Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “Guardian of the Horizon (Amelia Peabody, #16)” as Want to Read:
Guardian of the Horizon (Amelia Peabody, #16)
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

Guardian of the Horizon

(Amelia Peabody #16)

4.17  ·  Rating details ·  6,458 ratings  ·  272 reviews
This book is the lost season 1907-08 and fits in between books 10 and 11 if you want to read them in that order.

Amelia Peabody and her husband Emerson, along with their son Ramses and foster daughter Nefret, are summoned back to the Lost Oasis, a hidden stronghold in the western desert whose existence they discovered many years ago (in The Last Camel Died At Noon) and have
...more
Audiobook, Unabridged, 15 pages
Published March 30th 2004 by HarperAudio (first published 2004)
More Details... Edit Details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about Guardian of the Horizon, please sign up.
Popular Answered Questions
Denise You can certainly read it as a stand alone, there is no info that you need to know that can only be gotten from earlier books. However, if you want to…moreYou can certainly read it as a stand alone, there is no info that you need to know that can only be gotten from earlier books. However, if you want to read the series from the beginning, this book will give a few things away about the characters.(less)
This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

Showing 1-30
Average rating 4.17  · 
Rating details
 ·  6,458 ratings  ·  272 reviews


More filters
 | 
Sort order
Start your review of Guardian of the Horizon (Amelia Peabody, #16)
QNPoohBear
A mysterious visitor from a place the Peabody-Emersons visited once before insists he needs their help. Emerson is reluctant to agree but the ladies believe their help is needed so off they go to the Sudan on a journey from which they may not return.

This is one of the best books in the series. It starts off a little slow. Amelia recaps the plot of The Last Camel Died at Noon and no one dies for a long time. I remembered perfectly what happened on the last trip so I didn't need the recap. The st
...more
Betty
Nov 03, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
The Peabody family is back their Manor House in England after Emerson's temper got them banned from The Valley of the Kings. A surprise visitor from the Lost Oasis informs them that Tarek and his heir are sick. and dying. They make plans to return to Lost Oasis. To their dismay arriving in Egypt that the secret is out and they gather unwelcome attention. The trip has many excitements and adventures. At the arrival Tarek is not there to meet and the next day Nefert is missing. Meeting the King th ...more
Emilie[-MLE-]
Sep 26, 2008 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
Recommends it for: Nobody. I command you to avoid it.
Shelves: own, elizabeth-peters
Daria makes me want to puke.

And throw something.

And yell at Ramses to try to make him see sense.

And cry. with Nefret.
Joanne
Sep 09, 2018 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery
I always enjoy Elizabeth Peters, and the earlier books I find much better than towards the end. This was borderline for me, and though I enjoyed it, I did find it a little slow at times. The characters are always charming and the location I mean you can’t beat Egypt, well not yet anyhow. 😎😁😁👍
Tracy
Sep 06, 2013 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I LOVE the Emerson family, but this book was a big letdown. I suppose it was naïve to think I'd like all of Elizabeth Peters's books. The author's goal seemed to bring the characters into normality.

In this novel, Amelia, Emerson, Ramses, and Nefret make mistakes and seem helpless. The whole reason we love them is because they charge in where angels fear to tread and somehow, though sheer force of will, they save the day and emerge unscathed. But most of this book is spent sitting around wonderi
...more
Kate
Jun 07, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
April 2019: I finally hit the point in my re-read where I’m reading books MPM wrote later to fill in gaps, and although this still feels a bit structurally forced (there was a kind of flow to that big (to the Emersons) gap in time, there is a completist pleasure to knowing why Ramses and Nefret have acted the way they do. I think it is an acknowledgement of how much more real the characters became in later books so they needed more backstory and Former Loves rather than a great sweep of a romanc ...more
BJ Rose
Nov 15, 2010 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The book just before this one introduces the twins of Ramses & Nephret, so it was difficult at first to get my mindset back to a time when Nephret treated Ramses as her brother. Once I did that, I was ready to travel with them to the Lost Oasis, This book explained about Nephret's early life. I think if I had known that this was a look back into time, I would have read it before they were married and had twins, but it was still a good read. Actually, I listen to this series - Barbara Rosenblatt ...more
Emma Rose Ribbons
Certainly not the best, but the worst either. Elizabeth Peters goes back in time in this installment - Ramses and Nefret aren't a couple yet and the whole family has to go back to the place where Nefret was found to rescue Tarek, the man who told them about Nefret in the first place.

