Goodreads helps you keep track of books you want to read.
Start by marking “By Moonrise” as Want to Read:
By Moonrise
Enlarge cover
Rate this book
Clear rating
Open Preview

By Moonrise

by
3.83  ·  Rating details ·  23 Ratings  ·  12 Reviews
In Sarducia, magic is real—at least for now.

Kate Norton isn’t prepared for a debate about magic. All she wants is to keep her job. But when the silver ring she just inherited suddenly drops her into this mysterious, archaic land, her priorities quickly change.

For magic is what lies at the heart of a political rivalry threatening to tear Sarducia apart. Even as Kate tries
...more
Paperback, 487 pages
Published December 8th 2015 by Watercolor Moon
More Details... edit details

Friend Reviews

To see what your friends thought of this book, please sign up.

Reader Q&A

To ask other readers questions about By Moonrise, please sign up.

Be the first to ask a question about By Moonrise

This book is not yet featured on Listopia. Add this book to your favorite list »

Community Reviews

(showing 1-50)
Rating details
Sort: Default
|
Filter
Leah Bartlett
Jan 09, 2016 rated it it was amazing
A Fantastically creative world about a young woman named Kate and her adventures in Sarducia. This was certainly a page turner that I could not put down. I am looking forward to the next book in the series.
Amanda
Jan 07, 2016 rated it liked it
By Moonrise is the first novel by Austin author Jackie Dana. It follows the adventures of ordinary Kate Norton, who finds herself transported to a strange world after inheriting her mother's ring. Sarducia may seem like a medieval Europe at first glance, but it is a different world entirely. For starters, magic is not only very real, but a bit of a political issue. Everything seems to be a political issue, actually, as Kate finds herself sucked into the turmoil of a country dealing with religiou ...more
Becca MacLean Lyman
May 15, 2016 rated it really liked it
I am a big fan of what I call "fish out of water" books, one in which the protagonist not only has to deal with the usual conflicts, but they have to do so in an alternative world where the rules they're accustomed to don't apply. The protagonist in By Moonrise, Kate, certainly fits this description. She lives a pretty simple, modern life until her mother passes away. Then, through a ring she inherits, strange events transpire that transport her into an unfamiliar place, one with politicized mag ...more
Nathan
Dec 10, 2015 rated it really liked it
Very good story! The action never stops and the description is rich. As you read, it seems a switch is flipped and a story that is already moving along, speeds up and rockets to the end. I didn't expect the twist at all! Well done! I also liked that the reader learns of this land's history along with Kate. Sometimes authors tell the reader too much about things like that, Dana allows us to stumble along with Kate rather than be the omniscient reader.!
Jessie
Dec 18, 2015 rated it really liked it
It had a slow start . It seems like a great start of a epic fantasy novel. With a dash of romance and court intrigue. Look forward to the next book.
Alan
Mar 07, 2017 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
So, of my many fantasy trope addictions, there is one Mark Twain kindled in me: transported to magic world. (Yes, I read A Connecticut Yankee in King Arthur's Court before I read CS Lewis.) There are so many of these books. Some a great: Christopher Stasheff's Her Majesty's Wizard, for example. Some are awful. I won't name names. Most are just readable.

Jackie Dana gave me not just one, but two of my favorite fantasy tropes in one book when she included a cross-cultural argument about the existe
...more
Lori
Jul 13, 2017 rated it really liked it
Shelves: ebooks
I'm a sucker for stories that involve hapless travelers moving between worlds. This book has everything from political intrigue to adventure to romance. I had a little trouble getting into it at first, but once it hooked me I read it obsessively until I finished.

Dana's Sarducia is a richly nuanced world that I enjoyed reading about. It's clear that a lot of thought and world building went into this book. What's more, her characters popped off the page like living, breathing people. I'm eagerly a
...more
Adam
Aug 18, 2017 rated it really liked it
This was a book I struggled to finish but overall enjoyed. The first half with the protag suddenly in another world, to teleporting and traveling with fhaoli through swamps and forest, was not uneventful and at times was pretty exciting. But I just felt a slight annoyance with the protag not being more resentful of this alternative world and more determined to understand or question things. It did not feel relatable for me. I liked how the book ended, the main fight scene towards the end was so ...more
Angel Leya
May 13, 2016 rated it it was amazing  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: fantasy, romance, series
This is a delightful read. There's love, mystery, and a medieval type political system that's rife with intrigue.

