse into each author's writing style. Some of these are authors that I've enjoye
...more
Please Pass the Books
Aug 09, 2016 rated it really liked it
This is a cute little collection of California Gold Rush centered short stories. Nine authors with mostly different perspectives and writing styles, and stories entertaining enough—and, honestly, short enough—to keep me engaged. I've been on a frontier kick of late, plucking up all the books and movies I can on the theme. This hit a sweet spot, which was nice since the last couple of books I read were further off the mark. I think this compilation is perfect for anyone looking for reads that don ...more
Deborah
Jun 05, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This is a truly beautiful collection of stories that leave you with a good feeling as you complete each story. They stretch from China to Ireland obviously including California on the way. The stories were so different from each other that they are easily remembered including a Chinese uncle and niece that have reached well below the poverty line with no friends in China as they don't worship the household gods of the neighbourhood to a girl who has moved into an abandoned village only to find i ...more
Carol
Aug 20, 2016 rated it it was amazing
This book drew me in with the very first story when it says, "Gold fever is on everyone's lips, drummed into everyone's brain, and dreamed about on everyone's pillow." This sums up the book. This book nine authors and each author is gifted and you know who gifted them by reading the book when you read GOD is intertwined with each story. Each novella stands alone and well it should have because each tugs at the heartstring and each is better than the last if indeed that is truly possible. It comm ...more
Rebekah
Oct 18, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Read this collection all the way through and loved how the last story was post gold rush so even in the collection we can see the history of the gold rush as well as the beauty of the romances. Some very unique stories and lovely romances. My only complaint was that the last story seemed more like a marriage of convenience even athough the end, not a really a romance? Very worthwhile collection to read!
Faith
Nov 12, 2016 rated it it was amazing
I received this book as a prize in a contest. I hadn't read a paperback book in ages; it was fun to hold a book in my hands again. This was a delightful read! Every story was exceptional; each author approached the period history from a different point of view. The characters were well developed and believable. I'm so glad I got this book; I'm always looking for new Christian authors. I feel as though I can trust these new "friends" to provide me with clean, enjoyable reading.
Wilani Wahl
Jan 26, 2017 rated it it was amazing
Wonderful collection of nine stories. Each is well written and very enjoyable. I love the Barbor collections. This is a collection I will want to read again.
Melissa
rated it really liked it
Oct 05, 2017
Sherrill Hill
rated it it was amazing
Jul 30, 2018
Jessica Skeen
rated it it was amazing
Jan 28, 2017
Bob
rated it it was amazing
Dec 24, 2018
Purple
rated it liked it
Jun 25, 2016
Letty White-brown
rated it it was amazing
Oct 07, 2018
Lisa
rated it it was amazing
Jan 17, 2019
Sarah
rated it it was amazing
Jan 28, 2019
Geri
rated it it was amazing
Apr 30, 2018
Tracey
rated it liked it
Jan 28, 2018
« previous 1 next »
There are no discussion topics on this book yet. Be the first to start one »
31 followers
Librarian Note: There is more than one author in the Goodreads database with this name.

ECPA best-selling author Amanda Barratt fell in love with writing in grade school when she wrote her first story—a spinoff of Jane Eyre. Now, Amanda writes romantic, historical novels and novellas, penning stories of beauty and brokenness set against the backdrop of bygone eras not so very different from our own
...more

Other books in the series

Love & Romance Collections (1 - 10 of 26 books)
  • Stitched with Love Collection
  • The Prairie Romance Collection: 9 Historical Romances from America's Great Plains
  • The New England Romance Collection: Five Inspiring Love Stories from the Historic Northeast
  • The Lost Loves of World War II Collection: Three Novels of Mysteries Unsolved Since World War II
  • The Lone Star Romance Collection: Five Stories of Untamed Love in a Wild State
  • The Most Eligible Bachelor Romance Collection: Nine Historical Novellas Celebrate Marrying for All the Right Reasons
  • The Farmer's Daughter Romance Collection: Five Historical Romances Homegrown in the American Heartland
  • A Sentimental Journey Romance Collection: 9 Love Stories from the Memorable 1940s
  • The Lassoed by Marriage Romance Collection: 9 Historical Romances Begin After Saying "I Do"
  • Love Is Patient Romance Collection: True Love Takes Time in Nine Historical Novellas