Some funny lines and I love spending time with them but it's definitely not the most memorable adventure, especially so close to the end (quiet sob).
Martha
Surprisingly for the 16th in a long mystery series, this was one of the best entries so far. The Emerson family revisits the mysterious kingdom from which they rescued Nefret in an earlier book, and as usual there is excitement and humor. Somehow this installment manages to retain the enjoyable aspects of the earlier books without becoming tediously repetitious, even though the characters remain true to form.
Septentrion
Feb 12, 2013 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: policier
A great opus in the Amelia Peabody series. Just know that the plot is situated after "The Ape who Guards the Balance". So it was back in time as far as the series goes but very great. Amelia and Emerson surpassed themselves.
Jan
Jun 29, 2017 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Another great installment in the Peabody series. I read the series many years ago and thought I had read them all. It was wonderful to get back into the adventures and distinctive style of writing. I highly recommend reading this series in order.
Trace
Aug 13, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Another great Amelia Peabody mystery!!
Eileen Lynx
Oct 02, 2019 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Another well read story.
Renee
2020 Review:
3.5 stars.

I decided to live dangerously and continue my reread chronologically and not in publication order. Chronologically loses something stylistically, however, and I don’t recommend it to new readers. In this first of the two “filler books” (written later to account for missing years and missing Amelia journals), the writing is more like later books and relies far more heavily on Manuscript H than Ape or Falcon did. There are also a few character inconsistencies — Nefret’s medi
...more
Julie
This review has been hidden because it contains spoilers. To view it, click here.
Colleen
May 13, 2012 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This novel returns to one of my favorite settings in the entire series, The Lost Oasis and was just as fun and interesting as the first novel that took place here. While the description of the city was not as gripping as in the first novel a lot more of the oasis was explored and I got a better view of the society, so it was a good trade off. I loved the plot and felt for the characters as I was supposed to (aside from Nefret, but we'll get to that) It was another fabulous novel in the series.

Oh
...more
Ms. Bryant
Jul 02, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Not as good as the earlier books in this series, although this time travels back to insert itself after The Ape Who Guards the Balance. Ramses is again mooning over Nefret. They've traveled back to the "Lost Oasis" of The Last Camel Died at Dawn. Daria is introduced. Sethos is there, not sure how that happened. Rames (and Emerson too) are heroic as usual. Amelia is her delightful, if irritating self.
Ida Flowers
Aug 08, 2012 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
I love historical fiction, and I love series fiction. Ms. Peters (or Mertz, or Michaels) has been an inspiration to me for over a quarter-century.

When I was a very young mother, and had all the time in the world for reading and writing, Ms. Peters' books stimulated my intellect and aroused my imagination. I had no college, and through Vicky Bliss and Amelia Peabody I was inspired to learn who John Donne and Howard Carter were, to read Shakespeare and listen to Handel, and to reach for independen
...more
Nicole
Actually falls between #10 and #11 in the timeline, so I'm reading it now.
A fun read, preposterous in (mostly) the right ways. This one struck me as a little more "Indiana Jones" style than the previous ones, but that's okay. It's entertaining. The friend who recommended this series to me noted that at a certain point, she was reading them more for the characters than the plots, and I feel the same way. I still love the way Amelia and Emerson interact. Although I'm still getting accustomed to se
...more
Julie
Mar 13, 2016 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: mystery
I am in the process of reading this wonderful mystery adventure series for the fourth time. I consider it comfort reading, and truly enjoy rediscovering the characters over again. Barbara Rosenblat's narration is sublime and she truly brings the characters to life. It was interesting to be able to put a face to her voice when I saw her in, "Orange is the New Black" as "Miss Rosa."
Dia
Jan 14, 2008 rated it it was ok  ·  review of another edition
I am a fan of the Amelia Peabody books and I have been waiting for her to go back to the oasis. But I was very disappointed in this book. I was expecting more and I didn't like Ramses. He is usually one of my favorites
Kate
Mar 15, 2010 rated it liked it  ·  review of another edition
A typical enjoyable adventure with the Emersons. However, the choices she made with Ramses seemed completely out of character, utterly pointless, and even offensive. I hope I can forget them, and they don't come back to influence the story in the next books.
Vivienne
May 03, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: audiobook, adventure
started as my audiobook on the go as no longer driving
Vivienne
Mar 13, 2014 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: adventure
A STEP BACK IT TIME FOR THE SERIES AND AN EXCITING RETURN TO THE LOST CITY. KEPT ME RIVITED.
Inger Faherty
Jan 20, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
This one takes us back in time. Interesting to listen knowing what's going to eventually happen.
Beth Amy
Apr 17, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Well!!!