Kate is a marketer grieving her mother's death when voices start beckoning to her. One stormy night the ring her mother gave her begins to glow, and she steps in to find herself in a world wholly different from her own. As someone unfamiliar with the land of Sarducia, she's thrown into the middle of royal affairs, and finds herself caught between a whole cast of characters who are wor
...more
J.L. Callison
Jan 09, 2016 rated it it was amazing
Disclaimer: I received this book free for an honest review.

I gave Ms Dana five stars with this caveat: I thought it better than a four, closer to a four and a half, but that was not doable and rather than degrade the rating it got a little of an elevation. I hope readers of this review will understand.

After a slow start from over description in her desire to build a world and characters, (not uncommon with first novels) the plot comes alive with a potential love triangle that just never seems to
...more
Bonnye Reed
Jan 20, 2016 rated it really liked it  ·  review of another edition
Shelves: kindle-or-pdf
GAB I received a Kindle copy of this Si-Fi novel from Jackie Dana in exchange for an honest review. Thank you Ms. Dana for sharing your hard work with me!

Jackie Dana has imagined us a wonderful world, populated with likable, deeply drawn people, that it is a pleasure to visit. I love the way she presents hints and clues to the nature of her world, and loved the characters that wandered through this tale. Kate is a modern girl, lost in mourning for her recently passed Mom. Her 'trip' to Loraden i
...more
Laura Martone
Dec 22, 2016 rated it it was amazing
A moving and entertaining fish-out-of-water fantasy about a modern-day woman inadvertently transported to a magical realm, filled with castles, vintage garb, swords, sorcery (of a sort), and not much in the way of 21st-century technology. I thoroughly enjoyed following Kate's misadventures through this strange land - and living vicariously through her brush with mystery, romance, and political intrigue. I definitely look forward to reading the next installment of the Chronicles of Sarducia - and ...more
Tasha Wiginton
rated it really liked it
Dec 08, 2016
Kimberly
rated it really liked it
Apr 23, 2016
Myrthe
rated it liked it
Mar 02, 2017
Mik
rated it liked it
Jan 12, 2017
James
rated it did not like it
Dec 08, 2015
Jackie
Dec 06, 2015 rated it it was amazing  ·  (Review from the author)
Andrew Erb
rated it really liked it
Jan 05, 2017
Amber
rated it liked it
Feb 04, 2016
David
rated it it was ok
May 21, 2016
Sarah
rated it really liked it
Jun 23, 2017
Witchy
rated it really liked it
Jan 26, 2017
Carl Webb
marked it as to-read
Dec 05, 2015
Katie
marked it as to-read
Jan 09, 2016
Vidya
marked it as to-read
Jan 16, 2016
Amalie Cantor
marked it as to-read
Jan 20, 2016
Madeline
marked it as to-read
Jan 20, 2016
Fern
marked it as to-read
Feb 28, 2016
Adam
added it
Apr 02, 2016
Xyphani
marked it as to-read
Apr 02, 2016
Sam Miller
marked it as to-read
Apr 09, 2016
Cabroo
marked it as to-read
May 20, 2016
Olivia Ard
marked it as to-read
Jul 28, 2016
W00ki3
added it
Sep 29, 2016
Hannah Rodriguez
marked it as to-read
Dec 01, 2016
Wendy
marked it as to-read
Dec 23, 2016
Sakina
marked it as to-read
Jan 28, 2017
Samantha Breza
marked it as to-read
Mar 13, 2017
Debri
marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2017
Anne
marked it as to-read
Mar 27, 2017
cláudia
marked it as to-read
Jun 08, 2017
Kelly Jones
is currently reading it
Jun 15, 2017
Nessie
marked it as to-read
Jun 29, 2017
Jackie Keller
marked it as to-read
Sep 01, 2017
Micaela
marked it as to-read
Oct 14, 2017
Lada
marked it as to-read
Jan 23, 2018
topics  posts  views  last activity   
Authors Looking d...: Interested in Historical Fantasy/Romance? 3 25 Jan 15, 2016 12:22PM