I'm about worn out & all I did was sit & read!
So...once again, a visitor from the Lost Oasis comes to England with a message asking for help, this time more deliberately & more aggressively. According to the young man Merasen, Tarek's son is gravely ill and no one knows what's wrong. Nefret is a physician, though of course not credentialed yet in a society where women getting credentialed is a headlong battle taking a decade or more. She studies up on all the tropical diseases she can fin
...more
Jane
Aug 23, 2020 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
The nice thing about re-reading a series after it has been (presumably) completed is that you can go back and read books in chronological order for the characters rather than in order of publication. Thus it is for Guardian of the Horizon, which is #16 in publication order but #10 in the Emerson chronology.

It's an interesting revisit of the "lost city" adventure, the first time around being, of course, The Last Camel Died at Noon where Nefret is added to the Emerson family. Now Nefret is a young
...more
Debbie
Aug 02, 2020 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: historical, mystery
On the 19th March 2019 my main public library was assessed as an earthquake risk and closed with all the Amelia Peabody books inside it (and countless others). They finally found a new home for the books in July 2020 and at last I was able to resume reading this series, which is one of my favourites. It's been a long wait to rejoin Amelia on her adventures and I thoroughly enjoyed this book.

Guardian of the Horizon is one of the 'lost' stories and so takes place immediately after The Ape Who Guar
...more
Bill Telfer
Since summer of 2016, I have been listening to the entire (and most excellent) "Amelia Peabody" series (this is #16... however, in terms of the characters' storyline, the plot really follows the events of book #10, which is why we listened to it as our ELEVENTH book of the series... she wrote a couple out-of-sequence to fill in gaps in her overall narrative, which is why we decided to listen to the books in the order they appear in the plot and NOT in their order of publication... AND SO GLAD WE ...more
Sherrill Watson
Apr 03, 2019 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
See QNPoohBear's reviews.

Takes place in 1907-08. Be warned, this is re a fabulous, lost city in the desert. A little bit of aged history here. Yes, it was a little slow getting started; they didn't arrive near the lost city until page 220 of a 420 page book. Pay attention to even the slightest mention of characters in the first 50 pages. This has camels, donkeys, litters, sandstorms, sailing ships and loading and unloading of a long caravan; it treats women differently, if courteously. I loved
...more
« previous 1 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 next »
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Play Book Tag: Guardian of the horizon by Elizabeth Peters 3 stars 2 11 May 18, 2018 12:15PM  

Readers also enjoyed

  • Temples, Tombs & Hieroglyphs: A Popular History of Ancient Egypt
  • Riviera Gold (Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes, #16)
  • The Last Mrs. Summers (Her Royal Spyness, #14)
  • Patriot's Dream
  • Murder in the East End (Kat Holloway Mysteries #4)
  • Justice Hall (Mary Russell, #6)
  • Lord of the Privateers (The Adventurers Quartet, #4)
  • The Body on the Train (Kate Shackleton, #11)
  • Claude
  • Dark Assassin (William Monk, #15)
  • Fashionably Fooled (Hot Damned #13)
  • Deadlier than Fiction (Bunburry #9)
  • A Trail of Ink (Hugh de Singleton, Surgeon Chronicles #3)
  • Goodbye (The Dresden Files, #12.1)
  • Mike (The Dresden Files #9.5)
  • Journal (The Dresden Files, #11.1)
  • A Duke by Any Other Name (Rogues to Riches, #4)
See similar books…
2,681 followers
Elizabeth Peters is a pen name of Barbara Mertz. She also wrote as Barbara Michaels as well as her own name. Born and brought up in Illinois, she earned her Ph.D. in Egyptology from the University of Chicago. Mertz was named Grand Master at the inaugural Anthony Awards in 1986 and Grand Master by the Mystery Writers of America at the Edgar Awards in 1998. She lived in a historic farmhouse in Frede ...more

Other books in the series

Amelia Peabody (1 - 10 of 20 books)
  • Crocodile on the Sandbank (Amelia Peabody, #1)
  • The Curse of the Pharaohs (Amelia Peabody, #2)
  • The Mummy Case (Amelia Peabody, #3)
  • Lion in the Valley  (Amelia Peabody, #4)
  • The Deeds of the Disturber (Amelia Peabody, #5)
  • The Last Camel Died at Noon (Amelia Peabody, #6)
  • The Snake, the Crocodile and the Dog (Amelia Peabody, #7)
  • The Hippopotamus Pool (Amelia Peabody, #8)
  • Seeing a Large Cat (Amelia Peabody, #9)
  • The Ape Who Guards the Balance (Amelia Peabody, #10)

News & Interviews

Need another excuse to treat yourself to a new book this week? We've got you covered with the buzziest new releases of the day. To create our...
18 likes · 13 comments
“accepted the cup the servant handed him” 0 likes
“marred by deep lines of” 0 likes
More quotes…